Scott Hunter's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 33
6.8Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Amazing Spider-Man #642

Sep 10, 2010

This book both delivered on and defied my expectations, all in a pleasant way. I was expecting the writing to be of a high quality, and it was; I was expecting the art to be good, but generic, and it was of a distinguishing style. If, like me, you've been staying away from everything Spider-Man for a while, then rest assured this book is a great purchase, and if you've been following the Spider-books, then I find it hard to imagine how this book could displease you (unless the art is not to your tastes). I give this book a hearty recommendation, and four and a half stars out of five.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing Spider-Man And Wolverine #1

May 9, 2010

This book features a wrap-around cover, showing Spider-man web-slinging his way between some skyscrapers whilst Wolverine seems to be pouncing on him. This cover is drawn well-enough "" despite Wolverine's expression being a bit over-the-top "" and the more I look at it the more I enjoy it. It may, on fist glance, appear to be a rather generic shot of the pair traveling together (at least, that's what I thought at first), but on closer inspection one sees that they are, in fact, about to fight and thus it highlights the animosity between the two, whilst also suggesting that this is not another run-of-the-mill team-up story. On the other hand, it doesn't reveal much about the contents of the book, nor is it particularly eye-catching on that first glance. But then perhaps it's not meant to be - I think it's a subtle cover, and one that works well.Negative Comets Aside

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Avengers (2010) #4

Aug 31, 2010

I like the cover (also by Romita), as well. It features the Tony Stark of the future, wearing his Iron Man suit but lifting up the mask to reveal his face. I feel that it's a cover that's had some thought put into it: at first glance, it is simply a picture of Iron Man taking off his mask, but on closer inspection we see that the Tony Stark behind the mask is old "" he is not quite right. It gets the reader wondering what's happening inside the book, and foreshadows the future-Tony reveal without spoiling it wholesale.It Doesn't Keep Me Coming Back

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman #699

May 19, 2010

The cover, by Tony S. Daniel, gains praise from me. It features The Riddler in the foreground, grinning, whilst Batman squats behind him on a mound of earth. It's definitely well-drawn, although The Riddler's ears seem to be rather low-down on his head, and I like how Nigma is staring out at the reader, with an appearance designed to draw the eye. At the same time, Batman is behind him, drawing his cape up to his face, looking stealthy as befits his character. It's not the most eye-catching cover in the world, but I think it's had some thought put into it, and when so many covers are generic group-shots or similar, that deserves some attention.Final Thoughts

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman and Robin #11

Apr 10, 2010

Overall, though, the art in this issue is more good than bad, and gains a thumbs up from me. Batman and Robin has done a lot over the last few months to recover from that lackluster second arc, and has worked its way to the top of my reading pile. This installment doesn't let it down, and it's actually got me intrigued about the Return of Bruce Wayne, which is quite an achievement in itself. Grant Morrison has successfully pulled off a compelling mystery plot and, whilst I doubt it'll make any converts of non-Batman fans, if you're fond of the Cowled Crusader then this is something you'll definitely want to pick up. With a combination of strong writing and overall-good art, Batman and Robin #11 manages to net itself three and a half stars out of five.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cold Space #3

Jul 6, 2010

Overall, this is well-done straight science fiction. The plot serves its purpose, the characters are delightfully mad and manage to interest and engage, and the art is pretty despite some hiccups. On the whole, I couldn't escape the feeling that this book was fun and, though there are some criticisms that can be laid at its door, it was just plain enjoyable to read. I give it three and a half stars out of five and say pick it up if you want something light-hearted amongst your usual books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Days Missing: Kestus #4

Mar 6, 2011

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? Dust to Dust #2

Jul 5, 2010

Both covers are well-drawn, with Cover A depicting a man who I assume is meant to be Charlie Victor holding a smoking gun with a face (who is possibly meant to be Talus?) in the background, and Cover B showing a man (who could be anyone but who I think is meant to be Reed) looking out on a very Blade Runner esque city. However, neither cover has much to do with what is going on in the book, and the man on Cover A does not look a whole lot like the Victor inside the issue. I have been surprised (but pleasantly so) that the city in this series does not look like that of Blade Runner at all, and so Cover B doesn't particularly please me either (although the visual style is the least of my problems with Blade Runner, but that's not for this review).How Very Dickian of this Book to Defy my Expectations

