Jonathan Durden's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: 411Mania Reviews: 58
8.6Avg. Review Rating

9.5
A.D.: After Death #1

Jan 12, 2017

Scott Snyder and Jeff Lemire are a good team, and it's really cool to read something of Snyder's that isn't Batman (even though I love Batman). It is also cool to see Lemire dabbling in the arts for this series as well. His art is a good match for the story and for what this book needed to accomplish, which was to pull the reader in with a captivating concept and emotional impact of the protagonist. Although the writing did that more for me, there were some page splashes that also hit me hard and I loved that about this book. Excited to read the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
A.D.: After Death #2

Jan 12, 2017

Seriously consider picking up this book; my anticipation for issue 3 now just as high as my anticipation of issue 2 was (see my previous review of A.D. After Death: Book One). Previously, I knocked off half a point for the oversized comic book format, but I don't care anymore " it truly deserves the max score that it can get. Comic books often get criticized for the lack of original content; when it finally comes, and it's done this well, it deserves to be read by everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Action Comics (2016) #987

Sep 28, 2017

I found the art to be exactly what I wanted out of this issue. It did not disappoint me, it did not exceed expectations. That's all one can ask for this book. The main draw here is the story, and Jurgens made one hell of a setup issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #6

Jan 19, 2017

This issue was overall a little underwhelming coming right off of My Own Worst Enemy, but it shows a lot of potential. And since it is written by Scott Snyder, I have no doubt that this will be another widely successful arc for All Star Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Animosity #5

Mar 2, 2017

That said, I enjoyed this issue the most so far out of the ones that we currently have, and look forward to the next one. Aftershock Comics has proven to be a good publisher in my eyes, between this and Black Eyed Kids I think they're doing some good and underrated work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Aquaman (2016) #1

Jun 30, 2016

I'm in the camp that Rebirth has been on point so far, with only a small few questionable issues so far. The official #1 of Aquaman has kept me in that camp, despite myself not being so high on the character or his Rebirth issue to begin with. This #1 has made me like Aquaman even more than the new Superman issues have made me like Superman. This was just an all-around fun issue to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2016) #6

Sep 22, 2016

There are still a lot of things I could say about this issue alone, but I better end it here. I'm loving Aquaman, I'm loving Dan Abnett and the rest of the creative team, and I'm loving most of DC Rebirth so far. This issue just ticked all the boxes for me as far as ratings go so I'm going to give it a perfect score. Beautifully sets up the next arc. Can't wait to see what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #2

Sep 1, 2016

After the initial bombshell of Steve Rogers as an agent of HYDRA was dropped, Nick Spencer has done a decent job of settling this series' footing on solid ground. He is crafting a story that makes me want to read the next issue, if only to find out what Steve's endgame is and how it plays out, so that's a pretty big accomplishment. The artwork by Javier Pina and Miguel Sepulveda is fine, although it gets a little muddy in spots (specifically the scenes with the Red Ghost), with the scenes of Steve's childhood being standouts with an almost-ghostly feel to them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batgirl (2016) #5

Jan 26, 2017

That said, I'm glad Batgirl has not been afflicted by that for this story arc. I enjoyed the aspect of Babs travelling to different countries and learning new techniques and tricks and meeting new friends along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #4

Aug 11, 2016

That, and many reasons more, is why Batman is my favorite superhero. I loved that this issue highlighted these aspects of his character and let us see how he reacts in the face of an ally gone rogue at the hands of Gotham, a city known to corrupt and contaminate.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2016) #19

Mar 30, 2017

I would rank this as one of my favorite issues of not only this arc, but this entire run of Batman so far. The entire creative team along with the editors put out something really special here and I won't soon be forgetting it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: White Knight #1

Oct 12, 2017

In the Joker's mind, he believes that if he really wanted to, he could end Batman and fix Gotham city. We see that hypothesis put to the test in this story and it is very intriguing and I think it will be a fun yet thought-provoking read for Batman fans. So pick up this book if you're wondering if Joke- I mean Jack Napier can maintain sanity and help Gotham without the Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #1

May 11, 2017

The art is sufficient for what this issue needs to be, though I didn't really see anything that really grabbed my attention personally. However, that differs from reader to reader. Peter David is a strong writer and I think he will keep it up for this series. I like the Scarlet Spider if not for his wits, then for the awesome suit.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2015) #25

Sep 7, 2017

One thing that became clear as I read this issue was that I will be keeping an eye out for this entire creative team. Soule, Morgan, Milla. All of them. They all blew me away with this issue and I can't wait to read the next one to see where Soule is going to take us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #935

