Marco Piva's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Glasgow Comic Page Reviews: 66
8.8Avg. Review Rating

9.3
Descender #10

Feb 14, 2016

Once again, read this series. It is even better than it looks. And it looks great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Descender #11

Mar 11, 2016

A great issue with a shocking finale

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Descender #12

Jun 15, 2016

Even ignoring the amazing art, anyway, Descender is a good series to get into. And this is the first issue in a new story arc " the right one to start. Perfect chance!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Descender #13

Jul 18, 2016

To conclude, Descender is a very fine series whose main strengths are the characters" and the art. Admittedly this new issue doesn't exactly inject pace in the story (at least until its final pages), but it helps us get to know better an already interesting character. Still, one to buy!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Descender #14

Aug 21, 2016

Things in Descender happen slowly, but the reader can't help paying attention to every detail, so well crafted and depicted. Definitely a series to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Descender #15

Sep 30, 2016

As always, the highlight of this issue " like any other " is Dustin Nguyen's art. The story is interesting, but the watercolours that illustrate it are something else. You can see, nearly sense the thick paper the artist has used to paint this story on, notice every detail, enjoy every touch. It's something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Descender #17

Dec 19, 2016

Descender has been a peculiar series from the start, and not only for the extremely original (and wonderful) idea of having everything hand painted. The characters go very often against the stereotypes they should be adhering to while at the same time still playing with them, and now the plot has completely abandoned anything that may have been done before to venture into new territories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Descender #18

Jan 22, 2017

What is Descender? It started like a sweet little story about a child-bot, it moved on to focus on Andy's struggle between his job and his feelings, then it became Quon's story of betrayal and lies, it moved on to the clash between the two TIM units" what now? Follow it and you'll find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Drifter #12

Jun 28, 2016

I'll say this again: Drifter is a complicated series. It's not easy to follow everything that happens in it, and some moments remain unclear and difficult to understand. But reading it is so rewarding in the end"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Drifter #13

Aug 2, 2016

All in all, then, Drifter is a series worth a reading " a careful, very careful one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Drifter #14

Sep 19, 2016

One more piece of the puzzle that is Drifter falls into place. Read this issue, you will" see something happen. Something you will not forget.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Drifter #15

Dec 19, 2016

In conclusion: Drifter is an extremely interesting but challenging story, and honestly I think that it'd be difficult to start reading it from here " despite the fact that this issue is the beginning of a story arc. In order to try to understand this series, I'd say it's necessary to start from the beginning. The trade paperback collections of the first three arcs –Out of the Night, The Wake and Lit by Fire –are available to purchase: in order to be able to try to understand Drifter, I'd say it'd be extremely useful if not necessary to go back to issue #1(that initially seemed pretty straightforward – little we knew…).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Drifter #16

Jan 22, 2017

Now, to whom would I suggest to pick up this issue Drifter? At this point, honestly, to nobody. No, I'm not saying that this is not a series worth reading " what I'm actually saying is that starting to read it from the end would spoil the enjoyment and the marvel that Drifter creates. Start from the beginning, and get to issue #16 gradually: you'll probably love it. If you manage not to get frustrated by the haze. Everything will become clear in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Elephantmen #71

Jun 7, 2016

Also, if we turn the book upside down, we can read a nice short story by Starkings with art by Tula Lotay, linked to the main story in the issue in a way that I won't anticipate.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Elephantmen #72

Aug 16, 2016

Elephantmen gives us a story that doesn't progress the general storyline of the series (as far as we know at the moment) but that will remain in the mind of whoever reads it. This is a really interesting, memorable one-shot that anyone can enjoy even without knowing Ebony's backstory.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Elephantmen #73

Oct 28, 2016

As it's obviously challenging to find and read all 72 previous issues of Elephantmen, this #73 could be a decent way to start getting into the series. Yes, it assumes previous knowledge of Hip Flask (and Farrell, and Miki), but those are aspects that will sure become clear in the next few issues to the Elephantmen newbie.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Elephantmen #74

Dec 28, 2016

Once again a very interesting issue for this series, and a good one to start if you don't know it as it gives us some details about the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Four Eyes: Hearts of Fire #2

Feb 24, 2016

A complex story, whose progress is slow and captivating; Four Eyes " Hearts of Fire really is a miniseries worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Hadrian's Wall #1

Sep 20, 2016

Hadrian's Wall is shaping up to be a very interesting science fiction/thriller series. Give it a try!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Hadrian's Wall #2

Oct 21, 2016

Hadrian's Wall is - at the end - a murder mystery (although it might not be a murder after all), so it is unadvisable to start reading it from issue #2; but I would suggest to find the first issue and start from there: it's worth it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hadrian's Wall #3

Nov 22, 2016

Hadrian's Wall is a great mystery series, definitely worth reading: don't miss it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hadrian's Wall #4

Dec 19, 2016

An extremely interesting noir/thriller, then, a well written and equally well illustrated story really worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Kill Six Billion Demons #1