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Donald Duck and Friends #354

May 26, 2010

With all the good things I have to say about the art inside the book, I'm sad to report that the covers are rather disappointing. They're drawn well-enough, but they only feature generic scenes of Donald standing on a tiled floor with the Agency logo on them, or him flying off on a jetpack as his car and one that seems to have been pursuing him fall off a broken road over a cliff (does this mean that the people in the pursuing car are falling to their deaths? That's a slightly morbid connotation for this comic). In short: random scenes on covers do not gain favour with me.Final Thoughts

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dungeons & Dragons #3

Jan 23, 2011

This issue has two covers, Cover A depicting Adric swarmed by orcs, and Cover B depicting Varis fighting orcs. Cover A has a painted look to it, whilst Cover B looks more like the interior art (at first glance, that is, it is drawn by a different artist and is distinct from the interior art). They both have about equal amounts to do with the content of the book (although, Cover A has a slight edge here, as part of the book does focus on Adric fighting a single orc), that amount being 'a bit'. I think that, perhaps, Cover A has a more eye-catching image, but I am undecided on this "" whilst it certainly is the more dramatic of the two up close, I'm not sure if it would attract someone's attention from the stands significantly more than Cover B. The other two covers are a black and white version of Cover B, and a drawing of Varis by Andrea Di Vito against a white background. Overall, a run of average covers.Add Some Fun to Your Pull List

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Echoes #1

Dec 30, 2010

This book was a very pleasant surprise: it caught my eye with impressive visuals and then followed through with an overall-quality book, which was much appreciated on my part. It's got an interesting premise with a very effective execution, so if you're a bit fed up of all the holiday cheer this time of year, and you fancy something a bit more macabre instead, then I recommend you pick this up, because it gets a big four stars out of five from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Incorruptible #11

Oct 27, 2010

Everything seems to go right with this book: great writing and art come together to form a brilliant read. I have been back and forth on the quality of this title compared to its sister book, Irredeemable, but this issue really sets them up on an equal platform. If you haven't got into this book yet, then be sure to get on-board now. This issue is of no less than excellent quality, and earns a full five stars out of five from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Infinite Vacation #1

Jan 9, 2011

I really did love this book, and as the plot is exactly the sort of thing I'm in to, seemingly inspired by my favourite author "" how could I not? The art expertly captures the feel of the book, and serves up some great visuals. This is not a book for everybody, I'll warrant, but if anything I've said here intrigues you then I very much encourage you to go out and buy this issue "" it gets five stars out of five from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Insurrection V3.6 #1

Mar 7, 2011

As for covers, Cover A shows Tim standing in some warzone, on top of some fallen machine, with buildings and a green sky in the background. For starters, the place he's in doesn't look like any location in the book, nor does he really fight anything this issue. However, the colouring might help it stand out on the rack, and the title looks pretty good. Cover B shows some soldiers fighting one of the large machines from the book, so it immediately beats Cover A in terms of relevance. This cover is also really well-drawn and looks quite impressive, and although it doesn't really have that much to do with the plot or characters of the book, neither does the first third of the book itself.Worth Checking Out

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Irredeemable #22

Feb 5, 2011

Cover A features The Plutonian standing in what appears to be a construction site, looking angry. I did not like this one. For starters, the illustration doesn't look much like the Plutonian from the book, indeed, he is only vaguely recognisable. Secondly, the cover has nothing to do with the contents of the book "" it is nothing more than a stock image, and not even a good one. I can only call it an awful cover "" it baffles me why they decided to include it. Cover B, thankfully, is much better, featuring the hero Survivor looking down at the mask of his lost brother, which is lying amongst some rubble. This cover actually relates to the plot, not the plot of this issue, specifically, but at least it has something to do with the an ongoing plot-thread of the series. Indeed, this would have been a great cover for last issue, and as it is it's still reasonable.Another Great Issue

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Joe The Barbarian #3

Mar 22, 2010

Very minor grievances aside, Joe the Barbarian is shaping up to be a classic series, and this book has cemented my commitment to seeing it through. I hadn't read anything drawn by Sean Murphy before this, but he's already up there with some of my favourite artists, and Grant Morrison is on great form here. That's why I'm very pleased to award Joe the Barbarian #3 four and a half stars out of five. If you haven't read any of this series yet, I urge you to go out and pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
JSA All Stars Vol. 2 #4

