Anthony Thornton's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Corps Reviews: 45
8.0Avg. Review Rating

9.0
All-New Wolverine #29

Jan 22, 2018

All-New Wolverine #29 is a fun and exciting chapter to the "Orphans of X"arc with lots of surprises. The team does a good job at continuing this compelling narrative while exploring the characters in a deeper way and bringing in their history.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New Wolverine #30

Feb 7, 2018

All-New Wolverine #30is a surprising, yet satisfying, end to what may have been one of my favorite arcs of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New Wolverine #31

Mar 7, 2018

This is an issue that I would recommend to anyone. If you follow the All-New Wolverine title, then here is a great issue that highlights our favorite little clone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-New Wolverine #32

Mar 20, 2018

This issue was such a great button on the Orphans of X arc. From beginning to end, I was completely locked in on the artwork. Every color choice by Woodard was deliberate and brought a level of emotion to each panel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #18

Jan 10, 2018

'Batgirl and The Birds of Prey' has and always will be a series that lives on the relationship between the three heroines, and the Benson Sisters have done a great job at making that a focus of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #19

Feb 14, 2018

This issue read like Barbara's prelude for the actual Full Circle story, and I am excited to see how the Birds recover from this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #20

Mar 14, 2018

Julie and Shawna Benson are building a really incredible story to end this title on (I still haven't accepted that this title is ending and you can't make me) and I can't wait to see what happens next in Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #21!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #21

Apr 11, 2018

Something I have always said about the Benson's is their ability to dive deep into the relationships of these characters and portraying their inner struggles in a very relatable way. This entire arc has been a bit of a master class of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #22

May 9, 2018

From BOP Rebirth #1 to now, this creative team has given us exciting arc after exciting arc, with beautiful artwork, and a lot of fun. I am sad to see it go, but excited to see what the future holds for Babs, Helena, and Dinah.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2018) #2

Dec 5, 2018

If this issue is not in your stack when you walk out of your local comic shop, then your stack is incomplete. Even if you are a digital reader, go to the closest comic shop and pick up a physical copy, you will want to have this on your shelf. The artwork is simply gorgeous and brings all these incredible looking alien Lanterns to life. The story itself is pretty captivating and delivers some pretty solid belly laughs. I would love to keep talking about this issue, but I said I'd keep it short, you need to go read it, and I need to go read it again (for the 4th or 5th time)!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2018) #3

Jan 9, 2019

From cover to cover, I am hooked on the artwork in this issue, and in the series as a whole so far. Sharpe and Oliff are a strong team, and The Green Lantern is the perfect place to show that. The story keeps you hooked, and continues to give us something different, and really weird, and I love it. Go pick it up right now and read! Already read it? READ IT AGAIN!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2018) #6

Apr 2, 2019

Green Lantern #6 is an exciting conclusion to the first chapter of Controller Mu's larger story. The artwork heightens the tension that is inherent to an issue where Hal Jordan has to kill Adam Strange. I've read this issue 3 times now, and each time I like it even more than the previous read. You are sucked in from the start and it leaves you wondering what is next for Mu. Before we find out, we need a break and I am very excited to see what Morrison, Sharp, and Oliff do with our new big bad and the emerald wasteland Hal finds himself trapped in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #39

Jan 17, 2018

This issue shows that, yes, all may look bleak at times, and it may look like hate has won, but at the end of the day you have to believe the good in people will shine brightest, and love will win.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #40

Feb 7, 2018

Green Lanterns #40 is a great start to a new arc I am very excited by. The whole creative team worked very well together to put together an interesting story and beautiful visuals that left me with a lot of questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #41

Feb 21, 2018

I had a lot of fun reading this issue. Tim Seeley and crew built a very interesting world that I hope we get to see a lot more of in the future, added a lot of info to the mystery that they set up, and made me genuinely laugh out loud a few times.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #42

