jrhuitt's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Comicbook Dispatch Reviews: 15
8.7Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Adventureman #6

Oct 29, 2021

While I believe that Matt Fraction is working at the peak of his profession currently, Adventureman wouldn't be the same book without the Dodson's. Fraction even alludes to how the teamwork from Dodson helps motivate him in the back matter of the issue. Adventureman #6 is a great book from Image Comics. I believe that this is a book that will be one that more people will wish that they had gotten in on from the beginning!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Adventureman #7

Dec 15, 2021

I believe that the Dodsons art work always adds more to the stories that they are working on, and the gestalt that they have formed with Matt Fraction is amazing.  One final high point that I feel needs to be pointed out; Terry Dodsons guide on how he created the cover is an awesome frame work.  I especially liked how he has gravitated towards using colored pencils to differentiate between stages of the drawings.  Seeing how Dodson pulls everything together is like standing in Emerald City and getting a peak behind the curtain!  Except there is no let down!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: The Imposter #2

Nov 10, 2021

I really enjoyed Batman: The Imposter #2. I will honestly say that the reason that I was interested in this series was because of Andrea Sorrentino's artwork. I've made a point to follow his work since first noticing him with DC's I Vampire. That was in 2011 and I haven't been disappointed with his work yet. The unexpected part was how much I've enjoyed Mattson Tomlin's story. I can't wait to see how they top themselves with Batman: The Imposter #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: The Long Halloween: Special #1

Oct 29, 2021

I would love to see more stories focusing on Gothamites from Loeb and Sale!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Bermuda #4

Oct 22, 2021

:Bermuda #4 hits all of the beats and wraps up the first adventure of Bermuda and the other residents on the island of Trangle. But it does seem that the conclusion is a bit rushed in the end. Most series read as though written for the trades now. That includes a ton of filler that just fills page count, however, I believe that Bermuda would have benefited from at least one extra issue; possibly even two. Even with the rushed conclusion, I enjoyed the trip to Bermuda and hope that the opportunity to get lost in the “Triangle” comes along sooner rather than later.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Decorum #8

Nov 24, 2021

Decorum #8 is a master class in how to succeed with a new comic IP and is easily my favorite book of the week. Jonathan Hickman and Mike Huddleston used the extra room (all eight issues are ginormous) to the full effect! Additionally, while Decorum #8 was billed as the final issue of the series, it ends with the perfect moment. To Be Continued. Hickman and Huddleston definitely have a hit as they wrap up this story and lay the groundwork for the follow-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Human Target (2021) #1

Nov 3, 2021

The Human Target #1 shows why the creation of DC's Black Label has not been quite the cluster that it sometimes seems to be. Seeing Christopher Chance having the opportunity to interact with characters as diverse as Lex Luthor and the Justice League International is definitely something to be excited about. This series has started with an excellent first issue. I can't wait to see where King and Smallwood take us in The Human Target #2 as they slowly pull the curtain on the mystery of what has happened to Christopher Chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Human Target (2021) #2

Dec 2, 2021

THE STORY:In The Human Target #2, Tom King begins to pull back the curtain and starts laying the groundwork for where the story will go.  With only eleven days left before his death, Christopher Chance receives an unexpected visitor in the form of a member of the Justice League International.  The League member gives Chance someone to spend the day with, while also allowing him to investigate exactly what the Doctor Midnight told the team.  The thing that I enjoyed the most about this issue from a story perspective is how laid back and calm it was.  There isn't a single time when a villain every raises their head to cause Chance any problems, but that isn't missed at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League vs. The Legion of Super-Heroes (2021) #1

Jan 11, 2022

Justice League vs The Legion of Super-Heroes #1 kicks off Brian Michael Bendis' version of "The Great Darkness" storyline. In my opinion, there isn't any story in the Legion's very long history more sacrosanct than this one. This will be the second time that the story has been revisited. I've always believed that if you want to revisit something that's fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #263

Nov 19, 2021

Looney Tunes #263 was a book that I enjoyed way more than I expected to. I'll be honest and say that the only reason that I decided to review this was because of my eleven-year-old son. He asked me the other day what I was writing and I started explaining one of the reviews I was doing and he asked me to do one on something he would like. It was either Looney Tunes or Power Rangers and the Rangers series intimidates the hell out of me. All that said, I would definitely recommend giving Looney Tunes #263 a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Seven Secrets #13

Jan 19, 2022

Seven Secrets #13 is a solid next step. However, it is not a great jumping-on point. And it shouldnt be. I firmly believe that people should be rewarded for the time that theyve invested in something. I dont want to be spoon-fed everyones back story each time that a new issue comes out. Fortunately, this isnt something that Tom Taylor does in this issue. I can't wait for the next issue to see what comes next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Scumbag #11

Dec 10, 2021

THE ART:The artist for The Scumbag #11 is Roland Boschi. This is Boschi's second time illustrating The Scumbag following issue #4.  Remender's habit of spotlighting a different artist with each new issue is one that I really.  With each artist, Remender has pushed the story into places that utilized their skillset.  Boschi's artwork is really active and fun to follow.  Seeing some of the scenes where Ernie interacts with his old friends and then watching the disgust that creeps across their faces is awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Time Before Time #6

Oct 21, 2021

Time Before Time #6 is the first part of the second storyline from Declan Shalvey and Rory McConville. Their take on time travel is one that is more unique than a number of the others that are floating in fiction. Seeing them moving the spotlight to new characters is a joy and hopefully, something that will help build the world of Time Before Time into something special! A great start to the second chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
We Only Find Them When They're Dead #9

Oct 29, 2021

We Only Find Them When They're Dead #9 is another great issue from Al Ewing and Simone Di Meo. The story and art build together perfectly to capture the reader's attention and make sure that it stays focused during the experience. And reading any issue of We Only Find Them When They're Dead is most assuredly an experience. My favorite book of the week!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
We Only Find Them When They're Dead #10

Jan 19, 2022

I have one final note. The absolute worst thing that Boom! Studios is doing, in my opinion, is also the best. By releasing two of their best books (We Only Find Them When Theyre Dead #10 & Seven Secrets #13) the same week, they make it much easier for the readers to pick them up. Only one trip to the local comic shop is needed! If only the other companies would sync up their releases so that all the books by my favorite creators would come out the same week!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

2nd

January

December

More