Joseph Gilmore's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 54
8.9Avg. Review Rating

8
Batman / Catwoman (2020) #1

Dec 1, 2020

I feel that there is a great foundation here for King to tell a fantastic story. Early on, we are introduced to a character that definitely raised my eyebrows. Combine that with the accompanying story line, and I'm excited to see where this story takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman / Catwoman (2020) #2

Jan 19, 2021

While frustrated with the all the time jumps, I am enjoying the story that King is telling " especially the one revolving around The Phantasm. While issue #1 focused more on Andrea Beaumont, Batman/Catwoman #2 gives us just enough of Phantasm to get excited for what is to come without revealing too much. Seeing her systematically going after Joker's henchmen has me very excited as to where this story is going. Additionally as expected, we get some call backs to King's initial run on Batman that ultimately ends Batman/Catwoman #2 with a stunning visual that will definitely raise some eyebrows.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman / Catwoman (2020) #3

Feb 16, 2021

We are finally getting some real juice to this story "and for the first time, I am eagerly awaiting the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman / Catwoman (2020) #4

Mar 30, 2021

Overall, Batman Catwoman has all the elements for a fantastic story. However, King needs to find a way to pick up the pace, or else it's going to be a slog to the finish line.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: White Knight Presents: Harley Quinn #2

Nov 25, 2020

Mateo Sclera's art, paired with Collin's writing, presents a gritty, dark feel to this story, which is what I love about Batman stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: White Knight Presents: Harley Quinn #3

Dec 22, 2020

Batman: White Knight Presents: Harley Quinn #4 cannot come out fast enough as it is quickly becoming not just a must read, but one of my favorite books currently running. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: White Knight Presents: Harley Quinn #4

Jan 26, 2021

What comes next is anybody's guess. I for one can't wait to see what surprises Collins has in store for the penultimate issue.  

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: White Knight Presents: Harley Quinn #5

Feb 23, 2021

Up until now, Harley has been able to keep her old self in check. But, after the events in Batman: White Knight Presents: Harley Quinn #5, we may see the Harley of old make a comeback.    

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: White Knight Presents: Harley Quinn #6

Mar 23, 2021

Overall, Batman: White Knight Presents: Harley Quinn was a home run of a series. Collins told both a great suspenseful crime story and changed the way we view a beloved character. Hopefully Collins will get more opportunities to write not just Harley Quinn, but other DC characters, as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
BRZRKR #1

Mar 3, 2021

Overall BRZRKR #1 lives up to the hype and is more than just a celebrity slapping their name on a comic book to try and cash in on their brand recognition. This story has something for everyone between its viscous art and fantastic storytelling. It is going to be fascinating to see this story unfold and just where Reeves and Kindt take this character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
BRZRKR #2

Apr 28, 2021

Where this story is heading is still a bit of a mystery. While the seeds have been planted, it is my hope that both the main character and plot begin to get some greater depth.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
BRZRKR #3

Jun 16, 2021

The pieces are all there for a fantastic story. However, BRZRKR #4 must deliver on moving the story forward, rather than spending more time languishing in the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Clear (2021) #1

Oct 12, 2021

There is a reason Clear was the second title to be released from Snyder's Best Jackett Press imprint and ComiXology. It is a fascinating, gripping, and visual tour de force of storytelling. Once again, Snyder has delivered an absolute masterpiece.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Crimson Cage #1

Dec 8, 2021

Overall, The Crimson Cage #1 is a great first issue. Great storytelling, wonderful character development and sets up the next issue brilliantly. Wrestling fan or not, The Crimson Cage #1 does a great job and will surely hook any reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Crimson Cage #5

Apr 20, 2022

Overall, The Crimson Cage is an absolute knockout of a series. Lees' tremendous storytelling and obvious love of wrestling shines through issue-to-issue. Whether you're a fan of professional wrestling or not, The Crimson Cage really is a story anybody can enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fight Girls #2

Aug 11, 2021

Overall, Fight Girls continues the long list of books from AWA/Upshot Studios that have become must-reads. Through the first two issues, Cho has created a world that is Hunger Games meets Las Vegas sports book " and I can't get enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Future State (2021): Superman of Metropolis #1

Jan 5, 2021

Within the pages of Superman of Metropolis #1, Lewis " through the simple use of a dialog box " makes it very clear what DC has in store. While the events of Dark Nights: Death Metal have changed the very foundation of the DC Universe, Future State is here to take the reigns and move DC forward. New multiverses. New possibilities. New realities.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future State (2021): Superman: Worlds of War #1

Jan 19, 2021

With Time and Effect Part 1 we are told right from the start that this story takes place immediately following the events of Superman of Metropolis #2, which hasn't come out yet. Midnighter: Future State part 1 and Black Racer part 1 were both interesting stories that I'm sure will somehow connect to other Future State books down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Dark Detective #1

