Unbelievable Gwenpool #20

Writer: Christopher Hastings Artist: Gurihiru Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: September 13, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 1 User Reviews: 8
7.5Critic Rating
8.8User Rating

• Gwen Poole mysteriously escaped from our universe to join the Marvel Universe!
•  And her knowledge of comics has allowed her manipulate the very panels she walks in!
•  But as everyone knows, "With great power..." yadda, yadda, yadda...
•  Er...who's that evil-looking version of Gwen, anyway?
Rated T+

  • 7.5
    Multiversity Comics - Kate Kosturski Sep 15, 2017

    The wink-wink nudge-nudge joke can wear thin 20 issues in (especially in writing), but a hefty dose of self-actualization on the part of our heroine keeps plot moving. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Gizmo Nov 5, 2017

    Another stellar issue, I think this wraps what will be remembered as the defining arc for Gwenpool. We'll see what the future holds for her character, for better or worse. I do appreciate how the artist captures the difference in the figure drawing of adult and adolescent characters, you can clearly see the difference which is not always the case with comic art, so I appreciate it.

  • 9.0
    Rick Jonez Sep 15, 2017

    A (metatextual) joy to read and satisfying way to end the story arc in this ongoing medium that (intrinsically) can never end. The art was wonderful. To be honest, at this point, I am lost as to what origin Gwen believes she has and what readers are expected to acknowledge as MU canon.

  • 9.0
    CrazyforRAMU Mar 30, 2018

    When presented with the opportunity to live forever if she goes evil, Gwen makes the hero's choice. It's sad but satisfying. This issue steers clear of a physical confrontation between Gwen and Evil Gwen, but after what she's been through, Gwen is the *last* hero who should get conned into beating herself up. GuriHiru's art is delightful as ever, and this story wraps up as a rather huge evolution of Gwenpool's character. We've come to some shockingly thought-provoking territory considering we started with "Howard the Duck backup series spun out of a variant cover by a webcartoonist."

  • 9.0
    EDiakota Sep 14, 2017

  • 9.0
    DiegoE Sep 18, 2017

  • 9.0
    StanielK Sep 28, 2017

  • 8.0
    markkawika Sep 18, 2017

  • 8.0
    iPodwithnomusic Jun 27, 2018

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More