Dan Mayhoff's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Reviews: 69
6.6Avg. Review Rating

4.0
A-Force (2016) #8

Aug 22, 2016

Aside from some nice art, this book has little to offer. It'snot a terrible read but it's also nothing to get excited about or bring in newreaders. Crossovers are a great chance for a book to pick up new readers wholiked what they read during the crossover. Unfortunately, this book hasstumbled out the gate to entice me. Ultimately, this book receives one of theworst descriptions that I can give a book: Unmemorable.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
A-Force (2016) #9

Sep 19, 2016

A-Force #9 fails to raise the series out of the hole that itfinds itself in now that we are dealing with Civil War II. The series isattempting to use the tone of old 1950's sci-fi horror films and someincredible art to win the reader over, but unfortunately the story is what tieseverything together and if it fails, everything else does too.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
A-Force (2016) #10

Oct 24, 2016

The set up was sloppy and turns out the rest of the storyfollowed suit. The issue is just filled with a bunch of nonsense and has thingsjust happen without explanation. It was poorly thought out and I wouldn't besurprised if they knew the book was going to end after this storyline and justhalf-assed their way through it. They picked up the magic score that we allknow and love.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D. #8

Aug 22, 2016

Read as Coulson finally picks a side of this conflict thatmakes sense with his character but is ultimately surrounded by story that haslittle stakes but is ultimately very nice and entertaining to look at. At leastthe ending left us with a cliffhanger that legitimately has me intrigued forthe future of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D. #9

Sep 26, 2016

This issue gives us less flip-flopping from Phil and moreawesome action sequences so it's already getting better, however overall thisissue is far from being anything special. Despite the strides it made, it'sonly slightly better than previous issues but is a bit more coherent. I'm stillnot looking forward to more of this series and I doubt many people are.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D. #10

Oct 31, 2016

While the final issue of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. doesn'taddress many of the ongoing storylines that have been introduced in the lastcouple issues, the storytelling aspect of this issue is actually very wellhandled. It does seem that the creative team learned this was going to be thefinal issue in their run and just did everything they could to end it as closeto the status quo as they could. That is a little frustrating but I understandit. Ultimately, it has a satisfying ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Captain Marvel (2016) #7

Aug 1, 2016

Overall, issue 7 of Captain Marvel is not going to havemassive reactions throughout the universe. It's not going to make the lastissue into something amazing. There is one scene that is really great and wellmade, but then there is a massive fuck up when it comes to the dialogue. Therest is a boring board meeting and a scene of action where they beat the crapout of a throwaway villain. At least the art is really amazing to look at.Regular fans of Weird Science DC Comic know the significance of the followingscore.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Captain Marvel (2016) #9

Oct 3, 2016

Fans of Captain Marvel will continue to be depressed by whatMarvel has chosen to do with the character. In addition, we get more meetingswith board members as if that's not what we've been doing for every issue sincethis crossover started. At this point, I completely understand why so manypeople are jumping ship on this book. I look forward to when this crossoverends and I no longer have to read this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Champions #1

Oct 10, 2016

This issue is nearly the perfect comic as we get almosteverything we could ever want from a comic book. The art is incredible andreally jumps off the page and Mark Waid knows these characters inside and out.The only thing that holds this comic back is the fact that it has to seteverything up and that can usually be a little tedious. However, this book doesit in style and shines from beginning to end. I hope this series continues tohave this kind of quality because this could be the beginning of something reallyspecial.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Champions #2

Nov 7, 2016

This issue just doesn't live up to the previous one. Thereare plenty of character moments that are nice and seeing how this groupinteracts with each other is nice. However, the majority of this issue is usedto try and catch new readers up with previous storylines and introducecharacters that regular readers already know. In addition, the cliffhangerwhile initially shocking seems like it could go very wrong if the creative teamchooses to go down the most predictable route of storytelling. The art is stillgood and I understand that some issues are meant to provide context and buildcharacter. Honestly though, this was a massive drop in quality from theprevious issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Champions #4

Jan 9, 2017

While it doesn't have the same weight that the previousissue brought, Champions is able to provide some awesome action and teambuilding in this issue and it really is a joy to read. I like seeing how thesecharacters interact with each other and seeing them take on the Atlanteans wasreally awesome. That said, we seem to be getting more of the same from thisbook right now. I'm looking forward to a point when we get something differentfrom this book but I'm still enjoying myself right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Civil War II: Amazing Spider-Man #2

