Dominic Davies's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 35
7.5Avg. Review Rating

8
100 Bullets #54

Oct 15, 2004

I'm not going to tell you to buy this book, unless you already have all the others. If you have never heard of 100 Bullets and like the sound of it, go pick up all the trades now. Don't start getting into this series by picking up this book, because you probably wont understand a thing and it will only ruin previous surprises for you. As for those of you who are already reading this series, I don't need to tell you to buy it, do I? Because by now you should already have it and, if you don't, steal some money (well, not really, but you understand the idiom) and get it. You can tell this series is about to get really nasty.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
100 Bullets #55

Nov 19, 2004

As this arc (and series) continues to heat up to a boiling point, a lot of questions concerning Wylie are unanswered. Mainly, why is he about to kill Shepard, and will he be joining Graves when his memory fully recovers? The next issue looks to really blow the lid on things, and I just can't wait to see him put on the black suit. I think I did blabber on a bit. *sigh* Azzarello just can't write these fast enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #532

May 28, 2006

This new story begins a terrific tale of a man making a terrible decision and the effect it will have on everything he loves. The story is solid, the dialog is great and the emotions are real. If you want a very human tale about the events in Civil War, this is what you are looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
American Virgin #3

May 11, 2006

American Virgin has everything that makes an adult comic book great. It has sex, violence, saints and sinners all being compared with some disturbing similarities. This book is about the fall of one man, and everything else he is taking down with him. If youre not yet convinced by my ramblings, let the facts speak for themselves. Steven T. Seagle writing a story pencilled by Becky Cloonan with covers by Quitely. Have faith in these artists and pick this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Astonishing X-Men #6

Nov 7, 2004

It seems there is a lot to look forward to in this series and I hope that Joss and Cassaday really stick with it for the long haul. I haven't enjoyed reading anything to do with X-Men this much since the Morrison days, it is clearly (by far) the strongest X-Book on the shelves and seems set to stay there for a long time. Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman #652

Apr 26, 2006

So what do we have in the end product? The beginnings of a great story and so far it has been flawless in all regards. Can Robinson keep up the pace? Will Batman find the killer? Will Robin come to terms with the loss of his father? Will Harvey Dent give in to the monster inside? Only way to find out is to read on, and I certainly intend to.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Black Panther (2005) #1

Feb 8, 2005

Hopefully this series can maintain the pace and mystery laid down in this first issue. If you are looking for a Hero comic with a slightly different style and setting, pick this up and give it a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain America (2004) #18

May 14, 2006

In this latest issue the characters finally head for one big clash. Its a spy/thriller/superhero book featuring the Red Skull vs. Lukin vs. the Winter Soldier vs. Crossbones vs. Captain America, and theres no way its going to end well. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Civil War #2

Jun 18, 2006

This latest issue of Civil War begins what promises to be a provocative and action packed series. With such a huge cast its going to be trickly for the reader to avoid getting overwhelmed but so far thanks to solid pacing and quality artwork, there is no reason why any new readers could not enjoy this series as much as old readers can. All this coupled with one big shock of an ending makes Civil War easily on top of the pile for me. It should be for you as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Civil War: Front Line #1

Jun 11, 2006

The best thing about this series is the human touch it adds to this massive event, and this is played out brilliantly in each separate story. It also serves as an interesting opportunity for Jenkins to express a political view but is in danger of having an adverse effect on the series as a whole. The separate art teams do a good job in each story and gift the book with the sombre realism that is required. All these make Front Line a great spin off and provides a welcome addition to the Civil War. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (1998) #81

Jan 30, 2006

How can a reviewer sing total praise for a title without seeming like some desperate fan boy? The short answer is, he can't. But what I have said before is that Brian Michael Bendis, in all the titles he writes, has had some terrible misses, but also some fantastic hits. Marvel Knights Daredevil has been one of his absolute hits, perfectly planned, written, produced and published. If you haven't read any Daredevil before, for God's sake, don't read this one. Go to the store and pick up the first few trades, you will be hooked instantly. And when you begin to reach the end, don't fret, because it ends with all the style and class that has made this series great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Daredevil (1998) #85

