Ian Cameron's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: On Comics Ground Reviews: 42
9.2Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Aquaman (2016) #41

Oct 17, 2018

Overall, a very fun, engaging outing that allows for Mera to have the spotlight and shine! A great example of how to write and plot a tie-in to show off the supporting cast of an on-going series!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Aquaman (2016) #44

Jan 23, 2019

This series continues to be a delight to read, with incredibly alluring artwork, compelling mysteries and wonderfully punchy-dialogue! And now my fav DC character Mera is here! This storyline continues to be a must-read, one of the best current offerings from DC Comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Aquaman (2016) #45

Feb 23, 2019

This continues to be one of the most beautifully beguiling titles DC's producing, as Kelly-Sue DeConnick, Robson Rocha, Daniel Henriques, Sunny Cho, and Clayton Cowles continue to demonstrate why they were born to tell this sensational and innovative Aquaman tale! Three issues in and I can say without a doubt, it's my new favourite DC on-going title!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ascender #1

Apr 25, 2019

After concluding such an excellent sci-fi adventure like Descender, Jeff Lemire & Dustin Ngyuen reunite to begin a sequel ripe with the same charm and beauty of its predecessor, while still feeling entirely unique. I can't wait to see what new tales they weave with more Ascender!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Champions #21

Jun 21, 2018

The conclusion to this new arc, and the introduction to new superhero Snowguard is handled very effectively, allowing for some truly gorgeous fight-sequences & a breath-taking final page! The issue may have benefitting from an extra couple of pages to wrap up the Master's involvement in the plot, but the fight with Alpha Flight & Snowguard's debut are so fun this is very easily forgiven!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Champions #22

Jul 11, 2018

Jim Zub continues to delight and entertain with Champions, taking advantage of every potential story-opportunity to grow the characters, ensuring a very rewarding experience for loyal readers! Combine that with cool new designs for Ironheart and the recently-renamed "Brawn", and some wonderfully vibrant art from guest-penciller Kevin Libranda, and this is yet another superb entry of Champions! Don't miss it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Champions #24

Sep 15, 2018

This is a very moving issue. The comic itself is clearly a discussion of the effects school shootings can have on children who have to live with these horrific events. Marvel has even marketed the comic as such. Do I think this comic does so effectively? I'm not sure I'm the best person to ask, as living and growing up in Canada means that I've never had to deal with this fear. I do think the comic tells a very compelling story and does not hide from the subject it seeks to discuss.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Champions Annual #1

Dec 21, 2018

This comic is absolutely ASTOUNDING, full of charm, heart, insight into Inuit myths, and highlighting one of the best new additions to the Marvel universe this year, Snowguard! The writing and art are so warm and inspiring, reading this comic feel like wrapping up in a favourite blanket and has got me wanting to know more about Inuit legends and myths. This is a can't-miss comic for ANY and EVERY comic-reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Champions (2019) #1

Jan 2, 2019

Marvel has seen fit to relaunch this new series, and while the writing remains incredibly engrossing & fun, the art doesn't quite measure up. Dark times appear to lie ahead for Marvel's young superheroes, and I'm onboard to see how they face them, despite a shakey start visually.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Champions (2019) #4

Apr 15, 2019

This opening arc of Champions has been incredibly intriguing, emotionally charged and filled with fun surprises! This issue cements why Jim Zub, Steve Cummings and Marcio Menyz are such a great fit for this series and opens the door to so many cool potential stories!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Champions (2019) #5

May 10, 2019

This is another terrific entry, showing why tie-in issues to comics shouldn't all be scorned, and how they can be used to both highlight the event, and further the on-going title itself! Add to that the several moments where I went "D'awww" regarding Cyclops, and I can't think of higher praise!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Death Of The Inhumans #1

Jul 5, 2018

This miniseries is not for fans of the Inhumans. If you've been enjoying any of their recent series or their development, you will be very turned off by this comic. But for a comic titled "Death of the Inhumans", it certainly doesn't false-advertise. It delivers on what it promises, in a very brutal, dreary way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Death Of The Inhumans #2

Aug 2, 2018

While wisely choosing to give readers a respite from the onslaught of this story for the majority of this issue, the art still struggles on occasion, and the overall thrust of this story is a little too heartbreaking for me. Also, THEY KILLED LOCKJAW.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #1

Nov 7, 2018

This comic is OH SO MUCH FUN and a great follow-up to the new series itself. If you've been enjoying series 11 of Doctor Who, you owe it to yourself to pick this comic up, and to keep doing so as long as Jody Houser and Rachel Stott continue to work on it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Domino: Hotshots #1