Mar 7, 2018

While there were a few clunky parts (at least to me) of this issue, I really enjoyed it. Normally I am not a fan of having a new artistic team come in midway through an arc, but the artwork stands out so much in this issue and added so much to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #44

Apr 4, 2018

This is a great start to the arc. It looks like we will finally get to see what happened to Jess in the woods all those years ago, and Jess could get the closure she so desperately needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #45

Apr 18, 2018

Green Lanterns #45 is the most exciting chapter in the Ghosts of the Past yet. This is the origin story that we've heard about for this entire series, and finally we are getting to see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #46

May 2, 2018

This issue is not only one of my favorites of the Ghosts of the Past arc, but of the entire Green Lanterns series (and I really love this series).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #49

Jun 20, 2018

Rebel Run ended up being a nice fun pallet cleanser between the heavier Ghosts of the Past and the next arc (by Dan Jurgens!) which is sure to be a little on the heavier side. The artwork, the colors, and the fun banter between Jessica and Simon (as well as the more honest moments) really made this a very fun arc that I would tell anyone to go out and get asap, even if they don't read or know much about Green Lanterns. It also leaves me excited and extremely curious as to what's going to happen with Jess and the Gaurdians, when Dan Jurgens takes over in Green Lanterns #50. July 4th can't get here fast enough (for multiple reasons).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Green Lanterns #52

Aug 1, 2018

Green Lanterns #52 is a fun and exciting issue from beginning to end. The artwork sucks you in, and the story telling traps you in the world this creative team has built. There is a lot of information about our big bad, if you pay attention, but there are still so many unanswered questions, like WHO IS IT?! This whole arc has been suspenseful, exciting, and visually captivating, but this issue is by far the best yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #53

Aug 15, 2018

Overall, I very much enjoyed this issue. The artwork really makes this an issue I want to come back to, and makes me eager for this trade to come out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #54

Sep 6, 2018

We are at the final few issues of the Green Lanterns series, and it is looking like Jurgens is taking it out with a bang. While I have not been shy about my love/hate relationship with Simon, I do hope that there is something that redeems him for what he has done up to this point. Jess is also a big concern. She has quickly become one of my favorite Lanterns, and I am hoping to see her exit as more than just part of a Lantern duo that couldn't hack it long without Hal taking the reins back.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #55

Sep 19, 2018

I loved this issue. Not really any other way to put that. Cyborg Superman is a fully fleshed out villain and one that needs to be taken more seriously. The artwork pulls you in and refuses to let go. All I keep thinking is how can the Corps possibly stand a chance with the wielder of the Phantom Ring? Well the stage is set for Hal Jordan to do what Hal Jordan does best as he may be the only one who stands a chance against Henshaw.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lanterns #57

Oct 17, 2018

Green Lanterns #57 suffered, in a lot of ways, from being too short. Even another 5 pages could have helped out a lot. Instead of an epic victory lap to end it all, it was a dead sprint to the finish line, and it just fell flat. The high points of the whole issue were 100% in the artwork. Green Lanterns has always been a visually beautiful title, and that continued through to the end, thanks to Mike Perkins and Hi-Fi. Still, even that lost a bit of the storytelling flow because of the sprint. Let me be clear, Dan Jurgens story isn't bad at all. It just wasn't the return to Coast City it could have been, nor the ending the Lanterns (nor its readers) deserved.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Iron Fist (2017) #76

Jan 9, 2018

The whole creative team did an incredible job of delivering an exciting chapter to an already exciting arc and leaving us anxiously waiting for the conclusion of 'Sabretooth: Round Two'.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Iron Fist (2017) #77

Feb 14, 2018

This was such a great issue and an amazing arc for Iron Fist. The whole team worked very well together to make this one of the series on my pull list that I made sure was bought the day it came out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mystery Science Theater 3000 #1