May 21, 2006

With a death at the start of the series Brubakers Daredevil draws some similarities to his own Captain America, but dont let that stop you. While a little light on action, this series so far is doing just fine. Next issue is going to be fireworks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ex Machina #17

Jan 20, 2006

A lot of people argue that politics have no place in Superhero comics; this book is a shining example of it working. Perfectly. Vaughan has taken on a massive task in this new story and so far handled it with his usual style and finesse. This can only lead to more great highs for the Great Machine and for those who may be thinking this book is getting a little bland, don't jump ship yet. It looks like the best is yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ex Machina Special #2

Jun 23, 2006

This Ex Machina Special is a welcome distraction from the main story offering both some enlightenment as to The Great Machine's history and to Mayor Hundreds feelings and experiences regarding a particular hot topic. Its packed full of everything we have come to expect in this series from cleaver dialog, killer violence, colorful characters and a strong political theme and message. Brian K Vaughan at his most consistent.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Excalibur (2004) #5

Oct 9, 2004

When it comes down to it, Excalibur #5 is a lot more reserved then the previous issues but makes up for it with an interesting insight into Xavier's thoughts and feelings. With Claremont's work on Uncanny X-Men being disappointing so far, I am glad that this series is turning out to be so solidand stay tuned for what looks to be Sinister next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fantastic Four (1998) #534

Feb 3, 2006

Even without half the team, the latest Fantastic Four story delivers just fine and as usual, it is pack full of the Straczynski wit and charm (including his delightful perchance for making the characters talk to themselves). My main criticism is that while we see a lot of things happening, we have yet to see a very strong story back it all up (something which I believe is usually one of Straczynski's strengths). Hopefully, we will see this in what's to come. But untill then, you can simply enjoy the good ole fashioned biffo.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Identity Crisis #5

Oct 24, 2004

Meltzer has created a great murder mystery set with a massive cast, that will most likely leave us guessing till the very end. If you ever wanted a complex, compelling mystery in the DC universe then this is your ticket. Clearly one of the best releases this year, DC are about to do a third printing of the first issue so pick it up while you can. Nice work Robert for picking the casualty in this issue from his last review. Finally if you have any theories as to who is the culprit, feel free to post in the SBC forums, I have started a post in the DC Universe section with my own ideas.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Incredible Hulk (1999) #92

Feb 5, 2006

What we have at the moment is the setting being set for a fantastic tale of violence, liberation and pure Hulkdom. The fact that while being captivated by the terrific action we are also learning about a brand new world gives great credit to Pak's writing. My one caveat is the storys lack of Bruce, but I have not picked up a Hulk comic for almost a year now, so its very possible that I have missed something important in that time. If I was looking for a reason to start picking up Hulk again (and I am, who isnt?) I would consider this a unique opportunity to get back into it. You should too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invincible Iron Man #5

Jan 5, 2006

What we have been left with is the beginning of the climax to Ellis' "Invincible" reboot and old fans and new have every reason to be excited. Tony Stark is finally Iron Man inside and out, and you won't believe what he can do.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
JSA (1999) #81

Jan 5, 2006

There's not much more for me to say except that in this issue, right up to the fantastic last page, Johns has succeeded in letting us know a little more about the character Stargirl and for those who already knew everything about her, it's simply a good story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Losers #17

Oct 29, 2004

If you have been getting bored with this series fear not, because it is picking up. Hopefully Diggle can carry on the pace for the rest of the story and Jock stays on art, because if they can it will quickly find its way onto the top of my pile.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Madrox #2

Oct 24, 2004

Out of all the stand alone hero series that Marvel has at the moment (and they do have a lot, don't they?) this is clearly one of the better ones on the shelves. If you can find the first one I would recommend to you that you pick up the rest of this series if you are looking for something a little more light hearted and fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nextwave: Agents Of HATE #4

Apr 21, 2006

What we have rolled into this latest issue is even more bad-ass happenings. Tangible awesomeness and pure, uncut kickass are what makes this title great. And we have this fantastic team to thank for it. I would like to say that in this comic Ellis has pulled out all the stops, but that would imply that there were in fact stops set in the first place. There was no backup plan, no safety net to fall into and thats what makes this series stand out. They took a risk with something crazy, and it works. Now, its Friday night and my housemates are handing out shots of Frangelico, so I had better go to my room and read some more before I start with the Bowie. Enjoy Nextwave!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret War #3

