Dave Gogel's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Hulking Reviewer Reviews: 49
8.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Alien vs. Predator: Fire and Stone #1

Oct 7, 2014

SummaryAll in all, AvP: Fire and Stone #1 is a well-put together issue. After my initial worry that the Prometheus series would be ruined, I am now more curious as to what happens in the next three issues. The Alien vs. Predator series always shines in comic book form, and this issue continues the tradition.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Alien vs. Predator: Fire and Stone #2

Nov 5, 2014

SUMMARYI was a huge fan of this issue, excellent action showcasing all of the creatures. Despite only two characters, the dialogue was still intriguing. This fit the Alien vs. Predator theme perfectly and it's a shame that neither movie could grasp this simple concept. Pick up this issue, just look out for flying claws as you do so.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Alien vs. Predator: Fire and Stone #3

Dec 2, 2014

In Alien vs. Predator: Fire and Stone #3 the sheer desperation from the main protagonists was evident, and it was executed nicely. Francis is willing to do whatever it takes to cure his sickness; Elden is willing to do whatever it takes to get to Elden. And there were some great moments with the Predator as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Alien vs. Predator: Fire and Stone #4

Jan 14, 2015

SUMMARYI haven't been shy in stating my appreciation for Francis this entire Alien vs Predator: Fire and Stone series, and I thought they gave him a fitting ending. Not having the title characters as the main protagonists in the final issue was a risky choice, but in the end it worked, despite the oddities. I am looking forward to seeing what is in store for Elden. He could have some interesting conversations with David that's for sure. Overall, the series was a mixed bag. It never quite seemed to find a center, however it boasted one of the best issues in the entire story arc. That alone made the AvP series worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Alien vs. Predator: Life and Death #1

Jan 5, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed Aliens vs. Predator: Life and Death #1 and felt it was one the stronger issues of the series so far. An excellent display of action and story, which sets the (extremely bloody) table for the last three issues. If you are yet to pick up this issue, do yourself a favor and seek it out now. Until next issue, stay frosty!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Alien vs. Predator: Life and Death #2

Jan 24, 2017

While Aliens vs. Predator: Life and Death #2 was not an action-packed extravaganza, this issue was enjoyable. Not much on the Aliens side of things, but the Predator stuff was cool. The stage is now set for what should be an exciting last couple issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Dead Orbit #1

Apr 14, 2017

It looks like we have a new addition to the “must read” category with Aliens: Dead Orbit #1. What makes it even more impressive is that James Stokoe pulls a triple-double that would leave Russell Westbrook impressed: He does the writing, the art, and the cover! That is just awesome. Aliens: Dead Orbit will be released on Alien Day 4/26. Be sure to go get it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Dead Orbit #3

Jul 19, 2017

While I have no shame in my love for Covenant, it feels nice to come back home. And that's what Dead Orbit #3 feels like. Home for the Alien fans. Excellent effort through three issues. If you're looking for cold terror in a warm summer, scoop up Dead Orbit. Stay frosty!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aliens: Defiance #1

Apr 3, 2016

I was anticipating this issue after reading the early material for it and suffice to say it did not disappoint. Just about everything one can look for in a first issue was accomplished here. It was a treat to finally have a dedicated Aliens story without those bratty Predators snooping around. I can't recommend Aliens: Defiance #1 enough and it should be a part of every fan's arsenal. Stay frosty.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Aliens: Defiance #2

May 22, 2016

The story it is a nice mix of tension and action. There is something inherently creepy about exploring a dead ship, with the ghosts of battles past haunting each corridor. It's a feeling that has been missing from the franchise for far too long, and Tristan Jones captures it perfectly. By going back to basics, Jones and Brian Woods have made the Aliens franchise fresh again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Defiance #3

Aug 16, 2016

Aliens: Defiance #3 continues to build momentum as we reach the mark in the story. The Aliens universe is definitely shining with some love and care behind it. There is more to this franchise than cool creatures and big battles. It's also about survival, hope, and defying the odds.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Defiance #4

Sep 8, 2016

Aliens Defiance remains a must read comic. If you're looking to pass time during the long wait to Alien Covenant, this is a no-brainer at this point. Brian Wood is on the verge of one the best-written Alien stories in a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aliens: Defiance #5

