Donald Townsend's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 28
6.0Avg. Review Rating

8
Batgirl (2016) #47

Jul 23, 2020

This was an excellent issue. I only wish this concept would be the final issue of the Joker War. It would have been so satisfying for Barbara to be the one to take him out, especially in this manner. The Batgirl series' tie-in with the Joker War begins here and continues to #50, so I admit I'm a little nervous when considering how this arc will go after this issue, but after the thought put into this so far, I'm on board with trusting Castellucci will land Barbara respectfully.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman #542

May 11, 2020

It's a horror story, and Kelley Jones exceeds at this in his work. Everything is exaggerated and grotesque.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman #543

May 12, 2020

I remember enjoying this story far better when I was younger. The idea of walking around as an involuntary invisible man and the wretchedness that existence could entail was troubling to me. That still resonates with me today and that still bounces around in my head at times when I am put into similar situations. I only wish that this story had been given more issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman Beyond (2016) #35

Aug 29, 2019

Initially this seemed to be a sort of throw-away story for me. I had found the False Face angle to be mildly interesting, and I hadnt really cared at all about Splitt. But this issue has switched that around for me. While Im even less interested in False Face, Im actually intrigued to see what happens with Adam and Caden. Also, I really wish that had been Stephanie Brown standing over Terry. But overall, this was enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman Beyond (2016) #36

Sep 26, 2019

Its an unsatisfying ending, but it seems clear that its supposed to be that way. The creative team is setting up the next story and allowing themselves more room to expand upon several of these unresolved issues. I really appreciate the storytelling Ive been getting out of these last few issues and the styles that are developing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman Beyond (2016) #37

Oct 24, 2019

This issue is very much filled with world-building, and quite frankly I love it. Just as the stories seem to grow a little stale, Jurgens shows he is not afraid to reinvent the universe and inject a bit more color into it. It feels fresh and promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman Beyond (2016) #41

Feb 27, 2020

We're wrapping up this arc, and I worry that with Terry's memory reinstituted, we may lose our newest hero. I've enjoyed the story thus far, and I don't want it to tie itself back up into the old status quo, as we've seen before. Overall, though, not a bad issue. It was action-packed but didn't neglect to keep storyline interest with revealing information.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman Beyond (2016) #42

Mar 26, 2020

This was a surprisingly mediocre ending to an arc that I had been really enjoying. The buildup of Batwoman seems to have quickly ebbed out, and the convenient return of Bat McGinnis makes things appear to be going back to the status quo.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #1

Sep 4, 2019

Ive got to admit this is a rough first issue for me. I dont know if I can place the story, based on the art style specifically but also that callback to No Mans Land that isnt actually a callback to that event, in a concrete timeline, and that bothers me a little. I think some of the writing gets tripped up and has the unfortunate effect of downgrading the potential of Adams intent. Taking this for what it is, Im hoping for a deeper story to take place; but for now, I cant honestly say Ive enjoyed what Ive read so far, but Im not dissuaded enough to drop the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #2

Oct 9, 2019

Towards the end of the issue, Ra's al Ghul states that ‘There may be no “later” unless this train gets back on track.' Yeah, that's about right. I want to like a book titled ‘Batman vs Ra's al Ghul', but unfortunately I don't know where this story is going, and it's difficult for me at this point to care. But there are still four issues left, and that means there's still room for growth.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman's Grave #1

Oct 9, 2019

This felt short, but still promising. I love that we get to see detective work pretty much off the bat, and Ellis' thoughtfulness in the psychology of his narrative use of Alfred has me excited for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1018

Jan 1, 2020

Tomasi brings his passion for history and emotional-driven storytelling here, and Detective Comics is better for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Detective Comics (2016) #1019

Jan 22, 2020

This is still not my favorite Tomasi. With a little more relationship work between some of these characters, the impact of the story may have hit a little deeper.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) Annual #3

Jan 29, 2020

Final Thoughts: This is a touching eulogy for Alfred Pennyworth, and the arc it represents sees Bruce Wayne through the final stages of his grief in a way we are most familiar with Tomasi's thoughtful storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League (2018) #59

Mar 18, 2021

I really enjoyed the contrast between the two stories in this issue. I felt that the main tale didn't have enough of a diversity of voices, but it's exciting to see what complexity Black Adam will bring to the team. I also like the idea of making the heroes relatable, not just to us readers, but to the fictional citizens of the DCU touched by the Justice League. The effects on the lives of their charges can be far more satisfying than punching bad guys through mountains, and I hope this can be followed through with meaningful development. The final story was a strong first chapter to a Justice League Dark story that I hadn't realized that I wanted.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League (2018) #60

Apr 22, 2021

I continue to look forward to the progression of both of these stories, and I also appreciate the separate tones that each artistic team brings to the book. While in each case the stories in this issue are a bit more focused on information-gathering than on moving the plot along, I understand that it's (mostly) necessary to the overall arcs themselves. The backup does a better job of exploring the characters and world that we already have, whereas the main story is quick to jump back into a Multiverse so soon after Death Metal.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League (2018) #61

