Daniel Coleman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 76
5.8Avg. Review Rating

8
ApocalyptiGirl: An Aria for the End Times #1

Apr 23, 2015

This is a book that anyone can pick up and enjoy. The age rating of twelve years old feels realistic as there is some violence and blood in some panels that might not be suitable for younger readers (even if it is drawn in a really cute style). It's a simple enough story that younger readers will be able to understand it, while still having enough nuance that older readers will get a little more from it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Aquila #1

Apr 15, 2015

The artwork is a dirty gritty style that really works for the time period that's being shown. Panels are well positioned to accentuate the action, of which there is a lot. The action is well drawn and brutal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Aquila #2

May 20, 2015

One of the tough things in comics is giving the reader enough information to guess where the story is going, or at least agree with where it goes, while also doing things that surprise. In this vein Aquila is a hard character to place, some pages he's awesome and you think ‘yeah I like this guy'. Other pages he's a complete bastard and you wonder why you're reading about him. His motives have been fairly unclear, but now he has a mission and purpose hopefully he will seem more realized.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Big Con-Job #1

Mar 4, 2015

If you like conventions and heist movies, you can't miss this.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Big Con-Job #2

Apr 1, 2015

The pacing has slowed right down, but honestly I would read this as an ongoing series. I like the characters, even if some of their motivations feel slightly rushed. That's what you get with only four issues I guess.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Big Con-Job #3

May 6, 2015

Even with its predictable story, the likeable characters, dialogue and artwork will bring me back for the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Big Con-Job #4

Jun 10, 2015

Unfortunately the artwork is not enough to save this book from going out with a whimper. Maybe had the run been longer there could have been more exploration into the characters and events. As it is it feels like a poorly edited movie, focusing too much on some scenes and not enough on others.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Big Trouble In Little China #7

Jan 7, 2015

They keep this story chugging along at an awesome pace. This issue has it all, action, humor (this issue made me laugh a lot) and continues the story well. This might be my favorite issue yet. I'm still holding out hope that Jack gets Pete back from Lo Pan.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Big Trouble In Little China #8

Jan 28, 2015

I still enjoyed this issue but not nearly as much as previous ones. I really hope they get the voice and character of Egg back to normal.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Big Trouble In Little China #9

Mar 11, 2015

This issue completely missed the mark for me and I've been forgiving because I'm a super fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Big Trouble In Little China #10

Apr 29, 2015

Please BOOM! make this so good I can scream about it from the ‘hell of judgmental reviewers'.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Bill & Ted's Most Triumphant Return #1

Mar 11, 2015

I didn't know what to expect going in, so my expectations were super low especially as Big Trouble in Little China is on a downward spiral right now. Luckily this is a mini-series so hopefully they have enough interesting material to fill it up. I would be more worried if this was an ongoing series (unless they hired a really good writer).

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Bill & Ted's Most Triumphant Return #2

Apr 9, 2015

I really didn't like the second story this issue, none of it worked for me at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Bill & Ted's Most Triumphant Return #3

May 13, 2015

The best panel in this issue is when Bill and Ted take Chuck to Woodstock. There's a silhouette of Jimi Hendrix with a big crowd. The detail on the crowd is really nice, I spent a while looking over that. Apart from that there really isn't anything making me want to come back for further issues. Sorry Bill and Ted but this was not Most Triumphant.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Bill & Ted's Most Triumphant Return #4

Jun 10, 2015

I really enjoyed the pacing this month, the story seems to flow better than previous outings. There were some nice reveals to things that feel authentic to Bill and Ted. The best thing of all this time is that the cliffhanger actually makes me intrigued as to whats going to happen next. It leaves you with anticipation for the next issue, which is a first for this mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Borderlands #5

Jan 7, 2015

Read it if you want to have the novelization of the game, otherwise avoid it and just play the game!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Borderlands #6

Jan 22, 2015

This issue is much better than the previous but it's still slow going. Things that stand out were seeing some skags and the original characters getting some fun characterisation in their short appearance. Claptrap isn't quite as charismatic on the page as in the game, losing the voice and random way he moves really takes something away from the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Borderlands #7

