Andrew Ziegler's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Entertainment Fuse Reviews: 33
7.8Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Anti-Hero #1

Aug 4, 2013

Who will triumph in this game of wits? Will Paragon do Callum's bidding? Will he become "bad?" How far will he go to protect his identity, and therefore his family? How much can an unbreakable man bend? Anti-Hero #1 raises these questions and more, and I intend to keep on reading to get answers. Jay Faerber and Monkeybrain Comics have me hooked!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Anti-Hero #3

Sep 23, 2013

But of course, Im still eager to see where the story is headed. This particular issue ended on quite the cliffhanger, which Id rather not spoil. Its something that was bound to happen sometime and Im excited to see how it plays out. And again, the illustration of the action is great. Nate Stockman does a fantastic job at putting this chaos on the page. Also, the character development that does take place is quite good. While there isnt much dialogue, Faerber makes what little there is count. Anti-Hero is still great, and Im still very eager to see what will happen next.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Anti-Hero #4

Oct 20, 2013

So where do we go from here? Giggling at boob jokes ended when I graduated from middle school so my disappointment about this is substantial. The reality of the matter is, that theres a lot out there to read, a lot of good and worthy stuff, and theres only twenty-four hours in a daysee what Im getting at? Ive got to jump ship before the Atomic Bottom and Thunder Thighs show up. The sacrifice is that Ill never know if Paragon gets more comfortable with hitting women, and I think I can live with that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ash and the Army of Darkness #1

Oct 28, 2013

Yes, I know, earlier this year Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell both alleged that a sequel (movie) is in the works. If Ash and the Army of Darkness is to play any part in it, Im unsure. Having waited over twenty years to do this, I can surmise that a time jump might be in the cards, as Bruce Campbell hasnt gotten any younger. Luckily for us, comic books are timeless. Steve Niles has created the direct sequel that never was, and its off to a great start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ash and the Army of Darkness #2

Jan 14, 2014

I cant stress enough how much I love this comic. I said it before and Ill say it again: this is the sequel that Evil Dead fanatics have been waiting a long time for. Ash Williams is back in a big way. Now that hes got his handy red chainsaw and his boomstick back, I dont think any number of flimsy skeletons can bring him down.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Science #1

Dec 3, 2013

Between this exciting and ambitious new work and Saga, Image Comics is quickly establishing itself as THE publisher of great science fiction. Its an exciting time to be a comic book fan and I am eagerly anticipating the next issue of Black Science. Until then, Ill do my best to spread the word: Black Science is a bold beginning to a potential masterpiece in the making. Read it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Science #2

Dec 31, 2013

Black Science #2 is out of this worldrather, out of this dimension! I couldnt even begin to speculate about whats to come, and I wouldnt do this comic the injustice of trying. Rick Remender and company have earned my trust and then some. Will Ward, Kadir, and Shawn reach a shaman in time to save Grant? Will Grant be saved in time to fix the Pillar? Will the team ever make it home, or will they jump between dimensions until theyre all dead? With Black Science, Ive come to expect it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Science #3

Feb 4, 2014

Black Science #3, I can only hope, is a strong start to a sprawling series. And while I say this, the danger facing our heroes feels so real that it almost appears as if they wont survive another issue. Of course, most of them certainly will, but not without giving us a good scare first. So much has happened in just three short issuesI know so much about these people and their predicament that it feels like Ive read ten! I cant wait to see what Remender and Scalera have in store for 2014.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Science #5

Apr 1, 2014

Black Science is a story that really represents the best of what comic books have to offer. Like the brilliant work of science fiction that it is, there are oddities in there that would be very hard to do justice on the silver screen. The constant changes in setting between extremes, the occupants of these various and strange dimensions, the movements and action that plays out so well in these pagesof course, all of it could be done with modern special effects. I guess the point Im trying to make is that the creative team is doing such a damn good job, that I really couldnt imagine it any other way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bushido #1

Oct 7, 2013

Bushido is unlike most serialized runs. In anticipation of Halloween, a new issue is being released every Wednesday. This is a must read, as I wholeheartedly believe it captures the very best of both vampire horror and feudal Japan. Kichiro is a hero in the tradition of Batman, fighting fiercely and selflessly for people who consider him to be more trouble than hes worth. Kichiro is a hero I can stand behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Captain Ultimate #1

Sep 2, 2013

In wrapping up, there are a couple of lingering thoughts Id like to lay out on the table. I acknowledge that this is most likely a story for children (Although Joe Esposito might claim its for all-ages), and that Im reading through the lens of a critical and grumpy college graduate. Secondly and lastly, there is a sense of humor about this story and it didnt go unnoticed. Theres a self-awareness in the hammed up campiness of Captain Ultimates doings and, of course, the octopus monster. Still though, it was a bit of a chore to get through and theres not much here that would convince me to pick up issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dead Body Road #1

