Mario Miranda's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: We The Nerdy Reviews: 26
7.5Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Batman / Superman (2013) #3.1

Oct 1, 2013

Recommendation: The Death of Superman by Dan Jurgens and various

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman / Superman (2013) #4

Oct 18, 2013

I would highly recommend this title for any fans of either character but especially for fans of Superman that may be disappointed with the type of story and characterization we've seen thus far in the New 52 , the Earth-2 Clark, Lois, Ma and Pa Kent and Selina Kyle characters should help scratch the itch of any readers who long for the DCU pre-New52.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman / Superman (2013) #5

Nov 11, 2013

Overall a disappointment after such a great introductory arc to this series, hopefully this is not an indication of things to come and Pak is able to bring this around. If not, hopefully he'll be able to recapture some of the magic when Jae Lee returns in the next story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Black Science #1

Dec 2, 2013

This is essentially a perfect first issue, highly recommended for any readers out there that are fans of science fiction and definitely for fans of Fear Agent and Rick Remender in general. You're going to want to get in on this series from the beginning, this will definitely be a series that we will look back at as a true classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Captain America (2012) #13

Nov 11, 2013

The art is fairly solid around, Carlos Pacheco does a fantastic job especially with the flashback sequence in the beginning. Dean White of course does a great job with the colors but given his reputation this is to no surprise. The only flaw seems to be that the artists following the long running Dimension Z arc seem to try and emulate, to a degree, John Romita JR's art style. Which seems to be especially true when Jet and Steve are involved, which really stands out given the darker approach in the opening flashback. Overall this issue was fairly solid but hopefully we get to see more quiet character moments with Steve and I am particularly curious with what Remender plans to do with the Jet Black.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Captain America: Living Legend #1

Oct 4, 2013

I would highly recommend this mini for any Cap fans out there who have been feeling left out due to the huge departure that is Remender's Captain America run. Or for any people out there that may be looking for an easily accesible Cap story, this mini does not rely on any knowledge of Cap continuity besides the basics (that are covered in the Marvel film anyway).

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Captain America: Living Legend #3

Nov 18, 2013

For hardcore fans of Captain America out there I might recommend this mini but I doubt many readers out there will really enjoy this which is really disappointing considering the creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Captain Marvel (2012) #15

Aug 29, 2013

I would have a hard time recommending this issue to both regular readers of the series and infinity readers who may be looking to complete the story. This fails to properly continue the arc before it and does not contribute much to the infinity storyline. The few plot points that are addressed heere, will most likely be addressed in the main infinity book and hopefully in the Captain Marvel title following the events of Infinity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Captain Marvel (2012) #16

Sep 23, 2013

Overall I would not recommend this for either long time Captain Marvel readers or people hoping to get more from the Infinity tie-ins. I imagine we will pick up next issue with the aftermath of Enemy Within so long time readers wont be missing out on much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Conan the Barbarian #19

Aug 27, 2013

The plot may be a bit generic but the chemistry between Belit and Conan and their ability to kick some ass and take some names is definitely worth the price of admission. Also, this is a great jumping on point for any who may have missed out when this title first came out and are hoping to jump on board. It is however worth noting that overall story builds from arc to arc, so it would be recommended to pick up volume 1 & 2, which are released in a great hardcover, to fully appreciate the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Conan the Barbarian #20

Sep 23, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect with this new arc but it quickly become one of the better arcs of Brian Wood's run. Highly recommended for any fans that may have dropped off the book, unfortunately I do feel given the nature of Belit and Conan's relationship that new readers would be better served starting closer to the beginning of the book. The first 10 issues or so are collected in 2 hardcovers and I highly recommend people pick them up

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Halo: Initiation #1

Aug 23, 2013

However if you are a hardcore fan, this mini should help answer some questions that may have come up during Halo 4 regarding the Spartan IV's and Sarah Palmer. The reveal at the end ties together with a very unexpected character and definitely surprised me. For hardcore fans, I would highly recommend this title but for someone who has had very minimal exposure to the Halo series, I would probably have a hard time doing so.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Halo: Initiation #2

Sep 17, 2013

As I mentioned in my last review, although the events in this mini may be interesting to hardcore fans of the Halo series, I would find it difficult to recommend this title to people who are not well versed in the Halo lore. Readers need to have at least played through Halo 4, Halo Reach, and Halo 4 to have a full grasp on the events unfolding thus far although I would also suggest reading the last Halo novel to fully understand.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Halo: Initiation #3

