Inhuman Mongo's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 46
8.0Avg. Review Rating

6
Action Comics (2016) #966

Oct 31, 2016

Hang tight kiddies and don't give up on Action Comics, I am hopeful this issues exposition will lead to something more.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Another Castle #4

Aug 10, 2016

Although this book included a dragon, of which I am a huge fan it basically where it ends for me. I found the script to be a bit difficult to follow around the pages, perhaps due to my lack of time with the character or perhaps due to the rapid pace and somewhat unique panel designs. The angular panels are not a huge issue for me, but in conjunction with the dialog and the large almost chaotic word balloons creates a somewhat off-putting vibe. I found the art and colors by Ms. Ganuchea to be quite beautiful adding a redeeming playful feel to the story. I understand the team is going for a feminist angle, I just never got there. The Princess feels a bit more like a petulant teen I would encounter and quickly dismiss and less like a feminist heroine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Army of Darkness: Furious Road #5

Jul 14, 2016

Overall, the book was a fun read and definitely worthy of a look, especially if you like me enjoy the Army of Darkness.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Baltimore: Empty Graves #5

Aug 3, 2016

Story: Mike Mignola & Christopher GoldenArt: Peter BergtingColors: Michelle MadsenLetters: Clem RobinsCover Art: Ben Stenbeck with Dave Stewart

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #3

Jul 22, 2016

In the end, I AM GOTHAM as well and my aforementioned gripes are outweighed by the blend of familiar with new in Mr. King's current run. Batman will continue to be one of the first books I page through every NCBD!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Control #3

Aug 3, 2016

I found the book to be solid although predictable and full of familiar TV and print tropes. In the end, it is a relatable, maybe all too relatable, story with decent character building and some beautiful ink and colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Dark Souls: Legends of the Flame #2

Oct 12, 2016

Gamers may latch onto this title and I honestly recommend they check it out. I rather enjoyed the art and the mind twisting as I tried to determine in only a few pages and sparse script what each story was threading into. Perhaps some of these shorts are not intended to tie into a greater arc, perhaps they are spot on with the lauded game's universe. Perhaps . . .

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deathstroke (2016) #1

Aug 26, 2016

I don't know if Deathstroke will be a long-term title I read but I actually enjoyed this issue over the Rebirth #1 and will be picking up issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Doctor Strange and the Sorcerers Supreme #1

Oct 31, 2016

I enjoyed both of the Doctor Strange offerings this week with this title slightly ahead if you are a long time fan of the Sorcerer Supreme.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Doctor Strange: Mystic Apprentice #1

Nov 1, 2016

I think those who want a better experience in the theatre should pick up this issue and watch the film. If you happen to see a large bald tattooed freak geeking out in the theatre stop by and say, “Hi.” AFTER THE FILM!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Flash (2016) #5

Aug 29, 2016

The issue is not perfect but it has certainly grabbed my attention and left me with questions and pondering over my theories. This is more than enough to keep The Flash in my list of DC pulls!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Flash (2016) #11

Nov 28, 2016

While I never felt the art was “bad” or “took me out of the book”, I did feel a sketchy kind of vibe to it. I am not THROWING SHADE. I just did it again didn't I? I liked the looks for the Shadowlands, but on occasion found a peculiarity with Wally's proportions. Minor quibble aside, I enjoyed this issue and prefer seeing Barry and Wally and this arc over the prior Godspeed arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Go Home #1

Dec 7, 2016

I feel there's enough...material for want of a better word for there to be lots more war comics covering some of the aspects we're only just coming face to face with. The intersection of technology and combat, proxy wars, propaganda and social media, the list is endless. I feel the conditions are there for *more* war comics to be made. Whether that will come to pass or not is another thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Green Arrow (2016) #12

Dec 13, 2016

Given this is the beginning of a new story arc, it is a perfect time to join the Emerald Archer and Black Canary as they attempt to clear Ollie's name and reclaim his company. Considering the final few pages, this is going to be an increasingly difficult task.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lanterns #6

Sep 20, 2016

The improved relations between Jessica and Simon give me renewed hope for the Lanterns title. Gone is the constant bickering and I have less disdain for Simon. I can't say Jessica “earned” her first construct as it seemed to come out of nowhere, but I am happier for it and hopefully we will be rewarded in the next arc. I finally can say I am happy I didn't drop this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Hulk (2016) #1

Jan 3, 2017

I say go out and pick this title up. I will grant you, it is paced rather slow but I feel this is intentional and necessary given the topic. I am eagerly looking forward to continuing this opening arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Infamous Iron Man #1