Sep 28, 2016

For those that read my reviews (a hearty thank you to the regular readers), it is no secret that I can't stop gushing about this Defiance series. It has been slim pickings in quality for this franchise for seemingly 57 years. FOX had turned the most fearsome movie creature into a horror icon with no meaning. But, Alien Defiance has helped (along with Alien: Isolation) bring the franchise back to where it belongs. Seriously, if you are a fan and have yet to pick this up I don't know what to tell you at this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aliens: Defiance #6

Oct 25, 2016

I honestly don't what else to say at this point, I'm running out of positive adjectives. Defiance is the penultimate Aliens series right now, and has the potential to be the new benchmark. Go get it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aliens: Defiance #7

Dec 1, 2016

As we begin the second story arc with Aliens: Defiance #7, it's not looking any easier for Hendricks and Harris to accomplish their mission. Lots of questions still remain. Brian Wood has us all invested in the characters; seven issues in and we know their stories and pain. They are not just xenomorph fodder. The wait for the next issue seems longer after each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Defiance #8

Dec 27, 2016

Look, I'm not doing this again. If you're not reading Aliens: Defiance at this point I'm leaving a facehugger under your tree for Christmas. Stay frosty!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Defiance #9

Jan 16, 2017

As poet laureate DJ Khaled says, "Another one!" Once again, Aliens: Defiance hits another homerun. The 24 pages fly right by and demand a reread. You know the drill, go get it! Until next issue, stay frosty!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Defiance #12

Jun 18, 2017

After a bit of a stumble last issue, Aliens Defiance #12 rebounds nicely. Lots of loose ends are tied up and momentum is built for the rest of the story. Hendricks has a new fight ahead of her; I can't wait to see what she is going to do next. Until then, stay frosty"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aliens: Fire and Stone #1

Sep 24, 2014

SummaryBack to back solid debuts for start of this story arc. I will not ruin it, but I did enjoy how the issue merged the worlds of Aliens and Prometheus. So far, so good for Dark Horse. Let us hope they can breathe new life into Predator and Aliens vs. Predator as well!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Fire and Stone #2

Oct 28, 2014

Aliens: Fire and Stone #2 is a strong issue. You can see the potential in this arc in the Aliens and Prometheus stories. These two teams seem like they are working well together and keeping everything together. I look forward to more!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aliens: Fire and Stone #3

Nov 26, 2014

I'm not quite sure what is going with the alien/human hybrid creatures, but overall an entertaining issue. I criticized a few of these issues; it was disjointing the way the all-encompassing story was being put together. But as these issues enter the second half, it is all coming together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Aliens: Fire and Stone #4

Dec 24, 2014

This story never seemed to fully reach it's potential. The meeting of the habitants of LV-223 and LV-426 acted more as a point guard for the other series. There areplenty of highlights to talk about too. The shifting of the dynamics between the survivors and how each reacted was presented in a logical manner, and the xenomorphs action was satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aliens: Life and Death #1

Sep 10, 2016

Consideringall the action involved, Aliens: Life or Death #1 isn't your typical first issue. Instead of a slow build, we get a xenomorph jaws to the face. A nice contrast to the issues prior, this portion of the Life or Death story is off to a good start. Now that we've reached the halfway point, the story is set to continue its evolution.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aliens: Life and Death #2

Oct 21, 2016

Now we're getting somewhere, Aliens: Life or Death #2 was a sorely needed change of pace for the story. I hope we get more like this; it brings more meaning to the carnage and death when there is some meat (pun intended) behind the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Life and Death #3

Nov 13, 2016

Part 11 of 17 is in the books and we're gearing up for a fun last few issues. This story has definitely flowed better than Fire and Stone, and I'm looking forward to the last part of Aliens: Life or Death as it can set the table for the rest of the story. Excellent issue, the theme of hope and regular people overcoming odds prevailed throughout, which is a core part of the Aliens universe. Until next issue, stay frosty.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Life and Death #4

Dec 14, 2016

Did the finale deliver? I believe so. The main characters had their big moments and we had the grand finale. Dan Abnett is wonderful for the Alien series; his writing style fits perfectly. With the Alien: Covenant trailer due to hatch any day now it's important that the spirit of the franchise remains true. With Life and Death and Defiance out there, we seem to be in good hands. Or is it claws? Aliens vs. Predator: Life and Death #1 is up next. Stay frosty!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fight Club 2 #1

