Steve Gustafson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: 411Mania Reviews: 28
8.5Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Animosity: World of Animosty #1

Sep 14, 2017

Pick this up and then get started on Animosity, you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Animosity: Evolution #1

Sep 28, 2017

AfterShock has earned their reputation for putting out some of the most diverse and entertaining comics in the industry. Animosity is a prime example of this. Writer Marguerite Bennett has filled the book with likable characters and realistic scenarios that will intrigue readers from the start. Artist Eric Gapstur has a clean, familiar style that makes it easy to follow both the quiet scenes and action moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
B.P.R.D.: The Devil You Know #1

Jul 20, 2017

The Devil You Know kicks off another bold and dramatic chapter and is a great read for fans and best enjoyed during a rainy night with plenty of lightning in the background.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman (2016) #69

Apr 18, 2019

Great wrap up on the story and King continues to write some of the best Batman/Bruce Wayne stories out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batman: Last Knight on Earth #1

May 30, 2019

To go into details and spoilers would ruin the book's impact and while I wouldn't want every Batman story to be like this, this is one book just about anyone could pick up and be engrossed by. Grab this one and get a glimpse of what the Black Label can offer DC's characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dan Dare #1

Oct 12, 2017

Dan Dare is another solid read from Titan Comics and gives you plenty to chew on while waiting for the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Dark Ark #1

Aug 10, 2017

AfterShock Comics is quickly becoming my favorite publisher with a long line of selections that fill a number of genres. Dark Ark is another smash and one that I heartily endorse. I can't wait to see how the story (and art) unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
DC's Year of the Villain Special #1

May 9, 2019

Easy issue to recommend and one that has me looking forward to DC's next big event.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #1000

Mar 28, 2019

Trust me. This is one of those books that more than delivers in value for what you pay. Detective Comics #1000 is to be celebrated not just for attaining the #1000 landmark but also for being a fun, imaginative read about Batman. Find it at your local comic shop today!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Doom Patrol: Weight of the Worlds (2019) #1

Jun 27, 2019

If you've every enjoyed a Doom Patrol book in the past or like the series, give this a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fighting American (2017) #1

Oct 12, 2017

There's certain baggage and a fine line when it comes to comic characters whose best days may be behind them. It takes a special creative team to find the right angle and Renni and Mighten have found it. Even better, they have me looking forward to the next issue, thanks to a fresh twist that's best left for you to read for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fu Jitsu #1

Aug 17, 2017

The first issue does a great job setting everything up and giving us a taste of what to expect. Pick this one up and enjoy the ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jimmy's Bastards #1

Oct 5, 2017

Jimmy's Bastards is familiar but never trite with its portrayal of the secret spy genre. It mixes plenty of flavors into the recipe, mystery, romance, action. The book flows with excitement, laughs, and by the end you'll want to go back and read it again to catch all the cool things you missed the first time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shipwreck #5

Aug 31, 2017

I've been on an AfterShock kick recently and Shipwreck is another stellar addition to my reading list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Age Of Rebellion: Boba Fett #1

May 23, 2019

A simple story with great art. That's perfect for Boba Fett. Greg Pak, Marc Laming and Neeraj Menon get it right and make this an easy one to recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars: Age Of Rebellion: Luke Skywalker #1

Jun 13, 2019

It's a good set up but the 3-man art team stops it from reaching its full capacity. I'm not sure what the thinking behind it was but it's a shame they went this route. A soft recommendation for Star Wars fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge #1

May 2, 2019

Not the first issue I was thinking I'd get and while I'd pass on this one, next month might be a different story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #1

Aug 25, 2016

Bottom line, this issue is geared to ride off the publicity of the movie and bring in new fans. For those of us who've been on the Suicide Squad team for years, it's a filler but good enough to get me to come back for the second issue. Good not great but hopeful for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen (2019) #1

Jun 20, 2019

Run, don't walk, to your nearest comic book shop, and grab this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #163

Feb 16, 2017

For fans of The Walking Dead TV show, this issue might be a little jarring with what the future holds. Still, it's an entertaining read and you get more than your moneys worth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Walking Dead #190

Apr 11, 2019

As a fan from the start, I'm more than happy to say that this book still finds ways to entertain and keep us engaged in what happens. Don't believe me? Pick this one up and see for yourself!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #192

Jun 6, 2019

Some are calling this a jumping off point but I beg to differ. This is a great time to pick it up and see where they go next. Based on what this issue lays out, this is a must-read for Walking Dead fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Walking Dead #193

Jul 11, 2019

This is an easy book to recommend and not just for Walking Dead fans. It's a book that deserves a place in just about every collection. An end to an era that won't soon be forgotten.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Transformers (2019) #1

Mar 22, 2019

Bringing it all back, this was a solid book to push out into the market and I'd give it a solid push as a pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
War of the Realms #1

Apr 5, 2019

Outside some flow issues, War of the Realms gets it right and while another epic, crossover, this is one that feels fresh, almost cinematic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Web Of Venom: Cult of Carnage #1

Apr 25, 2019

The Venom corner of the Marvel Universe continues to grow, which may end up being its undoing but at the end of the day, it's a surprisingly good book and one worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wild Storm #1

Feb 23, 2017

Wild Storm #1 is a tremendous new take from Ellis and Davis-Hunt that lays the lines for a new Wildstorm that won't be content with following the rules of the old Wildstorm.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wolfenstein #1

Sep 14, 2017

I'll also say that you get your moneys worth with a whopping 56 pages of story. Will the hardcore gamers enjoy it? I can't tell you but the first issue definitely gets your interest. What more can you ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More