Oct 15, 2013

Overall, I would not recommend this for casual fans of the Halo universe, this is absolutely a series geared for hardcore fans. I really wish this was a longer mini or an ongoing because even in trade format, there will only be three issues. Hopefully this is just a good start to great Halomini series from Dark Horse.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League of America (2013) #8

Oct 21, 2013

Although we didn't receive as many answers as we might havehoped this is a decent enough entry into the Forever Evil storyline event and new to the series Matt Kindt seems to taking a great approach with more exploration into the various characters. I hope he does more of that after the Forever Evil storyline is over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Lazarus #3

Aug 30, 2013

This is an absolute recommendation for most comic readers and especially for readers out there that wish to see women portrayed as strong three dimensional characters. We do get strong female characters in other titles but Lazarus really adds many layers that I find are usually missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lazarus #4

Oct 8, 2013

For anyone that may still be on the fence about trying out this series, pick it up. Each issue has been absolutely terrific so catch up while you still can, fans of Rucka's previous work will be right at home but I think there is something for comic readers of all like here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Spawn #236

Oct 9, 2013

For fans, the art has proved to be a very love it or hate it affair. The art itself is very well done with much detailing in the characters but too many dark black and gray shades are used in an effort to create this dark mood that isn't necessary, just comes off like someone took Kudranski's steller art and added an emo/goth filter via instagram. An element of Spawn that I have always liked is that because the series is generally ignored by the general comics crowd, artists/inkers/colorists/letterers get a chance to really experiment with layouts and approaches. The panel layouts themselves are typical but the lettering is used very well, varying in size to emphasize the mood and tone of the character. Glad to see this is still an occurrence on this series after all these years.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spawn #238

Dec 6, 2013

Although many familiar characters have been appearing, this is definitely shaping to be a much different story than that as Simmons; this being a perfect example as it took Al years of issues to learn everything that Cog is telling Jim now. The aspect I personally am most looking forward to though is the inclusion of Daniel Kilgore/Haunt and how exactly he'll fit into this Spawn continuity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars (2013) #9

Sep 17, 2013

I would highly recommend this title to any Star Wars fan and especially for those who have stayed away from previous Star Wars comics for fear of being lost among the expanded star wars lore. This title follows directly after the events of A New Hope and no other knowledge is really needed. Unfortunately there is no good jumping on point for those who might want to try out the series, all of the issues so far have been leading up issue #9, starting at the beginning would be ideal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars (2013) #10

Oct 14, 2013

Overall this is another great entry into this great series by Brian Wood, the concurrent stories do detract a bit but I'm sure this series will read amazingly well in a collected format. Hopefully there will be a great hardcover collection at some point, of course depending on how many issues this series ends up having. I'd also like to remind any readers out there that this series is perfect for any Star Wars fans out there that may have stayed away from other Star Wars series for fear of being lost within the long standing Star Wars extended universe lore, this series does not need any of that previous knowledge and only requires you have seen the original trilogy films.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Star Wars (2013) #11

Nov 15, 2013

Probably too late to jump on but definitely look for this when it is collected, this a great book for most Star Wars fans out there and especially for those who have stayed away from the expanded universe for fear of being lost.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
The Star Wars: Lucas Draft #2

Oct 8, 2013

Although this series proves to be a very interesting experiment, its very clear why this draft did not make it into production. I would not recommend this series to casual fans of the Star Wars universe but hardcore fans that may be interested in a very different take on the Star Wars universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Wake #4

Sep 30, 2013

Overall though, the issue was very entertaining, providing another solid entry into what I'm sure will be a classic horror story. The genre is too often overlooked and I'm glad to see such a solid entry unfold. This issue and the mini in general are highly recommended for any fans out there of survival horror, sci fi horror games, books or films.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Thor: God of Thunder #14

Oct 15, 2013

Recommendation: Journey Into Mystery by Kieron Gillan

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wild Blue Yonder #2

Nov 5, 2013

If you're a fan of the Rocketeer or are just think guys rocketing around with a rocket pack sounds cool, I'd highly suggest you give this title a try. I'm not sure where this story is going but I've without a doubt enjoying the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

More