Joseph Gilmore's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 12
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8
Batman/Catwoman (2020) #1

Dec 1, 2020

I feel that there is a great foundation here for King to tell a fantastic story. Early on, we are introduced to a character that definitely raised my eyebrows. Combine that with the accompanying story line, and I'm excited to see where this story takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman/Catwoman (2020) #2

Jan 19, 2021

While frustrated with the all the time jumps, I am enjoying the story that King is telling " especially the one revolving around The Phantasm. While issue #1 focused more on Andrea Beaumont, Batman/Catwoman #2 gives us just enough of Phantasm to get excited for what is to come without revealing too much. Seeing her systematically going after Joker's henchmen has me very excited as to where this story is going. Additionally as expected, we get some call backs to King's initial run on Batman that ultimately ends Batman/Catwoman #2 with a stunning visual that will definitely raise some eyebrows.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: White Knight Presents: Harley Quinn #2

Nov 25, 2020

Mateo Sclera's art, paired with Collin's writing, presents a gritty, dark feel to this story, which is what I love about Batman stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: White Knight Presents: Harley Quinn #3

Dec 22, 2020

Batman: White Knight Presents: Harley Quinn #4 cannot come out fast enough as it is quickly becoming not just a must read, but one of my favorite books currently running. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Future State (2021): Superman of Metropolis #1

Jan 5, 2021

Within the pages of Superman of Metropolis #1, Lewis " through the simple use of a dialog box " makes it very clear what DC has in store. While the events of Dark Nights: Death Metal have changed the very foundation of the DC Universe, Future State is here to take the reigns and move DC forward. New multiverses. New possibilities. New realities.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future State (2021): Superman: Worlds of War #1

Jan 19, 2021

With Time and Effect Part 1 we are told right from the start that this story takes place immediately following the events of Superman of Metropolis #2, which hasn't come out yet. Midnighter: Future State part 1 and Black Racer part 1 were both interesting stories that I'm sure will somehow connect to other Future State books down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Dark Detective #1

Jan 12, 2021

Some of the bigger Future State books have contained smaller stories within them " some good, some not so much. However, Future Past part 1 is a nice companion piece to Future State: Dark Detective #1. It does a great job of showing some of Gotham's underbelly, as well as the military-like state that Gotham has become.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Once & Future #14

Dec 17, 2020

There was a brief point in time when I felt this series needed to wrap up. After reading Once and Future #14, I now feel like the story is just getting started " and I can't wait to see where it goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Once & Future #15

Jan 20, 2021

With Nimue sharing her past with Rose, Rose staying defiant, even with a gun pointed at her head, and Lancelot making his inevitable introduction into a King Arthur story, Once and Future #15 continues to deliver. The story is just as fascinating now as it was when it started.    

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Usagi Yojimbo (2019) #14

Nov 17, 2020

If you're new to the title, this arc is a great place to start " as any regular reader of Usagi Yojimbo reader can attest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Usagi Yojimbo (2019) #15

Dec 9, 2020

Whether you are new to Usagi Yojimbo or a long time reader, what you will appreciate and love about this book is Sakai never gets too comfortable. Whether he is battling new foes, bumping into old friends, or simply traveling the countryside, each issue is a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Usagi Yojimbo (2019) #16

Dec 29, 2020

We've seen Usagi with his back against the wall before and come out victorious, but it feels like things might go differently this time around.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More