Peter Rodriguez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geek Sushi Reviews: 68
8.9Avg. Review Rating

10
4 Kids Walk Into A Bank #1

Apr 27, 2016

Matthew Rosenberg was born to write comics! He has quickly made a name for himself as one of the most talented up and coming writers in the business. Much like he did in We Can Never Go Home, his words and his overall creativity just resonate well with comic book readers. It's funny, witty, honest, charming, and was just so much fun to read. Everyone, meet your new favorite comic book!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Afterlife With Archie #7

Dec 11, 2014

Like the first six, issue seven delivers the shock and awe we are becoming all too familiar with in Afterlife, which is without a doubt the best written, best illustrated horror comic out there right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Afterlife With Archie #8

May 5, 2015

The art from Francavilla remains the same, absolute pulp brilliance! The script from Aguirre-Sacasa has never been better, as this issue which contains no zombies and essentially no action manages to keep readers hooked with serious anticipation, displaying a rare gift for dramatic storytelling. I want this series to go on forever and if that means having to wait months in between issues, then so be it. Afterlife is the perfect example of a series that is all about quality and not so much quantity! If you're going to read just one comic book this year, it has to be Afterlife With Archie!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Afterlife With Archie #9

Jun 2, 2016

Despite its horror fantasy element and all the fantastic drama/adventure we get from the zombie storyline, the genius of Afterlife is with its characters and subplots. Thanks to Aguirre-Sacasa, Afterlife is more compelling and forthright than most comics out today! The characters are flawed, their problems are real, and their relationships imperfect. More good news, the scheduled release for the next issue is August 17, so stay tuned.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Airboy #1

May 30, 2015

Now I know this idea or concept if you will is not entirely original, but I love the direction that Robinson and Hinkle are taking with this. The writing is in your face hilarious and brutally honest, exhibiting a story that at times is asdark and depressingas it isfunny. Hinkle's illustrations are outstanding, with an incredibly unusual but detailed disposition of the characters, and his choice of colors (especially the shades of blue and purple) stood out to me. A very strong first issue in a series that might be best described as art imitating life imitating art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Archie (2015) #1

Jul 7, 2015

The verdict " Included at the end of this issue is the very first Archie story that appeared in Pep Comics #22 way back in 1941. Waid points out some of the differences but more importantly the similarities between that origin story and the one this collaborative team has reimagined. Kudos to this creative team for bringing and applying their unique brand of storytelling, while at the same time paying homage to that classic brand of Archie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Archie vs. Predator #1

Apr 16, 2015

Other than a bloody-nosed Betty after some fisticuffs with Veronica, the gang manages to make it through this first issue unscathed. This should not be the case over the next few issues as the writer has promised plenty of blood, gore, and death throughout the series, a series that should not be missed!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Barrier #1

Dec 3, 2015

The writing is what you might expect from Vaughan whichis just brilliant, this time with some support from Martin. Much like they did in The Private Eye, Martin and Vicente once again bringing gorgeous illustrations and colors that just make you want to hold this in your hands (hint hint). Overall Barrier #1 was an amazing first issue by this Eisner award-winning team that promises to bring more drama and more weirdness over the next four issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Barrier #2

Sep 13, 2016

There is something very intriguing about the Oscar character, his hopes, dreams and pursuit of a better life. I think we get a good glimpse of the man he is striving to be during the flashback/dream scene, and what is it that he is carrying that is so important to him? I love the story that Vaughan and Martin are telling here, and look forward to seeing where they take this very human Sci-Fi/alien story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Battlestar Galactica (2016) #1

Aug 4, 2016

Having been decades since I've seen the classic BSG episodes, and being more familiar with the modern interpretation, I was uncertain if this first issue would appeal to me. As a matter of fact, it wasn't even on my radar and the only reason I read it was because of Bunn. What I discovered was an incredibly well-crafted and entertaining strong debut issue that rekindled my interest for the original television series, and another comic series to add to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bitch Planet #1

