Elliott Cole's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Bounding Into Comics Reviews: 26
8.6Avg. Review Rating

4.5
4001 A.D.: Warmother #1

Aug 2, 2016

4001 A.D.: War Mother #1 is mediocrity incarnate. If you want to collect every Valiant book, or every 4001 A.D. issue then you aren't getting something terrible here, you just aren't getting something memorable either.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
4001 A.D.: Shadowman #1

Jul 3, 2016

4001 A.D.: Shadowman #1 is a somewhat enjoyable book that never really hit its sweet spot. Not quite meaty enough on its own and not quite important enough to the larger picture, this is a well drawn issue that will mainly appeal to die hard fans and completionists.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #5

Jul 19, 2016

A&A: The Adventures of Archer & Armstrong #5 is one of the strongest issues yet in a refreshing and much welcome series for the Valiant line-up. Archer and Faith work great together as does the team of Rafer Roberts and Mike Norton. Fans of Valiant comics or lighter hearted superhero stories will find plenty to dig into here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Aquaman (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

Aquaman #2 is a solid entry into both its own series, and the Rebirth initiative as a whole. It continues what is a great jumping on series for Aquaman newcomers and seasoned fans alike. Dan Abnett is quickly making himself indispensable to the modern pantheon of DC comics creators.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Archie (2015) #9

Jun 26, 2016

Archie #9 is a triumph of masterful storytelling. It is a breath of fresh air as a more relatable and down to earth book than most of the action driven comic landscape. Every aspect of this book screams quality and deserves recognition. Only the most jaded of readers won't find something to delight in here. Everyone should be reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batgirl (2016) #1

Jul 27, 2016

Batgirl #1 starts things off on the right foot, providing a more than smooth transition for fans of the most recent run. There is plenty here for fans and newcomers alike, and anyone on the Rebirth bandwagon will surely find a top-tier book with unquestionable talent on display. Pick your favorite Rebirth book and put this one right up next to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey: Rebirth #1

Jul 20, 2016

Batgirl and the Birds of Prey: Rebirth #1 stumbles right out of the gate, in what is hopefully the first step of this team finding its footing. There are glimmers of potential that prevent it from being written off, but ultimately this issue is not compelling enough to win people over that are on the fence.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer #6

Dec 20, 2016

Black Hammer #6 is peak comic book storytelling. Black Hammer might just be my pick for best new series of 2016.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bloodshot: Reborn #15

Jul 12, 2016

Bloodshot Reborn #15 is an improvement over the already good previous issue. Lemire and Suayan solidify the Bloodshot Island story arc as one to be invested in. There is no reason for series fans to exit and plenty of reason for new readers to jump in. Plus, if this issue is any indication, fans can expect some payoff to older plot threads soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #938

Aug 10, 2016

Detective Comics #938 is another entertaining entry into a series whose only detractor is a slightly long in the tooth first arc. If you are expecting the sensationalized and catastrophic type of stories that Scott Snyder gave us, this book is not that. Instead it is solid storytelling within a fan familiar structure. Fans of Batman or any of the other characters on the team will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Divinity II #3

Jun 20, 2016

Divinity II #3 is the tipping point of the sequel series, in which it finally lives up to the potential of the original series. The creative team is firing on all cylinders and should be expected to deliver going into the final issue, and beyond into the already announced Divinity III. This reviewer would recommend Divinity to fans of Valiant and newcomers alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doom Patrol (2016) #2

Oct 12, 2016

I'm all in. Doom Patrol has very quickly sold me not just on its own worthiness, but has heightened my anticipation and expectation for the Young Animal imprint as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Faith #1

Jul 19, 2016

Faith #1 is a book full of heart and hope. Sentiments the reader should hold for the series going forward. This is a worthy addition to the Valiant pantheon, as their lineup continues to become increasingly diversified.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Faith #4

Oct 26, 2016

Faith might just be my favorite Valiant book right now. Houser and co. are telling stories that feel like classic superhero tales but within a very modern framework and ethos. There's a little bit of something for everyone here, whether you're a genre diehard or an indie-focused reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #1

Sep 14, 2016

One of the most consistently impressive DC titles is back and as good as ever. With engaging storytelling and top-shelf art, Gotham Academy: Second Semester #1 is a must read for long time fans and newcomers alike. While there might be books that look as good as Gotham Academy, there are none that look better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Green Arrow (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

Percy and Schmidt are wasting no time getting right into the thick of it in Green Arrow #2. In only three issues (including the Green Arrow Rebirth one-shot), they have managed to take the character of Oliver Queen back to a more traditional core, re-introduce some recent additions from Lemire's run, and then deconstruct the character by stripping away his reputation and excess of wealth. The fact that this all fits together so seamlessly is nothing short of impressive. So far, this solidly maintains its position in my top three books coming out of Rebirth and shows no sign of losing momentum.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harbinger: Renegade #4

Feb 20, 2017

If you are a fan of Dysart's Harbinger and Imperium or Van Lente's Generation Zero then you absolutely have to read this book. You probably already are. If you are a Valiant fan looking to expand your pull list, Harbinger Renegade is definitely worth a look, but is not necessarily required reading. If you are neither of those, go pick up Dysart's run and we can talk again when you finish that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harrow County #14

Jul 4, 2016

Cullen Bunn and Tyler Crook release another stellar entry to a series that is the epitome of engaging storytelling. More new developments than in any previous single issue ensure that while Harrow County #14 will disturb you, the scariest part will be having to wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lady Killer 2 #1

Aug 2, 2016

Lady Killer 2 #1 is a compelling and unique tale. A black comedy equally able to make you laugh and make you squirm. Often at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nightwing (2016) #4

Sep 7, 2016

Nightwing fans rejoice! Tim Seeley is the writer Dick Grayson needs, and the one he deserves. The creative team of Nightwing #4 displays the deftness of trapeze artists with their solid storytelling and visuals. Don't bother setting up the net for them though, they certainly know what their doing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ninjak #18

Aug 9, 2016

Ninjak #18 is good but not great. Fans of the series have no reason to quit now, but I can't necessarily recommend this as a good jumping on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rai #14

Jun 20, 2016

Rai #14 is a solid entry into the series and a satisfying tie-in to the 4001 A.D. event, even if it's events don't necessarily feed into the direct plotline of either. Fans wanting more meat added to the New Japan world should read this without any hesitation, while those wanting more of a direct tie to the 4001 A.D. event could pass if they felt so inclined.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Super Sons #1

Feb 15, 2017

Super Sons #1 is a solid first issue that leaves me ready, waiting, and hopeful for the series as it continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superwoman #1

Aug 10, 2016

Superwoman #1 is a more than worthy addition to the Superman family, as well as the Rebirth lineup in general. Fans of Lana Lang and Lex Luthor will find this issue a must buy, and any comic fan will be better off for buying this book. The story fits nicely as a companion piece to the other Superman titles, but functions perfectly well on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Weird Detective #3

Aug 16, 2016

Weird Detective #3 is a firmly Lovecraftian offering with plenty of content to appeal to any fans of the horror or crime genres. Many others have failed attempting to blend the cosmic with the ordinary, but Van Lente succeeds by never letting these competing perspectives cancel one another out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #9

Jul 12, 2016

Venditti and company continue to push the Eternal Warrior through his own personal odyssey in their own visually impressive way. There is no good reason for Valiant fans or fans of action comics to pass on Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #9.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

More