May 8, 2015

This is a tough story to go back to, without mirroring what was done before. Despite some obvious familiarities, I felt Palahniuk did a good job. It felt like Fight Club, and to me that's the most important thing. I look forward to seeing where the story goes next. I think Tyler, Marla and the overall theme of Fight club will still resonate with the audience, as it's even more relevant today. Tyler lives"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Fight Club 2 #2

Jun 23, 2015

SUMMARYFight Club 2 #2 starts to get the ball rolling nicely, and the action and story pick up considerably in the second half of the book. I enjoyed learning more about Sebastian/Tyler, and was pleased that it wasn't done in a way that ruined anything. Tyler's terrorist activities seem to have taken a darker turn over the years, I wonder if that will be touched upon. The return to Paper Street should be interesting; I can't wait for issue #3. #InTylerWeTrust

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fight Club 2 #3

Jul 22, 2015

Now we're getting somewhere. First off, I absolutely love the method in which we get a recap of the previous issues in Fight Club 2 #3. It is presented like an Airplane Emergency Landing sheet that's left in a flight's seat. Yet another subtle nod to the movie. Great stuff

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fight Club 2 #4

Aug 25, 2015

I am not sure how to properly summarize Fight Club 2 #4, as it was all over the place. A mix of fun, clever, meta, and insane moments. With six issues still to go, this could get even more bizarre. I'll be waiting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens #1

Jul 12, 2016

Solid start to PDA, I look forward to seeing the forthcoming issues as the characters and action become more fleshed out. As a fan of all three franchises (I'll confess my Dredd knowledge is all from the movies), I wasn't too sure this was necessary. But now I'm ready to dive in headfirst, let's just hope a facehugger isn't there to give me a welcoming kiss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens #2

Sep 8, 2016

I found Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens #2 to be far more enjoyable than the first. It seemed to embrace more of what it wants to be. If the quality remains as is, I think this will be a fun alternative to the other comics out there. Until next time, this issue has been"judged! I'm sorry; I'm a bad person.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Predator: Fire And Stone #2

Nov 18, 2014

SUMMARYI felt this was an enjoyable issue. The Predator and Galgo were the only two characters for the entirety of the issue and it worked well. I like where they are going with the story, let's just hope it all ties up well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Predator: Fire And Stone #3

Dec 17, 2014

Predator: Fire and Stone #3was the most complete issue in the Predator series; character development and action was both top-notch. Galgo elevated himself as another interesting piece of the puzzle, and the Predator gained some uniqueness as well. After months of teasing, next issue we finally receive the long-awaited Predator vs. Engineer fight!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Predator: Fire And Stone #4

Jan 28, 2015

This was the perfect finale to the series with not one page wasted. This now concludes each individual series setting up the big finale in Prometheus: Omega. Predator ended up being one of my favorites, the story did a great job trying everything together and Galgo was really awesome. With one more issue remaining, we now must hope that all of this build is worth all of the effort that was put in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Predator: Life and Death #1

Feb 20, 2016

Dan Abnett lives up to the hype and delivers a fantastic story in Predator: Life and Death #1. He seamlessly introduces a new story, characters, and even Alien: Isolation into this expanding comic book universe. Every panel is written in detail, and franchise diehards will appreciate this. Brian Thies pairs up the writing with some excellent visuals, and this issue looks and feels gritty. His artwork keeps the tone perfect for the issue. Issue #1 is an excellent table setter for the series and I eagerly anticipate the next part.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Predator: Life and Death #2

Apr 5, 2016

After an excellent first issue, I was expecting a bit more here. There was nothing wrong per se with this issue but nothing really stood out either. The dialogue was still very good, kept things moving at a good pace. It still feels like it fits in the Predator universe. Maybe this is just a setup for a bigger revelation next issue? I do enjoy the story so far, as I'm quite curious what is going on with that Juggernaut ship.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #1

Sep 13, 2014

SummaryThe world of Prometheus is filled with massive potential and Fire and Stone does a nice job of expanding the universe. As the characters are fleshed out more and the plot begins to reveal itself it should get even better. The surprise at the end was a plus as well, a good tease until the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #2