Jan 12, 2021

Some of the bigger Future State books have contained smaller stories within them " some good, some not so much. However, Future Past part 1 is a nice companion piece to Future State: Dark Detective #1. It does a great job of showing some of Gotham's underbelly, as well as the military-like state that Gotham has become.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Superman of Metropolis #2

Feb 2, 2021

Two issues typically doesn't provide enough room to tell much of a story, however, Lewis wasted no time and was able to provide one of Future State's better titles. With the mind games played by Brain Cells, the battle between Jon, and his legacy and the lives of millions hanging in the balance " quite simply, Future State: Superman of Metropolis delivered.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Future State (2021): Dark Detective #2

Jan 25, 2021

Mariko Tamaki and Dan Mora have made the most of their time with their Future State run. They only have four issues to tell their story " jamming their foot on the gas with no intention of slowing down.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Future State (2021): Dark Detective #3

Feb 9, 2021

Also, featured in Future State: Dark Detective #3 is Future Past part 2 by Matthew Rosenberg (writer), Carmine Di Giandmenico (illustrated by), Antonio Fabela (colors), Andworld Design (letters). This continues the story of Grifter, Huntress and Luke Fox. Future Past has been one of the better smaller stories featured within the Future State titles. Future Past part 2 is the end of this sub-story " and it closed with a few nice twists and some decent action.  

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Future State (2021): Dark Detective #4

Feb 23, 2021

Overall Future State Dark Detective was an absolute home run. Tamaki and Mora were cranking on all cylinders start to finish as if they had been working together for years. Here's hoping that they get more opportunities to write for DC and get to take on more characters that we know and love.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hotell: Vol. 2 #1

Dec 1, 2021

Hotell continues to be a must read " not just for horror fans, but for everybody. It's as smart as it is horrific, which makes for a very enjoyable read " even if one is reading with the lights on and from under a blanket.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
House of Slaughter #1

Oct 27, 2021

Tynion set an extremely high bar with Something Is Killing The Children, and it is easily safe to say House of Slaughter #1 met that standard. While House of Slaughter #1 lacks the action we've grown accustomed to, it's the character development and inner conflict that makes this issue stand out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jenny Zero #1

May 5, 2021

As far as comic heroes go, Jenny Zero is as unconventional as it gets. Depraved and unhinged, Jenny can be best described as Paris Hilton meets Commando " and I, for one, am here for all of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Knighted (2021) #1

Nov 2, 2021

Overall Knighted #1 does a great job of incorporating a new story into AWA's The Resistance Universe . Even if one has not read the previous titles, Knighted #1 can be enjoyed as is. Hurwitz has created a wildly relatable character who's journey is shaping up to be captivating and fun as hell to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Moths #4

Sep 15, 2021

Overall, Moths continues to be an integral part of Straczynski's universe. While The Resistance Universe is more of that typical superhero story we crave, Moths gives us an added layer of empathy we didn't know we needed. Moths #4 does a great job at getting the reader to not just think a little more, but to also feel a little bit more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Night of the Ghoul #1

Oct 18, 2021

Overall, Night of the Ghoul #1 sets up a wonderfully frightening story that is sure to only become more terrifying as issues go on. Even without any real action taking place, the suspense and storytelling is more than enough. Night of the Ghoul #1 sets the stage for what is sure to become an instant horror classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Not All Robots #1

Aug 4, 2021

Overall, this was a successful first issue that provides great storytelling, humor and the setup to something much more sinister. AWA Studios continues to do a great job at choosing writers and stories that are not just relevant to today, but also ones that are still able to take us to faraway places. Not All Robots #1 fits that mold perfectly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Once & Future #14

Dec 17, 2020

There was a brief point in time when I felt this series needed to wrap up. After reading Once and Future #14, I now feel like the story is just getting started " and I can't wait to see where it goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Once & Future #15

Jan 20, 2021

With Nimue sharing her past with Rose, Rose staying defiant, even with a gun pointed at her head, and Lancelot making his inevitable introduction into a King Arthur story, Once and Future #15 continues to deliver. The story is just as fascinating now as it was when it started.    

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Once & Future #16

Feb 17, 2021

It's hard to imagine that Once and Future was originally planned as just a 6 issue series.  Here we are 10 issues later with no signs of slowing down.     

