Kate Sanchez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 45
9.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Adventure Time: Marcy & Simon #1

Jan 17, 2019

Adventure Time: Marcy & Simon #1 hits comic stores and digital retailers January 16, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventure Time: Marcy & Simon #2

Feb 23, 2019

Overall, this second issue is as good as the first.Adventure Time: Marcy & Simon #2continues to showcase the power of friendship between its two main characters and sets up for the adventure to come as the pair head to find The Nameless One and save Simon's memory.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ascender #1

Apr 24, 2019

I may be new to the Descender universe, but Ascender # 1makes me want to stay, read the old series, and come back when issue number two comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Barbarella (2017): Holiday Special #1

Dec 6, 2018

If you're looking for a light-hearted romp where little develops but you get to see a capitalist Santa Claus controlling killerbots, then go ahead and pick this up. But, if you're looking for sexual innuendos with some substance check out some of Dynamite's other mature titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond (2016) #28

Jan 30, 2019

It's also great to see the Joker rearing his maniacal head and making this issue and surely the next, as high stakes as possible.Overall, the story sets up the next part of this arc perfectly. There may be an upcoming death in the family and the spectre of Jason Todd hangs over every page from the start. Terry has been my favorite Batman fa while now, but this series is keeping him in first place.With Batman Beyond having turned 20-years old this year, it's great to see it keep going, and it's time for you to pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond (2016) #29

Feb 27, 2019

There is a lot to unpack after these events and I'm sure the next few issues will do just that. If you haven't picked upBatman Beyondyet, I highly recommend it. It's a great way to continue the original series and the creative team behind the book is able to make me feel like I'm watching the cartoon while also elevating the darkness from it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond (2016) #30

Mar 27, 2019

Overall, if this is your first exposure to the newest Batman Beyond comic series, I recommend that you at least pick up the start of “The Final Joke” arc in issues number 27 through 30 of the series. That's where I started and I'm hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman Beyond (2016) #31

Apr 24, 2019

There is much more to say without giving away spoilers, but if this arc is going the way I think it is, it's going to be a great ride. Overall,Batman Beyond #31is a great decompression from the last few issues, but it sets up the next area of tension nicely.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Border Town #1

Aug 7, 2018

All in all, in one issue, the creators have set the path forward to explore latinidad in a real and supernatural way and as a woman who's idol is Guillermo del Toro, I am excited to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Border Town #2

Oct 6, 2018

As the story continues we learn that the monsters are not all that they seem and the teens who had decided to go their separate ways all think the same as more and more chupacabras burst through the crack in the wall. Each character has their own personalities, highlighted by showing them in their bedrooms. We end the issue with the kids in danger, with a new friend, and looking for answers. I can't wait to dive into issue #3 next month and learn more about the creatures in Mictlan but also more about our heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Border Town #3

Nov 7, 2018

Although I found the story in this issue progressing nicely, I would have sacrificed a few pages of the introduction to the Mexica to understand Aimi's connection to brujeriaspecifically why she believes in it and enacts it so quickly. That being said it's an issue that keeps me engaged in the story and ready for issue number four which will be out next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Border Town #4

Dec 5, 2018

Overall,Border Town, continues to be a must-read. It explores the realities that many Latinx face while grounding itself in horror and fantasy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #1

Jan 23, 2019

Overall, it's a testament to the talent of the creative team that I am able to hear the voices of the actors when I read the dialogue, or immediately feel like I'm watching a new pilot as I flip the pages. With the book sold out before it even launches and already announced for third reprinting, I hope every Scooby out there feels the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #2

Feb 27, 2019

Overall,Buffy: The Vampire Slayer #2is the perfect homage to the Slayer of the 90s and the perfect Slayer that we need today. Every character has more depth, has a recognizable but fresh design, and sounds like themselves. I have never read an adaptation execute every piece of the story this well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #3