Mar 15, 2010

In re-reading the series for this review, I found myself enjoying it a lot more than I had in my originally, and the whole thing definitely improves with this issue. Magog for Sandman is a trade I'd make any day, and I hope the former remains relegated to part-time appearances from now on and that the latter stays as a full member. It's not an absolutely amazing issue, but it is a good one, and it has me looking forward to the next. If you picked up the first issue and didn't like it, you might want to take another look. All things considered, JSA All-Stars #4 earns a good three and a half stars out of five from me and I hope that the series continues in this vein.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
JSA All Stars Vol. 2 #14

Jan 6, 2011

Overall, this book has its share of problems, but I ultimately found it an entertaining read. It doesn't quite live up to the quality of the previous five-or-so issues that I have been really enjoying, but if you go in expecting nothing more than a bit of light entertainment then I can imagine that you'll get just that out of this book, and it gets two and a half stars out of five from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2006) #48

Sep 1, 2010

This storyline has been building up a five-part cover across the Justice League and Justice Society books, and this issue completes it. The entire thing shows a fight scene between the two Justice teams and a giant Alan Scott/Starheart, and this book features Supergirl in a giant hand, with Hourman and Congorilla also present. The entire scene looks fine but, despite being big, there's not much exciting about it, sort of like the actual content. This individual cover is simply the final part of that and, on its own, isn't particularly impressive either.Rather Forgettable

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice Society of America #37

Apr 4, 2010

This book was at the top of my reading list this month and it didn't disappoint. The concept for the story is great to begin with and the writing, despite one or two complaints, doesn't let it down. Above all the issue is fluid, never getting bogged down in padding, and what flaws there are are forgotten as you enjoy the really great story that's on show. That, combined with extremely well-written characters, makes for a great read. The art never stumbles, and I can't remember the last time I could say that about a book in its entirety. All in all, this is one of the best super hero stories I've read this year (outside of a major crossover event) and I can do nothing less than give it four and a half stars out of five.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Morning Glories #2

Sep 14, 2010

The cover is also very enjoyable, and Esquejo exhibits a style that, to my mind, seems to blend photo-realism and a more illustrative style of drawing very well. It features three of our cast, namely Casey, Hunter and Zoe, struggling for breath in the detention room as the water rises. The faces of the students look very realistic, meanwhile some objects (a floating chair in the foreground, and the character's clothes underwater, for example) very much look like they are drawn. It is an image that is sure to catch the eye "" three young people on the verge of drowning "" especially as Casey has her arms raised as if she is about to beat on the cover for help (intentional or not, it is a nice touch). It is also, as in the interior, full of plenty of colour (at least in the above-water part), and I also like how the title and credits are located at the bottom of the page, looking as if they are sinking. My only complaint with the cover is that neither Casey nor Hunter are wearing the clo

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nevermore #1

Apr 10, 2011

This book has three covers. First up is the main cover by Darick Robertson (making up 50% of the covers), which depicts the Project: Nevermore team running from the alternate fascist police. It's fairly well-drawn, and is an actual scene from the book, which is a plus, but it doesn't really hint much as to the book's plot, and just looks a bit boring. Our second cover is drawn by Tyler Walpoe, and depicts one of the insect creatures, although it looks a bit different from what we actually see in the interior art. This cover does, however, give a clue as to the cliffhanger at the end of the issue, but once again doesn't suggest much about the premise of the book. Finally, interior artist Leno Carvalho gives as a picture of the Nevermore team standing in their base; once again, well-drawn but a bit boring.Worth a Look

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Queen Sonja #6

Apr 21, 2010

Overall, despite a couple of problems, the writing was strong and it was a nice surprise to be able to pick up the book so effortlessly. The art was a pleasure to look at, and went a long way to endearing me to the book. Queen Sonja #6 earns four stars out of five from me; I definitely recommend that you go out and give this book a try, and I know that I'll be looking out for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Shuddertown #1

Mar 30, 2010

All in all, I can't recommend this book. The premise is interesting but the book is too padded and, at times, random and confusing. The art tends to add the opposite of clarity and I can't say I bear it any love. Worst of all, the main character is a dud. The ending, which sees him in peril, has no effect on me because I feel no connection to him and thus just don't care. I'm afraid that I can only give this book one and a half stars out of five, and I must say that my first outing with Image has not been a particularly pleasant one. Although I'm sure they produce some good books, this isn't one of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Soldier Zero #3

