Columbus Comics Corner's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Reviews: 45
7.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batman '66 Meets The Legion Of Super-Heroes #1

Jul 19, 2017

Don't pass on this particular issue of the series, it's worth giving a chance to take a trip back to memory lane. There's a fun story here with action, classic twists and villains calling out their own dumb wits.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Cloud #1

Apr 8, 2017

We're introduced to two separate worlds and our main character Zelda, who can travel through both freely. Not exactly sure what is going on yet and didn't hook me to give it another issue. The art is fitting and a beautiful book to look at.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Panther & the Crew #1

Apr 17, 2017

If you're expecting things to kick into gear right away based on the awesome cover. You won't get that, instead, Ta-Nehisi Coates takes the time to flesh out the main character who will carry this title for the time being. Although the art style is somewhat off it doesn't take away from the engaging story being told.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Bullseye (2017) #1

Feb 6, 2017

Readers may enjoy the method of his technique to kill people with random things. But the story seems dull for this being the big return of Bullseye. That said, the art throughout the book helps makes up for the lack of a strong plot and backup story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Cloudia & Rex #1

Jul 8, 2017

A family transitions from tragedy into a world where they will have to face off against monstrous gods, saving the existence of the immortal world. An amazingly drawn, well written issue to set up the overall plot and the origin story for our colorful superheroes we'll follow through the miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eleanor and the Egret #1

Apr 8, 2017

Everything you would want in a first issue can be found here. This weird cat and mouse game has a fun comedic twist all while luring you in with the chemistry between our title characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Extraordinary X-Men #20

Mar 27, 2017

If you felt down on the X-Men after finishing the recent event, this may restore your excitement level. This epilogue shows the mindset of Storm post thinking she could trust Emma Frost. While sending other X-Men to fix some decisions made during this timeline. Overall, the issue cautiously restores my hope for the future of the X-Men. Go give it a read if you're an X-Man fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Faith #8

Feb 4, 2017

Being a full-time Harbinger again and dealing with her own threats, Faith is busy finding herself and bringing down villains at the same time. We see Faith continuing to deal with the death of her family and close friends. Jody Houser has been planting seeds since the start of the series. Which leads to play into Faith's future overarching story. Essentially, this issue is a setup for what's to come in the upcoming arc. While it's a quick read, you get a plot point wrapped up, an important friendship moment, and enjoyable art to guide you through the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Faith #10

Apr 4, 2017

This may be the shortest review I've written. If the issue wouldn't have had an appearance of Faith, I wouldn't mind a villain focus issue. We could've learned more about this mysterious Director the villains broke out. I did find myself chuckling at some of the comedic jokes in this issue. Just wanted a bit more out of this. Not being steeped in Valiant mythos, the cliffhanger didn't leave me excited for what's to come. I'll continue this series and really want to love the book I came to adore at the start of the series.Bits and Pieces:While the villains have assembled, that's all there is to take away from this. There's plenty of comedic moments to put a smile on your face. But we've waited quite awhile to set up Faith's rogue gallery only to see them get to know each other and understand they all hold a grudge against Faith. Hopefully, the next issue really kicks into gear and get's me excited again for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Generation X (2017) #3

Jun 19, 2017

Moving forward, we may finally see the series finally take off. While this new threat may keep our young team close by in the neighborhood. We'll see how the teams attempt to handle the issue on their own. Jubilee being portrayed heavily in the covers has taken a back seat and doesn't get much to do. With a cool unique art style, the pages still suffer from off-putting facial expressions and similarity face designs making it hard to pay attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Grass Kings #1

Mar 11, 2017

We're given a tour of Grass Kingdom to familiarize us with the lay of the land. Great first issue to introduce you to the characters you'll be seeing more of. There's something weird going on we know that much. The overall mystery of this town and the things that occur we'll have me sticking around to see where this first arc goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Grass Kings #2