Jul 25, 2016

This issue proves that the whole idea behind Civil War IIhas some real potential to be amazing (pun intended). The writing andstorytelling of this issue are incredible and the art really fits in the bookvery well. I cannot stress this enough. This is the BEST part of Civil War IIand if you are at all invested in this crossover, this is the book you must bereading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Civil War II: Amazing Spider-Man #4

Sep 19, 2016

This issue doesn't really live up to the impressive storythat we've gotten so far but ultimately it wraps everything up fairly well andstill provides an entertaining read for any reader. The art is really nice tolook at and I still believe that this book should have been bigger.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Civil War II: Choosing Sides #2

Jul 25, 2016

One section of this issue was really well executed.Unfortunately, the other sections really failed this issue. It was certainlybetter than issue #1 though.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Civil War II: Choosing Sides #3

Aug 1, 2016

There have been a few really special parts of thisminiseries so far. Unfortunately, these parts are few and far between. One goodstory out of three is not worth the price of this comic. I haven't been a hugefan of this crossover in general but, for all the competition that it has, thisbook is easily the worst part of Civil War II so far. This issue may be thebest one so far but it's still a chore to read through. No offense to thecreative teams. Some of you have done something really special. It's just ashame that it's a one off short story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.7
Civil War II: Choosing Sides #4

Aug 29, 2016

This issue gives us one great story, one “meh” story, andone story that's so blatant that it insults the very reader. Thank god for thecreative teams who were given these small stories and decided to really shinewith them and put a considerable amount of effort into making them great. Ifnot for them, this miniseries would be a complete wash.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Civil War II: Choosing Sides #5

Sep 5, 2016

Don't waste your cash on this miniseries. It has been acomplete shit show for a long time and this issue isn't going to fix it at all,but it is nice that the Nick Fury story is finally going somewhere. I guess wewill have to see if the final issue can save this series. My bet? It won't be.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.9
Civil War II: Choosing Sides #6

Sep 26, 2016

Choosing Sides finally has ended and it really stuck to it'soriginal idea of being just godawful. Granted, the White Fox story wasenjoyable and the art was unbelievable but aside from that this is anotherwaste of our time and money. If you're like me and you bought every issue, I'msorry because clearly you must be feeling the same regret I feel right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Civil War II: Gods of War #2

Jul 25, 2016

Dan Abnett gives us a fun and exciting story. We get to meeta few new characters that some readers may be unfamiliar with but thosecharacters are quickly established and even likable. The art compliments Abnett'sgreat writing and storytelling by being gorgeous and really being able to showmovement and action in an incredible way. This issue got me investing in thisbook and I'm excited for next month when issue 3 comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Civil War II: Gods of War #4

Sep 19, 2016

Dan Abnett finishes off his run with Hercules without anysort of style or grace. This is a half-assed issue that was clearly throwntogether at the last second with dialogue borrowed from everything that camebefore it. This issue is really pretty to look at and I praise the art team butthis is a terrible way to end this series and the entire thing has beentainted. A week ago, I would have recommended this series to anyone interestedin Civil War II. Now, I'm putting up caution tape and hoping nobody crosses theline.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Civil War II: Kingpin #1

Jul 18, 2016

Ultimately, I found myself enjoying one part of this bookfar more than the other but still found both intriguing and very well executed.Usually a book that has two parts sees the stories fail to mesh well together.That said, this issue did not fail in that regard. It's basically like tellingtwo different parts of the same story and I like that. The dialogue was niceand the art was interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Civil War II: Kingpin #2

Aug 15, 2016

Rosenberg gives us an amazing story and incredible dialogueas he leads us through the Marvel Universe's villains. That said, not a wholelot seems to be happening yet and this series is half over. The art fits thetone of the book but overall I'm not a huge fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Civil War II: Kingpin #3

Oct 3, 2016

Kingpin finally reaches a new level as a battle with ThePunisher (not a spoiler, it's on the freaking cover) gives us intense actionthat will have most turning page after page excited to see what comes next.Something that couldn't have said prior to this issue I now say with pride. I'mlooking forward to the reset of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Civil War II: Kingpin #4