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Primordial #1

Sep 6, 2021

Overall, Primordial #1 is a terrific read that does its job perfectly. Primordial will have you hooked from panel to panel. With elements of suspense, mystery and intrigue, Lemire and Sorrentino are once again firing on all cylinders.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Primos #1

Feb 2, 2022

Overall, Primos #1 is a solid first issue. While the exposition can get lengthy at times, the last several pages that will no doubt hook you in. AWA has once again taken a chance on something different and unique and delivered.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Something is Killing the Children #16

May 25, 2021

Overall, 'Something Is Killing The Children' continues to be a fantastic series. By taking us back to where it all started, Erica's introduction into the world of monster hunting is sure to be both terrifying and fascinating.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Something is Killing the Children #17

Jun 23, 2021

So far, Tynion's decision to go back to where it all started has proven to be an excellent idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Something is Killing the Children #18

Jul 28, 2021

It was fierce, emotional, and quite frankly the strongest issue yet of the current arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Supermassive (2022) #1

Feb 22, 2022

Overall, Supermassive #1 delivers on its promise to be a superhero event like no other. There is so much room in this universe for Higgins, Ryan Parrot, Matt Groom and others to showcase their skills and deliver outstanding stories. There is no doubt the characters introduced in Supermassive #1 will go on to have their own wildly successful titles, which one can only hope will spawn even more books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Joker (2021) #1

Mar 9, 2021

I was engrossed with Gordon's narration throughout the entire issue, and I am extremely intrigued with where this story will go. Some of the elements presented throughout The Joker #1 will undoubtedly add layers to Gordon's character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Joker (2021) #2

Apr 13, 2021

I never expected Det. Gordon could be the co-lead of such a captivating book, but here we are " and frankly, I can't get enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Joker (2021) #3

May 11, 2021

Even though we're very familiar with the title character, Joker remains fascinating under Tynion's watch. He's incorporating all the things we enjoy about the character, but with a fresh feel. The slow build throughout The Joker #3 was worth the lack of action because it led to the series' most shocking moment yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Joker (2021) #5

Jul 13, 2021

Overall, The Joker continues to be an outstanding series, whether it is being written by Tynion or Rosenberg. While the series so far has been more about Gordon than Joker, I am fully enthralled with the character study of our embattled commissioner and the journey he is on for ultimate justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Nice House on the Lake #1

Jun 1, 2021

The Nice House On The Lake #1 start of what feels like a can't-miss horror story, leaving you dying for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Nice House on the Lake #2

Jul 6, 2021

Overall, The Nice House On The Lake #2 does a great job at building suspense and advancing the story while still leaving you with questions. What Tynion has created, in just two issues, is one of the most compelling stories I have read in some time. I can't wait to see how this story unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Nice House on the Lake #6

Nov 17, 2021

Overall, Nice House On The Lake #6 is a solid issue. However, it may have been better served as the issue coming back from hiatus, rather than being the one it leaves off on. Where this story goes from here will no doubt be twisted and fascinating, and for that, I'm excited. I just wish I didn't have to wait so long.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Nice House on the Lake #7

Feb 28, 2022

TLDR talks more than just the newest comics being released? Go check out our interview on Geeks WorldWide Radio's TLDR podcast, where Joseph Gilmore and Nick Friar talk with Si Spurrier about his latest book Step By Bloody Step, as well as some of his other great books! " available on SoundCloud, Apple Podcasts and Spotify!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Resistance: Uprising #5

Aug 25, 2021

The Resistance: Uprising, along with the entire Resistance Universe, is relatable, thrilling, and epic in scope. There is no doubt the upcoming issue will deliver a stunning conclusion to the second arc. I can only imagine where Straczynski takes the universe from there, and I for one can't wait to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Resistance: Uprising #6

Sep 29, 2021

From the outset, J. Michael Straczynski set out to create a new superhero universe that would be relatable to today's world. Not only has he done just that, but he has created a world with limitless possibilities that will be entertaining readers for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Usagi Yojimbo (2019) #14

Nov 17, 2020

If you're new to the title, this arc is a great place to start " as any regular reader of Usagi Yojimbo reader can attest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Usagi Yojimbo (2019) #15

Dec 9, 2020

Whether you are new to Usagi Yojimbo or a long time reader, what you will appreciate and love about this book is Sakai never gets too comfortable. Whether he is battling new foes, bumping into old friends, or simply traveling the countryside, each issue is a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Usagi Yojimbo (2019) #16

Dec 29, 2020

We've seen Usagi with his back against the wall before and come out victorious, but it feels like things might go differently this time around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Usagi Yojimbo (2019) #17

Mar 3, 2021

Overall the Tengu War storyline has been very enjoyable to read, providing both action and engaging storytelling. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X Lives Of Wolverine (2022) #1

Jan 17, 2022

Overall, Percy nails this first chapter of Wolverine's newest saga. Where it goes from here, I have no clue. But what I do know is the journey, and the death toll, should be wildly entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

6th

June

More