Marvel Knights Spider-Man #12

Writer: Mark Millar Artist: Terry Dodson Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: March 30, 2005 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 6
5.0Critic Rating
7.8User Rating

THE LAST STAND PART 4
Spider-Man is in for the fight of his life against two of his greatest foes. And with MJ's life on the line, there is no room for mistakes! Don't miss the conclusion to THE LAST STAND!

  • 6.0
    Comics Bulletin - Jason Cornwell Apr 12, 2005

    Terry and Rachel Dodson turn in a pretty impressive effort on their final issue, as they're called upon to deliver a rain soaked battle high atop a bridge, and there's several memorable images that manages to nicely raise the excitement level. I mean while I knew his efforts would be successful I have to say I was quite impressed by the art's ability to convey Spider-Man's frantic state as he works to save the plummeting Mary Jane. There's also a couple impressive impact shots like the sequence where Spider-Man uses his webbing to slam the Green Goblin and his glider into the ground. The art also manages to nicely sell the sheer desperation of Peter as he works to free his trapped Aunt May, and the emotion when he attempts to revive her were well realized, as was the dramatic impact of the one-page spread where we see the results of his efforts. My only problem with this issue's art is that I found the cover didn't really do that great a job of selling the sense of urgency it needed to Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Comics Bulletin - David Wallace Apr 8, 2005

    The way to capture creative lightning in a bottle isnt to retread old storylines until weve seen so much of them that we lose any sense of the impact they might once have had. It isnt to trot out classic villain after classic villain in the hope that the sheer volume of bad guys will amount to some kind of palpable, tangible, and epic threat to our hero. What Spider-Man fans want to see is new ground being forged, new ideas explored, and old relationships given new life through examination from a fresh point of view. Sadly, Millars Spider-Man is pure Spidey-by-numbers, with nothing remotely novel or interesting to offer the longtime Spider-Man fan. Perhaps the writer has been constrained by his own sense of awe for the character and misplaced wish to be overly loyal to Spideys roots: as he admits in his afterword, Millar just wanted to get all his love and enthusiasm for the character down on the page apparently with little regard for creating a decent story around it. The r Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Green Goblin Oct 2, 2021

    This is a very cool comic, it can even deserve 10, but I pissed about things like Jonah still believing that his son is Spider-Man. Didn't he talk to him? Didn't he actually see, that they were seen together sometimes? His son even was Man-Wolf, how could be Spider-Man? And May again moves in to her old house. What was the point of her moving in the first issue? Make money problems for Peter and MJ? But their problems are gone, because May sold that new apartment... Well, that's just makes the importance of this comic smaller. You don't really feel, that something changed. And that Norman's letter on the last page... What a crazy idiot he is...

    Also it was dumb, that lightning defeated Goblin and Ock. That's just stupid.

  • 9.0
    iPodwithnomusic Sep 3, 2021

  • 8.0
    Julhin Feb 27, 2021

  • 7.5
    Nicetrylaoche Sep 27, 2018

  • 7.0
    JS3620 Dec 8, 2021

  • 6.5
    Grifter Jul 10, 2017

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More