Mar 18, 2015

I like to judge a comic based on if it makes me feel something, anything. If it raises a smile, gets a chuckle, makes me cringe, or cry then it will get a score worthy of that. If the book keeps me interested to the end it will rack up some points. But if the book makes me bored and not want to even get to the end (I did read to the end, for you guys. so you don't have to) then it gets a…

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Borderlands #8

Apr 15, 2015

This book is a strange one, I don't like it, but I keep coming back for it. There's something magnetic about the Borderlands franchise. I hope that they can push through the game story and tell their own soon, until then I'm gonna try and stay away from it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Capture Creatures #3

Apr 15, 2015

A simple read with cute characters. It succeeds on everything that it sets out to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Chew #46

Feb 26, 2015

This issue left me thinking that one thing was going to happen and then literally throws it in the trash at the end. Fans of this series may not be happy with that. I was happy with Colby's initial plan but to throw it in the garbage is just awful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Chew #47

Mar 25, 2015

My favorite background joke was on Olive's hospital form outside her room. That or the picture next to her room. Aw hell I just like them all.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #48

Apr 22, 2015

If none of these reasons get you interested in checking out what has to be one of the best books on the shelf right now, I genuinely feel sorry for you. Buy it, read it, cherish it, read it again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #49

May 27, 2015

As always the artwork is absolutely stellar. I have to mention the cover of this issue which adds to previous issues covers to create a dinner table with various characters. This is another one of those things that John and Rob do so well, layering in things for later. I hope there will be at least one more addition to the table (if not more)

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Chew #50

Jul 1, 2015

Chew issue 50 still manages to make you laugh constantly while throwing in things that tug at the heart-strings. If I was to make the analogy that Chew is a vacation, then this arc is the day at the water-park. You return home happy and exhausted then as you sit there with a cup of tea, you realize that you only have two more days before it is over, you know that tomorrow you will wake up and make it an even better day, but for that night an immense sadness washes over you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Cluster #2

Mar 4, 2015

The end of the issue is two flash backs to the first issue, this just felt jarring after the rest of the issue being on the prison planet. If this is the first issue someone picks up they'll be able to follow the gist of the on planet stuff. But the flashback at the end would confuse them or maybe entice is the right word?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cluster #3

Apr 1, 2015

This book has two ‘what the fuck' moments at the end. Which makes me want to read the next issue right now. Dammit I want to read it so bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cluster #4

May 6, 2015

We get another of those flashback scenes this issue. Thankfully it's at the end of the issue and it's only one page. They must want us to get the information from these panels but the way the flashbacks were handled in the last two issues was not great. This one is not jarring, you know it's coming and it gets it's point across quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Conan: The Avenger #9

Jan 7, 2015

Each of the final pages ends in a way that makes me look forward to the next issue. I think that even if you changed Conan's name this comic would still interest me. It's not blown my socks off yet but I have faith that this thing is going to keep getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Conan: The Avenger #10

Feb 4, 2015

This issue packs in a hell of a lot. Fred Van Lente has applied the gas and is not letting up. I'm not gonna spoil any of it for you guys. If you haven't jumped on this series yet, now is the time. This issue gives you all the back story required to enjoy what happens within it. You may not know all the characters but you can understand all their motives from the narration and dialogue. As always Van Lente leaves the issue in a place that makes you want to jump straight into the next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Conan: The Avenger #11

Feb 27, 2015

This story is reaching its crescendo and the buildup for the end of this arc has been perfectly paced. Once again the issue ends and I immediately went back to read it through again, only this time really soaking in the artwork (I'm still not a massive fan of Ching's Conan, but he has grown on me).

