Nathanael Beasley's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Word Of The Nerd Reviews: 11
7.5Avg. Review Rating

8.2
Batman (2016) #31

Sep 19, 2017

I have to recommend this issue as another solid chapter in the Batman Rebirth series. The War of Jokes and Riddles is a story we will be discussing years from now, and fun issues like this will make the re-read worth it. There are enough epic moments to make any Batman fan pump their fist in the air and yell Kite Man's catchphrase!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Salvation #1

Sep 19, 2017

The hype for Lemire's Bloodshot is real. "Reborn" was one of the most consistently good books on the stands, and Salvation looks to be even better. If you have been hesitating about the series, this is your perfect chance to jump on! It would be a crime if you didn't!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Eternity #1

Oct 25, 2017

As much as I loved this first issue, it is not as accessible to new readers as it would like to be. No real explanation is given as to what Abram and Myshka's powers really are, nor of the events leading up to this volume. If you have not already, be sure to pick up a copy of the excellent Divinity #0, released back in August. It does a fantastic job of introducing all of the main cast and with gorgeous artwork that pays for itself. For fans of Divinity, you are in for a treat. The Divinity/Eternity saga is one for the top ten lists.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harbinger: Renegade #0

Nov 10, 2017

Harbinger Renegade #0 is a good H.A.R.D. C.O.R.P.S. issue that you should pick up just to be caught up on the story, but otherwise is not an important part of any Harbinger fan's collection. Still, Harbinger Wars II is on the way, and our patience shall be rewarded!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harbinger: Renegade #8

Oct 17, 2017

Hopefully, we will see future issues of Harbinger Renegade ramp up the action, rather than become an unnecessary lead-in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Justice League of America (2017) #15

Sep 29, 2017

I cannot recommend issue #15 as a jumping on point, but happily as a great Atom story. Justice League of America is definitely a solid book with great art and good writing yet falls short of the excellent tier.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ninja-K (2017) #1

Nov 23, 2017

It's been a big year for Valiant. Many of their leads have received new titles, all of which were met with near-universal critical acclaim. There are pros and cons to this approach. A #1 issue is designed to bring in new readers, but sometimes creates a jumping-off point for previous readers. If you enjoyed Matt Kindt's Ninjak, you will feel right at home here. Ninja-K is, at this writing, my favorite new comic of the year. You get every penny of the $3.99 price with an extra page count, an exciting story any Valiant fan will love, and beautiful artwork worthy of a museum. Be sure to make room on your pull list for your new favorite action comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Ninjak #0

Sep 13, 2017

Nothing groundbreaking or revealing, but a great introduction for new readers and a satisfying end cap for one of the most fun superhero runs of this decade.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.2
Shadowman/Rae Sremmurd #1

Oct 6, 2017

Overall, I am very disappointed in this comic. Most hardcore Valiant fans will likely share that sentiment. Rae Sremmurd fans will enjoy seeing the band interacting with comic book heroes, but nothing really asks for them to continue reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
War Mother #3

Oct 20, 2017

To be very honest, War Mother really feels like an episode of Doctor Who. Crazy mystery with historically themed villains? Check. A side character with a terrible agenda? Check. Everyone counting on the protagonists about to walk into danger? Check. Van Lente is a professed fan of the British sci-fi and it shows, but not without crafting something that is similar, yet unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
X-O Manowar (2017) #7

Sep 28, 2017

With beautiful artwork and a fantastic story, X-O Manowar is a series comics fans cannot afford to miss. Each month this run is near the top of my pull list even with so many new comics vying for my short attention span. For those who have not tried a Valiant book yet, I recommend picking up a copy of this issue and last week's Bloodshot: Salvation to see how good independent publishers are.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More