Dec 10, 2014

It's difficult for many people in our society to fully grasp the social constructions of gender, and all the factors we see on a day-to-day basis that influence it. Factors such as culture, ethnicity, color, and media are some examples that shape gender, and I am really looking forward to how Kelly Sue DeConnick might incorporate this in future issues. Nevertheless, DeConnick is off to a fantastic start in this debut issue, which may be one of the most important and relevant comics to come out this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bloodshot: Reborn #15

Jul 9, 2016

Lemire has never had an issue telling a story, and this is clearly the case here with Bloodshot Reborn. Never before have I started a series this many issues in with limited knowledge of its background and characters and been blown away as I was here. This is clearly a must read, must pull series and perhaps one of the best collaborations in comics today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Brides of Helheim #1

Oct 2, 2014

Brides of Helheim #1 second print variant cover by Shawn Crystal and Dave McCaig.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Brides of Helheim #2

Nov 10, 2014

In a recent chat with Bunn, he mentioned to me that the idea for Raevil may have come from Legends of Mad Monks, but is not exactly sure. What is certain though is his ability to create these fascinating and engaging characters that make his stories so appealing. Bunn has also mentioned that Helheim was always intended for a more adult audience, and when you mixWiccansex, undead Viking violence, and gigantic sea monsters withhis style of story-telling, you get Brides of Helheim.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Brides of Helheim #5

Apr 28, 2015

The world of Helheim continues to evolve thanks to the imagination of Cullen Bunn and his horror venture form of storytelling. Next month will bring us the final issue to this current chapter, and sets the stage for The Womb of Helheim, the third and final chapter in this glorious fantasy series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Brides of Helheim #6

Jun 3, 2015

Bringing an end to this second volume, Brides of Helheim #6 concludes on a very high note. Overall, the series has been dark, sensual, violent, and just more compelling than any other fantasy horror adventure series I've read in some time. Cullen Bunn has taken all the elements of a Conan title, and incorporated his personal style of method storytelling giving us pure horror brilliance mixed with his bizarre fantasy vision bringing us witches, warlocks, undead, Valkyries, and ungodly beasts. One of the better limited graphic novels to come out so far this year, Brides of Helheim is truly worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Brik #1

Jul 1, 2016

As I close this out and read through this comic one more time, I can't help but draw the analogies between Brik and that other comic story published over fifty years ago. Drew must deal with a loss of a family member who was more of a father than a grandfather. Mr. Simon (or Gramps as Drew refers to him as) teaches Drew life lessons and to always look for a way to make things right. There is a Flash Thompson like character except considerably more dangerous and violent. There is even a possible love interest with the young Chase girl who might be Drew's MJ. Okay I'll stop with all the comparisons, because ultimately, Glass and Benson have written an amazing first issue that stands out brilliantly on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Cluster #1

Feb 7, 2015

Cluster #1 delivered in a huge way this week and will not leave readers disappointed. As I mentioned earlier, it makes good on its promise of action and ends with a nice little cliffhanger that will draw back readers next month. BOOM! Studios continues to not only draw, but deliver amazing creator-owned projects month after month. Add this to your pull list immediately!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Curb Stomp #1

Feb 26, 2015

Curb Stomp #1 has a very punk rock feel to it, not just because of the Black Flag cover band scene, but because of the characters and the attitude as well. Ferrier has taken these girls that remind me a bit of The Lizzies, and placed them in an immensely compelling setting that happens to be in a graphic novel. With the work displayed by this creative team in this first issue, the series now shows incredible promise and potential to be BOOM! Studios next big ongoing!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Descender #2

Apr 8, 2015

Whether it was Sweet Tooth or Trillium, Lemire has an incredible gift for story-telling. Descender is as spectacular as it is ambitious, and the story and character building are everything you would expect, as we are thrown in to not just a world but a universe of planets that gives this series so much more depth and the potential for a much more expansive narrative. You need to be reading this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Django / Zorro #1

Nov 13, 2014

Next is the writing. This story has Tarantino written all over it, as he and Wagner do a fantastic job of depicting not only Tarantino's style, but the spirit of Don Diego himself. The first issue was violent and honest, capturing the brutality and the hatred that was rampant during this time, although I feel that this was but a precursor of what's coming in the next few issues. After reading this first chapter, I am convinced that a Django/Zorro team-up would totally work on the big screen, and it is clearly evident that it works well as a comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Evil Empire #4