Apr 15, 2017

Sheriff Cubert of Cargill has decided to stir things up in the Grass Kingdom. We learn more of the pain Robert went through after losing his daughter. With this issue, we now have a sense of the decade this series takes place in. The cliffhanger will leave you shaken up and excited to see the future of Grass Kingdom. There's the perfect blend of crime and mystery to keep me around to see how the Grass Kingdom reacts to this invasion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Grass Kings #4

Jun 17, 2017

I'm loving the book and this issue continues the enjoyment I get out of this series. Reading along with the art from Tyler Jenkins plays out as picking up a long lost piece of folk-lore. I didn't mind the overall pacing, building the tension leading up until the confronation of the two towns. We're gaining more of connection to the main characters and towns people. Which will help pay off, making that anticapted scene more impactful. Now that we've gotten a grasp of the residents at Grass Kingdom, Maria is a character I'd like spotlighted more. Since arrival to Grass Kindgom, she's caused the long awaited war between the two towns to possibly breakout. But I trust in the direction Matt Kindt will take this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harbinger: Renegade #4

Feb 25, 2017

Solomon has placed things in motion to further his plan to enhance other psiot's. The art continues to be stunning and a good fit for the book. Although we have to wait until July, the creative team has something great up their sleeves.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Iceman (2017) #2

Jun 26, 2017

Sina Grace does a good job of introducing new readers to Bobby Drake and at the same time closing chapters of his past. The main plot with Zach is lackluster, only there to get both Bobby and Kitty in the same room to clear the air. It's to bad editorial didn't comb over this book for any wonky dialogue that could come off-putting to certain readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Infamous Iron Man #6

Apr 3, 2017

My expectations going into this issue were high from where the last issue ended. While I was disappointed certain plot points were touched on more. I came out of the issue still enjoying it and look forward to seeing how Bendis handles both story lines. Your eyes will be peeled to the pages as Alex Maleev and Matt Hollingsworth provides stunning artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Infamous Iron Man #7

May 1, 2017

Alex Maleev and Matt Hollingsworth are doing an amazing job with the artwork. The collaboration between the two helps the overall feel of the story. Bits and Pieces:This is a slow burn that may become uninteresting and dull very soon. Just more of what we've seen previously with another huge cliffhanger. Only time will if Bendis can deliver on the cool story he continues to set up.  The art continues to be some of my favorite coming out of Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.9
Infamous Iron Man #9

Jul 3, 2017

Plenty of scenes that go nowhere and continues to sweep any true revelations under the rug. Bendis has show off his talents of setting up things, now it's time to unravel a plot seed or two. Cause I continue to feel let down with each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
James Bond (2017) #1

Mar 4, 2017

This first issue hits all the Bond tropes you would want to see. We mostly get a set up for what's to come in Tokyo. There's nothing to grab a reader to get them excited for the arc. The issue leaves you relying on the art to help move along the story, up until we're briefed on Bond's new mission. That being said, the art makes up for the lack of story. It's hard to find many words for this jumping on point.Bits and Pieces:If you want some 007 nostalgia, you'll find some enjoyment in this book. Benjamin Percy plays it safe and only gives a sample of what's to come. Nothing much here though to get someone excited to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jean Grey #1

May 8, 2017

Some of Jean's choices come off a bit out of character and makes me wonder if that will catch up to her. Dennis Hopeless waste no time introducing a piece of X-Men legacy into the mix leaving me wanting to stick around to see how this plays out. But was still left with some concerns moving forward on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jean Grey #5

Aug 14, 2017

Psylocke takes a back seat in her approach to training Jean. With a little bit of guidance, Psylocke existentially throws Jean right into the mix and forcing Jean to learn how to swim on her own. She's pretty laid back the entire issue and comes off stoned out of her gourd. Which by the end, unfortunately, Psylocke's dialogue comes off a bit wooden. Someone get this lady coffee, she's zoning out.The art team does an amazing job of changing up the style from the last issue, to fit the vibe of Psylocke's appearance and role. How is it Jean Grey, not a flagship title, even with an art change, still has better and consistent art than any of the flagship X-Titles? Bits and Pieces:Don't sleep on this title and give young Jean a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
John Carter: The End #1