Jul 14, 2016

All-in-all, this was a solid issue, but it wasn't anything that necessarily got me super excited for the next issue. If you like the Bat Family like I do, I think you will be sufficiently satisfied with this book. Personally I will be sticking with it for the BatFam. That, and Tynion is a writer that I've been keeping an eye on since I began my downward spiral into my obsession with comics. I think he's written some really good stories and I think he's got even greater stories ahead of him.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #940

Sep 29, 2016

This story arc as a whole was a near perfect start to the new run of Detective and I'm confident of Tynion's abilities and ambitions for more stories down the road. This is a book that will be staying on my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #949

Feb 9, 2017

Since Detective debuted last year, Tynion has continued to impress me as a storyteller and I can't wait to see what he has in store for us in the coming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Detective Comics (2016) #956

May 18, 2017

All in all, this issue was more of a disappointment than it was an enjoyment. It was mostly setup, which a conclusion should not have but so little of. On top of that, the art did its job and I enjoyed it more than the writing, but it was not enough to outshine it by any measure. Hopefully this is just an example of what it looks like when an issue is rushed to meet a bi-weekly deadline and the next arc will unravel a little more naturally. We will see.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Strange: The Oath #1

Nov 3, 2016

I hope the next issue is as good if not better than this first one. I do intend to get it as soon as it arrives on the shelves. I greatly enjoyed this one, and it made me more interested in Doctor Strange as a character and helped me to see how obvious of a choice it was to cast Benedict Cumberbatch, the BBC Sherlock, as Strange in the new movie. So, this issue was solid on all fronts for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #1

Jul 7, 2016

I still think this issue is worth picking up despite the questionable ending. It might turn out to be a great story arc. I hope I'm wrong to be worried about where this new story is going. I hope it's fantastic. Still, there are a lot of reasons to read this serial. I am excited to see how Barry handles the new enemy called the Black Hole and how he works with young Wally and Batman. It is also a good jumping-on point for new readers. Which is what DC is trying to do with Rebirth anyway, so, mission accomplished, I guess. Overall, this was still a decent issue that outshined some of its companions for its release week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Flash (2016) #2

Jul 21, 2016

I enjoyed just about every page of this issue. I still haven't touched on many of the other things that happened in it, but I could go on and on and I know people don't want to read a 100-word essay about one issue of The Flash. One could argue that the short appearance of Wally West was unnecessary or that August could be easily identifiable through those goggles he calls a "disguise", but these things are really just petty things people like me like to knit-pick about. All-in-all, this was another really solid issue and I am still sticking with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Flash (2016) #4

Aug 25, 2016

I've had to drop a few titles from DC's Rebirth lineup off my pull list because there are just so many and I can't keep track of all of them. Some books that are not up to a certain personal qualification serve no purpose of being kept around for me. The Flash is one comic that will remain on my list for the foreseeable future, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #3

Jul 28, 2016

For this issue, I have to say the art outshines the story for me. Although I am invested enough in the story to stick it out, I have to say the art is what I'll be most excited for come next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #28

Aug 17, 2017

There is a lot that is going on in this series, and it's worth taking a look. Percy handles the story very well, and there are no wasted characters. Everyone here has a reason to be and they are all given important tasks. Ferreyra is outstanding on art, as is Otto Shmidt who sometimes comes in for the art. There is a lot to like about this series, and I look forward to the next issue wherein Ollie goes to meet up with Batman in Gotham!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Green Arrow (2016) #29

Aug 24, 2017

This issue has cemented Green Arrow on my pull list. Not that there was much doubt to begin with. The series knows what it wants to be and accomplishes its goals with flying colors. I'd recommend this to anyone who likes Green Arrow or superheroes without powers and/or fun mystery stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jean Grey #2

Jun 1, 2017

I'm keeping this on my pull list for now because I enjoyed these first two issues and I am interested in seeing where this goes. I only wish that since Marvel is pumping these X titles out every other week that they would fall in line with DC and drop the price to 2.99 instead of 3.99. That's going to hurt anybody's wallet if they follow all or even half the X titles that Marvel has slated for the summer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Motor Girl #9

Nov 2, 2017

I can't recommend this book enough. Scratch that, I can't recommend this creator enough. Moore is behind the story and the art, and his works are of tremendous value to me. Due to being self-published, his books may take a little longer to release, but it is more than worth the wait and I will read whatever this magnificent man has to put out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
New Superman #2

Aug 18, 2016

I highly enjoyed this issue and eagerly await the next. The title and story feels fresh, and it delivers more and more throughout the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing (2016) #12

Feb 2, 2017

The art was one of the main redeeming factors that I saw in these pages. Marcus To and Chris Sotomayor do a great job on art and colors even though they didn't have a dedicated inker to work with. Tim Seeley was the writer for well-known and beloved books like Batman Eternal and Revival but he just did not manage to pull me into the story here. Hopefully that changes in the coming issues, because like I said, I love Nightwing and really want to like this series. But for now, this just isn't doing it for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #16