Aug 28, 2014

It is pretty obvious that the reason so many readers are enjoying this series is the shock factor, as Bemis has managed to now script four abruptly brilliant endings that gives usenough reason to keep coming back for more. The quality of his writing is outstanding, as Bemis is doing a superb job in keeping his audience off-balance and guessing. Just when you think it is safe to make an assumption with where EVIL EMPIRE is going, it comes right back at you and unpredictably forces you in another direction. A frightening take on the violent descent of American society, this graphic novel continues to remain a must read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Ex-Con #1

Sep 2, 2014

EX-CON #1 shines brightly with this first issue, as Duane Swierczynski has introduced us to a fascinating character to go along with an intriguing story that shows promise. The illustrations and colors Burns and Oliva deliver here work well. Burns does well by capturing that retro look and feel of the eighties, while Oliva's choice of colors give the book a dark feel, which at the same time places greater emphasis on the lights (Pomeray's power). Issue one was worth the read and should see readers coming back for the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash Gordon Annual #1

Nov 25, 2014

These stories all take place before the events of Kings Watch #1 and Flash Gordon #1, and despite each story being really short and a bit rushed, I enjoyed both the writing and art from this collaborative team-up. If you are a fan and familiar with the Flash Gordon universe, you will surely enjoy this annual issue. It's a nice precursor to the upcoming Kings Crossover event coming in January 2015.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Fraggle Rock: Journey to the Everspring #1

Oct 9, 2014

Leth has an uncanny ability for telling all-ages stories, and after reading Everspring, I can honestly say that this truly has a boundless appeal to it. She absolutely understands the mind and imagination of comic book readers, and has proved to us that we can enjoy a comic that we may have bought for our children. The art in this is radiantly breathtaking, and has immediately made me a fan of Jake Myler. With gorgeous colors and clever writing, Journey to Everspring is a no-brainer for Fraggle Rock and comic book fans alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gears and Bones #1

Aug 19, 2015

So I have read this book several times now, and each time I read it I enjoy it even more. With imaginative story-telling, amazing illustrations, and boundless world building potential, Gears & Bones is a true comic book gem.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hacktivist Vol. 2 #1

Jul 28, 2015

Marcus To (Red Robin) brings a strong work ethic that results in beautiful illustrations. Combine that with the colors from Ian Herring and Beck Kenzie, whose strong use of blues and reds shines in this first issue, giving us page after page of absolute splendor. Throw in strong storytelling from the duo of Kelly and Lanzing, backed up by the creative mind of the incredibly talented Milano, and we have ourselves the next chapter of Hacktivist and an unquestionable comic book win!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jonesy #1

Feb 10, 2016

I have to say from an artistic perspective, the way Boyle portrays the characters as these unorthodox inflated people made this a visual joy. Her cartoonish art style works really well with the mix of colors that Quinn lays out. Humphries delivers an impressive first issue with a story that will certainly shoot an arrow through reader's hearts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
King: Mandrake the Magician #1

Feb 19, 2015

Before there was Doctor Strange, before there was Constantine, before there was Thomas Alsop, there was Mandrake the Magician. Both Langridge and Treece have pulled one out of the rabbit's hat and delivered a first issue that in the spirit of Mandrake is truly hypnotic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
King: Mandrake the Magician #2

Jun 17, 2015

Despite the long wait between issues, I am entirely committed to this series. Roger Langridge continues to conjure up a fascinating spell bounding scriptthat captures the spirit Falk created many decades ago. His writing and reimagining if you will of those classic characters is making this a truly magical comic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
King: The Phantom #4

Jul 16, 2015

Brian Clevinger is writing a simple but fascinating story that examines corporate and political corruption, and brings with it plenty of suspense and action. It also has some really well placed funny moments, "Since when did the Phantom have two idiot sidekicks"? Which brings me to this new three-headed monster that is the Phantom, an interesting choice by Clevinger, but it works and works really well. "We are the Phantom".