Sep 9, 2016

I cannot say I understood every single hint, reference and nuance in Kill 6 Billion Demons, but one thing I can definitely say: I will read it again. And wait for volume two.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Manifest Destiny #20

Jun 17, 2016

In conclusion, Manifest Destiny is a great adventure series; entertaining, occasionally funny, often scary, sometimes quite" yucky, and always extremely original.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Manifest Destiny #21

Jul 27, 2016

So, in short, Manifest Destiny is a fun adventure series. Additionally, its insights into human nature make it even more interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Manifest Destiny #22

Aug 22, 2016

This series remains very interesting despite a relatively repetitive formula: the men reach a spot, they find an arch, there are monsters, someone dies, someone else is smart enough to kill the monster. But there is so much around this formula that Manifest Destiny is not only good but nearly unmissable. Give it a try!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Manifest Destiny #23

Sep 29, 2016

A very interesting issue, and the next will bring one more story arc to a close " even though, in the fanmail page, we are told that this time the end of this part of the series will be" different. We only need to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Manifest Destiny #24

Oct 21, 2016

Manifest Destiny remains a very interesting series with a strong writing and good art; obviously it'd be pointless to start reading the series from this issue, that concludes a story arc: you'd better start from the beginning of the series, or at least of "Sasquatch".

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Manifest Destiny #25

Jan 23, 2017

This issue, then, could be a pretty good one to start reading the series. Everything seems quiet and nice, as if everything was finally going right for the expedition… the perfect moment to spring another surprise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Moonshine #1

Oct 4, 2016

I have the impression that Moonshine will become one of those series (or miniseries? We don't know if it will be limited) people will be talking about in the future. It definitely has all the premises to be an epic story, the characters are very interesting and full of hidden sides to their personalities, and the art is in Risso's usual, very in-your-face style. Don't miss it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Moonshine #2

Nov 21, 2016

Moonshine goes up a gear in this second issue; clearly there is still much to say about those characters, but already Brian Azzarello throws a lot of stuff on the plate; in order to follow this series properly you'll need to read issue #1, but" well, do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Moonshine #3

Dec 19, 2016

Moonshine is a really interesting series, one that may even be adding something new to comics " we'll see how it goes on. Meanwhile, tuck in!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Moonshine #4

Jan 15, 2017

Moonshine is a miniseries that does not end with this issue #4 (we don't know how many more issues there will be, but we'll probably get to 6), and a good one it is; do yourself a favour and read it. From the start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Reborn #1

Oct 11, 2016

Who is Reborn for, then? Well, it isn't too clear yet, but " from what we could see until now " it seems to be shaping up to be a pretty deep comic, but at the same time something full of action and grand moments. It seems unlikely to be only a "light entertainment" series (the identity of the writer confirms this), but it's likely that it will be enjoyable by most. The glorious art helps support this first impression, that will probably be confirmed in the next issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Reborn #2

Nov 21, 2016

Reborn looks like a series that will give the reader a great experience. After two issues it already is extremely interesting, although it's clear that there is still a lot to be discovered.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Reborn #3

Dec 19, 2016

It may not be running at full speed yet, but Reborn is definitely a series to follow!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Reborn #4

Jan 30, 2017

Reborn is a fascinating series. On the surface, it is a nice story of a battle of good versus evil; but there is something else hiding deep inside it, a surprise that we are sure Mark Millar will spring upon us when we are least prepared.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Ringside #4

Feb 26, 2016

Even if you don't care about pro wrestling (in which case my personal opinion is that you are just wrong, but that is not under discussion here), Ringside is a very interesting crime/thriller series worth following.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ringside #6

Aug 16, 2016

Fans of pro wrestling, fans of thriller and noir literature, this story is for you. Get into Ringside.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ringside #7

Sep 29, 2016

So, what is Ringside? It is a nice thriller, made even better by the fact that we really don't know what's going to happen; it is an inside view into the most complex, least pleasant side of the pro wrestling world; it is a good comic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ringside #8

Dec 11, 2016

Ringside seems to be adding more and more storylines to an already rich plate, risking to create confusion (and forcing us to write very long summaries!). I confide that Joe Keatinge will wrap everything up very nicely, but at the moment it's challenging to remember who is doing what. Still, Ringside remains a very entertaining series. Some of the subplots may be missing for a month, but what is there is more than enough to make this an extremely good ride. And the atmosphere of every panel, given by a nervous-looking trait and perfectly chosen colours, adds a lot to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Romulus #1

Oct 11, 2016

Of course, this being the first issue of the series, there's still much more that has to be said and seen before we can judge Romulus, but it's already clear that this will be an interesting story: already in this number one there are several scenes that suggest that we'll see lots of action, lots of irony but also quite some deep reflections on the state of the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Romulus #2

Dec 4, 2016

Despite the fact that we are still in the early stages of this series, Romulus seems to promise great things. Keep an eye on it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Romulus #3

