Lindsey Bass's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Capeless Crusader, Fanboys Inc Reviews: 40
8.0Avg. Review Rating

9
Adventure Time: Banana Guard Academy #1

Jul 10, 2014

This is definitely a book kids will enjoy reading. It's fun for those of us that are kids at heart too. I may have to keep reading this story arc just to see what crazy things will happen. I'd love to know what happens once we get inside the Banana Guard Academy. I have a feeling it will be disastrous and very amusing. I can't wait to see what other fun touches they add to the art. Plus, I really love that they show people following their dreams in this issue. I think that's important in a book with kids as their target audience. One a less serious note I can safely say my favorite character in this issue is Mr.. Gingerbread Muto. He's slightly terrifying and amazing. I also hope that Root Beer Guy continues to narrate as the story continues. At the end of the day I'm happy to see that whether it's the cartoon or the comic, Adventure Time is something you can enjoy at any age.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Adventure Time: Banana Guard Academy #2

Aug 19, 2014

I was a little surprised that there wasn't a mini-story or two at the end of this issue. I've become so accustomed to it at the end of the Adventure Timecomics. At the end of the day, I loved this issue and will continue to recommend it to young readers. The story is fun and has a good message behind it. Despite the perceived weirdness of Adventure Time and the struggles the characters face, they can always be related to things that happen in real life. Friendship always seems to be a key element in the show and the comic even if it doesn't seem to make sense. Of course, I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next at the Banana Guard Academy.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Adventure Time: Banana Guard Academy #4

Oct 30, 2014

Yes, this is a mini-series with six issues total. It just feels like they crammed too much information into one issue. I'm sure they could have written this as two separate issues. I hope that with issues five and six the story flows a little better. I don't think I could handle another issue with that much information. It should be tapering off and tying up loose ends. All I've done is walk away with more questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Betty and Veronica: Vixens #2

Dec 20, 2017

Betty & Veronica: Vixens is a series we all needed. Archie Comics gave us an all female creative team, and they did not disappoint. This book has characters with substance that we can all relate to in some way. While we may not harbor a secret desire to start a biker gang, we aren’t all cheerleaders either. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for this series as they seem to have found a good balance  between the traditional Archie comics and the darker Afterlife with Archie.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Chew: Warrior Chicken Poyo #1

Aug 2, 2014

I loved this one shot. Layman and Guillory worked together well on this book. It's fun, granted not appropriate for kids. I mean, the language isn't that bad, but there is a good share of violence. It's a shame that this isn't at the very least a mini series. If you have a great sense of humor and love references to other pop culture things that you spend your time obsessing over this is probably the book for you. Everyone enjoys laughter right?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dodge City #1

Mar 6, 2018

This is only the first issue of Dodge City by Josh Trujillo; and he managed to immediately catch our attention while giving us some background story. This sets the tone and pace for books going forward. The target audience is younger, but this appears to be a book good for all ages. It’s important for everyone to see a diverse group of individuals working together for a common goal. In this case that goal just happens to be winning a game of dodgeball.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Doom Patrol (2016) #1

Sep 14, 2016

Gerard Way and Nick Derington have put together a solid book that will appeal to many readers. Its a departure from the heroes and villains that fill the shelves, and an always welcome change. The story is far from boring, constantly keeping you guessing. The artwork is solid all around. The whole creative team put out a book that people will want to read and continue reading. Anyone that is a fan of Ways other titles should definitely pick this up. Doom Patrol is a book that I will be adding to my personal collection as well. Im looking forward to seeing more from this series and from the Young Animal imprint. My biggest question walking away from this book is, whats going on with Niles Caulder?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dream Thief: Escape #1

Jun 24, 2014

Dream Thief is something I recommend often working in a comic book store because they are local. Who doesn't want to see the people they know succeed? I wouldn't recommend this for EVERYONE, simply because it's not exactly kid friendly. However, I would recommend it to anyone that enjoys reading about the anti-heroes. John Lincoln classifies as an anti-hero, doesn't he?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dream Thief: Escape #2

Jul 24, 2014

This is a great book. I will suggest that you read "Dream Thief: Escape #1" before tackling this issue just so you know what's going on. Plus, it's just as good as this issue. Flashbacks included, Nitz has written this story in a way that flows well. Escape will read well once it's collected after seeing the transition from issue #1 to #2. I do hate the way Nitz ended this issue simple because now I have to wait another month to see what happens. I guess that's the point really: to keep us coming back for more. If you buy comic books based solely on art or covers, (I am guilty of buying comics for cover art) then I would recommend you buy this as well. Smallwood's art is amazing and we'll surely see more from him in the world of comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Dream Thief: Escape #3