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Conan: The Avenger #12

Mar 25, 2015

The artwork is still top-notch, I love the full page art and double page spreads. The color palette is great. The action is well choreographed and depicted. I really like the way this book looks.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Creature Cops: Special Varmint Unit #3

Apr 8, 2015

The action is good, I expected action due to the 'Cops' in the title. I wasn't expecting some of it to be brutal though due to the 'Creatures'. The story is self-contained and I didn't need the previous issues to get everything out of this story. They do allude to stuff from the past, but whether that was actually shown in the first two issues, I wouldn't know.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Empire: Uprising #1

Apr 22, 2015

This is an awesome beginning to an excellent comic. I can't wait for the next issue. I don't hand out five stars that often but this one really knocked it out of the park for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Empire: Uprising #2

May 20, 2015

I really dug the ending that shows the weight of ruling world while conversely showing the weight of being ruled. This has become one of my most anticipated comics and I can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Empire: Uprising #3

Jun 24, 2015

There are some fantastic visuals this month especially the movie that Tumbril and Lucullan watch. I really enjoy the effect on Golgoths teleportation, it fits really well. And the lettering in this comic is great, adding that little extra to the scenes that require it. Golgoths reversed text bubbles, black with white writing, is ever-present letting us know that he's not a good guy. With the way this issue ends I don't know if I should be rooting for him. He's a bad-ass, emphasis on the bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Escape from New York #5

Apr 9, 2015

This comic is how fans of the movie would feel if Michael Bay was given the rights to the reboot.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Escape from New York #6

May 13, 2015

I don't think I'll come back for another issue as this comic is not scratching the Escape from itch. I guess I'll just go watch the movie again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ghostbusters: Get Real #1

Jun 17, 2015

I'm definitely strapped in for the ride. This was a great first issue to get you up to speed, hopefully the next ones will have some more action.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Ghostbusters: Get Real #3

Aug 26, 2015

If you already read the last two issues you should carry on with it and get this one. If you were to pick this up as your starting point you might come out underwhelmed. I'm looking forward to the resolution in the next issue. Hopefully more action, more equipment and more background eye-candy.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Hollywood Zombie Apocalypse #2

Feb 4, 2015

I would recommend this if you like B-movies, zombies and poking fun at celebrities. There's nothing in here that stands out as new or overly funny. Apart from the amount of color pages it's not really worth 6 bucks.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
I.C.E.: Bayou Blackout #1

May 6, 2015

Due to the length of the book this really does feel like an episode of a TV show. One that I'll tune into for the next episode. I'm intrigued as to what the Infektsi are up to and how Cole is going to stop them.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Lola XOXO: Wasteland Madam #1

Apr 8, 2015

I was hoping for something like the end of Planet Terror (minus the zombie-mutants). Hopefully it can evolve into something like that. Unfortunately there are no stand out moments this issue, the surprising end is not that surprising.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Lola XOXO: Wasteland Madam #2

May 27, 2015

I don't know where this story is going. The guys are building a plane but there doesn't seem to be a plan for where they are going. The only thing that I'm sure of is, I don't like Alton. I'm not convinced of Maddies new-found toughness or her strategy or prowess. I want to believe that there is a reason that people follow her, but for right now I don't know what that is.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Masks 2 #1

Apr 8, 2015

The plot is a bit strange, I'm down with masked vigilantism and stopping corrupt officials. At one point in this story though, a guy is introduced as being able to go through space and time because he meditated a lot. Seems like a weak justification for a plot device if you ask me. But whatever, let that slide, and you've got a comic full of interesting characters and villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Masks 2 #2

May 6, 2015

I don't know how this figures into the whole story, especially with the way it ends. I'm left wondering where the Green Hornet is and what he was doing while the two girls become gal-pals over mutual ass-kicking ability. My remaining feeling after this issue is that it feels rushed.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Masks 2 #3

Jun 3, 2015

This issue was more entertaining than the last, but really doesn't advance the main storyline. Come on guys, next issue, let's get this party started for reals.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Orphan Black #1

Feb 26, 2015

Jody Houser mentions in the comments that this series will delve deeper into the clones history and give us more information. So there is hope for this series, this issue misses the mark for me as a fan of the show though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Orphan Black #2

Mar 18, 2015

The introduction of next issues clone, Allison (the house-wife clone), felt a little jarring and therefore slightly unnecessary. If it had flowed from the main story it would feel better. Otherwise, we know that each issue will follow a different clone so we did need the last-minute intro; then again if you don't watch the show it might be a good teaser.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Orphan Black #3