Oct 24, 2016

Out of a terrible crossover event we might have gotten oneof the most entertaining Kingpin stories in a long time. This issue finishesoff this miniseries will a bang and will lead the creative team into the newKingpin series on a VERY high note. I cannot recommend this series enough now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Civil War II: The Accused #1

Aug 22, 2016

This issue is perfect. This is the story that we all wantedfrom this crossover. It's a damn shame that it is only around for a one-shot.The rest of Civil War II has left a bad taste in my mouth but this issue showsthat there were truly amazing stories that writers wanted to tell in thiscrossover. This one-shot gives us some of the best storytelling that I've readin years and the dialogue is incredibly sharp. I cannot sing the praises ofthis one-shot enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Civil War II: Ulysses #1

Sep 5, 2016

The book about Ulysses ultimately ends up focusing on Karnakfar more. It's hard not to as Karnak is one of the most interesting of theInhumans but it was a bit disappointing to not have any more insight intoUlysses than what I had before. In the end though, the beautiful art andamazing storytelling really won me over and I'm looking forward to the nextissue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Civil War II: Ulysses #2

Sep 19, 2016

Aside from some interesting panel layout and some gorgeousart, this issue doesn't have a lot of stuff happen. We get a little glimpseinto who Ulysses is as a character but it's not much and I only have a vaguelybetter idea as to who he is. Karnak shone in the first issue of this series andmade the issue really interesting. Unfortunately, things didn't turn out asnicely in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Civil War II: Ulysses #3

Oct 17, 2016

Civil War II: Ulysses ends with a whimper and does little tochange the game. Rather, the series only reinforces what we already knew whileadding a little of a story as possible. The art in the book is really nice tolook at but for a $4.99 price tag, it's easy to say that this book is a ripoff.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Daredevil / Punisher #3

Jul 18, 2016

While this issue of Daredevi/Punisher is certainly not goingto surprise you in any way, it is still a fun and action-packed issue. CharlesSoule really does know how to write dialogue for Daredevil very well and hemade the Punisher very impressive and intimidating. There's not much else Iwant from a miniseries like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Death of X #1

Oct 10, 2016

Death of X starts off very promising as we get thebeginnings of this major conflict between the Inhumans and the Mutants. Whileone group faces a new golden age, the other group faces extinction and they areon a collision course. This issue sets everything up very nicely and using somevery impressive storytelling devices. I'm looking forward to the rest of thisseries and I would definitely recommend this issue to anyone. How the rest ofthe series will go, I haven't a clue but this is one of the best ways to startit off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Death of X #2

Oct 24, 2016

Halfway through this series and we are still going verystrong. I expect the next issue to see direct conflict between the group ofMutants and the Inhumans and I'm really looking forward to it. So far, Lemireand Soule are doing some incredible work together and if this is the level ofquality that we can expect from the rest of this series and the Inhumans vs.X-Men crossover event that is coming, then we are all in for an amazing treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Death of X #3

Nov 7, 2016

While this may be the weakest issue so far, Death of Xcontinues to provide legitimately interesting storytelling and shows how smallmistakes or misunderstandings can lead to large conflicts between two groups ofpeople. This issue had some problems and I'm afraid that they final act will berushes and predictable. However, I'm still very excited for the conclusion ofthis series and I can't recommend it enough so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Death of X #4

Nov 28, 2016

The final issue of this series takes what was an intriguingstory and lead up to a crossover event and instead turns the whole series intoa head scratching mess. At this point, Soule and Lemire aren't even keepingcontinuity in their own damn miniseries. This issue gets a very special ratingbecause not only is this issue bad, but it also makes the rest of a veryenjoyable series worse by association.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.1
Doctor Strange / The Punisher: Magic Bullets #1

Dec 19, 2016

The first issue of this new crossover miniseries does verylittle to build up the story. Instead we get an introduction to characters thatmost will already know and the rest of the issue is creating a situation forthese two characters to team up. It's not exactly creative but it gets the jobdone. Hard to say that this issue is good, but it certainly isn't bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Gamora #1