Oct 25, 2016

Overall I think this a solid start. The creative team shows Victor as both traditional super-villain and altruistic hero. The depiction are both believable and questionable, which is what I wanted to see in the title. I cannot conclude without complimenting Matt Hollingsworth on colors. Thecolors add to the tone perfectly and compliment Doom's arrogance and mystical power.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Judge Dredd: The Cursed Earth #1

Jul 18, 2016

Whether new to comics or an elder statesmen this is a rare opportunity to pick up a real piece of history.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
New Superman #1

Jul 15, 2016

In the end, I found the book to be a bit predictable but I am still intrigued as we flesh out the psychological drives of the new character. Comics in general can use a dose of diversity, not for the sake of diversity but for a new and different course of stories. I am happy to see this new iteration and will give it some time before making a final personal judgment on the title. The art by Bogdanovic is excellent and the writing is equally well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ninjak #18

Aug 10, 2016

Valiant has delivered as advertised on this title by opening a great universe of characters for new readers. This is indeed a PERFECT jumping-on point and why not do it in a title with some excellent writing and incredible artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Planet of Daemons #1

Sep 30, 2016

Planet of Daemons is an interesting step into creator owned work and I look forward to reading the remaining issues. The story may very well be a departure for some who fancy straight up superhero books but the histories embedded into the work, through the Salem witch trials or the study of Jewish Kabbalah provide such an interesting and rich medium for storytelling. Solid opener from a solid team!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Planet of Daemons #2

Dec 28, 2016

I appreciate Kevin's knowledge of the history which drives this story's script and I hopethe team cantie this series up neatly in the remaining two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Planet of Daemons #3

Feb 27, 2017

PaulMoore and Stefan Mrkonjic remain consistent in the art department, both continuing to createa haunting version of the dark realm. As an observation I much prefer the this issues representation of the succubus queen. The prior issue the character's depiction was somewhat muted and in this issue the character was much more alive. It is clear these gentlemen have a well mapped plan on the remaining issues and I will be along for the culmination. If you are not or have not ventured into indie comics you would do well to pick up this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Planet of Daemons #4

Jul 5, 2017

Amos Deathridge reaches the end ofhis tale in the concluding issue of Planet of Daemons. Mr. Gunstoneprovides a fittingend to this four issue series. Thepast and present collide here and if you were paying attention the conclusion although a touch predictable is excellent.I have repeatedly talked about Kevin'sattention to detail in the occult and this issue was no different.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Red Team: Double Tap, Center Mass #6

Dec 21, 2016

I now have a Red Team mission of my own now, which is to pick up the prior volume in trade and of course I will do the same for volume two. I have the benefit of reading the prior issues and if I had to muster one criticism of this series, it would be the cliff hanging "third acts" will likely be more satisfying when enjoyedas a trade collection. Hardly a critique and more of a personal preference when the fate of the characters becomeso personal. 4.9 out of 5

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Rise of the Black Flame #1

Sep 8, 2016

I look forward to the next issue where I am certain the action will begin to increase.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Savage Dragon #215

Jul 27, 2016

I applaud the long running title from Mr. Larsen and Image and recommend picking itup even if you have not been consistently following the title for 24 years. It served as a nice bit of nostalgia for me and as I combed through some old short boxes I found a few of the Images titles from the 90's and atop oneof the boxes was a sketch bymy brother,which I though was fitting to include.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superman (2016) #2

Jul 11, 2016

My only lingering concern is although I can find great differences in the beginnings of this new run, the ending coupled with Action Comics Rebirth feel so very much like "Reign of the Supermen!" First Doomsday and now the Eradicator? I am still hooked on this opening arc and I will set back and enjoy the differences before passing judgement.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Superwoman #1

Aug 16, 2016

The writing and art were more than adequate, I am just not sure if this title will hold longevity. Imbuing so many characters with Superman's powers may saturate the market and make him seem less. On the contrary this may be a title which pulls in more readers. Time as they say will tell. As for now, I will pick up the next issue in hopes Lex is fully found to be the described "sociopath billionaire" we all want him to be.3.7 out of 5

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Tank Girl: Two Girls, One Tank #4

Aug 24, 2016

If I had to provide a descriptor to answer both my pre-review questions it would be, EVOLUTIONARY. Alan Martin and Brett Parson have managed to evolve Tank Girl from a post-apocalyptic punk character into the 21st Century, but the character remains very much the ass-kicking heroine from her origin. While it may not be for everyone, if you fancy crazy, irreverent ass-kicking FUN, I think you will enjoy this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
The Clone Conspiracy #1

Oct 18, 2016

The event has only a few issues to ramp up the pace and hopefully ditch the exposition, but overall this was a good start to this most current Spider-man event.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
The Clone Conspiracy #2