Mar 23, 2017

The stakes are getting higher, Dick is teamed up with Damian, Nightwing's New 52 suit returns in an unexpected but thrilling way, and I couldn't be more excited for the next issue. Crossing my fingers that Seeley & crew keep up the momentum built up with this issue, because this arc has some serious potential and could be what marks Tim Seeley as a trademark Nightwing author in my book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #18

Apr 13, 2017

Seeley and team continue to outdo themselves with issue #18 and are keeping me on board for whatever happens next. This issue is a great testament to Dick and Damian's relationship, and I think we are likely to see more of that in the coming issues. I think the action combined with the fun team up of these two iconic characters will pull in readers and make them stay for more. At least, that's what happened with me, barring my bias for Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nightwing (2016) #23

Jun 29, 2017

I'm still all in for this book, because Nightwing will forever be my favorite DC character, and I still look forward to the next issue. This arc is still miles better than when Nightwing first came to Bldhaven.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing: The New Order #1

Oct 19, 2017

However, that can be forgiven because the story was so captivating. It is unlike anything I've read of Nightwing. It really brings a breath of fresh air to the character and Higgins is going to be a writer I look out for in the previews from now on. Higgins really knocked this issue out of the park with all of the moving parts he introduced. I don't know how he will wrap it all up in just six issues but I'm on board for whatever he has in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Over The Garden Wall #7

Jan 5, 2017

Although not a top-tier comic on par with some from the Big Three (Marvel, DC, Image), Over the Garden Wall is a great light read for anyone who wants a break from serious comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Paper Girls #9

Sep 15, 2016

I cannot wait to see what this creative team has in store for us on October 5th for issue #10. Don't quote me on this because I don't think it is confirmed, but I am pretty sure that #10 will be the last issue of the second arc. If that is true, then we can expect the team to go on another 4-6 month hiatus before we can expect a Paper Girls #11. That said, I certainly don't mind the wait if it means more of what we've been getting out of this incredible team: a fun ride and captivating mystery!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Paper Girls #10

Oct 13, 2016

All in all, this issue did a good job in building suspense and anticipation for the next one, something that Vaughan excels at tremendously, and progressing the story to a new place and a new arc. I look forward to reading more Paper Girls, and if it's going to take until February for Vaughan and Chiang to make issue #11 everything they need and want it to be, I have no problem waiting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #2

Jul 27, 2017

If you are looking for a Spider-Man story that doesn't take Peter back to the basics, but also doesn't make him a millionaire with tons of unnecessary gadgets, please pick up this comic. It pulls off the combo of funny and serious really well, and the art matches the story in a way you don't see often.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #6

Nov 9, 2017

Spectacular is my favorite Spidey comic out there right now and that will probably remain the case indefinitely. I like the rapport Pete has with his "sister" as well as Jonah but especially with Johnny Storm. I hope we get to see much more of him in the upcoming issues. For this issue, however, I did not miss him because of how engrossed I was with the interactions between Spidey and JJ. Can't wait to see what Zdarsky does next!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Punisher: The Platoon #1

Oct 19, 2017

The Platoon gets great marks from me, and though it may be a more flavorful experience if you read Ennis' Born first, this issue was an obvious standout in its lineup of monthlies.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #1

Oct 20, 2016

All in all, with the art and the story, I can already tell this will be going on my pull list and potentially staying for as long as Millar and Capullo keep pumping these out. I'm all in for almost anything involving either Millar or Capullo, so having both of them on the same project is like a dream come true. I think we can expect great things to come of this new serial.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Reborn #2

Dec 29, 2016

I think this story is full of great potential and I have no doubt that Millar, Capullo, Glapion, Plascencia, Piekos and the editors will achieve all of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Red Hood and the Outlaws: Rebirth #1

Aug 4, 2016

I enjoyed this introductory book thoroughly, but I can't say it will keep my attention for long. I'll just have to wait and see what Lobdell and the rest of the creative team can do when they add the outlaws. Maybe they will keep me interested enough, but I'm certainly not expecting that to be the case. I think I just want a Red Hood book. Hood said in the issue himself he wasn't a "joiner." So why make it a team book?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Redneck #1

Apr 27, 2017

This is a well done first issue of a series that I think will have readers engrossed in it for as long as it is being published. Donny Cates is definitely a writer to look out for in these coming months. He has some buzz building around his Aftershock-published series Babyteeth, and Image's God Country sounds like one to look into as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #40

Dec 15, 2016

Staples quickly became one of my top-five artists on comics and I think I could make the case for her to be #1 easily. The emotions of the characters, the full-page to double-page splashes are phenomenal and I always look forward to her artwork in each new issue. Staples is becoming a "staple" in modern comic art. Sorry.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Weapons #1

