Benjamin Morin's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bookcase Reviews: 16
8.6Avg. Review Rating

9.5
2000AD #2200

Sep 29, 2020

Prog 2200 is the perfect jumping-on point for new readers looking to experience the galaxys greatest comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-America Comix #1

Jul 1, 2020

All-America Comix crafts an engaging narrative despite some dialog issues. This is a series rich with potential and a solid first issue that left me wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Coffin Bound #6

Sep 2, 2020

Coffin Bound #6 sinks its teeth into the seedy underbelly of its society, while probing deeper into the arcs thematic thrust.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Die #11

Jun 24, 2020

Die #11 kicks off the new arc with a bang and left me on the edge of my seat. I cannot wait to see where Gillen and Co. are going to take us and no comic reader should miss out on this thrilling series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Engineward #3

Sep 22, 2020

Despite some occasional narrative missteps, Engineward #3 continues to deliver a familiar yet engaging sci-fi adventure with absolutely exceptional art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Family Tree #7

Jul 15, 2020

Family Tree #7 deepens the series mystery while meaningfully moving the plot forward with stunning artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Godkillers #3

Jun 24, 2020

Godkillers #3 falls victim to the same missteps as previous issues and slides into the generic action/horror genre. By failing to make readers care about the characters or action on the small scale of issue to issue, it becomes hard for me to recommend anyone put much stock into this series' future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Heavy #1

Sep 15, 2020

Heavy #1 delivers a stylish and action packed debut that should be on everyones pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ice Cream Man #20

Aug 5, 2020

The creative team behind Ice Cream Man delivers another standout issue. This time using their particular brand of existential dread to craft devilishly clever bedtime stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Norse Mythology #1

Oct 7, 2020

Neil Gaiman and P. Craig Russell deliver a fantastic comic adaptation of the Norse myths in Norse Mythology #1. This is a must-read for fans of this mythology, both old and new.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Olympia #5

Jul 1, 2020

Olympias final issue brings all the narrative threads to a point in a battle of epic proportions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Once & Future #10

Aug 19, 2020

Once and Future delivers an action packed and thoroughly comical issue that instantly captured my attention. I would definitely recommend anyone pick this issue up for an enjoyable ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Pulp (2020) OGN

Jul 30, 2020

Pulp delivers an engrossing story with a cinematic flair. This book serves as a great distillation of Brubaker and Phillips creative talents in one cohesive package.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Stealth #4

Aug 12, 2020

The stakes have never been higher as Stealth is thrust headfirst into Dead Hands war. Stealth #4 provides a thrilling issue that sets up the coming battle while delving deeper into the titular heros past.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Tartarus #4

Jul 22, 2020

Tartarus has become my most anticipated comic period. Issue #4 continues the series blending of science-fiction epic with psychedelic art to create a captivating adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Ray Robot #3

Oct 28, 2020

X-Ray Robot #3 continues to deliver the series signature charm and makes it one of the most absurdly unique titles currently out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

September

More