May 6, 2015

I like how the issues wrap up in a natural way that introduces the next character. This leaves us on a natural progression into the next issue, which will read very well in a trade paperback. As always I'm looking forward to when the comic can tell its own stories, even if it's only to bridge the gap between seasons. For right now though it is nice to get a little more background on events in the Orphan Black world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Orphan Black #4

Jun 24, 2015

The artists are the same but the style feels a little different. I don't know if this is to give each characters issue a different feel or the team is just changing things up. Either way it'll be interesting to see what they will do when two clones (or more) appear in the same story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Scarlett Couture #1

Apr 29, 2015

I really enjoyed this first issue, however there were a couple of things that weren't great. The first is the sound effects, I felt that they look like old batman sound effects 'zap' 'pow', the way they are drawn in really bold colors in a cartoony font detaches from the seriousness of the situation. The second was the ending, we don't know the characters well enough for the reveal at the end to be an 'oh my god' kind of thing, instead it was more an "oh okay, I see."

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Spread #6

Mar 18, 2015

If you love ‘The Thing' by John carpenter and any of the ‘Mad Max' films, then you will probably love this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Spread #7

Apr 29, 2015

Seeing as this is a one-shot side-story there is a lot of information to drop as we are not familiar with any of the characters. Well, we do know one but you don't find out until the end of the issue. The way the character changes into the one we know felt a little quick, obviously there aren't enough pages in one issue to really get across the time and stress. Apart from that it flows very well and gives a satisfying ending and of course gross Spread monsters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles New Animated Adventures #18

Jan 7, 2015

Both stories in this issue are fun, quick reads that fit perfectly in the canon of TMNT. I usually hate shoe-horned festive issues, but this one was fun and if anything actually added the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles New Animated Adventures #19

Jan 22, 2015

The story is fun and energetic. Filled with lots of dynamic shots and action. Mikey, as always, steals the show with some of the best lines. However they are all drawn well and have a good panel or two. This is a great fun read with one of the bad guys from the show that I've looked forward to seeing again.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles New Animated Adventures #21

Mar 26, 2015

The artwork is, in general, good. Every now and then the turtles shape doesn't feel right or the faces don't look right. There wasn't that much to sink your eyes into this issue. I really like the show, not every episode is a hit but I like it as a whole, but this comic is not really giving me anything extra. For the younger ausience or the super-fan this comic still holds it's worth for me, I think I'll leave it be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutanimals #1

Feb 27, 2015

The story set-up is quick and gets right into the action. There's no origin story here just a group of mutant animals that get on with their stuff. The ending also leaves the book in a good place. We get to know everyone, we understand the stakes, we know who the bad guy is (kinda) and we know where things are going.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutanimals #2

Mar 25, 2015

I highly recommend getting this book. Track down issue one and start collecting this, it's going to be good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutanimals #3

May 6, 2015

All this great art is wonderful, but without a decent story to follow it up, it would feel hollow. This story gets better and better each issue. It has a sense of purpose, starting with one things which leads organically into the next before setting up a genuine cliffhanger that makes you wonder what the hell will happen next. That's good story-telling. Paul Allor adds to this by giving each character dialogue that feels unique to that character (some are a little stretched like the ‘Sir, yes Sir' from Herman). This just adds to the reality of the world they've made. Pigeon Pete is still on top for my favorite character, he kills it every panel he's in.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutanimals #4

Jun 3, 2015

As a stand alone issue it is just good. When marked against the previous three it is okay. But when this is collected into the trade-paperback it will be really good. This is the beginning chapter of the Mutanimals and when viewed in that light the clich dinner table scene wrap-up feels right at home. I have enjoyed this first arc and would recommend this to anyone, if you're going to pick up this issue try to at least grab issue three as well though.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The Four Points #1

Apr 8, 2015

It's a quick read and fairly enjoyable if not wholly original, hopefully the next few issues will up the ante.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The Four Points #2

