Bryan Huth's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: We The Nerdy Reviews: 34
7.5Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Blackout #1

Mar 28, 2014

Although the writing of this new series may be inconsistent and unable to hold your attention at times, Colin Lorimer's art really keeps you reading as he uses cool colors and distinct lines to bring out the different tones that this series holds. The panels that take place in the physical world have a style that is very similar to Dark Horse's general style, but the art changes once Scott enters the Blackout universe by using less lines and definition to show just how alien this new world is. Dark Horse's new seriesBlackout can feel a bit dull at times but the varied art and mysterious new world offers something that should make you look into the next issue. While it is hard to judge a new series, it makes you wonder just what writer Frank Barbiere has planned. Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more news and reviews from Dark Horse Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dream Thief: Escape #1

Jun 18, 2014

After last year's successful run of theDream Thief mini-series writer Jai Nitz and artist Greg Smallwood are back with a whole new story for our hero. Following the events of the first story,Dream Thief: Escapeexplores the relationship with John and his long-lost father, but with an interesting twist that will make this new four issue run certainly one to keep your eye on. Fans of the first series will definitely want to pick this continuation up as it brings even more of the great look and bloody action that made the originalDream Thief great, but what makes this new mini-series even better is that it provides a great jumping on point for newcomers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Drumhellar #6

Jun 18, 2014

Fans of the series will already know this, but for those newcomers,Drumhellar has a lot going for it. Murder, sex, psychedelic visions, and supernatural stuff just to name a few, not to mention the incredible art by Riley Rossmo. What keeps you looked into this book is, just likeSaga, you don't know what's going to happen next. I found myself dying to find out what happened with the ominous murder that is quickly shown in the beginning of the book, but at the same time profoundly intrigued by what I was looking at in the pages between. My only gripe with this book, while this isn't really a drawback at all, is that at times this book just got way too weird. Weird to the point where I really wasn't sure what was going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Earth 2 #22

Apr 9, 2014

WhileEarth 2 #22 feels a little dull with an opening that is much more dramatic than the rest of the story, this issue is still well worth reading and gives followers of the series a nice break from the war. However, both the beginning and the ending of this issue does set up for what will surely be a groundbreaking 23rd issue for next month. Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more on Earth 2 and other DC books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Earth 2 Annual #2

Feb 5, 2014

Overall, Earth 2 Annual #2 not only gives you the identity of the new Batman, but also makes you understand his choice. Tom Taylor's writing hits a high note with this issue, which is not surprising given his work with Earth 2 and the Injustice: Gods Among Us series. The art of Robson Rocha and Scott Hanna lends itself beautifully to this tragic tale and their use of colors makes the mood feel even darker at times. Stay Tuned to We The Nerdy for more Earth 2 and everything DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Emily and the Strangers: Breaking the Record #1

Jun 18, 2014

Emily and the Strangers return for a new mini-series whichtakes place after their victoryin The Battle of the Bands and winning a contract with Awesomely Awesome Records, but sadly this first issue isn't as “awesome” as the record companies name suggests.Emily and the Strangers seems appealing to anyone who is a fan of the immensely popularScott Pilgrim manga series and bolsters a similar story to that of Scott's, but sadly the humor is not at the same level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Forever Evil #7

May 23, 2014

Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more DC news and reviews.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Forever Evil: A.R.G.U.S. #2

Dec 2, 2013

Overall, there's not very much to be excited about in this issue. Its lack of previously promised action and strange choice of side story drags this issue down even further than the first. The issue's mediocre artwork in the beginning of the issue made me feel as if this issue was printed 20 years ago and its story failed to make up for this flaw. If there is anything to take away rom Forever Evil: A.R.G.U.S #2, it would be what the issue promises for next month's issue, but after the lack of Deathstroke, I would take these teasers with a grain of salt.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #3

