Spider-Man: Blue Vol. 1
Prev Series Next

Spider-Man: Blue Vol. 1

Writer: Jeph Loeb Artist: Tim Sale Publisher: Marvel Comics Trade Paperback: July 27, 2011 Issues: 6, Issue Reviews: 83
7.2Critic Rating
8.5User Rating

Collects Spider-Man: Blue (2002) #1-6. "It's about remembering someone so important to me I was going to spend the rest of my life with her." What Peter Parker didn't know was that meant Gwen Stacy would only get to spend the rest of her life with him. This is the story of how they fell in love. Or more appropriately, how they almost didn't fall in love. Welcome to Spider-Man's life. Bad before good. It's kind of amazing. So to get the girl of his dreams, he'll have to run the gauntlet of the Green Goblin, the Rhino, two Vultures and a mysterious man in the shadows controlling it all. Join the Eisner Award-winning team of Jeph Loeb and Tim Sa more

  • 10
    Julhin Jun 23, 2022

    RIP Tim Sale, thank you is not enough to express how much your work has meant to me and so many others, forever grateful for the amazing stories you delivered, like this one, the first comic that made me cry, your legacy will live forever.

    + LikeComments (2)
  • 10
    jandals042 Aug 9, 2021

    Tears man, so many damn tears.

  • 8.5
    ThiagoRos9 Sep 9, 2020

    The most carismatic interpretation of Gwen Stacy.

  • 7.0
    Loafy Trophy Feb 9, 2022

    I've read this book a few times now in the past decade or so, and while I think it does a lot of things well, the holes in the story get harder to look past.

    First things first, the Tim Sale art is impeccable and among the best work he's done in his illustrious career. You can actually see the little influences from Ditko and Romita in his poses and design choices and I think it makes Sale's work all the better for it. The Vulture fight in particular is fun, kinetic and the snowy background really brings the skirmish to life. And when Sale gets to draw either of Peter's love interests, he knocks it out of the park. His interpretations of Mary Jane and Gwen, usually in contrast to one another, are the highlight of the story and effectively portray the conflict at the heart of the book.

    Unfortunately, I don't think Loeb's writing is really up to the standard Sale sets. Loeb does an effective job portraying the early days of Spider-Man in a canonically accurate way but I actually see this as a bit of a missed opportunity. For a story about the initial days of Peter and Gwen's relationship, we see surprisingly little actual development on that front. The story really never tells us why Gwen and Peter are perfect for one another, nor does it ever really make time for quieter moments between the two.

    Loeb has always been a writer that leans heavily on feeling over details, and I think he steers a little too far in that direction on this one. The book is worth the price of admission for the Sale art alone, but otherwise I don't think it compares favorably to some of this creative team's other, better works.

  • 10

  • 9.5
    jpablojr Apr 3, 2022

  • 9.0
    Linkush Nov 30, 2020

  • 8.5
    NoShape Dec 1, 2018

  • 8.5
    Ultimate Goblin Jun 24, 2022

  • 8.0
    milkshape Aug 25, 2017

  • 7.5
    ICC Mar 29, 2022

  • 7.0

  • 7.0
    Randy Sep 26, 2021

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More