Neil Byce's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Punisher Central Reviews: 21
7.7Avg. Review Rating

8.4
Daredevil (2011) #11

Apr 25, 2012

This issue had tons of action and even some tense and more quiet dialogue scenes. That entertained me tons! I was also anxiously anticipated the last few pages as I had no idea where this all was leading to. The book goes by fast with all the action and if you are a fan of Spider-Man, Daredevil or the Punisher then you are in for a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Incredible Hulk (2011) #8

May 30, 2012

The issue is highly entertaining. It is intriguing the way that Aaron is setting up the StayAngry series as to just what the readers may discover with Hulk throughout theArc. There are pieces of the issue that lack believability but it is fun and ithas the Punisher! We get a few great moments of dialogue between the two ofthem and an interrogation scene where Punisher tortures a Hispanic man J

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Punisher (2011) #8

Feb 1, 2012

ssue No. 8 is a solid entry to this run of the Punisher! It provides readers with a moody atmosphere, a tense standoff, and a trap that seems to be set for both Frank Castle and his new ally. It shows that Rucka has carefully planned out the direction he wants to go in and I am personally excited to see if this run can continue the momentum that it has built up to create one of the best titles on comic book store shelves today!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Punisher (2011) #9

Mar 15, 2012

This issue does give readers some action and some interesting plot points. It picks up on last month's fantastic cliff-hanger and it has Frank in a very unique situation to defend himself. It has a unique diner scene that allows for some valuable interaction between Frank and Rachel and it has some build-up for the epic 'Omega Effect' crossover coming next month. That is honestly about it though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Punisher (2011) #10

Apr 18, 2012

This book doesn't have as much action as the first part of the Omega Effect but it is clear that the action is about to go through the roof in Daredevil #11. This book reflects Rucka as a writer who explores themes and motives of individuals and why they do what they do. Also in traditional Punisher fashion there is a fantastic swerve on the last page of the book. There is no doubt that the events that take place on the last page will have a major effect on what happens with the information that is on the Omega Drive!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Punisher (2011) #11

May 10, 2012

The issue isn'textremely entertaining but it does a decent job at keeping the reader engaged.The dialogue flows well and the decision for Rucka to tell Bolt's story throughthe flashback convention, while being interrogated is an interesting one. Notall issues can be full of action and can move story forward at a lightningpace. Sometimes it is essential to have an issue here and there that providesbackstory or setup for things to come. In that regard, this issue performs thatpurpose admirably.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punisher (2011) #12

Jun 20, 2012

There are two components to this issue that really drew me in. First was the artwork. From the cover to the last panel on the last page, Marco Checchetto's work is second to none. Second is the leading up to the confrontation between Frank Castle and Rachel Cole-Alves. This meeting lives up to the hype and it leads to a very satisfying conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punisher (2011) #13

Jul 22, 2012

Rucka is creating one-heck of a run with his take on the Punisher. It is unfortunatethat it will be coming to a close in just a few months"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Punisher (2014) #2

Feb 19, 2014

As far as art goes, the book isnt pretty but it gets the job done and it provides a proper feel for the story and its setting. I like how Frank is drawn but environments and action leaves a lot to be desired.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punisher (2014) #3

Mar 5, 2014

At this point...if this is the direction that the Punisher is going in I am seeing a bright future. Also, can we please get some new Punisher merch from Marvel featuring Gerads skull? Also, where is merch that featured Checchetto's skull? C'mon Marvel!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Punisher (2014) #4

Apr 3, 2014

Overall, this issue felt like the weakest in the series so far. That is okay though since the series has only had four issues and it is bound to happen at some point. Personally for me I would appreciate more plot development at a faster rate and more focus on some of the peripheral characters. There was a lack of that in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Punisher (2014) #5

May 8, 2014

Overall, this issue seemed to cement to me that this will be a slow-burn story just like Rucka's previous Punisher title was. It will be interesting to see how the story unravels as Punisher will have to confront Electro in the next issue and then be able to go after the Dos Solos leader and Howling Commandos. It seems like a lot for one man to deal with but no matter what it should be really interesting!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Punisher (2014) #7

Jun 18, 2014

In conclusion, I really liked certain parts of this issue but it still frustrates me that the title is still missing a special something. Edmondson started this book by painting Castle as a mysterious vigilante who few people can recognize in person who can be extremely tactical to know being a character that is extremely vulnerable and is a step behind on everything. It just doesn't seem to add up is all. I really hope that the title steadily improves over the course of the next few issues or this book could see an end unfortunately sooner rather than later.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Punisher (2014) #9

Aug 6, 2014

In conclusion, I typically like crossover events and think that they add substance to stories like the Punisher but this one left me scratching my head. Unless I am missing something big here...which I very well could be, I am going to go ahead and say that I think that this issue was the weakest so far in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Punisher (2014) #11

Oct 8, 2014

In conclusion, this issue was one of the best of the run so far and I am personally hoping that this brings hope for fans that were concerned that this book would be short-lived.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Punisher (2014) #13

Dec 10, 2014

Overall, the issue really does not move the story forward much at all and it made me feel that Nathan Edmondson is slowing the development of this story down to a snails pace once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Punisher: Trial of the Punisher #1

Sep 26, 2013

The story moves quick without sacrificing the story and this two-part story is shaping up to arrive at a thrilling conclusion. With this good of a premise, the way the story is being told and the intelligence in how it is being told it is too bad that this story arc couldn't last for several more issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Punisher: Trial of the Punisher #2

Oct 30, 2013

Overall this was a solid entry by Marc Guggenheim. If he was willing to revisit the character in the future I think it would be worth it for Marvel to consider some type of procedural Punisher title for him to head up. Right now there isn't enough Frank Castle on comic book store shelves and there could be a lot more done with the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Space Punisher #1

Jul 24, 2012

I really thought that this story had a chance to be fun. As I got through the first few pages I still held out hope but that hope quickly vanished.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Thunderbolts (2012) #1

Dec 27, 2012

The book seems entertaining enough. That could be mostly due to the cast that isassembled and with the highly volatile style of the group. I just hope thatthis doesn't end up being one of the Marvel Now! Titles that end up stinking sobadly that it will be the first to be cancelled.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Untold Tales of the Punisher MAX #1

Jul 18, 2012

The book quickly pulls the reader in. Jason Starr does a nice job at building upcharacters who we have never met before in the Punisher Universe and he does sovery nicely. There is no need for an introduction to Punisher in thismini-series"everyone already knows that this is about one thing and one thingonly"Frank Castle blowing people away.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More