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Kings Quest #1

May 4, 2016

The writing is the big winner here, as Ben Acker (Deadpool) and Heath Corson (Bizarro) have scripted an amazing first issue that was both funny and full of action. The story is narrated by Jen Harris (new Phantom) as she provides some comic relief along the way while never leading readers to believe that the situation is not dire. There is an unsuspecting twist at the end, which seriously complicates the quest that our heroes have embarked on. From Kings Watch in 2013, to the King Crossover event last year, that has led us to Kings Quest. It's these types of stories that have made the King Feature Syndicate series some of the most enjoyable comics I've read over the last few years.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Kings Quest #2

Jun 7, 2016

The second issue brings more of the same remarkable writing we saw in the first issue, delivering a perfect mix of humor and drama to go along with all the action packed sequences. Acker and Corson are capturing the spirit of the classic Kings Syndicate comic strip characters and keeping them alive with spectacular new adventures. Even if you are not a fan or have never read any of the old comics that features these characters, Kings Quest is something all comic fans should enjoy and a book that needs to be added to your pull list immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Lantern City #1

May 17, 2015

Although we are not yet entirely introduced to the Greys, Jenkins and Delaney have given us a strong debut issue that seems set to explore the systematic corruption of a ruling class and how prosperity of a few can sometimes mean the hardship of many. They really waste no time developing the story and at least the Sander character, yet it seems that there is so much more that will be explored in upcoming issues.Carlos Magno brings light to this city with a truly detailed and authentic steampunk style, backed up by Chris Blythe's strong coloring that features dominant blue shades that work well. Overall Lantern City #1 was a success and should be added to your pull list immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Lucas Stand #1

Jun 21, 2016

With a television show like Sons of Anarchy on his resume, all eyes are on Sutter in this series, but the work that Kittredge did on Coffin Hill should not be overlooked. The script that this collaborative writing team brings us in issue one is superb. Initially, after reading the solicit the premise did not seem to be quite that original. The way the story and its characters played out however was outstanding. The sunglasses and the way they are used to distinguish the demons from the humanoids is very reminiscent of They Live which I loved, and time-hopping element immediately expands the Lucas Stand universe and gives it unlimited potential. Add to that a serious subject matter that rings true for many of our veterans (and others suffering from addiction and depression), and you have an absolutely fantastic debut issue. Lucas Stand #1 is a definite must read a true comic win.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Lumberjanes #10

Jan 22, 2015

As mentioned before, this comic could do no wrong last year. Lumberjanes was widely recognized as one of the best comics of 2014, and just recently received a nomination for outstanding comic book by the GLAAD Media Awards. If the creative team continues to push this series to the max, 2015 will likely be another glorious year for this rare gem of a series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mechanism #1

Jul 27, 2016

Ienco is all over the place in this first issue, but he sort of has to be. There isn't a whole lot of background or history to this world we are introduced to, but we get just enough to keep us on track with the characters and story so far, which I thought was fantastic. The artwork was magnificent and incredibly dark, which was perfect for this sort of war ravished world we get here. Overall the series is off to a great start and should be added to your pull list immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Memetic #1

Oct 21, 2014

The visuals from Eryk Donovan are just as hypnotic as the sloth image itself, as this issue is exceptionally illustrated and mesmerizing to say the least. The story is unlike anything I've read before, and Tynion IV has created and written a remarkable first issue that is truly frightening. Memetic is an extraordinary work of art as well as a warning about the horrifying realistic threat of cyber warfare.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Miami Vice Remix #1

Mar 25, 2015

Okay, so maybe I did spoil it just a little, but I couldn't resist! This first issue was well written, with insane illustrations and colors. If you enjoyed the hit television series in the eighties, then you will surely enjoy revisiting these classic characters. If you never watched the show or weren't alive in the eighties, there is still plenty here to enjoy and it's well worth the read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Night's Dominion #1