Mar 13, 2019

Overall, this series has the burden of needing to maintain the characters from 20-years ago while also updating a franchise steeped in the 1990s to 2018. It's no small feat, especially with hardcore Buffy fans picking up issues. That being said, the series is a success in honoring the source material when it needs to and deviating to tell a new story that has me excited for new plot points and ideas. Although this isn't the first Buffy comic series, it has the unique position of not continuing but rebooting, which is a massive weight to carry. But damn, is it carrying it without breaking a sweat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #4

Apr 17, 2019

Buffy the Vampire Slayer #4is a bloody good time that keeps it's foot on the gas pedal and a hand on your heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased #1

May 1, 2019

The poetry in the writing makes this an issue I will come back to and read again and again. The way Taylor mirrors his language in the beginning and the end sets the tone for the next issues. I'm currently on the edge of my seat as a fan of the heroes in harm's way and of the horror genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dream Daddy #5

Dec 26, 2018

If you were a fan of the video game or just looking to relax with some Daddies, I highly suggest that you pick up the series. Print copies are available from Oni Press for $10 or for digital download for $2.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Faithless #1

Apr 9, 2019

Overall, I recommend that you pick up Faithless #1for the Llovet's art and for the start of a story that is sure to be magical in issue number two.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goddess Mode #2

Jan 16, 2019

Ending on a cliffhanger, I can't wait to see what happens in issue number three.Goddess Mode#2 is easily my favorite comic that I've read in the last few months, soif you're looking for a hyper-colored wonderland with great dialogue and a cast of women who are fighting monsters, check this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goddess Mode #3

Feb 13, 2019

If you're looking for a comic that has direction, beauty, and emotion, pick upGoddess Mode.I can't recommend a comic more than I recommend this title right now. I want to talk more but I also want to keep this clear of any spoilers. At the end of the day, Goddess Modespeaks to people struggling to find confidence in their power and keep the fight going even if everything inside of you is telling you can't.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goddess Mode #4

Mar 27, 2019

Overall,Goddess Mode #4 is a must-read. The creative team has crafted another perfect issue. In fact, the horrifyingly striking last page of this issue will stay with you after you close the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goddess Mode #5

Apr 24, 2019

Overall,Goddess Mode #5continues to be a series that has resonated with me in every issue, as the arc is nearing completion, I can't wait for issue number six. If you haven't jumped on the ride to Azoth with Goddess Modeyet, you should now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #4

Dec 11, 2019

While this doesn't mean that Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy #4 is bad, it does leave me wanting a more cohesive story with more character development for our leads and the villain chasing them across the country. Overall, this issue is fun, but not much else.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hex Wives #4

Jan 30, 2019

That being said, with each issue the women are coming close to remembering their past witchy lives and I can't wait for them too. If you aren't reading this series yet, start! With Iz starting to realize what can trigger their suppressed abilities, I'm sure issue #5 will hold more answers and maybe a confrontation or two.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hex Wives #5

Feb 27, 2019

Overall, this issue sets up the next perfectly and shows enough action and builds enough of the world for it to feel like an issue where a lot happens. I'm excited to see what the women do inHex Wives #6and I'll be counting the days until I get to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Hex Wives #6

Mar 27, 2019

That being said, I can't get past the dialogue and unless this switches gears, I'm going to stop reading. The series has made it its mission to empower women and show the damage of patriarchy, but with its treatment of Becky, the series is failing one if its characters and those who are reading this comic that identify with Becky.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
High Level #1

Feb 20, 2019

Overall,High Level #1is the perfect set up for this science fiction cyberpunk adventure and I'm hooked. I'm hooked on thirteen, the art, and the creature design of a baddie in the latter half of the comic. I am intrigued to see what other monstrous creations the team will pull into a both a beautiful and scary world. The one thing I know for sure is that this is set up to be an expansive adventure apathetic protagonist and it's right up my ally.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
High Level #2

Mar 20, 2019

With Black Helix breathing down there necks, I can't wait to see the walking adventure of our two characters and their interactions. I highly recommend this series, as it continues to round out a strong line-up from DC Vertigo.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
High Level #3