Aug 27, 2014

I certainly missed seeing Smallwood's art for the interior, but I'll get used to seeing Galusha's. I'm sure I will eventually. The subtle differences are enough to catch my attention, but not put me off from the book. I am looking forward to seeing the cover for the next issue rather than the interior art. All of that aside, it doesn't change the story that Nitz has written. So in this case, an artist change is not enough for me to stop reading the book. I still want to know how the story plays out and what Nitz has in store for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Edge of Spider-Verse #2

Sep 18, 2014

Fans of Spider-Man will love this simply because of the context. In my experience Spider-Man readers are quite loyal. I was hoping for more substance, but it fell short of my expectations. Latour could have done so much more with Gwen's story. Right now she just comes off as being an angsty teenager trying to find her place. While that's something many people go through during their high school and college years, it seems a little irrelevant to this particular story. I understand he only had one issue to really tell her story and maybe there's more planned when she appears in "The Amazing Spider-Man #9". We still have a bit of a wait for that, so I guess I'll just have to be patient.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Eye Of Newt #1

Jun 23, 2014

If you're a fan of Michael Hague's work then you'll love looking through this mini-series. However, if you're looking for a complex story this may not be the book for you. Overall, the plot itself seems a little predictable based on this issue alone. Nothing jumps out at me and makes me want to continue reading. Yes, one character intrigued me when reading. That should have been Newt, but it was a minor character. Hopefully, the story is developed more in the following issues. Who knows? The next three books could be filled with amazing plot twists and adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fraggle Rock: Journey to the Everspring #1

Oct 8, 2014

The collaboration between Leth and Myler is amazing. I felt like I had traveled back to my childhood. I had a large grin plastered on my face the whole time I was reading the book. If people didnt know any better theyd think I breathed in some of the Jokers laughing gas. Id recommend this book to anyone that grew up watching the show. Its great for all ages much like the shows weve come to love from The Jim Henson Company. I look forward to reading the rest of this mini series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hexed (2014) #1

Aug 12, 2014

This is my type of story. Nelson is known for his horror writing and it's prevalent in "Hexed #1", along with a little bit of gore. Despite that I did find myself laughing at a few panels involving Lucifer and an intern. The combination between the art and the text in these panels were executed perfectly. It acknowledges how crazy some of these events seem to those that aren't exposed to the occult in their daily life. While I'm sure this book will be picked up by fans of the mini-series, I have no doubt this will attract some new readers. The book is well put together and interesting. Nelson left us with a cliff hanger that's enough to make me want to go back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hexed (2014) #4

Nov 14, 2014

Each issue of Hexed pulls me in further and further down the rabbit hole. I always have to know what happens next. Mora composes great artwork and layouts while Nelson always leaves us with an enticing cliffhanger. They have insured my dedication to this book. I recommended this book to a friend of mine after realizing that Lucifer looked like an illustrated version of her. I shared with her, as I do with anyone looking for something new to read, that this is a great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hit: 1957 #1

Mar 26, 2015

If you enjoyed Hit: 1955, Criminal, or other crime noir comics then you should have no trouble getting into Hit: 1957. Overall, this story was really good, just not my personal taste. I've never been a huge fan of crime stories. Despite my lack of interest in crime noir I would be willing to give the next issue a chance. It's fast paced storytelling, so it's a book I can easily recommend to fans of the genre whether they buy single issues or trade paperbacks. I'm sure a lot of the story would make more sense if I had read Hit: 1955. It would give more insight to Harvey, but Carlson wrote this in a way that would be easy for anyone to jump on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Itty Bitty Comics: Grimmiss Island #1

Mar 10, 2015

This book is great for all ages. Art Baltazar and Franco did an amazing job at bringing this story to life. I enjoyed this book more than I probably should have as an adult. It will be added to my list of books I recommend to parents looking for a book their kids can read and enjoy. Itty Bitty Comics tend to be a favourite of parents and children alike, and this falls in line with those expectations.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Fairies #1

Dec 19, 2017

Jim Henson’s Storyteller: Fairies #1 gives us folklore in this all ages mini-series by Matt Smith. This book has an air of mystery with an unexpected twist. The tone of the book benefits by having Smith as the artist. Combined with Dan Jackson’s color palette you can easily imagine this story being performed with muppets.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Witches #1

Sep 20, 2014

I set the bar high for this book due to Jim Henson's name being attached to it. The Storyteller series was one I enjoyed watching, so seeing it make an appearance in comic book form was a pleasant surprise. Reading it was an attempt to bring a bit of nostalgia into my life. Vidaurri's story and art is sure to appeal to those of us that grew up with stories in the same vein as this one. It's a story that can be shared with kids, although a little long for a bedtime story. I hope that they decide to collect this into one book once the mini-series is complete. It would make it easier to share with younger readers. This is a book I will be passing along to friends and family.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Judge Dredd: Anderson Psi-Division #1

