Jeremiah Gagnon's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Pastrami Nation Reviews: 10
7.3Avg. Review Rating

8
Dungeons & Dragons: A Darkened Wish #3

Oct 8, 2019

If you have ever played D&D before, you can for sure see this as if it was being played out over the tabletop. Some areas felt like someone had rolled a Nat20 and areas where someone failed a saving throw. Especially the last few pages of the comic, from when the soldier tells them about the village, all the way to the end. It all felt just like a group of people had played this out, and this is the shortened version of that story. Even the battle at the end felt like a D&D battle and even gave me a flashback to a recent boss battle in my current campaign.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Ghosts #2

Jun 15, 2020

Overall this comic book was made for a kind of comic book reader that is not me. I can respect what they are trying to do and the story they are trying to tell. It is a story of love and loss, and why it is important not to make desperate and rash decisions. There is very little violence and lots of drama and love. If you are the kind of reader that loves light horror and romantic drama, you might just like to give this a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Lost Soldiers (2020) #3

Oct 20, 2020

Overall, this comic book is an okay read if you like crotchety old men who are skilled in the art of warfare.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel Action: Captain Marvel #1

Sep 2, 2019

I am pleased to have been able to read this and to learn a little bit more about Captain Marvel. Overall I think that this was a great read and it makes me want to keep up with Carol Danvers and her adventures. For me, the artwork of a comic book is critical and plays a significant factor on what my level of enjoyment with the comic book is. This comic book has managed to capture my attention span and held it hostage until I finished looking at the last panel.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Marvel Action: Spider-Man #8

Sep 22, 2019

Overall this issue felt like an extended cutscene right before you play the video game. While I did enjoy reading this and I am overall happy with it, the break in my reading flow removed my sense of immersion and getting lost in the pages. I do look forward to what the future is for this spider trio.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Oscar Martin's Solo: The Survivors of Chaos #1

Jan 12, 2020

This feels like they took inspiration from multiple stories and stuffed them into a single graphic novel. While combat and death are the main aspects of the story, there is an aspect of love and romance in this story similar to that of John Carter from the Barsoom series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Rick and Morty #59

Feb 29, 2020

My overall impression of this comic book is that it feels as though I am simply reading a storyboard for an episode of the show. Even with my minor issues, I would happily recommend this issue to any fan of the show who I know likes comic books; in fact, I would tell them to look up the last three issues of “The Rickoning” and also the next and final part to this entire story. If you aren't familiar with what happened previously, then do not fret becauseMr. Poopy Buttholewill be there to get you up to speed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #20

Sep 10, 2019

Overall, the artwork helps you to connect to a great story with lots of different characters to root for. There are layers of mystery abound as you dive deeper into the story. I wonder what happens next

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Urban Legends #21

Feb 2, 2020

Overall, I think this is a great comic book, and if you are reading the series, you won't want to miss this. If you haven't read it, then I suggest you read this if you are a fan of grittier darker Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. They have a lot of really cool things going, and it feels as though they have a few different storylines going on, and they can connect while also remaining separate to bring you a complete story. My biggest question while reading this is, what happened to Master Splinter?

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Wizerd: The Potion of Dreams #1

Jul 20, 2020

This feels like a good example of what a railroaded game would look like and could give someone who doesn't know anything about them a rough idea of the general play of a tabletop role-playing game. If you are someone who has experience with TTRPGs or are well versed in fantasy culture, you may want to pass this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More