Apr 17, 2019

In this issue, the danger of the world is real, and it rivals the comic's beauty. The art remains some of the best out right now, and the world is being built effectively. Overall, the comic ending a down note is well done. From a narrative standpoint, Thirteen is dealt a loss, unable to protect her friends last issue,High Level #3shows that the threats she faces, whether soldier or scoundrel are not easily beat. But I am ready to see her try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mars Attacks (2018) #2

Nov 24, 2018

Unfortunately, I think the cover prepared me for more Martians up close and personal with Spencer and his father, of which there was little. Granted two of the alternates featured more humans on the covers and had the Martians as secondary, and let's face it, the cover is what made me want to read this. Overall the I'm looking forward to issue number three and need to see where the pair run to next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mars Attacks (2018) #3

Dec 27, 2018

Mars Attacks issue three gives you explosions, monsters, UFOs, and a heartwarming father-son story. This is a series that is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mars Attacks (2018) #4

Jan 22, 2019

My only ask for the future is for to have more panels of their dog, but this is a completely selfish request because more dogs makes everything better.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mars Attacks (2018) #5

Feb 19, 2019

Mars Attacksmay be concluded, but the door is open for it to continue. I for one would love to see Spencer again — especially given his new position. If you are looking for a visually stunning series with great dialogue that always has a purpose, a good dog, a father-son relationship, and some zap zap, make sure you pick up this series and read from the beginning to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Riverdale Season 3 #2

Apr 30, 2019

Overall, the issue is well paced in each of its stories and true to the characters that we have come to know in the show.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ronin Island #1

Mar 5, 2019

Overall, the book is a good first issue and sets up the trajectory of the story. When I read the synopsis that there would be mutants essentially invading an island, I was worried that they wouldn't be coming until at least three issues in. I'm glad I was wrong and this leaves me anticipating some action scenes in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ronin Island #2

Apr 11, 2019

Overall, Ronin Island #2 is building out a story and a world that I need more of, whether it's exchanges between Hana and Kenichi or if it's just Hana cutting her way through bynin, I'm invested.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sabrina the Teenage Witch (2019) #1

Mar 27, 2019

Overall,Sabrina the Teenage Witch #1is a treat. It's light, airy, and has just enough magic to hook you into the next issue. With a wendigo making itself known, we'll have to pick up issue number two to see how Sabrina gets out of this supernatural first day of school.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She Said Destroy #1

Apr 25, 2019

If you are a fan of fantasy and looking for a story that is entirely new, check outShe Said Destroy #1when it comes out May 29th. The cutoff to preorder is May 9th.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Smooth Criminals #4

Feb 25, 2019

Overall Smooth Criminals #4 is in line with the previous issues and is progressing the story nicely and I greatly appreciate the time it takes to build out a real connection between Mia and Brenda.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Smooth Criminals #5

Apr 23, 2019

Smooth Criminals continues to have heart. The series may be centered around a quest to pull off the biggest score the frozen woman from 1969 has ever attempted, but at its heart, it's about friendship. It's about the relationship between our two leads and how each woman grows individually as well as together

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Warning #1

Nov 25, 2018

I can't wait to see how this story develops beyond this set-up. Laroche's writing in the beginning really hit me and was the perfect accent to the world he crafts later on. I'm looking forward to seeing how this evolves in later issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Xena: Warrior Princess (2019) #1

Dec 31, 1969

Overall, this wasa great first issue that ends with a cliffhanger that has me ready for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Young Justice (2019) #2

Feb 6, 2019

Overall, it's important to remember that Wonder Comics is an imprint from DC aimed at teens and telling their stories. Unfortunately, the wordiness of the interactions makes it difficult to really get behind it at any age level. If you're looking a good story with good writing, check out other teen comics likeGotham Academy, Teen Titans,or Marvel's Champions.I know Bendis can write for teens, and he showed us recently in Naomi Issue #1, so I hope it gets better after the team is rounded out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Young Justice (2019) #3

Mar 6, 2019

That being said, I will indeed pick it up because I need to know more about Connor's life on Gemworld, and I need it now. In all honesty, if you're a Superboy fan, you definitely check this issue out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

More