Oct 15, 2004

If youre a fan of Bendis, Gabrielle or any of these Marvel characters you must pick up this book and the ones before. Forget Disassembled, Gwen's tarnished memory and Colossus's return. This is Marvels biggest and best release this year. Pick it up now!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Squadron Supreme #6

Aug 18, 2006

This latest issue of Squadron Supreme presents no change in narrative pacing but a solid foundation for later stories. Hopefully, it will be enough to hold on to its current reader base because I believe that Stracynski can really deliver when it comes to a big series. It has all the markings of a great series despite this early hick up with the art change. Keep reading it folks, trust me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Intimates #1

Nov 5, 2004

I really enjoyed this first issue. Maybe because its just an incredibly fresh and stylish way to introduce a new series, but we are however yet to see a main plot be set down. If Casey can give us an interesting story to back these cool characters and sexy style, I don't see how this series couldn't quickly make its way to the top of my pile. It might even convince me to checkout some other Wildstorm work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Walking Dead #28

Jun 22, 2006

Trust Kirkman to give us more reasons to hate the human race in this latest issue of The Walking Dead. This series has obviously been meticulously planned, and this latest issue is not an exception. If you have not been reading this series, pick it up because the trades are cheap. Otherwise the regular fans will be pleased to know that this latest still maintains the quality we have become used to in this brilliant run. Buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimate Spider-Man #89

Jan 31, 2006

While it may seem like a pretty basic Ultimate Spider-Man story tale, sometimes Bendis gives us a glimpse of something underneath. Between the great characterizations, fun story and (oops! I forgot to mention) new updated villain every now and then, we can see the soul of this book. That is what has been given to us today. Enjoy!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ultimate X-Men #53

Nov 19, 2004

I hope Vaughan can stick around with Ultimate X-Men because if he does, the title can only get better. Vaughan's writing with Kubert's pencils makes this one of the strongest X-Titles on shelves. I intend to keep picking up this title, and you should too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimate X-Men #66

Jan 17, 2006

After reading the first of Kirkman's and Raney's Ultimate X-Men, I can safely say with confidence that this book shall stay on the top of my list for a few months to come. Great characterizations built on funny and just downright cool individual stories, coupled with a great promise of what's to come and solid artwork, Kirkman's X-Men is a winner and for this old fan, it's one heck of a relief.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Uncanny X-Men #455

Feb 8, 2005

Sadly the only reason I care to pick up this title anymore is because I love the characters, I love everything there is about the X-Men. But I also love a good story and this breaks my heart. Prove me wrong Claremont and blow my socks off like you did with X-Treme all those years ago. Otherwise, please don't ruin these characters, it hurts me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wolverine (2003) #46

Sep 29, 2006

As far as Civil War tie in books go, this one should be near the top of your list. With plenty of action and an interesting enough story with big thanks to Ramos' artwork, Guggenheim has given us both a tie-in book and a great individual Wolverine story. So if you are interested in either one (or both), pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
X-Men #162

Oct 9, 2004

Like I said earlier, I think Austen's writing - while being fairly generic - is getting better, he has a strong base of characters to play with and I hope he doesnt waste them in his last few issues. Larroca's artwork alone is enough to make me continue to pick up this title in the coming months and if youre just after an easy to read story with some colourful action scenes and a little bit of intrigue then X-Men #162 is worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
X-Men #163

Oct 29, 2004

While not particularly great when compared to Morrison's or Whedon's work I still prefer this to any of Claremont's X-titles at the moment. Plus Larroca is always a major selling point for me. Pick it up for some X-Action.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
X-Men #164

Nov 19, 2004

Like I said previously, I pick up this series because of Larroca's fantastic art. Austen's writing is clearly geared towards the action, and while it does work to some extent, it leaves no impression after you have put the book down. That all said, I have enjoyed this run probably a little more than I'm letting on. Pick it up if you are an X-Men or Larroca fan. Otherwise, wait and see what the new writers are like before you check this title out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

More