Nov 14, 2016

The art team really shine in this event. I recommend picking up the issues based entirely on the art. Justin Ponsor colors just make these issues mesmerizing! Jim Cheung, John Dell and Justin Ponsor give us another beautiful comic in issue #2. Once again, it feels a tad heavy on exposition and the pace suffers for it. I did enjoy the inclusion on Kaine and Spider-Gwen and the hook (which I chose not to spoil) at the issues conclusion has me ready for issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Dresden Files: Wild Card #5

Aug 17, 2016

This is setting us up nicely for the final issue of this series and I am expecting big things after previewing this penultimate issue. Will Puck get the chaos reality he desires or will Harry convince the factions to unite against a common foe? JUST TAKE MY MONEY DYNAMITE! I cannot wait to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Dresden Files: Wild Card #6

Sep 22, 2016

In the end, this was a solid Dresden title and series put together by Dynamite.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
The Mighty Thor (2015) #10

Aug 23, 2016

I can certainly see why my daughter loves the series past the fact the titular hero is female. I may actually begin reading these out of her stack of books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Paybacks (2016) #1

Jul 7, 2016

It is great news for comic book fans this title was picked up by Heavy Metal and I certainly would recommend this book and will be adding it to my pull list for sure. Cates has indicated there will be a definitive third act in this title, but I am not sure how I feel about this. I am already invested in these characters and part of me doesn't want to see a complete resolution. Perhaps this is because the relatability of debt knows no bounds?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Paybacks (2016) #2

Aug 17, 2016

WELL DONE to the creators and HEAVY METAL publishing yet again! One question I have for these fine folks providing me the opportunity to review this work . . .

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Paybacks (2016) #3

Oct 4, 2016

Geoff Shaw and Dee Cunniffe bring the action and emotion as they have in each issue. Nothing is inconsequential in this team's art. I spend extra time with this book every time just to peep the details. Inks and colors have never been second chair in this series but the "Fear" pages were fecking outstanding!!!!! If you are not picking this series up you are missing out and I hope a trade will follow the completion of the series. Heavy Metal needs The Paybacks!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Paybacks (2016) #4

Nov 21, 2016

Geoff Shaw, Dee Cunniffe and Taylor Esposito as the art team continued to be rock stars! The characters maintained their style from issue one and each character is treated as the star of this rag-tag team up. Colors, backgrounds, shadows, nothing feels neglected. If you haven't deduced; I am a MASSIVE fan of this book and more importantly this team. My next request to Heavy Metal is keep this group together and kindly take my money.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Shepherd: Apokatastasis #1

Oct 19, 2016

I am a single issue collector, but I have found a fewtrades in my time which I must have, and this has become one of them. I look forward to future arcs following The Shepherd and The Wolf!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Trinity (2016) #1

Sep 27, 2016

Overall, I think Mr. Manapul has far exceeded what we have been given in the Rebirth of Justice League and favored character development over pure spectacle. I am more than a little excited to see where this title takes us. The Trinity theme was all over in this book between the homage to older issues and Rebirth issues so this is a solid and defendable opener and is my Justice League book until the main JL book improves.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vision #10

Aug 16, 2016

This has been as near perfection as I have seen in recent memory. My only complaint is seeing it end.Do yourself a favor and grab this series, not just this issue and thank me later!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #1

Aug 10, 2016

Overall, I was impressed with the issue. I found nothing took me out of the setting the creators have designed. The hook of a first issue was set firmly, we are given enough back story to tantalize and enough mystery to want more. Whether or not you have read anyissues or you are a Sir Edward Grey-Wiki this book is definitely worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wonder Woman (2016) #6

Sep 19, 2016

If you are not pulling the entire Wonder Woman series, you are just flat faced WRONG! Don't miss these issues they are damn near perfection!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Wonder Woman (2016): 75th Anniversary Special #1

Nov 1, 2016

The issue begins with a few darker tone stories but they never lose sight of Diana's hope and optimism. I particularly enjoyed the “Predators” by Brenden Fletcher & Karl Kerschl for its animated feel and the M. Scott/ R. Rossmo “One Side Alone” short was awesome as well. Greg Rucka and Liam Sharp's “Wonder Woman In Conversation” was perfection and provided on going readers a nice tie in with the “Lies” storyline. I could drive on and find highlights for each included story, but I would be robbing readers of the joy this issue brings. I feel the same about the art so I will only include a few pages. Just go out and buy this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
X-O Manowar #49

Aug 31, 2016

Joe Bennet's musculature detail is on display and the colors by Ulises make the penciling even more amazing. The art truly mirrors the script, specifically the Torment. The rendition of the antagonist is fluid and smooth adding to their dispassionate portrayal. The team has succeeded yet again by setting up a final issue for X-O Manowar fitting for such an iconic character.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

4th

February

January

More