Tim Lenaghan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: IGN Reviews: 44
7.9Avg. Review Rating

6.7
Adventure Comics (2009) #4

Nov 18, 2009

While this issue of Adventure Comics does offer some funny fourth-wall bending moments, I would have rather read a continuation of Johns' and Manapul's Connor Kent storyline and gone without my Blackest Night fix for this week. I'm hopeful that Alexander Luthor's "spoiler alert" at the end of this issue will bear fruit but I'm certainly not holding my breath.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Aliens vs Predator: Three World War #1

Jan 13, 2010

This isn't a bad comic by any stretch of the imagination. The script, character work, and art are all strong here. But if you had showed this comic to me in 1992 I would have felt robbed because although there are Aliens and Predators here they certainly weren't what I was expecting them to be. I just wanted one scene that made me want to reach back in time and give 10-year-old Tim a high five, but sadly I left myself hanging.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #620

Feb 10, 2010

With The Gauntlet era of Amazing Spider-Man now in full swing, it was a little disappointing to see the series, which has been firing on all cylinders, take a noticeable dip in quality over the course of the past two issues. While the closing chapter of Dan Slott's "Mysterioso" is, without question, the most well executed and enjoyable installment of the story, ultimately it fails to convey the same sense of satisfaction that previous contributions to The Gauntlet have delivered in spades.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #624

Mar 10, 2010

Overall, this two-issue effort by Waid continues his trend of being one of the more reliable members of the Spidey Brain Trust. While it's still not clear whether or not the new Vulture is a valuable member of the rogue's gallery, Waid continues to tug on the heartstrings of Spider-Man readers through his manipulations of some of the core components of the character's universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #626

Mar 24, 2010

It's interesting to note that throughout the Gauntlet the best stories have been the shorter one or two issue offerings, and this issue is no exception. Here, Van Lente manages to craft a highly enjoyable one-shot issue. His work is among the best that the Spidey braintrust has to offer and I'm eager to see him contribute more in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #628

Apr 21, 2010

As if to remind readers that Peter hasn't been time warped back to the heyday of glam rock, an extra story written by Mark Waid and penciled by '90s Spidey artist Todd Nauck is included in the issue. The story would be mostly forgettable if not for the appearance of a certain iron-clad hero who swoops in at the last minute. It continues Waid's economic themed Spidey stories as Peter fights the Absorbing Man while simultaneously phone interviewing for a sales position. However this "extra" story's references to the current status quo of Amazing only make the main feature of this issue feel more misplaced in the larger Spidey framework.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #635

Jun 23, 2010

What's been particularly refreshing about "Grim Hunt" thus fa, is the way in which Kelly has been able to simultaneously recognize that he's treading on sacred ground while still managing to tell a story that feels independent of its connection to "Kraven's Last Hunt". There's an inherent sense of urgency that's such a large part of the best Spider-Man stories, whether it's manifested in a dying Aunt in need of her medicine or a hero whose been buried alive. That sense of urgency is what makes the wait between issues so excruciating. It pervades the entire story and transcends being a mere cliffhanger. Joe Kelly has captured that sense perfectly here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Amazing Spider-Man Presents: American Son #1

May 19, 2010

While I found this issue to be an enjoyable read, to fully appreciate it requires a large knowledge of Osborn family history. That may discourage new readers from picking up subsequent chapters. I've been waiting for someone to utilize Harry in a meaningful way since his OMD resurrection and looks like this series may pick up right where Joe Kelly's "American Son" left off.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Avengers (2010) #1

May 19, 2010

Overall, Avengers is another solid addition to Marvel's Heroic Age. While it may take a while to establish an identity that sets this series apart from Bendis' work on New Avengers, this first issue is certainly a step in the right direction. For the first time in a while this franchise feels as though it can take itself in any direction it wants without having to work around a line-wide status quo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Avengers Prime #1

Jun 3, 2010

All told, if Bendis can continue to mine the differences that separate Thor, Cap and Iron Man while simultaneously rebuilding their relationships with one another then this series will be a success. When you couple this reunion that's been years in the making with the fantastic art of Davis, this book could easily be considered my most anticipated Avengers title for the time being.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Batman #694

Dec 16, 2009

I think its finally safe to say that Tony Daniel has stepped out of the shadow cast by Battle for the Cowl. His current run succeeds in almost everyway that the previous event faltered. If you're not reading Daniel's arc because you disliked Cowl, I'd recommend picking these issues up. With equal parts mystery and action, this is a Batman story done right.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman #697

Mar 17, 2010

Overall, this issue represents a satisfying conclusion to Daniel's premiere storyline on the title. While this issue does still have some lingering scripting issues the compelling nature of the conflicts themselves outweigh them. This book represents a solid supplement or even alternative to Morrison's Batman and Robin, particularly for those who prefer their Batman stories to be a touch darker. With the myriad of Bat books currently flooding the stands this one has certainly earned a spot at the top of the heap.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Batman and Robin #11

Apr 7, 2010

Needless to say this series is currently running at full throttle as DC approaches the Return of Bruce Wayne. Morrison continues to add new layers to his multi-year run on Batman, and the fact that with each new issue he has me clamoring to reread previous installments can't be overstated.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: The Return of Bruce Wayne #2