Mar 11, 2019

Gail Simone, David Baldeon, Jim Charalampidis and Clayton Cowles deliver an incredibly fun, visually spectacular first issue! Full of mystery, rich characterization and the wickedly witty dialogue, it's a comic that's impossible to put down until you've read it, and re-read it again!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Domino: Hotshots #2

Apr 9, 2019

This miniseries continues to delight and enthrall me with every panel and page turn! Delivering some of the best Deadpool material and art in the last few years, Wade Wilson fans are going to love this issue, as will anyone looking for a compelling mystery with a dash of spacial majesty!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Domino: Hotshots #3

May 13, 2019

This miniseries continues to thrill and delight me in ways few other comics on the racks do! Gail Simone's ability to juggle so many different characters' voices is to be admired, as are David Baldeon & Michael Shelfer's wonderful pencils. And the addition of Tony Stark is very entertaining (and I don't enjoy the rich billionaire very often)!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Green Arrow (2016) #41

Jun 16, 2018

This two-parter begins fairly well writing-wise, as Mairghread Scott shows she knows how to show off Green Arrow's more compelling character-traits, and conveys his snarky attitude when stressed pretty effectively. However the book might've benefited from a different art team, or perhaps a bit more lead-in time to prep the pages, as the prison feels a bit to spare in details for my taste, and the action, while overall cohesive, isn't particularly visually interesting. Overall, it's an efficient, enjoyable start to a Green Arrow story but maybe not one too memorable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Green Arrow (2016) #42

Jul 6, 2018

The second part of "Better Than" continues and concludes the prior entry's plot & characterization very efficiently, and the art, well-handled in part one, becomes even better in the second. The story crafts a terrific conflict for a Green Arrow comic, and one that highlights a very real problem and concern when it comes to how people are treated while incarcerated. Highlighting very real social problems is something some of the best Green Arrow stories do, and this two-parter is no exception. I highly recommend giving it a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #43

Aug 1, 2018

The overall set-up & character work in this issue is great, but the main plot for this first arc isn't' quite engaging me at this point. Hopefully in issues to come the creative team can land some bullseyes, as the potential is definitely in sight!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.8
Green Arrow (2016) #44

Sep 5, 2018

This run started out so promisingly and unfortunately has hit a major hurdle, with both the lead character and the biggest supporting character being so horrendously written out of character. It's going to take a miracle to fix such a massive error, and if I weren't obligated to do so, I'd stop reading Green Arrow right now for this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Green Arrow (2016) #45

Oct 3, 2018

It hurts to see Roy gone, but for anyone who's a fan of him, as Arsenal, Speedy or Red Arrow, any fans of the Titans, and any Green Arrow fans, this comic is a beautiful, must-read tribute to one of DC's most relatable legacy characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Green Arrow (2016) #47

Dec 10, 2018

While it's sad to see such talented creators ushered away from Green Arrow, they delivered an incredibly fun, entertaining Green Arrow adventure that honours the heart of the Emerald Archer. Julie & Shawna Benson, German Peralta, Alex Maleev, John Kalisz & Deron Bennett all depart Green Arrow on a high-note!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Green Arrow (2016) Annual #2

Jun 15, 2018

The first entry in Julie & Shawna Benson's new direction for Green Arrow is very engaging, and the increased page count allows for a very well-told recount of how Oliver wound up in Justice League: No Justice, and captures both his voice and the love he has for Black Canary, quite well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Infinity Countdown: Champions #1

Jun 21, 2018

This is a can't-miss character piece for Marvel's wonderful young Nova!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Infinity Countdown: Champions #2

Jul 5, 2018

After an incredibly engaging first entry, the follow-up with Infinity Countdown: Champions #2 is equally enthralling and enjoyable, providing more character development for not only Nova, but also Ironheart as well. The action is both pleasantly fluid and easy to follow, and the ending to the story sets up some very interesting potential stories for both Sam and Riri down the road.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plastic Man (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

The pairing of Plastic Man with Gail Simone is a match made in heaven, and Gail takes every advantage to show off her rapier-sharp sense of humor with the book, but like her Deadpool run before, starts a story that will capture readers' hearts, making sure they're invested in this dark mystery that Eel finds himself caught up in.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plastic Man (2018) #2

Jul 12, 2018

Gail Simone, Adriana Melo, Kelly Fitzpatrick & Simon Bowland continue the high quality of the first issue with this entry, even raising the bar! All aspects of this comic remain top-notch, and the further fleshing out of Plastic Man's character by his actions in this comic are quickly making it one of the best character-pieces I've read in ages! It's a shame this is only a six-issue miniseries, as I'd LOVE to see this creative-team continue to tell more stories with Eel O'Brian! Is this comic "wang"? I DON'T KNOW, but I do know it's not-to-be-missed!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plastic Man (2018) #4