Dec 30, 2016

Romulus is first of all an adventure series, full of battles and fights, with Ashlar being pretty much a modern day ninja, but it also hides an interesting reflection on the modern world, on society, on today. It's a series, then, that can be read on at least two levels (more if we focus on the characters' personal stories and feelings), thrilling and fascinating.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Discipline #4

Jun 7, 2016

Jokes aside, this is a very peculiar series, interesting and convoluted, with art to match. Give it a try but remember" The Discipline is definitely NSFW!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
The Discipline #5

Jul 8, 2016

So, this seriesis a complex puzzle (with a certain number of sex scenes thrown in), and the satisfaction in solving is great. An interesting series, but not one made for people who like to read their comics in ten minutes then put them aside.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
The Fuse #18

Mar 7, 2016

A solid conclusion to a complex story arc

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
The Fuse #19

Jul 10, 2016

If you like noir and thriller with good, mysterious characters, The Fuse is the series for you. Probably, however, you won't like it if you care much about perfect artwork in a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
The Fuse #20

Aug 9, 2016

Despite this, anyway, The Fuse is a great series. Deep, interesting, involving. Give it a try, you will not regret it. Guaranteed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
The Fuse #21

Sep 9, 2016

Still, a fantastic read. And believe me, you won't even notice the flaws in the art after a while " it is that interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
The Fuse #22

Oct 19, 2016

The Fuse is a great thriller, a fantastic ride through the investigations and the minds of the loneliest Homicide Squad agents in the universe (Klem and Ralph, that is), stuck on a fuse-shaped space station orbiting Earth. Really a series worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Fuse #23

Nov 11, 2016

As thrillers go, The Fuse is one of the best around. Nail-biting, full of twists and turns, and there seems to be no way out for the main characters. Actually, we have the weird suspicion that next issue will conclude not only this story arc but the whole series. Still, Antony Johnston has surprised us already, so there may very well be a solution" and a way for him to carry on. If it comes to that, this is The Fuse, not "Klem & Ralph", isn't it?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Fuse #24

Dec 19, 2016

For now, anyway, the only thing we can do is to advise you to go back and read it all " from the start. It will be worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
They're Not Like Us #13

Jan 23, 2017

If anyone wants to get into They're Not Like Us, now is the right moment: it's the start of a new story arc, and the author is giving us quite some elements to help the reader understand what's going on in the story. It will never be like having started from the beginning (which is what I'd suggest you to do if you wish to get into this series), but at least you won't be completely lost.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thief of Thieves #32

Jun 28, 2016

Thief of Thieves is back, then, with an arc that " from what we can understand from this issue " will probably be extremely interesting and entertaining. It seems well worth a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Thief of Thieves #35

Oct 1, 2016

This issue is an easy, entertaining, adrenalin-filled read, that transitions towards" well, I won't tell you, you need to read it to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Thief of Thieves #36

Oct 30, 2016

The "Gold Rush" story arc will be concluded next month; after having read what happens at the end of the present issue, I'm really curious to see what's in store for Redmond and their asociates"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Thief of Thieves #37

Nov 27, 2016

Thief of Thieves is an exciting ride, and I would advise every fan of action and adventure to give it a read. Obviously, not starting from the last issue in a story arc" at least get back to the start of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Think Tank #3

Jun 8, 2016

Think Tank is an entertaining and at the same time profound read, a story that can be read on several levels without losing any of its depth. Definitely something for everyone " as long as they have a strong stomach. And no, I'm not referring to any “splatter” scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Think Tank #4

Jul 26, 2016

So, in conclusion: Think Tank is not exactly the easiest and most relaxing of reads, not due to its complexity but because the topics it touches on are incredibly sensitive. But it is a great series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Wayward #14

Mar 1, 2016

In Wayward, in this issue like in any other, you will find pretty much anything you are looking for in a comic book. Buy it, read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wayward #16

Sep 29, 2016

In 2015, I had defined Wayward the best ongoing series published by Image Comics (at least amongst those I have read). In 2016, my extremely high expectations about it are not being disappointed. Don't miss it; this issue is a good place to pick it up (there is a pretty good summary of what happened in the past, too).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wayward #17

Oct 31, 2016

This is a transitional issue, but there still are several astonishing reveals" and a few nice surprises. It's definitely worth a read. Like all other issues of Wayward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wayward #18

Nov 28, 2016

I don't think I really need to write much more to suggest that Wayward is a series that needs to be read. Actually, if there is only one comic series you have the time for, I'd advise you to consider choosing Wayward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wayward #19

Dec 31, 2016

Wayward is a very pleasant series, very entertaining without ever being dull or excessively simplified; history, mythology and of course Jim Zub's own creations merge seamlessly in a fascinating story, with great characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Wayward #20

Jan 31, 2017

Wayward, then. As I just called it "one of my favourite series", well" I can't do anything if not suggest you to read it!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More