Dec 26, 2016

Gamora gets a slow start out of the gate with this issue. Itcertainly isn't bad but this is the kind of issue that's value will bedetermined by whether or not the story that follows it is any good. If it is,we will look back on this issue fondly, if not we will wish this issue hadstarted something better. This is a middle of the road book at this point buthopefully we will get something more exciting in the issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghost Rider (2016) #1

Dec 5, 2016

Robbie Reyes is back and it's very exciting to see him backbehind the wheel of his Hell Charger. This book doesn't pander to new readersand while I may enjoy that as a regular reader, it may alienate some newreaders which could lead to this book's downfall. However, I'm really lookingforward to the future of this book, despite the jarring tone difference betweenthe two stories that we got in the main issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Ghost Rider (2016) #2

Jan 2, 2017

Despite a strong start, Ghost Rider has hit a bump with its second issue. Instead of focusing on Robbie Reyes and his struggle with Eli Morrow, we get a weird team-up between The Hulk and Wolverine who despite allowing a creature that could destroy a city get away have time to provide comedic relief and Amadeus tries and fails to hit on Laura. This comic was weird and felt completely different from the first issue and frankly, didn't make a lot of sense. At the very least, we got an incredible cliffhanger that has me really excited for the next issue but this issue was not enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hulk (2016) #1

Jan 2, 2017

This issue shows that the creative team is going to be taking a more cerebral approach to this character and I find that to be incredibly clever. This issue is a lot of set up and it took me a couple days after reading the story to fully appreciate what the writer was planning on doing with this book. That said, I'm impressed and I can't wait to see more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #1

Nov 14, 2016

While this new #1 catches readers up with this new characterand spoils unfinished stories to do it, not a whole lot is show to the audienceexcept for the fact that Riri Willaims seems capable at the very least. Thecomics made some safe choices that I don't necessarily agree with but this isoverall a good start to this story and this character. All eyes are on thisbook right now and I hope it thrives despite that pressure. For me, I'd saythis book is good. It's not great…. Yet. Some readers will enjoy it more but Ithink most will agree that this is a very solid start for this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #2

Dec 26, 2016

Not a lot happens in this issue. In the present day we haveRiri undergoing a training exercise and while it is entertaining and fun tolook at, it does little to advance the plot. Meanwhile, in the past we get astory about a loss in Riri's life that we already kind of explored in the firstissue. While it added a little more context, it ultimately felt redundant. Thisissue does give us a nice rapport between Riri and Tony and a cliffhanger thatwill hopefully get the ball rolling in this comic. This wasn't as good as thefirst issue but I found it to still be an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jessica Jones #1

Oct 10, 2016

This issue starts off slow. It certainly doesn't stumble outof the gate but it takes its time to get to something really exciting. However,so far this series has the feel right but we just need more before we can saywhether it's good or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Jessica Jones #2

Nov 21, 2016

Jessica Jones gives us one small answer to one of the dozensof questions that we had after the first issue and introduces a brand new batchof questions going forward. Gaydos' art is really hit or miss for me and thisissue felt like a big miss and the dialogue is done so carefully so as not tospoil any of the questions that we have already. I understand wanting to leavethe reader in suspense, however the book is suffering from it heavily at thispoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jessica Jones #3

Dec 19, 2016

Jessica Jones finally gives us an intriguing and compellingissue as we are given some answers that reveal the overall idea behind thisfirst storyline. It is incredibly satisfying but doesn't end the questions thatI still have about the book. It reveals enough without revealing everything andI think that's pretty damn impressive. New questions race through my mind andinstead of it being tedious and enraging, it is terrific and engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jessica Jones #4

Jan 16, 2017

This issue of Jessica Jones isn't just good, it's so goodthat it makes all the issue that came before it even better. This issue issatisfying and so real I cannot praise it enough. When it comes to stories likethis, I tend to know what I like and I wasn't getting that in the first coupleof issues but now I'm going to have to rethink everything I thought beforebecause this issue was such an enormous pay off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Kingsway West #1

Jul 30, 2016

Greg Pak is at it again with a new story and he hasn'tmissed a beat. He is joined by an amazing art team as the first issue ofKingsway West gives us everything you would want from a first issue. We aregiven a compelling story, beautiful art, and are introduced to a brand newworld that harps upon both fantastical and realistic themes and makes them feelas if they always belonged together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #9