Aug 14, 2016

Recently we have seen stories like 4 Kids Walk into a Bank and the Netflix hit phenomenon Stranger Things, where both start off with a group of kids playing a role-playing game much like Dungeons and Dragons. Well Night's Dominion could well be that fantasy game we have all imagined once before, only from the mind of Naifeh as he brings those inspirations to life in the pages of this first issue the way that he does best, with great character development and superb world-building. There is something intriguing about adding a superhero element in dark fantasy setting, and I for one cannot wait to discover what lies ahead in Naifeh's latest quest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Oddly Normal #1

Sep 16, 2014

Creator Otis Frampton, who is writing and illustrating this series, promises a story about monsters, magic, super-heroes, and time travel. My initial thoughts after reading this first issue is that Oddly Normal is a tale about a typical teenage girl, one who must deal with everyday adolescent issues like bullying, school, and parents. She is self-conscious about her looks and seems to be in desperate need of a change of scenery. Again, be careful what you wish for. Frampton's art stands out more that the story itself here, as his cartoonish style receives a very impressive compliment from the colors of Thomas Boatwright his color work.The illustrations really made this book for me, and I look forward to more of the same in the next issue as well as the story and this strange new world that Oddly is about to embark on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Penny Dora & The Wishing Box #1

Nov 4, 2014

Michael Stock it truly honoring the imagination of his daughter by expanding this idea she came up with many years ago, and transforming it into this wonderful world that is Penny Dora. In an industry that is producing so many quality all-ages comics these days, Penny Dora and the Wishing Box shines in this first issue. This is a beautifully told story and a series that all comic book readers and their children will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Princess Ugg #5

Nov 19, 2014

Princess Ugg is charming and inspiring, as Naifeh has me totally cheering for this underdog in Ulga. The only thing missing as of late is action, but it appears as if we are about to get a large dose of that in upcoming chapters. As I have mentioned in my previous reviews, the story covers all kinds of pertinent social topics such as bullying and literacy concerns. It also uncovers both the necessities and consequences of war. The series is a well written and beautifully illustrated tale that is worth a pull.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Princess Ugg #8

Mar 20, 2015

With strong story-telling and illustrations from Naifeh, along with Wuchinich's colors, Princess Ugg #8 closes out this first volume/arc on a very high note. The best part is it concludes with an assurance of future Ulga stories that I am already eagerly anticipating.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Remains #4

Nov 28, 2014

In a book that may have been under the radar, because of its digital only availability, Cullen Bunn and crew have provided us with one of the best comic horror shorts this year. Do yourselves a favor, and read this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Revival #23

Aug 27, 2014

Even with so many great new titles that Image pumps out week after week, REVIVAL continue to be one of my favorite books to read. The creative team of Seeley, Norton, and Frison continue to deliver an extraordinary series that gets stronger and more compelling with each issue. I have said it twice now and will say it again; this is one of the best collaborative teams in the business, and consistently one of Image Comics best written and illustrated ongoing graphic novels.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Southern Bastards #5

Oct 29, 2014

This is my first review of Southern Bastards, so my praise for the creators is overdue. Jason Latour's (Loose Ends) illustrations are rough, dark, and just transfixing, and it is evident on the faces of the characters he draws, panel after panel. Jason Aaron (Thor: God of Thunder) has impressed with these first five issues. He has an incredible story-telling gift and I look forward to his continued story building. Both Aaron and Latour have a love hate relationship with the south, providing us with a perfect collaboration and story that only they should tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Southern Bastards #8

Apr 2, 2015

The collaborative team that brought us the best new comic of 2014 continues their high level of story-telling with now two powerful arcs, and a series that is showing no signs of letting up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Surface Tension #1

May 19, 2015

Jay Gunn shines in this debut issue with stunning illustrations, most notably the way he depicts the sea monsters and those with the sickness, and I was very pleased with his choice of colors. Surface Tension #1 shows all the signs of a hit series with great storytelling and just the right amount of creepiness. It's an enigmatic horror adventure that was both unexpected and profound with a relevant theme that perhaps seeks to teach humanity a lesson in the most frightening way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Surgeon X #1