Aug 12, 2014

Judge Dredd has a following so it will be easy for them to get into the story. The story is interesting and has the potential to pull in some new readers. I think it's too soon to say that this series will be successful in keeping them. It will all depend on how Smith has this story laid out. There's also a chance that this will lead to new readers checking out other books within the universe of Judge Dredd. I do hope that they continue on with Anderson being a strong female that is treated as an equal. Overall, I'm on the fence about whether I'll continue to follow this series. This isn't usually a genre that I would pick up on my own. This book has my attention despite that fact.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lumberjanes #3

Jun 13, 2014

Brooke Allen's art reminds me of cartoons I watch on Disney and Cartoon Network. Everything is animated and colorful. It makes the visual story fun and interesting. I don't know who to thank, but they have a play list at the end of each issue. I think that's a genius way to learn more about each girl. I do wonder if we're meant to listen to the playlist while reading the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Oddly Normal #1

Sep 16, 2014

Once again Image has published a title that I find myself enjoying. Frampton has created a relatable character for many of us. It's a book I can see parents buying for their children. I would even encourage that they buy it for them. I look forward to learning more about Oddly and the outcome of her birthday wish. Frampton is sure to include some unusual characters given that Oddly is half witch. While she's not a studentHogwarts, she still has a magical power that's sure to capture the attention of young kids and potential new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Over The Garden Wall #1

Aug 25, 2015

If we simply look at the characters and the story told in this book, I did enjoy it. Once I had some background information of course. I did find myself giggling at a few lines throughout the book. As a stand alone story, I think Over The Garden Wall #1 is lacking important aspects of storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Poison Ivy: Cycle of Life and Death #1

Jan 20, 2016

This book was a pleasant surprise and a great set up for this mini-series. When it comes to the girls of Gotham, I had always hoped for a Poison Ivy comic. It gives us a look at Poison Ivy which we haven't seen before; one where she's the focus. We get to see the professional side of her as opposed to the criminal or anti-hero side of her. This book will appeal to fans of the Batman franchise as well as newer female readers. DC deserves to be applauded for taking a character longtime fans are familiar with and giving her a new start for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
POP #1

Aug 29, 2014

POPis great if you read it as satire. I'm sure this book will end up being a conspiracy theorist's dream. They may see this as a real glimpse into what goes on in Hollywood. Pires could have written it to be viewed that way. Either way, I look forward to seeing what happens next. Hopefully Copland will have some more caricatures of celebrities. Those are good for a laugh amidst the seriousness of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
POP #2

Sep 23, 2014

My favorite thing about POP is turning out to be the pop culture references thrown into the story. I've caught many of them, but I'm sure I'm missing a few. Pop culture and the mimicking and heightening of conspiracy theories may not appeal to everyone. Despite those aspects, Pires has still written a great story about a woman escaping a life of prying eyes and constant pressure. Something no one should be subjected to against their own free will. But I must say, I was caught off guard by that panel featuring a couple having sex. While I have no problems with that in a comic book, it did feel out of place and unnecessary in this particular book. The panel isn't graphic enough to really worry about, just a reminder that sex, drugs, and rock-n-roll are all intertwined.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
POP #3

Oct 24, 2014

Now, I could be completely wrong and imagining all of these references.Given the chance, I would love to talk with Pires about POP. I find something in each issue that draws me in further.There are so many questions I have about the story that I know can't be wrapped up in the next issue.Since this is a mini-series, the end is imminent.While Ill be pleased to know what happens, Id like to see this as an ongoing series. If collected, its a book I would gift to anyone that enjoys conspiracy theories or dystopian societies.I think having a world where celebrities are created in a lab would qualify as being dystopian.Its certainly not ideal. This book is one I continually recommend. It's different from so many other stories that are being told.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Poser #1

Mar 8, 2018

This is clearly not a book for young audiences or those with weak stomachs. Matt Miner gave us horror without it being cheesy. This is how horror movies should be written. The artwork flows with the story. I can look at it and believe that the creators have been to Southern California and that they have been involved in the punk scene. I cannot wait to see what this creative team has planned going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Punks: The Comic #1

Oct 7, 2014

Im still unsure of whether or not this is supposed to be one cohesive story or mini stories within one book. I read through this issue several times and I still have very little idea of whats going on. I think its safe to say I wont continue reading this book. Who would I even recommend this too? Really, the only reason for anyone to pick up this book is for the novelty aspect of it. People will pick it up because of the names attached or because its something different. Nothing about this book screams “punk” to me. I feel like the characters could be any group of male friends, regardless of the counter-culture they may or may not belong too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Raven #1