Dec 24, 2013

While its a shame that there will only be five more issues in Dead Body Road, its actually quite perfect. This isnt one of those sprawling storiesyou know from the start that it needs to end, either with the success or failure of Gages conquest. A miniseries is the perfect format for such a story, where many of the characters wont be around for a very long time. After all, this comic is called Dead Body Road for a reason! Its a short a road, but one I know Ill love traveling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dead Body Road #2

Jan 21, 2014

I will most certainly be sticking with this series on through to the end. This comics shortcomings could just as easily be a product of my own impatience. Character growthor at the very least, developmentcould just be right around the corner. I hope to learn a lot about both sides, about Gage and the criminals hes hunting. I fear that without these expansions in story, Dead Body Road will whither into a wild goose chase.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
John Carter: The Gods of Mars #1

Jul 28, 2013

And what are the few interesting narrative and creative choices I mentioned earlier? Id say read the comic and find out. Its shorttoo short, perhaps. Far too much is crammed into a very brief issue. Without wanting to spoil anything I will mention this: Humphries does take liberties with John Carters history, just as I suspected. How? Edgar Rice Burroughs is a character, a personal friend of Carters. At the very least, Id be interested to see where they will go with that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kinski #1

Sep 18, 2013

So where will Joes theft of BosleyI mean Kinski (he belongs to Joe now)lead? Theres an undeniable, lingering feeling that this might not end well. Joe is a bit of a sketchy character, and Im very interested to see where Hardman plans to take him. His interest in Kinski is bordering on obsession at this point. What will happen next? Ill be sure to follow up on later issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kinski #3

Nov 18, 2013

So Ill say it again: Kinski is a must read comic book. That isnt a claim I make light of, and here I make it adamantly. Comic books are a medium renowned for their larger than life and heroic characters. So, when a chicken feed salesman stealing a dog gets me this excited, and told in the very same medium that brought us Batman, I believe some credit is due. There is a heck of a lot more to Joe than meets the eye, and Im willing to bet we havent seen the end of the darkness and fury that he seems to be brimming with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kinski #4

Feb 26, 2014

So as usual, Kinski is on point. The next issue will have to answer a lot of questions. How much farther will Joe go to acquire Kinski? We will try to steal him again? I dont usually like to make predictions, but seeing as that dog is the title character, and Joe appears to no longer be bogged down by the shackles of employment, I expect he will pursue Kinski with more ferocity than ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Knuckleheads #1

Sep 8, 2013

Knuckleheads #1, overall, is a pretty interesting read. While at times it feels as if the jokes are trying too hard to appeal to a certain generation, the pacing is good and you wont want to put it down until you see what happens next. Will Trevor and his Wii Remote be able to save the city? Its an odd question, and if it isnt enough to grip your attention, perhaps nothing will.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Red Team #7

Mar 25, 2014

Red Team continues getting better, while the questions just keep on mounting. Are Duke and George the reliable leaders they appear to be? Eddie manages to come off as the most careful and a loose cannon all at the same time. Will he keep up his balancing act? Issue #4 brought us a shocking series of events in the life of Trudy, a reminder of how close they can come to being outted as killers at the drop of hat. Red Team is walking a tight rope, and Ennis has us right up there with them looking down at the sharp rocks below. Will they fall?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sex Criminals #5

Mar 19, 2014

Im a huge fan of the way this issue ended. I think this series will continue to surprise me in only the most positive of ways. My criticisms, while lengthily elaborated upon, are minor in the greater scope of things. My issue with Suzie wasnt with the quality of the writingin fact, my issue with her character in that single instance might have even added depth. After all, Im thinking about her like shes a real person, and if thats not a tribute to the writing, I dont know what is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Strange Nation #1

Oct 15, 2013

Strange Nation #1 is a comic that I cant wait to follow up with. The first issue of a comic is, I believe, the single most important issue. The creative team is expected to set an interesting story in motion without giving away too much, to establish depth of character while leaving room for growth, and providing the reader with enough incentive to continue reading. It needs to be the foundation that something substantial can stand on, the right seed for the climate. Strange Nation #1 is a rare example of success on all fronts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Strange Nation #3

Dec 17, 2013

Its incredibly refreshing to see an against all odds hero who doesnt solve every problem with her fists. Thats that fierce originality I was talking about earlier. While I might be attempting to classify this comic as being a part of this or that genre, it is every bit a detectives tale as it is a superhero story. In fact, it eludes those arbitrary distinctions and maintains the best of both worlds. If Allor and company continue to explore and develop the world of this story in the ways its beginning to demand, Strange Nation will need its own wiki.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Army of Dr. Moreau #1