Sep 28, 2016

I have to say that the concept for this story immediately grabbed my attention. The idea itself was engrossing enough, but Kenney takes Surgeon X to another level by surrounding the story with fascinating characters, political intrigue and moral dilemma. It's doctors versus politicians. It's ethics versus natural selection gone wild. It's a disturbing reminder of what might occur today, with our divisiveness and our current political climate in the state that it is now. The Rosa Scott character is a complex rogue surgeon if you will, who must Surgeon X is a frightening look into the possible future of medicine and how those in power through fear and legislation can determine who lives and who dies. This first issue is a must read and the series should be added to your pull list immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Terrible Lizard #1

Nov 4, 2014

Bunn has taken on so many projects as of late, why not an all-ages comic? Terrible Lizard #1 is a fine start to a story that promises to bring more action, adventure, and monsters. Coming from the mind and imagination of Cullen Bunn, I fully anticipate this to be a fun series that can be enjoyed by both young and old readers alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Black Hood #3

Apr 21, 2015

Michael Gaydos art, coated with Kelly Fitzpatrick's hues, exudes grit and grime. A permanent duskiness amplifies the atmosphere of the comic. It's a hand in glove fit for Swierczyskis words, and the final package we're presented with is a perfect example of modern pulp fiction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #1

Oct 8, 2014

Aguirre-Sacasa delivers another unconventional, nightmarish, and exceptional take on the Archie universe with this first issue. It appears as if this series will primarily take place fifty years in the past in 1964, and it just feels like the creators can take this in so many different directions. Robert Hack just nails it with the illustrations, as he vividly captures the wickedness of this story, particularly with a young Sabrina celebrating her sixth birthday, the tree, and the female demon at the end. His choice of colors works well and his work just brings an overall high quality artistic element to this collaboration. This issue works so well that if you throw it in water, it most certainly would float. A can't miss, must pull for horror fans, you don't want to miss this issue. You've been warned.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #5

May 19, 2016

This book creeps me out so much I started having a panic attack after reading the diabolical incantation. This is of course the fault of Aguirre-Sacasa, who along with his Afterlife work is scripting some of the best work we have seen in the horror comic genre. If we have to wait almost a year in between issues for any comic book, it better be as good as Chilling Adventures of Sabrina!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Life After #5

Nov 14, 2014

Gabo continues to impress with the way he is taking on this assortment of characters. From humanoids, mutilated bodies, monsters, and angels, his pencils and colors are truly something to marvel at. This story from Fialkov is unlike anything else I am reading right now. It's almost as if Jude got caught up in some Lynchian dream, took the red pill, and ended up in this surreal multiplex known as The Life After.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Life After #8

Mar 26, 2015

The Life After continues to evolve after its eighth issue. This ensemble that Fialkov and Gabo have created stand out as some of the most imaginative albeit bizarre characters I have ever encountered in a comic book, and it reflects in both the art and the writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Private Eye #8

Sep 18, 2014

With only two issues left and no plans on making this an ongoing series, expect the last two issues to be action-packed and absolutely epic. One of the most original graphic novels and best overall comics available right now, make sure you download The Private Eye #8 at panelsyndicate.com today!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Private Eye #9

Dec 4, 2014

As expected, Vaughan delivers in issue nine, which was suspenseful, action packed, and violent. It has one hell of a cliffhanger that has me wanting more right now! If Y: The Last Man is Vaughan's masterpiece, and Saga is his current critically acclaimed darling, then The Private Eye is surelyhis best kept secret.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Sixth Gun #50

Jun 17, 2016

When someone falls in love with a story and becomes so invested in its characters, well that's an amazing thing, and that's exactly how I would describe my experience with The Sixth Gun and my journey with this series over the last few years. One of the most rewarding finales that I've ever read in comics, from beginning to end The Six Gun never lost its spirit. The quintessential supernatural western horror comic, there will never be another like it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Sixth Gun: Dust To Dust #1

