Antonio Mireles's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Fandom Post Reviews: 11
7.8Avg. Review Rating

8
Archie (2015) #712

Mar 18, 2020

The leading characters in this issue are Sabrina and Katy Keene. Sabrina is able to deal with Archie's downfall and aspire him to do better in his quest. I do hope Archie's downfall leads somewhere in the future. Katy Keene is going on all wheels on her path to becoming a fashion designer. She is handed her dream if she works under someone else but she refuses and wants to do things her own way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Godkillers #2

Mar 26, 2020

This issue is about getting its feet in the water and painting a picture of where the future is headed. It's fascinating that the comic creators are going beyond the basic understanding of what a vampire is and doing something more with vampires and going deeper into the lore of vampires. This issue goes into a certain subspecies of vampires, penangglan, that originate from a different country and I hope further issues continue on this path.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Godkillers #3

Jun 24, 2020

I would like to see the series have one central enemy or topic that it can focus on. Reading this issue feels it's scattered in many pieces and I don't see what direction it wants to take. Each issue has had a monster of the week but this feels like the wrong approach for this series. This series introduces the monster and gives a history lesson of each one. I wonder why they go to so much effort if they are going to be forgotten about in the next issue. The best aspect of this series is the art. The supernatural beings have incredible designs. The backgrounds create a sense of unease to prepare the reader for the subject matter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hidden Society #2

Mar 25, 2020

This issue is set up to define the world in which the characters are living in but there leaves more to be desired. This issue feels slow because it sets up the future battle between a newly formed group on the side of justice and an ancient evil and their supporters. I would have liked it if this issue spent a bit more time to focus more on the Siblings of Nihil and their motives.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Hidden Society #3

Sep 23, 2020

The misfits are finally getting into gear as they skip through all the adventuring and go near the finish line. A flaw of this series is that it is paced too fast and this doesn't allow for the world to sink in. I know that a bunch of misfits are gathered together to put an end to an ancient group of evil wizards. But there is hardly anything known about these misfits. They don't have any defining aspects to them that make them stand out. They just conveniently reunite at the end to face their foes. There hasn't been anything in this series that makes me wonder why should I care about them? This issue is racing at full speed to get to the end and there are various signs that it's impacting the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Strayed #1

Aug 21, 2019

This issue does a fantastic job at creating the universe where humans are powerful but I don't feel it goes deep enough to demonstrate that world. I am curious as to see a little bit of how the rest of humanity is performing in this world. I am intrigued in seeing Lou being personified to be a human and yet still be a cat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Strayed #2

Sep 18, 2019

Lou has simple desires but these come at such a high cost because of his special power. Will he and Kiara be able to go home or be trapped till Lou can no longer live. Another character, Major Williams get the limelight this issue and some of his motives are fleshed out and he is given significant room for growth. He is shown to have a small heart but will his heart be able to survive as he progresses towards his immoral goals.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Strayed #3

Oct 16, 2019

This issue suffers from pacing issues as some characters are given a backstory and motivations but not enough time is given for these to sink in. The characters feel like genuine beings with distinct emotional traits which is the strongest aspect of this issue. The stage is set for the story to move into the climax as Lou has to decide what his fate and that of all lifeforms will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
X-O Manowar (2020) #1

Mar 25, 2020

This issue lays out of the groundwork for this arc of X-O Manowar. Aric and Shannara's arrival at this time is supported by a family who he saves. The family will serve as a good anchor to this time period and give Aric a human connection who will help him understand the times. I enjoy where the story is heading and hope to see this arc continue with Aric on working with the human side in modern times.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-O Manowar (2020) #2

Nov 25, 2020

Having an ultrarich person step into the world of superheroes can layout the groundwork for a fascinating tale. Maxwell Lord from DC Comics is such a similar character to Troy Whittaker and I hope to see how Troy is distinguished from Maxwell Lord and what impacts he has on the world. Dennis Hallum touches upon a strong moral question of what can be considered fundamentally right and how does a person walk upon to achieving justice. It so easy to have overwhelming power and decide other's fate but the consequences of those decisions are the path of a hero's journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-O Manowar (2020) #3

Dec 23, 2020

Superhero beginnings are full of mistakes but are bound to be entertaining. Those mistakes are the stepping stone for what type of hero they will become. X-O Manowar commits the biggest mistake in the book as he reveals his actual name in front of the camera. Dennis Hopeless has the right idea in pairing X-O Manowar with Troy. Their relationship as master and pupil is going as well as anyone would expect.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More