Feb 11, 2017

Brian Wood has set up an interesting story to tell in this dystopian world. He gives you enough to set up the relationship of John and his wife Dejah and a shocking reveal. The art stands out and helps move the story along. If you're a fan of tales placed in dystopian worlds, you can pick up this issue and find this intriguing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
John Carter: The End #2

Mar 11, 2017

Bits and Pieces:If you were hoping you'd get more story in this issue you'll be disappointed. We're given the same minimalistic dialogue stretched out. It feels like the story has moved an inch since last month. The art is very enjoyable to look at, though!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kill Or Be Killed #6

Feb 18, 2017

The art continues to shine and plays like watching a gritty crime show on HBO. This trio is an unstoppable team when working together.Bits and Pieces: Another great installment to this series. The story continues to move along showing Dylan's situation can just get worse from here. You can only hope the best outcome for him in the end. Although it's getting tougher to root for our main character at times.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Kill Or Be Killed #7

Mar 18, 2017

Bits and Pieces:While we take a break from the main plot and flush out Kira's character. You'll get emotionally attached to her after you finish this issue. But don't worry, though. In no way would I consider this a down issue in any sorts. By the end, the issue will still move the overall story forward. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #8

Apr 29, 2017

We're in for the long haul with the series. But Ed Brubaker is planting plenty of clues making it fun to theorizing how things will end up for Dylan. With this month's cliffhanger, things seem to be ramping up and about to blow up in Dylan's face.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Kill Or Be Killed #9

Jun 3, 2017

This title still continues to be a great read even if it's a slow burn. But a slow burn with a purpose. Since following his writing I trust that Brubaker has a vision and plans to nail stick the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Kingpin (2017) #1

Feb 13, 2017

Kingpin is attempting to show his emotional side and wants to share his past with entire world. Although it seems he's turned a new leaf, Kingpin is planting seeds for something big. It's still a mystery to what Kingpin is after. But it can't be good. Matthew Rosenburg provides an engaging story that'll leave you wanting to see how this all plays out for the big boss.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Nick Fury (2017) #1

Apr 24, 2017

If you've always wanted to see Marvel Now's take on James Bond with pretty colors. This is the book for you! But if you want better storytelling, stay away from this book, and show Marvel we want better stories being told.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Nick Fury (2017) #2

May 22, 2017

Don't worry If you missed the last issue, this issue hits the same beats and showcases Marvel's latest take on a forced series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #25

Apr 1, 2017

This penultimate issue provides further plot development, a stunning fantasy world, plot twist and great artwork. Everything you want in a comic to lead us hopefully into a big finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #17

Feb 6, 2017

The story is starting to ramp up. Jeff Lemire's dialogue isn't lost while he takes Logan through different realities and time. When you think Logan is close to cracking the code, Jeff Lemire literally shatters everything you might've thought was real and up's the stakes. The pages provide stunning artwork and panel transitions to make for a fun read. You can tell everything in the book is being well thought out and I admire that. This issue takes the leap to progress the story expansively. While some books were a bit dull for me, this week's Old Man Logan came on top for pick of the week.Bits and Pieces:Jeff Lemire continues to pull another exciting story from his vault. He does a great job of playing with two different realities while telling an engaging story. Andrea Sorrentino and Marcelo Maiolo help pull everything together with their artwork. When the story seems to unfold a bit, Jeff Lemire takes things up a notch.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #18

Feb 20, 2017

Jeff Lemire wraps up the arc with a nice touch to send Logan onto his next journey. Moving forward, Logan will soon find out if his visions have become true at an old familiar place. You'll be left excited to see where Jeff Lemire will take the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #19

Mar 13, 2017

Logan must jump through several hoops before he can travel to the Wastelands. Some great cameos are thrown in to assist the plot. Now that Logan has someone who can help him travel back. The next issue should pick up more than what we're given. I'm eager to catch up with Baby Hulk and Dannie Rand! Overall, a good start to this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! #17