Aug 1, 2016

Despite a quick turnaround from the last issue, this issuegives us amazing storytelling and incredible art. I cannot recommend this bookenough. One of my favorite books from Marvel and probably one of my favoritebooks. Period.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ms. Marvel (2015) #10

Sep 5, 2016

If you want a book that is written in the tradition of oldcomics while bringing it into the modern age, this is the book for you. It hasso much heart and Kamala really feels like the perfect example of a new hero thatwill resonate with new readers. If the day comes where I'm poor and living onthe street, hopefully I'll still have enough cash every month to buy a copy ofthis book because I never want to stop reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ms. Marvel (2015) #11

Oct 3, 2016

Despite dealing with Civil War II, Ms. Marvel has managed togive us one of the best issues that it's ever had. It has the fun that regularreaders love but the team was smart enough to give the serious moments theirdue and treat them as they should be treated. The serious moments weren'tcheapened and the fun moments weren't weighed down. With this issue, Ms. Marvelmay be in the running for my favorite book at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ms. Marvel (2015) #12

Oct 31, 2016

Ms. Marvel starts off its Marvel NOW! imprint perfectly asit gives us a story that will be a great jumping on point for new readers whilestill continuing to deal with the consequences and issues that previousstorylines introduced. The issue is funny, serious, heartwarming and everythingin between and it does it all masterfully. Ms. Marvel has been one of myfavorite books for a long time but with this issue, I consider it to be a mustread for any comic fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Ms. Marvel (2015) #13

Dec 5, 2016

This issue of Ms. Marvel comes out a bit too late as itdelivers a ton of information in a comic PSA about the importance of voting inour elections. Unfortunately, due to the election being over a month ago, thiscomic feels a bit out of place. However, a decent story and some delightful artfrom our creative team really pulls this comic together. Hopefully this comicwill be reprinted and brought up again by Marvel when elections roll aroundagain because it is an important message.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ms. Marvel (2015) #14

Jan 15, 2017

Ms. Marvel has returned to form as we get an amazing set upissue for the next story arc. It is filled with awesome action, entertainingdialogue, and leaves us with an amazing cliffhanger. The comic is able to holdon to the effects of the previous story arc and doesn't ignore them. We can seehow the affect Kamala and this comic has me excited to see where this issuegoes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nova (2015) #9

Jul 25, 2016

The latest Civil War II tie-in from Nova gives us a reallyimportant story to his character and a very interesting take on how youngerheroes fit into this crossover event. These kids are supposed to be equalmembers of the Avengers and yet some of them (mostly Nova) are being left outof one of the biggest issues in their universe. In addition, the art isincredibly impressive and really makes this book something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Silk (2015) #11

Aug 15, 2016

Aside from a few odd scenes, Silk continues to give us consistentlyamazing content and I'm loving every second of it. In addition, it would seemthat Tana Ford has really found a groove and has created the best art so far inthis issue and I hope that it continues in the future. The issue was a bit of adialogue heavy but I loved it and look forward to the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Silk (2015) #12

Sep 12, 2016

The creative team behind this series has really set the barvery high for themselves. Unfortunately, this month they did not reach thatsame level of quality. Don't get me wrong, I'm still very excited to see whathappens next and the art in this book is really incredible. Honestly, the artis probably what kept my score high for this book. That said, this issue isultimately a bit unsatisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Silk (2015) #13

Oct 24, 2016

Silk has been an amazing book since the relaunch (with theexception of Spider-Women) but has finally hit a bump in the road. The serieshas been building up to this reunion and unfortunately it all feels rushed,most likely due to the crossover event that Silk will tie into next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Silk (2015) #14

Nov 21, 2016

Silk spends its debut Clone Conspiracy tie-in setting up thefuture of this storyline rather than giving us anything really big or juicy buthopefully that will pay off. Unfortunately, that doesn't make for an extremelyentertaining issue but some great art really pulls this comic along and I'mstill looking forward to the future that this series will give us.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Silk (2015) #15