Nov 11, 2013

The Army of Dr. Moreau #1 is a phenomenal first issue. Monster horror turned World War II epic, this story is as effective a combination as Moreaus hybrids are deadly. Its a direction that few people would think to take The Island of Dr. Moreau, and an exciting one at that. I will definitely follow up on later issues, which Im now greatly anticipating.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Army of Dr. Moreau #2

Dec 10, 2013

Overall, Im excited about this storys direction. Edward Prentiss is the likeliest candidate for growththe I told you so after it was already too late character. Then again, I could be way off. Thats the beauty of storytelling; expectations dont always pan out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Army of Dr. Moreau #3

Jan 28, 2014

I enjoyed all aspects of The Army of Dr. Moreau #3. The balance of adventurer exploits with glimpses into the wildly brutal experiments being conducted by Nazi lunatics is ideal. Im interested to see where this story will go. Issue #4 promises to be very significant in the way of advancing the narrative, and the team of heroes will have a lot to consider as they take their next steps into the belly of the beast.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Army of Dr. Moreau #4

Apr 15, 2014

As I said earlier, the Army of Dr. Moreau is moving at a very rapid pace. I, therefore, have no intention of jumping ship now. There are big things on the horizon, and the body count among the good-guys is already on the rise. Do they have the firepower to stop the Nazis? At this point, it looks as if theyre biting off more than they can chew, and Im very interested to see if this conflict will expand outside the borders of Moreaus Island, or if its secrets will never leave its sunny, sandy shores.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Mercenary Sea #1

Feb 19, 2014

Mercenary Sea #1 is set in the south Pacific during the tumultuous and chaotic years leading into World War II. I have a hard time believing that this pirate filled, wartime adventure comic will ever run out of exciting new dangers for Captain Jack and his crew to grapple with. I am most certainly on board with Mercenary Sea, and I cant wait to see what exploits Symons has in store, and the beautiful images that Reynolds will put them to, in the coming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Mercenary Sea #3

Apr 9, 2014

Mercenary Sea is headed in a promising direction. If a few more issues end with danger, only to follow up that danger with no consequences, I fear things might get a bit stale. Additionally, if the individual crewmembers of the venture continue to be secondary characters, Ill forget their names. However, right now, everything is spot on. The danger is fresh, as are the characters, and Im still on board for this nautical adventure of global proportions.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
The Other Dead #1

Sep 30, 2013

I have never been so conflicted about a comic book before. Im interested in whats to come while simultaneously not impressed with how they are building up to it. I find the characters to be weak, while I cant help but be excited about the government intervention. Its never good when you can see the creative wheels turning, which I feel I can between Eastman and Ortegas contributions. But still, Im going to stick with this one. For all its weaknesses, its the most interesting and original piece of zombie literature I have read in a very long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Other Dead #3

Nov 25, 2013

So Obama, Az, Jude, Tommy, Justina, and a presidential advisor named Chip are taking shelter together to weather the storm and battle the zombie threat. Despite my criticisms, Im looking forward to future issues. The creative team has effectively won me over. While Jude might be way too obnoxious for me to ever like, Az and Justina have the potential to improve. I genuinely hope that they do. This is a comic that I really like and want to love. There are just a few things that need to be worked out first, and theres plenty of time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Theremin #1

Aug 11, 2013

Theremin #1 puts a story into motion that I cant help but want to follow. Lon is the unlikeliest of heroes, and thats to put it lightly. Curt Pires interest in music as catalyst for action intrigues me, and I hope it plays a greater role in issues to come. Monkey Brain Comics has done it again!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Turok: Dinosaur Hunter #1

Feb 11, 2014

Overall, Turok: Dinosaur Hunter #1 has given me plenty to be excited about. Im interested to see what the unlikely partnership between Andar and Turok leads toif theyll be able to set aside their many differences and, well, survive. It doesnt bode well for the semi-helpless Andar if Turok carries his alone is better philosophies over to their new predicament. With a bit less crammed between the pages, and more time spent with smaller scenes, the now speedy pacing might slow to something a little more manageable. Its a great story, and I wouldnt any of it to slip through the cracks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Turok: Dinosaur Hunter #2

Mar 4, 2014

Like I said, Turok: Dinosaur Hunter #2 is paced very quickly, and that is certainly not a bad thing. At this juncture, the story remains riveting. Will the colonists continue to be the primary antagonists, or will their dino-pets become too difficult to control? I'm keeping my fingers crossed for a dinosaur mutiny, but this book has already proven to be unpredictable. I'm just hoping that the title of the book delivers on its promise, which is that Turok will become what he's destined to be: a "dinosaur hunter."

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

December

November

More