Jul 6, 2017

I anticipate the next issue, and I would recommend this book to people who like sci-fi movies and/or comics, or have never read a Valiant comic before. This seems to be a decently constructed jumping-on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Secret Weapons #2

Aug 10, 2017

I feel invested in these characters specifically, which is supposed to happen. However, I would like them to be a little more fleshed out. I want to see them as more than just rejects and their memories of being at the Willows, but that will hopefully come with the next two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Sons #2

Apr 6, 2017

All in all, this issue is a fantastic continuation of the spectacular start of this series. Robin and Superboy have a lot of differences, but I think that will just add to the substance of this book and make it more interesting for all readers. I could go on and on, but I'll stop it right here and let you check it out for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #5

Mar 9, 2017

I guess the thing to take away from all of this is that no matter how old you are, there isn't a maximum age anyone needs to be to read any given comic. You can't be "too old" for a comic. They can be good and entertaining and even help give some readers a cooldown from some of the heavier comics they've been devouring. The thing is, there is so much talent behind each and every comic that I think it's unfair to pass up on one simply because it's marketed more towards the younger audience. But that's just me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Teen Titans (2016) #7

May 4, 2017

This issue served its purpose in identifying Aqualad's value as a new team member for the Teen Titans and setting the book up for a future arc that will most likely take place after the Lazarus Contract crossover event with Deathstroke and Titans. Nothing about it stuck out to me in particular, but that isn't necessary for it to be a good read. I'm enjoying this series so far and hopefully it has nowhere to go but up from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Hard Place #1

Aug 31, 2017

So I will say the art did win over this issue for me. It's not that I didn't like the story, it just seems too common a tale for Image to be putting out. And that is the exact reason I will be sticking around for the next couple of issues. I have to believe that it's not going to be cookie cutter for very long, that the story will evolve into something much more intriguing. I'm hoping for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Weavers #2

Jun 23, 2016

I'm sticking it out for the next four issues of Weavers. Spurrier has me hooked and I want to find out what's going to unfold. One of the things I really liked about this concept was that every member of this "family" has a unique ability, and once you swallow the spider, you either adapt and join the mob or you die. If you enjoy mob-style crime stories and/or tales of the horrific and supernatural, I encourage you to delve into this mini. I don't think you will be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
World Reader #2

May 25, 2017

Overall, I really enjoyed this issue and I'm liking more and more comics from independent publishers like Aftershock comics. They're putting out a lot of impressive titles right now and have a good pool of creative people working on said titles. I'm looking forward to the coming issues of this story. I'm invested in the characters, the story, the art is sublime and sets the tone perfectly for this series. I'm in, and I plan to continue to review this series as each subsequent issue releases to keep everybody updated on it and hopefully sway somebody into pulling it for themselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
World Reader #3

Jun 22, 2017

I don't really have anything bad to say about this issue. I could have done without a certain romantic aspect that seemed a little shoe-horned in, but I suppose you can't always get what you want. Maybe it's too early to tell, but I think this is one of the best comics being published out of Aftershock Comics right now. Maybe even period. The only way to know for sure is to do more of what I love, and read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #11

Oct 6, 2016

So overall, no big complaints from me about this issue. I found it to be a sort of bridge-the-gap issue between Gilad finding out about The Dying One and reuniting with Kalam. I like to call it the "calm before the storm" issue. We want to see the big battle and the crazy action scenes, but we need the means to get there. I've found that this issue easily accomplishes that goal in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #12

Nov 17, 2016

If Venditti and artist Robert Gill have more of this in store for us, then Wrath of the Eternal Warrior will not be leaving my pull list anytime soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #13

Dec 1, 2016

My only complaint is that I wish we saw what was going on in real life with the main villain the Dying One and what his plans are. Aside from that, this issue was great and I'm sure the next one will be even greater.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #14

Dec 22, 2016

I think there is so much more that can be done here, and I just hope Robert Venditti will be the one to continue it along with Robert Gill and Michael Spicer. They have been such a great team and their collaboration is seen clearly in the pages of Eternal Warrior. I will miss seeing new issues by this marvelous crew in my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
X-Men Prime #1

Jul 20, 2017

I want to like this book, I like all of the characters, I want this book to succeed, but I'm not seeing that for this issue and I hope I'm wrong. Overall, this issue had almost no plot, almost all setup. I expected it to be a "setup issue" but maybe a 60-40 split between plot and setup. This issue felt more like 10-90. It is sad because the X-Men titles are some of the better stories coming out of Marvel right now, and this title seems like such a step backwards. I hope it gets better in the next couple of issues, but for now I'm not expecting much.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More