Sep 21, 2016

This mini-series has mass appeal to those that follow Teen Titans, and fans of Raven. As someone that is not as familiar with Raven, this book has given me a reason to take interest. It's an easy way to introduce new readers to an ongoing series like Teen Titans. It's focusing on one person, rather than dumping a cast of characters on you all at once. One thing I do want is for Marv Wolfman to explain why Raven felt the need to explore her past away from the group. Regardless of how this story plays out over the next few issues, it will be a learning experience for Raven as a character. This could potentially add more depth to her in future stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sex Criminals #7

Aug 14, 2014

Another great issue of a great book. Sex Criminals is entertaining and slightly disturbing at times. I'd venture to say it takes an open mind to enjoy this book. Or maybe just a sense of humor. The more we learn about Jon and Suzie the more I want to read. Sure there's a lot of unusual things taking place when it comes to the sex police, but it's not the whole story. It's said perfectly on the back cover of this issue, “for mature readers duh but it's totally cool if someone's just reading it to you I guess.”

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sex Criminals #8

Oct 8, 2014

Sex Criminals is a book I continue to enjoy with each issue. Im never really sure what to expect each time I open it up. Fraction always manages to make me laugh at things most would find inappropriate. Then again my mind lives in the gutter more often than not. This issue wasn't what I expected in comparison to previous releases. The ending really caught me off guard and is a great cliffhanger. Im sure Fraction has something big in store for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #1

Oct 5, 2016

I cannot put into words how much I enjoyed this title. There were many little things that helped build the story. The ending caught me off guard, but thats a great thing. It made me want to read more of this story. DCs Young Animal imprint has once again given us a quality book. Shade the Changing Girl is a title I recommend to everyone with the exception of younger children. There are some more mature themes featured in this book that are not appropriate for pre-teens or younger. That being said, I cant imagine anyone picking up this book up and disliking it. Castelluci and Zarcon put together an interesting book that stands out amongst other titles on the shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
She-Hulk (2014) #5

Jun 12, 2014

I'm a sucker for comic books that have strong female protagonists. Well, strong personalities. It's just a coincidence that Jennifer Walters is strong in a physical sense as well. Even if you haven't read the previous issues, I would recommend that you pick them up. I even plan on showing this book to my mom. Maybe she'll understand my love of comics a little more after reading She-Hulk. If not, she'll just smile and call me a nerd as she often does, as a term of endearment. Soule left us with a cliff-hanger at the end of this book that has me impatiently waiting for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Steven Universe #1

Aug 6, 2014

As #1′s go, this book was lacking some context for me. The parts I enjoyed most were the mini stories at the end. They had a clear and concise storyline that made me want to read more. As for the main part of Steven Universe, it's not really for me. I will read the next issue to give it another chance, but in the long run it won't be a book I continue to follow. If you're a fan of the show I would recommend the comic to you. Those that watch the show may have a better understanding of what's going on in the book, or at least know the back story of the characters. I think Sorese should have written this book in a way that would engage readers that have never watched the show and in some cases have never heard of the show. In a world where most people have internet and cable access, this is still a possibility.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Returning #4

Jun 10, 2014

This is listed as number 4 of 4 and I'm left wanting more out of the story. The loose ends allow for a continuation and I hope that Starr decides to pursue the story further. Definitely read the first three issues before attempting to read this one, otherwise you'll be lost. As a mini-series, I did expect questions to be answered in this issue. I walked away with a few questions I had starting with the first issue, but the important ones were answered.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Toe Tag Riot #1

Nov 26, 2014

I think anyone that is an equal rights activists, or a supporter of the LGBTQ community will enjoy this book. Of course anyone that's a fan of zombies will enjoy it, too. Just don't expect the zombies you've grown accustomed to in The Walking Dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Toe Tag Riot #3

Feb 12, 2015

Miner and Von Gorman have produced a quality book thats anti-hate and supportive of the LGBT community. I look forward to reading the next issues and hearing what others have thought about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Toe Tag Riot #4

Apr 15, 2015

Now, the mini series has wrapped up and now that it's all finished I recommend it to everyone except small children. Even if zombies are not your thing, the way they approach social issues is extremely appealing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
We Can Never Go Home #2

May 7, 2015

Black Mask has been very consistent lately with the books they publish; they have all intrigued me. We Can Never Go Home is an easy book to recommend, between the great artwork Josh Hood has provided and the writing from Rosenberg and Kindlon.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More