Steve Gustafson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: 411Mania Reviews: 13
8.5Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Animosity: World of Animosty #1

Sep 14, 2017

Pick this up and then get started on Animosity, you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Animosity: Evolution #1

Sep 28, 2017

AfterShock has earned their reputation for putting out some of the most diverse and entertaining comics in the industry. Animosity is a prime example of this. Writer Marguerite Bennett has filled the book with likable characters and realistic scenarios that will intrigue readers from the start. Artist Eric Gapstur has a clean, familiar style that makes it easy to follow both the quiet scenes and action moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
B.P.R.D.: The Devil You Know #1

Jul 20, 2017

The Devil You Know kicks off another bold and dramatic chapter and is a great read for fans and best enjoyed during a rainy night with plenty of lightning in the background.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dan Dare #1

Oct 12, 2017

Dan Dare is another solid read from Titan Comics and gives you plenty to chew on while waiting for the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Dark Ark #1

Aug 10, 2017

AfterShock Comics is quickly becoming my favorite publisher with a long line of selections that fill a number of genres. Dark Ark is another smash and one that I heartily endorse. I can't wait to see how the story (and art) unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fighting American (2017) #1

Oct 12, 2017

There's certain baggage and a fine line when it comes to comic characters whose best days may be behind them. It takes a special creative team to find the right angle and Renni and Mighten have found it. Even better, they have me looking forward to the next issue, thanks to a fresh twist that's best left for you to read for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fu Jitsu #1

Aug 17, 2017

The first issue does a great job setting everything up and giving us a taste of what to expect. Pick this one up and enjoy the ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jimmy's Bastards #1

Oct 5, 2017

Jimmy's Bastards is familiar but never trite with its portrayal of the secret spy genre. It mixes plenty of flavors into the recipe, mystery, romance, action. The book flows with excitement, laughs, and by the end you'll want to go back and read it again to catch all the cool things you missed the first time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shipwreck #5

Aug 31, 2017

I've been on an AfterShock kick recently and Shipwreck is another stellar addition to my reading list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #1

Aug 25, 2016

Bottom line, this issue is geared to ride off the publicity of the movie and bring in new fans. For those of us who've been on the Suicide Squad team for years, it's a filler but good enough to get me to come back for the second issue. Good not great but hopeful for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #163

Feb 16, 2017

For fans of The Walking Dead TV show, this issue might be a little jarring with what the future holds. Still, it's an entertaining read and you get more than your moneys worth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wild Storm #1

Feb 23, 2017

Wild Storm #1 is a tremendous new take from Ellis and Davis-Hunt that lays the lines for a new Wildstorm that won't be content with following the rules of the old Wildstorm.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wolfenstein #1

Sep 14, 2017

I'll also say that you get your moneys worth with a whopping 56 pages of story. Will the hardcore gamers enjoy it? I can't tell you but the first issue definitely gets your interest. What more can you ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More