Dec 19, 2013

Rogues Rebellion #3 is a solid issue. Hepburn's art style stays consistent through this third issue and the new addition of Andre Coelho works well with Hepburn's art. The story mainly served its' purpose of continuing the story of the Rogues as they struggle to survive in the Crime Syndicate's new world and didn't really have much excitement or suspense, although it did have a nice set-up with Mr. Freeze and Clayface, as well as an entertaining cameo by The Ventriloquist. Overall, this issue will give you a small Forever Evil fix by offering a small amount of action and some interesting cameos and guest appearances. If you're a Batman, Flash, or Forever Evil fan then you'll definitely find something enjoyable in this issue. Otherwise, it's not very essential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #4

Jan 20, 2014

Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #4 is possibly the best issue out of the short tie-in series. Writer Brian Buccellato brings the Gotham chapter to a climactic end but still leaves you with an exciting cliffhanger, and he doesnt skimp on the humor either. Despite Mr. Freeze being a bit too easy of a fight, Tricksters tactics and Zsaszs cameo bring this issues overall story to a shocking end. The different art styles of Scott Hepburn and Andre Coelho work together almost seamlessly, and with Buccellatos writing, they form an issue that proves that Rogues Rebellion is the best Forever Evil tie-in series. Whether you are a Batman, Flash, Forever Evil, or an overall DC fan, youll find something enjoyable in this issue. Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more DC comics news and reviews.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #5

Feb 17, 2014

Stay tuned to We The Nerdy as we bring you more DC news and be sure to check out the bittersweet review for Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #6 next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Ghost (2013) #5

Jun 18, 2014

Elisa (or Alyssa) Cameron returns in the second arc for the newGhost series written by Chris Sebela. With Elisa trying to get her life back to normal following her transformation into The Ghost, she finds herself itching for a new challenge as she quickly gets bored with monotony of daily life. When the host of a long-running shock horror show is suspected of being a demon, Elisa quickly jumps into action to investigate this possible supernatural threat. But as the final panels show, Elisa has bitten off more than she can chew.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hulk (2014) #1

Apr 23, 2014

That being said, Mark Waid's new Hulk series gets off to a bumpy start, but has some solid writing to help keep it afloat, however the disappointing choice of art style does put a damper on the book. With the shocking cliffhanger at the end and the book's first arc pitting Hulk against Abomination, this new series could find its' footing, but only time will tell. Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more Marvel news and reviews.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hulk (2014) #3

May 22, 2014

Hulk #3 is a solid issue that doesn't progress the story a whole lot or answer a lot of questions, but is definitely worth the time and money just for the action and the surprise appearance of some classic Avengers. That being said, the last page definitely leaves you excited for the next installment in the series. Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more Marvel news and reviews.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Inhuman #1

Apr 8, 2014

In addition to Soule, the beautiful work of artists Joe Madureira and Marte Garcia pulls you into the book and keeps you looking at every panel long after you've read it.Inhuman#1 is a great start to the rebooted series and it will make you come back for more. Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more Marvel and Inhuman news.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League 3000 #1

Dec 17, 2013

Overall this issue was one of the best I've read in a long time, especially for a new series. What started out as a grim and hopeless future was brought to life with the antics of two of our most beloved heroes. Justice League 3000 is a very promising story that will serve as a nice escape from Forever Evil. This issue will leave you more than satisfied and wanting more. Justice League 3000 will instantly become one of your most anticipated story lines.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League 3000 #2

Jan 17, 2014

Writer Keith Giffen follows up his highly entertaining Justice League 300 #1 with a solid second issue that continues the group chemistry that brought all of the laughs in the first issue while expanding JL 3000s world as we discover the first villain in the mysterious group known as the five, and discover new worlds. The only areas where this months issue fell short is that Coeval seems a little generic, but it could be too early to tell, and I was hoping that Flash and Green Lantern would begin to stand out among the other three members of the group. DeMatteis and Porters colorful and vibrant artwork continues to stand out and set the scene for the groups outer space antics and despite its flaws, JL 3000 #2 still holds its own and continues to place this as one of my top favorite series. Stay tuned to We Then Nerdy for more Justice League 3000.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League 3000 #3