May 26, 2010

Overall, Morrison continues to craft an engrossing story that casts a wide net over not just the Batman mythos but the entire DC Universe as well. With any luck the story will manage to do justice to both of these ongoing plots until they ultimately intersect. Unfortunately in this issue the DC Universe stole much of the spotlight away from Bruce Wayne himself due mostly to the fact that Puritan Batman failed to resonate in a meaningful way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 #31

Jan 13, 2010

Despite the shortcomings involved with the overall direction of the series I can't help but enjoy issues like this one. Whedon manages to craft a script that blends equal parts comedy and drama with just a touch of action for good measure. There's enough here for any Buffy fan to enjoy and like the best episodes of the television series this issue will be one I find myself revisiting again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 #32

Feb 1, 2010

It appears evident that the penultimate story arc of Buffy Season Eight is in capable hands. Meltzer's first chapter goes a long way toward establishing a focus for Season Eight in a way that other story arcs have failed to. With the impending reveal of Twilight on the horizon and the revelation of the true cause of Buffy's newfound abilities, this promises to be a story with real repercussions for the slayer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 #33

Mar 3, 2010

When it's all said and done I actually like the idea of Angel being the villain of Season Eight. I just wish the character had been portrayed differently throughout the series. Meltzer has done an admirable job of trying to salvage the reveal but as of this issue Angel's actions and dialogue simply aren't evocative of the character, but regardless Meltzer and Whedon have my attention for the remainder of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 #34

Apr 7, 2010

Overall this issue is a difficult one to pin down. Meltzer's run has been somewhat of a smorgasbord of genres, some elements of which have been remarkably successful and some of which have fallen a bit flat. Unfortunately this issue finds itself mostly in the latter category.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Captain America (2004) #603

Feb 17, 2010

Needless to say, I'm thrilled to have this series back. It returns Captain America to what truly made the series such a compelling read each and every month before Reborn. There's also a Nomad backup feature in this issue that, while strikingly different in tone from the main feature, deals with the Secret Empire and is well worth the extra dollar.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Chew #6

Nov 25, 2009

It's safe to say that this comic represents a near perfect union of script and art. With its cleverly twisted concept and over-the-top visuals Chew is a comic that should be on everyone's pull list and as long as Layman and Guillory continue to deliver stories of this caliber it will remain at the top of my reading pile.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Chew #9

Mar 3, 2010

There's so much to gush about this series at this point that it's starting to feel somewhat ridiculous, yet the creators continue to churn out new and exciting concepts month after month, so, alas, the heaping of praise must continue. With one trade and four additional issues on the shelves it's still not too late to jump into this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Daredevil (1998) #506

Apr 14, 2010

Overall this has been an extremely strong first arc for Diggle. While it lacks the same sense of urgency as Brubaker's "Devil in Cell Block D" it's certainly on par with the remainder of his run. As the arc enters its final chapter, it's comforting to know that Daredevil continues to be in capable hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Daredevil (1998) #507

Jun 9, 2010

Ultimately, Diggle and Johnston provide a satisfying, if somewhat anticlimactic, conclusion to the most recent Daredevil story arc. It's clear that the writer's are prepared to take the character to new and interesting places and with Shadowland on the horizon it looks like readers won't have long to wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dark Avengers #13

Jan 20, 2010

I can already imagine the outraged voices on message boards across the country decrying the direct biblical references in this book. While I'm unconvinced as to whether or not they will pan out in a meaningful way, Bendis has piqued my curiosity enough with his wild theories to keep me reading. Just as long as the Sentry doesn't turn out to be Marvel Man...

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Detective Comics #859

Nov 25, 2009

Detective Comics remains one of the most consist reads on the stands right now. It combines great storytelling with fantastic art, and will without a doubt become essential reading for anyone interested in the Bat-Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Dr. Horrible #1

Nov 18, 2009

However, both the script and art make this a series I would continue to buy if it was turned into an ongoing. If anything this comic certainly proves that the Dr. Horrible concept is capable of translating into other mediums and I certainly hope we see more of the universe in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Flash (2010) #1

Apr 14, 2010

There's been a lot of talk of Barry's importance over the course of the last year, however this is the first time I've felt as though bringing the character back was a worthwhile venture. Johns and Manapul finally appear to be giving Barry a new lease on life with this series, and I can't wait to see what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Flash: Rebirth #6

Feb 24, 2010

Overall, I've found the majority of Rebirth to be enjoyable. The final issue, despite its flaws, provided a fitting close to the character's journey here while still teasing at what's to come. Even though Johns' exploration of the character wasn't as systematic as I was hoping it would be, it certainly left me anxious to see where he'll take the franchise in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Green Lantern (2005) #51

Feb 17, 2010

Overall, Geoff Johns and Doug Mahnke have managed to make me thoroughly excited to see what unfolds next week in Blackest Night #7. There's little doubt that we'll witness some sort of showdown between Luthor and Black Lantern Superman, and if Lex's threats in this issue are any indication it should be a sight to behold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Invincible Iron Man #21