Sep 12, 2018

This first issue of MST3K brings us everything we loved about this show (and continue to love with the Netflix revival). If I am being perfectly honest, I enjoyed this issue more than the new season; and I very much enjoyed The Return! This issue shows that when done correctly, this format can work in any medium. Much like the show, there are a lot of bits that I am sure I will reference in everyday conversation (sure people will be confused, but I will be thoroughly amused). This issue only cracks into the first act of Johnny Jason, Teen Reporter #2, so there is still a lot more fun to be had, and I can't wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mystery Science Theater 3000 #2

Oct 24, 2018

From cover to cover (minus the ads), this issue delivers exactly what you want from this series! While the artwork is definitely what makes this medium work so well for MST3K, the writing helps you take a break from the stress of life and just laugh (am I projecting?! I feel like I'm projecting)! Even with it being called out in the issue, the double comic issue is a win for the reader (we all have a little Max in us)! I couldn't stop smiling while reading this issue, and that's why I'm now going to end this review and go read it again!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mystery Science Theater 3000 #3

Dec 13, 2018

Mystery Science Theater 3000 #3 simultaneously gave me my favorite story (Tom Servo, Teen Reporter) and least favorite story (Horror) of the series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #45

Jun 6, 2018

While the big bad does seem a bit of a no brainer at this point, I know better than to think that Percy would make it that easy. I can't wait to see what's in store for us in #46, but with Grayson's information out for consumption, I have a feeling it's going to get nuts.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #46

Jul 4, 2018

Nightwing #46 wasn't my favorite issue. It also wasn't a bad issue. It was just an issue. What I am holding on to, is that Benjamin Percy still hasn't fully answered the "Why?" behind each character. This is not something Percy does. He is very good at exploring the why, and I hope that #47 will explore that. This is still just a portion of a larger story, and should be read as such. All we know is how we got here, not where we are going. There are still a lot of open ended things and the possibilities are numerous. This keeps me excited for the next issue of The Bleeding Edge arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #47

Aug 1, 2018

All in all, Bleeding Edge was a solid arc. With some of the iconic characters (like Grayson), you have to ease yourself in a bit. He's not the same kid (Burt Ward) that was the butt of every Batman joke ever made. He's a complex character, and if you do too much too fast, the internet will rage (see:Titans trailer). The thing that excites me the most about this series is the fact that they kept calling the Bld a beta test. They are prepping for more. The next step seems to take us back to Bat home, and I can't wait to see how that will play out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #48

Sep 6, 2018

This is a great first issue of the new arc. It sets up a simple story, introduces some creepy characters I'm sure will be an issue later, clear stakes, and signs that show that Percy is starting to settle into the character of Dick Grayson. On top of that, we also get Silencer! I will be honest, I haven't been a huge fan of any of the new heroes that came from Metal, but I do really like Silencer and her story, so to see her tie into Nightwing makes me very happy. I can't wait to see this race in all of its insane glory in #49.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #49

Sep 19, 2018

Nightwing #49 gave me everything I have been wanting from a Nightwing title since Percy took over. It leans into its Wacky Racers feel (though I'm not sure if that was intentional or not), and delivers a fast paced story with a lot of laughs and a lot more chaos. The artwork continues to be at the top of my list when it comes to the Big 2. The only thing I wish is that we got more time with this incredible team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #50

Oct 3, 2018

I am sad to see this team end their run on Nightwing, but I think they went out with their best issue yet. It is a beautiful character driven story fueled by a very relatable internal struggle. We are also left with a lot of questions. Is this the end of Nightwing? Will Grayson emerge as something else? Will Scarecrow be the one that inadvertently pulls Grayson back to who he was? Not sure but there are a lot of different possibilities on how this can play out and I can't be more excited to see where this story takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #51

Oct 17, 2018

Nightwing #51 is easily my personal pick of the week (even if I wasn't reviewing it). It continues with a strong character driven story (my favorite kind of stories), and keeps us guessing where this story is going to end up. The introduction of the Bld's new protector could make things easier for Ric to let go of his former self, or it could be another person he'll need to stop. He could also be the person Scarecrow takes out before Dick comes back. The artwork is some of the best art I've seen all series, which is saying a lot. There is still a lot more story to go, and I get more excited with every new panel we get!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #53