Feb 17, 2014

Despite its flaws, Justice League 3000 continues to deliver beautiful artwork, great story, high-octane action and all of which is held together by the cynical and sarcastic wise-cracks that these characters sling at each other on each and every page. What this creative team is beginning to do is something that series like Scott Snyders Batman and Brian Azzarellos Wonder Woman have been doing for several months now, theyre establishing a standard of consistency so that each month readers know that they will be purchasing a quality comic book. If writers Keith Giffen and J.M. DeMatteis keep this up, Justice League 3000 could easily become one of DCs flagship series. Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more Justice League 3000 and DC news and reviews.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League 3000 #4

Mar 18, 2014

Justice League 3000 #4 marks a small average moment in this unique series. With the main focus of this issue being to answer the biggest question of the series, the rest of the issue feels dull in comparison to the previous issues of the series. With the return of Barry Allen, the escalated situations for Green Lantern and the other Justice League members, and the introduction of a new member,Justice League 3000 seems to be reaching the climax of its first arc very soon. Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more DC news and reviews.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League 3000 #5

Apr 16, 2014

Despite the difference in art style,Justice League 3000‘s fifth issue offers up a tense and enjoyable story as we see the addition of Firestorm and the return and rise of Flash. Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more JL 3000 and DC news and reviews.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Minimum Wage #6

Jun 18, 2014

Being an aspiring filmmaker who is nearly out of college and eager to make contacts and get into film industry,Minimum Wage was so appealing to me because it seemed like a book that I would easily be able to connect with, and I have actually experienced one or two of the events that Rob faces in the sixth issue of Bob Fingerman's resurrected classic series. While my chosen area of focus is not the porn industry, it is entertaining nonetheless to see the struggles that this young New York artist must face in his life. With raunchy scenes full of humor and the connection that is felt by a friend getting a job in the business and moving to L.A to make a name for himself any young adult comic book reader could easily find something worth liking inMinimum Wage.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
MPH #1

May 23, 2014

The art of the book also lends itself to this new and interesting story. While Duncan Fegredo's art isn't anything you've never seen before, it draws back to that familiar aspect that I mentioned before that makes this new book old and new in all of the right ways. MPH definitely looks to be another solid title to add to Image's impressive roster of original books, however it appears that it will take a few more issues before this book can really hit its' stride. (no pun intended)

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
One-Hit Wonder #1

Feb 27, 2014

One Hit Wondersounded like a good idea, but many bad ideas sound good at first. This book is already set to be a mini-series with only four more issues to come so Sapolshy could possibly turn it around, and I honestly hope he does. It would be shame for Image to have such a huge blemish on their great line-up of books. Bottom line, your money can be spent on better things.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Pariah #1

Feb 27, 2014

If you are a fan of classic sci-fi stories likeEnder's Game, you'll find something to like in this book. While the climax felt very underwhelming it could lead to future story developments, but at the moment it drags this issue down. Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more news and reviews from Dark Horse and other publishers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sovereign #1

Mar 20, 2014

Had Roberson chosen to focus on one group for each of the first three issues, the story could have felt much more enticing and given a better scope of just who these characters are. While this problem could easily be remedied as the story progresses, Sovereign #1 has no choice but to suffer because of this new strategy. Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more news and reviews from Image.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superboy (2011) #26

Dec 17, 2013

Overall this issue was okay. There wasn't anything wrong with Superboy #26 other than an uneventful story, and compared to the events of Forever Evil and the revelation of Kid Flash's origin, this Superboy conflict falls short. This issue mainly served to give some background on Jon Kent and Superboy's future. It will be interesting to see where future issues take this story, but all in all I find myself wanting more Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superboy (2011) #27

Jan 20, 2014

As I said before Superboy #27 isnt anything special. The story seemed a bit dull and generic, and Connor continues to go missing. If there is anything, of value to take away from this issue, its the fact that Raven has begun to step into the double-agent role that she has always been known for and is playing a much bigger role in Jons story than we were lead to believe. Hopefully next months issue will correct some of these problems but until then, Superboy continues to disappoint. For more Superboy news and reviews, stay tuned to We The Nerdy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Superboy (2011) #28