Dec 9, 2009

While other books in the Dark Reign landscape have me clamoring for Siege to begin as soon as possible, Invincible Iron Man has me content with its current status quo. Fraction is really turning in the definitive deconstruction of Tony Stark's character, now if only Cap and Thor can put Iron Man back together again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Invincible Iron Man #23

Feb 3, 2010

All things considered, this issue of Invincible Iron Man is really just an example of a storyline that's been extended about one issue too long. Had the events depicted here been condensed and combined with last month's offering the pacing of "Disassembled" would be markedly improved. With that being said, I'm looking forward to Iron Man finally returning to the pages of this book next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invincible Iron Man #25

Apr 28, 2010

When it's all said and done Invincible Iron Man #25 represents a fantastic jumping on point for new readers, while still showcasing a good deal of what has made the series so enjoyable of the course of the last two years as well. It's clear that Fraction has more in store for the character of Tony Stark and I'm excited to see him and Larroca continue their fantastic run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Mighty Avengers #33

Jan 20, 2010

Based upon future solicits and events that take place in this issue it looks like Pym's Avengers' role in Siege may be fairly limited and that's unfortunate. The interactions between the Dark and Mighty Avengers have been truly enjoyable. This story arc reveals a book that is just starting to get its legs and I'd hate to see the door closed on this team so soon after its inception.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Mighty Avengers #34

Mar 3, 2010

As I stated before, this issue does have its problems. It's certainly not up to par with Slott's previous arc but it does provide a satisfying one and done story that doesn't feel like a throwaway either. There are many satisfying developments in this issue; unfortunately there are just too many flaws in the execution for them to stand out properly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Avengers #61

Jan 27, 2010

Overall this issue of New Avenger's offers some great insight into both the two Captain Americas and Spider-man and Spider-Woman. It's satisfying to see the Hood's storyline with the Norn stones being brought to the forefront of the book. If Bendis successfully ties them in with the events of Siege this book could become integral to the main series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
New Avengers Annual #3

Dec 9, 2009

Ultimately the story in New Avenger's Annual #3 felt a bit sparse for its $4.99 cover price. While it did offer 10 extra pages of story they felt mostly unnecessary and seemed to be added merely to justify the issue's "Annual" moniker. Also by January I expect I'll be able to recite the first six pages of Siege as a dramatic monologue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Avengers (2010) #1

Jun 16, 2010

Perhaps the most enjoyable aspect of this issue was that it didn't feel like just another book on top of the growing Avengers pile. There are some dramatic differences between the four core Avengers titles that each highlights a unique aspect of the franchise. It's clear that no matter what your tastes may be Marvel is striving to cater at least one Avengers book that appeals to you. In the case of New Avengers that focus appears to be that this is a group of heroes that puts family first.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Secret Warriors #13

Feb 24, 2010

With all of this in mind I have to confess I found my interest in this series wavering not too long ago, however Hickman has successfully drawn me back into his web of espionage and intrigue. Along with his new SHIELD series, he may be carving a niche for himself that has the potential to rival Bendis' for dominance over the greater Marvel Universe. Regardless this series should be considered as one of the publisher's best monthly offerings.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Siege #2

Feb 3, 2010

While it's far too early to pass judgment on Siege as a whole, this issue was somewhat of a disappointment. A huge part of me is reveling in the fact that this series is only four issues, but unfortunately it doesn't appear that four issues is going to be adequate space to touch upon all the character moments necessary to make this a story worth caring about. As it stands, Siege feels more like a means for ending Dark Reign and bringing forth the Heroic Age than it does anything else.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Siege: The Cabal #1

Dec 3, 2009

Overall Siege: The Cabal sets the stage for the main event quite well. Bendis' story left me with just the right amount of questions while still providing an enjoyable one-shot story. It's evident that Norman is clinging to his favorable public image by a thread, and with pressure mounting against him, a return to the Goblin glider can't be far behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Siege: Embedded #1

Jan 6, 2010

Overall this issue proved to be a great companion to the first issue of the main series. This tie-in may have more to offer than past Front Line series have, and given that Siege is only 4 issues, readers may want to consider picking this tie-in up to add some additional depth to the event as it progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Tails of the Pet Avengers #1

Feb 10, 2010

Overall this issue was something of a disappointment. While the fable structure of the stories may offer sufficient appeal for the younger crowd, it ultimately fails to deliver the all ages appeal that came with the previous Pet Avengers installment. If you're a parent, I recommend this book as a stepping-stone for the next generation of Marvel faithful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Marvels Project #5

Jan 13, 2010

Overall Brubaker and Epting have created a great window into the Golden Age Marvel Universe. Managing to offer a fresh take on a familiar concept by focusing their story mostly on ancillary characters. I can only hope that when this series ends Marvel continues to explore this period of time in their history. And for the record, I would be completely on board for a noir Ferret detective series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #7

Feb 10, 2010

Overall it looks like Bendis has another great addition to his ever-expanding arsenal of characters in this title. As the cast of this book continues to expand its comforting to see that the stories being told still retain their quality. Ultimate Spider-Man continues to keep the torch of the Ultimate Universe burning.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More