May 20, 2021

The 'super-powered event' element that has caused the surge in the abilities of meta beings is interesting and adds to the lore of Naomi's origins. I was a bit disappointed that we get to see Black Adam in a bit of a badass scene, but the fight is taken off-panel and we don't get to see how he was dispatched. He seemed to be in full control of his heightened abilities, and it seems a missed opportunity to showcase how his style would have differed from Superman's. The backup of this issue is still interesting, but didn't really advance the story all that much. I was hoping to see Rory use his souls during the confrontation, seeing as how the title was 'Enter the Ragman', but he offered little to the arc here.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League (2018) #62

Jun 3, 2021

The main story continues to slog along with a focus on action peppered in with little storytelling progression. The voice that Brian Michael Bendis uses for his characters still seems to be indistinguishable from each other, which is jolting. Any of the heroes' speech can easily be replaced by Brutus or any other regular citizen wandering around. I can't really ignore this 'sameness' of personality, and it takes me from the story, which is mainly carried by the admittedly gorgeous artwork, which covers while simultaneously emphasizing the simplicity of the events themselves. Justice League Dark, by contrast, is frustrating only in its short length. The story seems tighter in its telling, and the detailed artwork here continues to add to the gritty and complex nature of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League (2018) #63

Jun 24, 2021

The introductory arc comes to a lackluster close, and its ending seemed a bit abrupt, with a tone that was concrete while the action itself was shaky in its progression, surpassed only by the artwork which colorfully reflected the broadness of the narrative. The backup story, however, is as strong in contrast. The main objective of the story seems to be dragging a little, but there are multiple elements at work that serves to support the long con of the JLD's chase of Merlin and add enough action and intrigue to keep the reader interested.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Nightwing (2016) #69

Feb 20, 2020

This feels like the end of an arc, but I still feel that we don't know who Grayson will be from now on. Obviously, he is no Talon or Owl. He also doesn't appear to be the Dick Grayson we know and love from the Bat-Family either. It looks like we're going to be heading in a new direction, which is fine. Bludhaven and Bea are fodder for interesting stories. I worry that we'll be stuck wondering who this guy ultimately is. I want Dick Grayson back with all the history that comes with it. Fresh starts are great, but blank slates are unworthy of characters that have been around for decades.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robin (2021) #1

Apr 28, 2021

Honestly, I thought the Mortal Kombat, Bloodsport, etc. type of story this had been hyped up to be was going to water down my excitement for a new Robin title, but Williamson's team seems to be gearing up for something special in this series. I'm actually loving the new costume, though I do hope we get some tweaks now and then so that we can get some more green back into the design. If his outfit is being used as a further storytelling element, which will change and morph as Damian truly grows, I'm all in for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robin (2021) #2

May 26, 2021

This book continues to be a fun and colorful romp of action, adventure, and intrigue with the promise of substance and development. The creatives clearly have a coherent goal of what direction they have with this arc in particular, and with Damian in general. The storytelling is multi-layered, the artwork is amazing, and the promise of what is yet to come is exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Robin (2021) #3

Jun 23, 2021

The underlying narrative I keep getting from this story so far is a young boy out to make a name for himself. He is not only living in the shadow of his father, but Damian Wayne also seems to seek growing out of the shadow of the moniker he's still attached to as Robin. That persona also has a weight attached to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Suicide Squad (2021) #1

Mar 4, 2021

Suicide Squad #1 hits the ground running and is packed with a great amount of action. It's a buildup issue, so we are left with more questions than answers, which isn't a bad thing. However, I didn't get enough time with the characters for their deaths to mean anything to me, and I can't say anyone will be missed. I'm hoping we have more of an opportunity to explore characterization as the series progresses, but with the exception of Conner, I'm not really at the edge of my seat in anticipation.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Suicide Squad (2021) #2

Apr 8, 2021

I liked Suicide Squad #2, but it didn't really keep me on edge. The interactivity with outside events is exciting, but the main story so far has really just left me a bit underwhelmed. I hope we are building up to something that will give us a reason to respect Task Force Z over X, instead of just giving us the same with a different name. We lived through two issues in which the mission was to save a confused enforcer of the Court of Owls, and I hope, as does Nocturna, that we see he was worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Suicide Squad (2021) #3

May 6, 2021

This book isn't terrible, and it certainly isn't boring. There is a quick pace to it, quite a bit of action, and the tension of an ever-present threat. But there's a suspension of belief I feel I'm supposed to buy into on Peacemaker's part that just doesn't seem pragmatic. The idea that anyone who understands the situation they're placed in can not only listen to Christopher Smith, but also TRUST him, is faulty at best.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Suicide Squad (2021) #4

Jun 3, 2021

This issue, while more entertaining, doesn't seem to add any substance to the bigger picture of the arc. I find myself still confused as to the story's direction and questioning the importance and place of the title in the overall universe it's set in.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Suicide Squad (2021) #5

Jul 7, 2021

While not being particularly spectacular, the introduction of Bloodsport as a future sort of foil for Peacemaker can be interesting. Bloodsport's love for war blends pretty well with Peacemaker's violent desire for whatever his concept is of peace. The writing is pretty tight even if the plot itself seems very run-of-the-mill, and the artwork is wonderful in its consistency and detail.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More