Sep 12, 2018

Another AMAZING issue, advancing all plot threads very organically, guest-starring the underappreciated Secret Six, and with lots of great Pado Swakatoon moments throughout? Yeah, this comic is a must-buy if you love fun or mysteries or especially both!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plastic Man (2018) #5

Oct 10, 2018

This issue continues the miniseries trend of highlighting why Plastic Man is such a wacky, wild character, and makes me love the stretchy superhero more and more! When I'm this distraught over a story only being six issues and being this desperate for more, the comic's done something very very right!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plastic Man (2018) #6

Nov 15, 2018

This miniseries has been an absolute delight to follow along with, highlighting the strengths of both the creators behind it and the titular hero in front. Plastic Man is a love-letter to the strange, wacky, mischevious & kind-hearted Eel O'Brian, delivering laughs, joys and acceptance of others that we all could use more of!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Shazam! (2018) #1

Dec 5, 2018

This is a comic series Geoff Johns has been trying to get off the ground for half a decade, and with its fun characterization, wacky artwork & intriguing set-up for the first story-arc, I think it was worth the wait! This first issue is very promising, but it's too early to tell if, like Geoff Johns's relaunching of Justice Society of America or Green Lantern, if he's caught lightning in a bottle yet again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Shazam! (2018) #2

Jan 24, 2019

After an incredibly fun first issue, Shazam #2 continues the trend, being very entertaining, visually vibrant, and setting up lots of compelling mysteries! The characterization here and there is going in a potentially-worrisome direction, but the comic remains a delight to experience!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Shazam! (2018) #3

Feb 27, 2019

The creative team continues to build a vast new part of the DC Universe through these realms with this Shazam series while fleshing out Billy's family, doing so very efficiently and entertainingly thus far! King Kid's nature wasn't surprising but is still very enjoyable nonetheless. And the art is some of the most enjoyable DC's currently publishing!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shazam! (2018) #4

Mar 28, 2019

This series continues to be a very entertaining, serviceable reintroduction to the World's Mightiest Mortal, and his endearing and fun family! The further fleshing out of the magic-realms is intriguing, and allowing for some terrific artwork and great character-moments!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Shazam! (2018) #5

May 14, 2019

While there are a lot of elements here I do like, the constantly growing cast of characters and subplots is starting to drag this story-arc's pacing a bit too much for my liking. And with the need for four pencillers this issue, the normally terrific visuals of this series also starting to suffer. Hopefully, this series can get back on track soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unstoppable Wasp (2018) #1

Oct 16, 2018

The return of Nadia Van Dyne's solo-series is just as excellent as the original Unstoppable Wasp comics, jammed-full of wonderful writing, art, and women-in-STEM perfection. If you enjoy fun in your comics, you should most DEFINITELY buy this one!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unstoppable Wasp (2018) #2

Nov 14, 2018

This series continues to highlight just how incredibly glamorous & lovable Jeremy Whitley's writing & Gurihiru's art are! Both blending perfectly together to create one of the most endearing comics I've ever had the pleasure of reading. It's impossible not to fall in love with Unstoppable Wasp!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unstoppable Wasp (2018) #3

Dec 13, 2018

After the humour-heavy second issue, this entry flawlessly conveys the danger & thrills filled within Unstoppable Wasp's world. Jeremy Whitley, Gurihiru and Joe Carmagna continue to be a dream creative team, and this a dream on-going comic series!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unstoppable Wasp (2018) #4

Jan 30, 2019

This comic doesn't pull any punches. The creative team sets out to believably portray what can happen to those who suffer from bipolar disorder and does so exceedingly well. For this alone, this is a must-read comic, not just for fans of Nadia, but fans of comics and fans of human empathy in general. This will be one of the most important stories for the Unstoppable Wasp, and it should not be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unstoppable Wasp (2018) #6

Apr 16, 2019

After being successfully resurrected, Unstoppable Wasp has proven why it's one of the best series Marvel's publishing time and time again, with this latest issue being no exception. Jeremy Whitley, Alti Firmansyah, Espen Grundetjern, Joe Caramagna deliver must-read mental health, LGBTQA+ rep and boatloads of charm. And like Nadia Van Dyne herself, it seems that there's no limit to how good Unstoppable Wasp can get!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unstoppable Wasp (2018) #7

May 8, 2019

The main plot of the series isn't advanced much in this issue, but the comic is so delightful to read it's impossible for me to hold that against it. Much like any great party, reading this comic the time flew right by and left me invigorated and with a huge grin across my face!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More