Oct 15, 2014

SummaryThis is a complete issue. From start to finish it is a compelling read, Prometheus: Fire and Stone #2 feels like a movie. The nature of the Prometheus world is a perfect to set up the rest of the arc and this issues shows why. I can't recommend this enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #3

Nov 12, 2014

While not the action packed orgy of the previous issue, Prometheus: Fire and Stone #3 was a fantastic read. The bubbling drama is beginning to erupt, and it has been worth the build up. This series has enhanced the movie, and you can't ask for much more than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #4

Dec 9, 2014

First, I'd like to extend kudos to the team of Paul Tobin and Juan Ferreyra for putting together four excellent issues concluding in Prometheus Fire and Stone #4. Part one had a bit of a slow start but the story picked up soon after that. They did a fantastic job expanding the Prometheus universe, as they answered old questions while setting up new ones. The story, artwork and script all had purpose and care for the source material. I can't say enough good things, now if you'll excuse me I'm going to re-watch Prometheus.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Prometheus: Fire and Stone - Omega #1

Feb 13, 2015

After years of hibernation, it's been an absolute blast reading more stories in the Aliens and Predator mythologies. Neither franchise garners as much attention in the sci-fi genre as the Star Wars and Star Treks of the world but have a huge following nonetheless. They remain two of the coolest creations in the genre and their stories need to be kept alive. The introduction of Prometheus for the first time into comic books was a rousing success, the mysterious Engineers lent themselves well to the story and served as a great set up for everything. I hope more comics in the works, as there are still plenty of tales to be spun. For now, this Dave Gogel, reviewing the last of the Fire and Stone series signing off"

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Prometheus: Life and Death #2

Jul 19, 2016

As you can tell, this was my favorite issue so far in the Life and Death series. This should set up a fun last 2 issues so hopefully this momentum continues. Don't hesitate folks, go out and grab this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Prometheus: Life and Death #3

Aug 9, 2016

Prometheus: Life and Death #3 is yet another solid issue, as the Life and Death story arc continues to hatch. The pieces of Predator and Prometheus interact in a fluid manner with no confusion. Dark Horse has already improved over Fire and Stone series, which was a bit too ambitious for it's own good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Prometheus: Life and Death #4

Sep 8, 2016

This was a strong series all around. Dan Abnett juggled every species (Xenomorphs, Predatrors, Engineers, and humans oh my!) brilliantly in Prometheus: Life and Death #4. They all had time to shine and the story kept a nice flow. The visuals kept things alive as well, Andrea Mutti's environments felt organic and put you right in the story. Aliens: Life and Death is on deck, I hope the quality continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Prometheus: Life and Death (One Shot) #1

Apr 27, 2017

Did the Life and Death live up to it's epic promise? Yes and no. It did have a grand scale to it, and it was awesome the way everything connected. It was much more organized and easier to follow than Fire and Stone as well. I still think it's a bit much, having all four (Prometheus, Aliens, Predator, Aliens vs Predator) involved ends up with too many moving parts with the story and characters. In the end, this was an entertaining story that was much improved over Fire and Stone. It didn't quite take some of the crazy risks, but was a more coherent product.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Strain: Mister Quinlan - Vampire Hunter #1

Sep 13, 2016

The Strain: Mister Quinlan, Vampire Hunter #1 was a fantastic first issue. It had tons more action than I expected and gave us a brief glimpse into who and what made Mister Quinlan. If you're a fan of The Strain, Blade or vampires in general this is worth your time. I'm glad Del Toro decided to bring Mister Quinlan's story to the forefront.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Strain: Mister Quinlan - Vampire Hunter #2

Oct 12, 2016

The Strain: Mister Quinlan #2 is all around an excellent issue, the story of Mister Quinlan continues to evolve more and more. Origin stories can be a tricky thing, as they're always the potential to mess up a good thing. This is off to a fantastic start, and I can't recommend enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Strain: Mister Quinlan - Vampire Hunter #4

Dec 27, 2016

The Strain: Mister Quinlan #4 is a brutal, (in a good way) issue all around, which makes for a great read. There are tons of potential for Quinlan, as his character has an interesting Blade/Highlander dynamic. I wasn't too sure how the Rome story would play out, but is enjoyable so far. Another can't miss issue, grab your silver and get to hunting!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More