May 1, 2017

Bits and Pieces:Kate Leth wraps up her series with an emotional ending using Patsy's best friend and antagonists introduced from the start of the title. If you weren't reading the series this issue will finally win you over only to be saddened it's ending. Crossing fingers we get a team up book between Hellcat, Hulk, and Spider-Woman. I'd buy it and I bet others will too with the right promotion.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Robotech #1

Aug 5, 2017

The art in no way is bad and doesn't stick to original animation style. But with the nostalgic feel of the story, it could've better fitting to stick to the source. With a couple of off putting faces from Claudia Grant and Rick Hunter's portrayal as Tom Cruise getting off the set of Top Gun, the revised character designs work. All the mech suits and background art look great and are the eye candy of the book.Bits and Pieces:Take a trip down memory lane if you loved Robotech as a kid. Just don't expect a new tale just yet. New readers could honestly watch the first episode and get more out of it. Minus the clunky dialogue in the original show.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Weapons #1

Jul 1, 2017

A solid introduction to the mini-series and shows the story has a lot of potential. Perfect collaboration of storytelling and brilliant artwork. 

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Spider-Man: Homecoming Prelude #1

Mar 6, 2017

Instead of buying this book, you can either buy or rent Captain America: Civil War and get everything in this issue plus more Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Woman (2015) #15

Jan 30, 2017

Another great issue that never seems to slow down. There are great character moments and more of Spider-Woman kicking butt. Dennis Hopeless continues to provide the perfect amount of action, comedy, and drama that'll keep you locked into the story telling. Just when you think things are looking up for Spider-Woman, you're knocked back down a few pegs. One of the best ongoing Marvel series that should be on everyone's radar! 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Woman (2015) #17

Apr 3, 2017

Dennis Hopeless gives us a bit of closure as he ends his run. The issue only left me wanting more in the way it ends. Not exactly sure when I'll see these things touched upon and if the next team can hit the same marks as this series. Only time will tell the future of Spider-Woman and her new family. Overall, still an enjoyable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Tank Girl: Gold #4

Feb 25, 2017

You can always count on hilarious comedic moments entwined with a backdoor approach to storytelling. The story is everywhere at times, going off the tracks only to wrap it back around perfectly. That sorta style could dive bomb quickly. But Alan Martin seems to know how to juggle such off the wall ideas to tell a dynamic story. Reading this series gives you the feeling you're on this gonzo vacation with the cast. Next month the team will pick up where we leave off with its new series.Bits and Pieces:I can't recommend this series enough! Both art and storytelling is a unique approach you don't see often done this well. Although the miniseries has ended, Alan Martin has left it open to explore again. That's once we get back from their next adventure. Can't wait to dive into the new series next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tank Girl: World War Tank Girl #1

Apr 8, 2017

We catch up with several of the characters and where the time traveling has placed them. While fans of the previous mini-series will feel right at home. Any new reader can jump onto this first issue and get a kick out of the stunning art and bonkers storytelling. I look forward to seeing how all this plays out watching Alan Martin kicks things up to an eleven.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Tank Girl: World War Tank Girl #2

May 13, 2017

Mini-series like this don't come around often. Another well-delivered issue from Alan Martin and Brett Parson. Besides a nitpick I had with the plot, this story continues to follow great pacing leading us into a satisfying finale. Reading this series it radiates the fun Alan Martin and Brett Parson is having to put this all together. While the issue follows the formula of the previous issue, it's only used to connect the dots in the end. The team may be together for now. But there's always a new setback to arise in this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
World Reader #1

Apr 22, 2017

There is enough here to introduce you to our main character and get a grasp of who she is. The events that have transpired thus far will leave you sticking around to see how things unfold. If you didn't get enough of the movie Arrival. This is the perfect comic to fill that void.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #4

May 29, 2017

We're given an drawn out issue with plenty of padding. The bi-weekly schedule continues to show in the art and minimalist story telling. While this is my least favorite issue of the series, I hope the book doesn't lose its way and we can continue the fun we were given at the beginning of the series. 

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More