May 20, 2015

This issue is nice to look at and any time one of the girls uses her powers it is beautifully illustrated. Though I would take slight issue with the fact that the artist or writer has fallen into the age-old trap of giving all the girls the same body shape with different hair and skin tone. It would be nice to see one of them as less buxom or (god-forbid) heavier, or shorter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Infinite Loop #1

Apr 22, 2015

I got through this book really quick and enjoyed it a lot. I don't want to spoil anything in this review but please read it, and when you do come talk to me about it in the comments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Infinite Loop #2

May 27, 2015

Just like last issue this one threw another surprise at me. Last time I didn't expect any subtext. This time I wasn't expecting the nudity (I'm not a prude, I just wasn't expecting it) but it fit the scene well and didn't seem out of place. The placement of Teddy's vibrator (used to show that she is a solitary person) didn't feel obtrusive and went well to humanizing her.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Infinite Loop #3

Jun 17, 2015

This all sounds like I didn't enjoy the issue, but I did. I love the style and I'm pleasantly surprised by the twists in the story. Still loving the use of flow charts to explain Teddy's thought processes. It ends well again, making you wonder what will happen next (and because of the way this one surprised me, I have no idea). I would have liked the love between Teddy and Ano to have been drawn out, but it's not my story. I still highly recommend this book, just probably not for younger readers now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Infinite Loop #5

Aug 19, 2015

I really hope this comic can focus more on the story and less on the agenda as that is when it works best. I'm looking forward to seeing where this story takes us and how Teddy and Ano's relationship evolves over this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Tomb Raider #11

Jan 7, 2015

This is an awesome issue minus the missing Jaffa cakes of course. As you can see a lot happens. Rhianna Pratchett and Gail Simone are weaving a great story. They do a lot to make the characters feel real. This is a great continuation of the game and it seems to be finding its own foothold, I'm excited to see where they take it and if it will lead into the next game.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Tomb Raider #12

Jan 28, 2015

This was a good end to a fun arc. Lara is evolving into the bad-ass we know she can be. Hopefully the next arc will see her being more proactive instead of reactive. Also it would be nice to show her using her brain rather than just her fists (or feet). It makes sense for her to try to go back to a normal life after the island, but she's got to be realizing she can't now, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Tomb Raider #14

Mar 26, 2015

I read recently that this is the third and final arc which will lead into the new game, so hopefully the next four issues will stear us in the right direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Tomb Raider #15

Apr 22, 2015

I'm looking forward to seeing how this arc will tie in to the next game and that's what will keep me in for the next three issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Tomb Raider #16

May 27, 2015

I'm really confused with how these comics are going to tie into the next game. And seeing as how much I enjoyed the game, I think I'm going to give up on these comics as part of the continuity in my head. I'll probably finish the run as It's coming to an end, but I wouldn't recommend it to others. At this point It's only for hardcore fans and people who have persevered so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Tomb Raider #17

Jun 24, 2015

I'm not really sure how they are gonna wrap up everything neatly to be shuffled into the next game. Will the next issue relegate this series to the non-canon half of my brain, or will it become the connective tissue that makes me feel more in the know?

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Zombies vs. Robots #1

Jan 29, 2015

As far as first issues go it's not the greatest, but it does hint at things to come that might be more interesting. I'm still excited by the premise and I'm hoping they pull things together next issues for more intriguing images.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Zombies vs. Robots #2

Feb 26, 2015

This book is a weird one as there are three stories. As such they don't get enough page space to really develop well. They should have done one of the stories played it out and then done the other. Or they should have done two separate books to really devote the page space to the meandering story-telling. The Tales of ZVR they could of put at the end of either.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Zombies vs. Robots #3

Mar 26, 2015

If they'd taken one of the five or six story-lines they're trying to jam together and run it in chronological order weaving the other stories in organically, I might have been interested. But this is a hot mess (I'm English but I infer that that means bad). I'll stick with a comic if it makes me feel something, unfortunately the only emotion this comic brings me is anger, towards myself for continuing to read it. As such I'm gonna have to drop this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More