Dec 19, 2016

While I am a huge fan of this series, we seem to be enteringa bit of another crossover slump with it. We get an issue that startssemi-exciting only to end in the most predictable and boring way possible.Maybe something will happen later in this storyline that will give us more togravitate to but right now this issue is only a little better than theSpider-Women crossover issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Silk (2015) #16

Jan 15, 2017

This comic is boring and until the end we don't get a wholelot. We have character that we are familiar with exchange dialogue that seemsto be repeating itself over and over again. I love this comic but this issue isnot very good. At least the art is good but I've grown tired of it. I'm veryfrustrated and I want everyone to know that this book is usually not like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Spider-Woman (2015) #9

Jul 18, 2016

Having a book with such a lighthearted tone while tacklinggruesome situations would be very intimidating for most writers and artist butthis book handled it flawlessly. Ultimately the rest of the book is set up forJess's role in the Civil War II crossover. The part of the book that stood onits own was very fun and entertaining as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.1
Spider-Woman (2015) #10

Aug 22, 2016

The previous set up issue is followed by another set upissue. There's little that makes this issue important with exception to thefinally couple of pages. I actually liked the art a lot more than I did in theprevious issue but my enthusiasm for this series is fading fast.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.9
Squadron Supreme (2015) #9

Jul 25, 2016

This issue is equally a good jumping on point and a bad one.The fact that we are getting a character's backstory makes it accessible but wealso harp upon storylines from previous issues which the average reader did notread. The art was good but nothing special. Overall, a strange issue to be atie-in to the Civil War II crossover. It just seems forced to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Squadron Supreme (2015) #10

Aug 15, 2016

If you've been reading this book since the first issue, thismay address storylines that you were wondering about. However, if you jumped onthe book for the Civil War II tie-in like I did, you will have little knowledgeof what's going on and the issue will all but ignore the Civil War IIstoryline. The art is a mixed bag and the storytelling of this issue is boring,contrived, and unoriginal.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Squadron Supreme (2015) #11

Sep 12, 2016

Another ultimately unexciting and contrived issue ofSquadron Supreme this month, except this issue has Spider-Man. It's really awaste of my time and I have little idea of what any of this has to do with theCivil War II crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Squadron Supreme (2015) #12

Oct 10, 2016

Don't waste your money on this comic. Nothing of importhappens in this comic that you wouldn't have already known based on theprevious issues. If you're a Squadron Supreme collector, I'm sorry becauseclearly no one care about giving you quality content. Frankly, the creativeteam might as well have beat you up, stolen four dollars, and then spit in yourface. I really want to give this issue a classic “Fuck You Five” score but Iremember hearing that it was only worse than a three and that's just not enoughat this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Mighty Captain Marvel #0

Jan 2, 2017

This is a great issue for people to jump in on and this comic really breathes new life into a character that had fallen on some hard times. The origin of Carol Danvers that we are given is a really touching and human tale and couple it with some amazing art and decent introduction and we have got ourselves one hell of a zero issue. I really enjoyed this book and I hope it is able to build on the momentum that it has received.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unstoppable Wasp #1

Jan 9, 2017

This book is an incredible way to start a series and I can'twait to see more of this story and more of Nadia Pym. This issue is smart andimmediately gets the audience to like our new Wasp. Frankly, I've never beenfamiliar with the old Wasp and I didn't know much about this new one going intothe book but I'm all in now with this series and I can't wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Unworthy Thor #1

Nov 7, 2016

While it's to be expected of a first issue, this one doeslittle more than set up story and recap the past. We get some greatcharacterization of The Odinson and we end on a nice cliffhanger, however thisissue falls a little flat. No need to jump ship from this book yet though asthe future still seems bright. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Unworthy Thor #3

Jan 9, 2017

The Unworthy Thor seems to continue its pattern ofmediocrity as we once again get a story that is good but not great. I wasincredibly excited for this series when it was announced by now I find itrather dull and while the pieces are certainly cool, the comic as a whole is abit of a disappointment.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Uncanny Inhumans #12

Aug 15, 2016

If you want to see all the potential in the world be blatantlywasted, this is the issue for you. It blows my mind that the same person whowrote the previous issue also wrote this one. I was so blown away by theprevious issue and it may be a little unfair to hold this issue to thatstandard. That said, even if this comic existed in a vacuum, it would still bebad. This issue has certainly earned our very special rating.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More