Mar 11, 2015

This series will be short as it is planned only as a three issue limited series, which leads me to my lone criticism in that a character like Billjohn O'Henry deserves a much more extensive account. That being said, it is obvious that this is not about quantity but quality. At the beginning of this review I mentioned joy and hope. The joy is reading everything and anything related to this amazing western horror. The hope is that Bunn has many more stories like this that are out there just waiting to be told. Dust to Dust #1 is a personal and impassioned tale of one of Bunn's most beloved characters, and the best The Sixth Gun prequel I have read yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Walking Dead: The Alien #1

Apr 28, 2016

Vaughan has a unique talent that makes it downright impossible for readers to not get emotionally invested in the characters he creates, and this is clearly the case with both Jeff Grimes and Claudia. This is also unfortunately the problem as well, as this story may never get revisited. Much like what they are doing in the television franchise with the spin-off prequel Fear The Walking Dead, it would be absolutely incredible if Vaughan and Martin could continue to explore this particular story. The ending seems to suggest that this story is as finite as the creators suggested, yet theydefinitely leave room for the possibility of extended volumes. You can purchase The Walking Dead: The Alien at PanelSyndicate.comat whatever price you want!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Woods #8

Dec 4, 2014

Flip through the book and you'll see these kids running around this strange world, with plenty of action, mystery, and monsters thrown in. But at its core, The Woods is more than that, actually a lot more that I imagined it would be. It's about relationships, feeling different, not fitting in, and how this group of adolescents must work through these emotions to survive. It's a dark and personal tale that only Tynion himself could tell, and it's one of the smartest, deeply imaginative comic books to come out this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Woods #24

Jul 7, 2016

The Woods #24 was probably the best single issue I've read since some of its earlier releases, an easily the most emotional. Tynion's imaginative brand of story-telling still shines brightly thanks to his incredible character development. Watching the students evolve and take us to where the story has led us so far has been a joy to watch unfold, and this story truly feels like it was made for television. When you combine the kind of action and theatrical narrative that we see in The Woods, the result is a perfect formula that makes for a one of a kind comic book series!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Thomas Alsop #4

Sep 11, 2014

To complement this story we have Palle Schmidt, who continues to impress with his choice of colors, beautifully mixing shades based on the scene and or setting. So now that we have reached the halfway point of this eight issue series, I am eager to see where the last four chapters take us. Thomas Alsop has been my one of my favorite reads this year, and should be considered as one of 2014"s best new comics so far. Of course, this is highly recommended and a must pull must read series for all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Thomas Alsop #8

Jan 13, 2015

For Thomas Alsop, it may have always been about the one. But for readers, it was about the introduction to a creative team that delivered an unbelievable series. For readers, it was about September 11, 2001. For readers, it was about the three thousand. For readers, it was about Thomas Alsop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wild's End #1

Sep 9, 2014

Abnett and Culbard have introduced us to a majestically written and beautifully illustrated first issue with WILD'S END #1. The character development and story building that Culbard covers is fast and effective, as I was quickly enthralled with the plot and the cast. Clive Slipaway has a mysterious aura about him that just demands attention and easily makes him one of my newest favorite characters in comics today. Arrant with his curiosity and Fawkes and his rebellious nature are just as compelling with their own strong and unique personalities. The artwork here as mentioned earlier, is reminiscent of Petersen's Mouse Guard, perhaps not quite as detailed, but impressive none the less. A fantastic read and highly recommended first issue from this creative duo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wild's End #2

Oct 16, 2014

Culbard's illustrations are truly spectacular, and he and Abnett are creating a more visual consciousness in their world building with the maps at the end of each issue that readers will surely appreciate, as it seems that they will all connect. The manner in which they close this particular issue will surely have readers eager for next month. Wild's End #2 is yet another fantastic pull-worthy issue from this collaborative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wild's End: The Enemy Within #2

Oct 27, 2015

The art by Culbard remains as gorgeous as ever, especially with the colors on those night shots that include a radiant blue sky full of stars. We also see the return of the maps, okay it's just a partial map, but it's a map. Abnett is writing at such a high level on this series, as he continues to delivercompelling characters that you can't help but grow attached to. Accompanied with a story that you only hope will never end, Wild's End: The Enemy Within is storytelling at its best.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More