Donald Townsend's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 15
6.1Avg. Review Rating

8
Batgirl (2016) #47

Jul 23, 2020

This was an excellent issue. I only wish this concept would be the final issue of the Joker War. It would have been so satisfying for Barbara to be the one to take him out, especially in this manner. The Batgirl series' tie-in with the Joker War begins here and continues to #50, so I admit I'm a little nervous when considering how this arc will go after this issue, but after the thought put into this so far, I'm on board with trusting Castellucci will land Barbara respectfully.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman #542

May 11, 2020

It's a horror story, and Kelley Jones exceeds at this in his work. Everything is exaggerated and grotesque.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman #543

May 12, 2020

I remember enjoying this story far better when I was younger. The idea of walking around as an involuntary invisible man and the wretchedness that existence could entail was troubling to me. That still resonates with me today and that still bounces around in my head at times when I am put into similar situations. I only wish that this story had been given more issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman Beyond (2016) #35

Aug 29, 2019

Initially this seemed to be a sort of throw-away story for me. I had found the False Face angle to be mildly interesting, and I hadnt really cared at all about Splitt. But this issue has switched that around for me. While Im even less interested in False Face, Im actually intrigued to see what happens with Adam and Caden. Also, I really wish that had been Stephanie Brown standing over Terry. But overall, this was enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman Beyond (2016) #36

Sep 26, 2019

Its an unsatisfying ending, but it seems clear that its supposed to be that way. The creative team is setting up the next story and allowing themselves more room to expand upon several of these unresolved issues. I really appreciate the storytelling Ive been getting out of these last few issues and the styles that are developing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman Beyond (2016) #37

Oct 24, 2019

This issue is very much filled with world-building, and quite frankly I love it. Just as the stories seem to grow a little stale, Jurgens shows he is not afraid to reinvent the universe and inject a bit more color into it. It feels fresh and promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman Beyond (2016) #41

Feb 27, 2020

We're wrapping up this arc, and I worry that with Terry's memory reinstituted, we may lose our newest hero. I've enjoyed the story thus far, and I don't want it to tie itself back up into the old status quo, as we've seen before. Overall, though, not a bad issue. It was action-packed but didn't neglect to keep storyline interest with revealing information.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman Beyond (2016) #42

Mar 26, 2020

This was a surprisingly mediocre ending to an arc that I had been really enjoying. The buildup of Batwoman seems to have quickly ebbed out, and the convenient return of Bat McGinnis makes things appear to be going back to the status quo.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #1

Sep 4, 2019

Ive got to admit this is a rough first issue for me. I dont know if I can place the story, based on the art style specifically but also that callback to No Mans Land that isnt actually a callback to that event, in a concrete timeline, and that bothers me a little. I think some of the writing gets tripped up and has the unfortunate effect of downgrading the potential of Adams intent. Taking this for what it is, Im hoping for a deeper story to take place; but for now, I cant honestly say Ive enjoyed what Ive read so far, but Im not dissuaded enough to drop the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #2

Oct 9, 2019

Towards the end of the issue, Ra's al Ghul states that ‘There may be no “later” unless this train gets back on track.' Yeah, that's about right. I want to like a book titled ‘Batman vs Ra's al Ghul', but unfortunately I don't know where this story is going, and it's difficult for me at this point to care. But there are still four issues left, and that means there's still room for growth.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman's Grave #1

Oct 9, 2019

This felt short, but still promising. I love that we get to see detective work pretty much off the bat, and Ellis' thoughtfulness in the psychology of his narrative use of Alfred has me excited for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1018

Jan 1, 2020

Tomasi brings his passion for history and emotional-driven storytelling here, and Detective Comics is better for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Detective Comics (2016) #1019

Jan 22, 2020

This is still not my favorite Tomasi. With a little more relationship work between some of these characters, the impact of the story may have hit a little deeper.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) Annual #3

Jan 29, 2020

Final Thoughts: This is a touching eulogy for Alfred Pennyworth, and the arc it represents sees Bruce Wayne through the final stages of his grief in a way we are most familiar with Tomasi's thoughtful storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Nightwing (2016) #69

Feb 20, 2020

This feels like the end of an arc, but I still feel that we don't know who Grayson will be from now on. Obviously, he is no Talon or Owl. He also doesn't appear to be the Dick Grayson we know and love from the Bat-Family either. It looks like we're going to be heading in a new direction, which is fine. Bludhaven and Bea are fodder for interesting stories. I worry that we'll be stuck wondering who this guy ultimately is. I want Dick Grayson back with all the history that comes with it. Fresh starts are great, but blank slates are unworthy of characters that have been around for decades.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More