Feb 17, 2014

It was enjoyable to see the four work together in a “Ultimate Alliance” type formation. Jon and Schiz's quest to free the other mutants could be the thing that this series needs to turn its' luck around, but only time will tell. Guinaldo and Irwin's artwork stays consistent through this latest installment and only time will tell howSuperboy can pull itself out of this rut. WithTeen Titans ending this April, the writers need to find someway to keep Jon in the 31st century, or bring back Connor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl (2011) #29

Mar 24, 2014

In the end,Supergirl #29 offers up a good amount of character focus and development all set against the violence and destruction that comes with a Red Lantern ring. This book leaves you wondering just how long DC plans to keep Kara as a Red Lantern. The thought of a Kryptonian having any type of power ring is one that could easily mean death for any of that person's opponents, and being that Kara is the most vulnerable of the three Kryptonian heroes, giving her a Red Lantern ring not only gives her a whole new dynamic, but could also mean World War 3. The answer to how long our young Kryptonian could hold the red power of rage could be seen in next week'sRed Lanterns #29. If chosen to have Kara side with the corps, DC could potentially turn this into the next Justice League event following Forever Evil and all of the other preset plans.Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more DC news and reviews.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman Unchained #6

Mar 24, 2014

Other than those moments, this issue falls short on one aspect. This issue isn't everything that you may be expecting. After the long delay due to Lee's incredibly busy schedule, you might expect this issue to show Superman finally confronting all of his adversaries since there is only three more issue left in the series, but while the issue is great, it isn't the all out war that you might expect, and while the opening moments may have felt rushed, there is no doubt that Snyder and Lee will deliver what fans are expecting in the next issue. Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more Superman Unchainedreviews and DC news.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman: Doomed #1

May 21, 2014

Overall,Superman: Doomed#1 was an exciting start to the man of steel's newest battle. The beautiful art and strong writing hold the book together well and may have even set the bar a little too high as the story moves into the cross-over titles before coming back this series in August. Be sure to check out more news and reviews on Superman: Doomed as well as everything else DC here on We The Nerdy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Teen Titans (2011) #25

Dec 5, 2013

Bottom line, this issue is good, very good. Teen Titans #25 finally begins to deliver answers to one of the series biggest mysteries and offers strong action and drama, all wrapped together by the fantastic artwork youd come to expect from Kirkham and Thibert. The only area where this issue falls short is the weak chemistry between Kiran and Bart, but this flaw can be easily overlooked by everything else going on this issue. Teen Titans #25 finally ends with a cliffhanger that is sure to make you look forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Teen Titans (2011) #26

Jan 13, 2014

I would have liked to see more perspective from the other Titans, but Im sure their opinions will be expressed and explored in issue #27. Nonetheless, Teen Titans #26 is yet another essential issue in the series. Through a powerful story of survival and revenge, as well as the consistently beautiful artwork of Kirkham and Thibert, this issue finishes the origin of Kid Flash, and establishes by far the darkest origin story out of the whole team. Kid Flashs story is very much a tale of anger and vengeance that ultimately ends with redemption, but leaves the rest of the team questioning just who Bart really is.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Teen Titans (2011) #27

Feb 3, 2014

The latest installment in the Teen Titans series is one that drags the troubled series down even further. Given the inconsistency that Lobdell's Titans has become known for, this isn't shocking, but with the past two issues focusing on the dramatic and violent past of the former Kid Flash, I had hoped for better. The premise that Bar Torr was able to fight the effects of The Functionary's mind eraser and fooled the Teen Titans the whole time is pretty far fetched and takes a great deal away from the story. The best thing to take away fromTeen Titans #27 is that you finally learn something about Solstice's past, not to mention the art of Kirkham and Thibert. Hopefully Lobdell can pull the story together and end the Titans on a high note. Stay tuned to We The Nerdy for more Titans and where the characters will find themselves come May.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More