Dec 16, 2010

Overall, this issue is mostly average, with one or two points that manage to pique my interest. If you read and liked issues one and two, and want to know what happens next, then by all means give this book a read, but I find it difficult to recommend this issue to people who have not encountered the series before. I can't say much more than: there are probably better books out there this month, but this one is OK too, and it earns three stars out of five.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Soldier Zero #5

Feb 18, 2011

The two covers range from interesting but irrelevant, to generic and boring. Cover A features Soldier Zero standing over the body of a dead police officer. It is well drawn, but this cover is about the events of the previous issue, and so as a cover to this book it is rather nonsensical. Cover B is just Soldier Zero wielding some sort of energy ball "" inexcusably lazy and boring.BOTTOM LINE: Not Worth It

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Last Phantom #1

Aug 18, 2010

This book has a whopping four covers, all featuring The Phantom is various blood-soaked poses. The two Alex Ross covers are very much drawn by Alex Ross, so the chances are you know whether or not you'll like them, but I enjoy Ross' work and found his two covers to be well-drawn. I have no complaints with the other two covers, either, and they are indeed well-drawn in their own rights. My main problem with these covers is that they're all very similar and rather generic "" they don't really suggest what's going on in the book, other than the appearance of The Phantom. Phantom-fans will no doubt be intrigued as to why The Phantom is not wearing his traditional costume (a question unanswered in these pages, and I can only assume that he didn't have access to it despite carrying around his other Phantom possessions), but for newcomers these covers do little to pique one's interest.More Enjoyable For Fans

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Mission #2

Mar 25, 2011

The subtitle for this section says it all, really: this isn't a bad book, and if you want an OK, if altogether bland, read with some good art then this may be worth picking up, but quite honestly there are books far more deserving of your attention and money, and in a market where genuinely good titles are, at times, struggling, I can't in good conscience recommend something as average as this. As such it receives two and a half stars out of five.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Rising #0

Aug 3, 2010

This book has a fair story and amazing art, and so is worth picking up for the latter alone. Whats more, it is only $1.00, which is an absolute bargain. Even though the main series may be a while away, this is something that I can definitely recommend, and as such it earns four stars out of five.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Thor (2007) #609

May 3, 2010

If you've been following the last two issues of Thor then you're certainly going to want to pick this up: it has fair art, a good plot, and I find that this whole storyline definitely adds something to the overall Siege event. However, this is the third of a four part story and as such I cannot recommend it to any new readers. Overall, Thor #609 earns a solid three stars out of five and, if you haven't been able to catch this current storyline, you may want to look out for any of Gillen's further work on the series as it has been very enjoyable so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thor (2007) #615

Sep 24, 2010

The cover is boring. It is simply Thor standing in front of some buildings. Yawn. The title "" nice and big, in a unique-looking font "" is aesthetically pleasing to me, but otherwise there's nothing to make this cover stand out. It bears no real relation to the events of the book, and frankly doesn't seem to have had any thought put into it at all.A Nice Surprise

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Tomb of Terror #1

Oct 18, 2010

The cover is fairly average "" featuring the three characters from the first three stories, and not much else. It's colour scheme of browns ensures it doesn't really stand out. Man-Thing is also drawn a bit thin for my liking, far from the formidable creature in the book. I do, however, like how the cover is presented in a that sort of old style, with a few exclamation marks and text promising "More pages, more chills!"

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Toy Story #5

Aug 4, 2010

Cover A has its ups and downs: it features the five competitors for Bo Peep's affections (and also Hamm, who does not compete in the second challenge but who was put in there presumably because they needed someone to occupy the sixth position) in boxes, with Bo Peep in the middle. The content of the cover is fine, even good, but the background is just awful. It's some vile patterned red thing that contrasts with the blue background of the boxes so as to actually make me feel nauseous. It's hard to imagine a worse colour they could have picked for this background "" it looks like some horribly cheap carpet and quite simply makes my eyes hurt. Cover B is much better, in fact featuring three panels of woody putting on his Sheriff's badge and looking determined. It's eye-catching, provokes interest and really highlights that this is Woody's story "" something that would have been more effective if the aforementioned character development actually came to fruition.BOTTOM LINE: For Kids Only

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More