Nov 21, 2018

I really enjoyed this issue. I had strategized to read some light hearted comics that I need to catch up on to help bounce back from the heaviness that I thought would come from this issue, but it was unnecessary. This issue is a lot of fun to read! Ric is becoming more likable, we get our first look at a new Nightwing, the artwork pops, and Scarecrow terrifies. These next two weeks will be hard while we wait for #54 to hit stands.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #54

Dec 5, 2018

All in all this issue is meh. It is worth picking up for the new Nightwings alone. But ultimately this issue is just two completely different issue fused together, and the main character makes it rather difficult to fully jump into this issue. The change of artwork is interesting in concept, but it simply doesn't work in this issue, and unfortunately makes the issue fall flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nightwing (2016) #55

Dec 18, 2018

This issue is setting up a rather large climax in the arc where Ric may need to leave his dream, of finding his own life, behind. Scarecrow is really well done in this issue and I am really excited to see this play out. Part of me is saying, "Calm yourself Anthony. Don't let yourself get overly excited waiting for #56. You've been hurt before", but the other part of me is saying, "SCARECROOOOOOOW!!!!! MORE FEAR!!!!". I'll let you know where I am in my review of Nightwing #56.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing (2016) #56

Jan 8, 2019

Nightwing #56 has its moments in both the artwork and the story, but ultimately it's a bit of a letdown. It felt like they had a great ending for this Scarecrow arc, but their minds were already on 57. The lead-in to next week lets us know that Duela Dent may be on her way and that makes me really excited! It also makes me worried. Duela is a really weird character, and if done right, this will be an incredibly fun issue; if not, well then, another missed opportunity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #57

Feb 18, 2019

Nightwing #57 does its job as a part one to a new arc. Had most of Ric's contribution to this issue been edited down/out (mainly the rehashing inner monologue), I think I would have genuine excitement as to where this new Duela Dent story could go and how insane it can get. I think I'd be marking my calendar for #58's release so I could see how much more about Bea we will learn. Unfortunately, I know Ric will be thinking again, and that drops my excitement down a bit. The fact that it's starting off slow does give me hope that they will build a good character story for Duela, like they did with Scarecrow. I just have to hope they end stronger than they did with Scarecrow. It's only the first issue so we will see where this ride takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #58

Mar 18, 2019

Nightwing 57 was exactly what I needed this week. A fun issue that made me feel like I was reading a Dick Grayson issue again. Duela is still way dialed down, but she is far from done doing what she came to do, and I can't wait to see how her story continues, even if she may be away for a little bit. I hope that this issue is a sign of Ric moving away from all his Bummer-Barry thinking, but we will have to see if he's as willing to jump in with his new team when the next emergency call comes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #59

Apr 16, 2019

Nightwing #59 is a good start to a new Nightwing. It sets up the arc to come while giving us a glimpse at what Jurgens will bring to the title. It is a solid character driven story that finally connects us to one of the Nightwings, and gives the character more life. Ric is a Nightwing in all but name, and I'm excited by the possibilities that brings to his character. I am glad to see the Mooneyham and Filardi are sticking around, because their artwork brings an extra layer of excitement to this issue. I'm actually really annoyed that this is a monthly title because I don't want to wait that long to see what happens in #60!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) Annual #1

Aug 29, 2018

While I love what Percy is doing with Nightwing in the short amount of time since he took over this title, this Annual was just a misstep for me. Throughout the issue, I felt like we ran into 2 or 3 storylines I would have rather seen play out. I just finished the issue feeling a little disappointed. Still, we did get a new villain (who is the stuff of nightmares), the Babs/Grayson relationship, and Grayson has got a new toy I am very excited to see get used a lot in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More