Phillip Pratt's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Bounding Into Comics Reviews: 12
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Assassin's Creed: Conspiracies #1

Aug 8, 2018

Dorison's opening chapter of Conspiracies is strong and deserves a look from the Assassin's Creed loyalist and comic book fans simply in search of a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 12: The Reckoning #3

Aug 16, 2018

Dark Horse's latest offering of Buffy the Vampire Slayer is basically everything you'd expect out of the franchise. Perhaps to its detriment. It can be a lot of the same. But if you're a 90's kid (like Moi), then this is probably your bread and butter. Visuals are adequate (generally), and all the characters speak in their usual, if not sometimes tone-deaf, manners. Fans of the franchise will most likely jive with all BtVS: The Reckoning's storyline, where those not used to the rhythm of Whedon's universe, may find it off-putting. But what kind of dweeb doesn't like the Slayer?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 12: The Reckoning #4

Sep 17, 2018

Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 12: The Reckoning is a fine end to an arc. However, I cannot say it was a worthy cap to the long run the franchise has had with Dark Horse Comics. I believe it deserved a better, more coherent sendoff. I suppose it's hard to plan a story amidst corporate maneuverings. If the creators had been given more time to wrap this up, could the book have been better across the board? I believe so. From a life-long Slayer devotee; it's a shame that such a storied and fan-loved book has to end on such a tame note. If Buffy is indeed continued under the Marvel Comics imprint, utilizing the same continuity, perhaps it won't all be for naught.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Cover (2018) #1

Sep 5, 2018

Cover #1 isn't a bad book " but it's not great either. It's an alright start and it has the potential to be interesting for anyone that's into the spy genre. However, under Bendis' pen, it suffers from the same problems as most of his books tend to. He's trying too hard to capture intrigue and suspense. Nothing feels organic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Exilium #1

Sep 13, 2018

Exilium is something of a love letter to old-school fans of Science Fiction, obviously crafted by those same fans. It's a refreshing, yet familiar read. The artwork is very pleasing. Character facial expressions and body language are impressively and consistently illustrated. Slabak's lines help emphasize both the humor and desperation within the story. Dialogue is well-crafted and downright funny in spots especially during a particularly meta exchange between Tr'U and Ken where they reference Independence Day and Spaceballs. This may only be a 6-part series, but I can easily see an entire universe spin out of Exilium. It's a fun read with lots of potential- a high recommendation for Sci-Fi fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Go Go Power Rangers #13

Oct 12, 2018

Overall, this issue was a joy to read and has me looking forward to the next, especially because I've seen some solicits that gave away an interesting character pairing. Be morphinominal and give this book a Go! Go!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mr. and Mrs. X #1

Aug 10, 2018

Outside of the couple aforementioned points, this was an awesome read, but after enjoying the R&G mini as much as I did, I didn't expect anything less from Thompson. Oscar's smooth lines only accentuate the overall experience. Their combined efforts have me looking forward to the next offering on pins and needles. This is a must-read for any X-Men, Gambit/Rogue fan or heck, anyone that loved the 90's animated series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mr. and Mrs. X #2

Aug 29, 2018

Readers that are already invested in this series won't be let down by its second offering. Fans of Deadpool, whom in my opinion, may have been given a tad too much panel time, will get a kick out of it as well. Wade is illustrated and written to the same high standards as the rest of the book. Anyone afraid of the Mr. & Mrs. X series being nothing but a 20+ page love-fest each month will be disappointed if this issue is any indication of what to expect. It's funny, action-packed, and a pleasure just to look at. It's a solid read and a high recommendation. If you picked up a floppy from your local comic shop, I suggest downloading the free digital version after the first read. You're probably going to go back a few more times.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mr. and Mrs. X #3

Sep 21, 2018

If you're not already reading the Rogue/Gambit duo-book, my friends, you're missing out. In my humble opinion, by far the series (only three issues in), has proven to be the strongest written and purely entertaining X-Men franchise book. From the first page to the last, there isn't a wasted panel. While the third part of Love and Marriage ends with the couple in a familiar predicament, it doesn't dampen the anticipation for the next issue. High marks across the board. Read. This. Book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mr. and Mrs. X #4

Oct 30, 2018

Kelly Thompson's Mr. and Mrs. X #4 started off masterfully good with a lot of really great moments between Rogue and Gambit. As always, Oscar's art was on point throughout the book. Up until the halfway mark, there is nothing to really complain about. But again, that is where it began to run into some problems, not to mention it ends on a cliffhanger we basically saw in the first issue. Fans of the books will not be discouraged (as yours truly), but I encourage anyone on the cusp to just hang in there. Future solicits promise that this is going to continue to be a fun ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
The Silencer #9

Oct 1, 2018

Dan Abnett's The Silencer #9is a great action book in what is so far an impressive series. And that says something with what appears to be a revolving door when it comes to the book's creative team. You don't normally see this much change in a stable title, especially so early on in a run. Artist, Patrick Zircher impresses with expertly worked action scenes throughout the fast-paced issue. Overall, no real problems I care to harp on. The panels flow nicely. The Silencer has proven to be consistently good, despite its production challenges. While the inevitable #1 reboot or line reshuffle can't be too far away, only being 9 issues and an annual in, it's not too late to jump on and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men: Red (2018) #7

Aug 24, 2018

Despite my critiques, X-Men Red is currently the best team-book in the franchise. Still, it can stumble over itself. Some of the more underlying themes seem out of place as Taylor attempts to contemporize the narrative. I think it'd be all the better if Taylor handled it closer in the way he does his projects over at DC (check out ‘why Lobo shouldn't have Power Ring'). Art is good, colors could be better – the script is ok, could be more focused. This giant roster of X-Men, half of which have been teammates for years with complex connections to each other, feel almost like strangers. Sadly, Gabby, the darling that she is, seems to be the only one allowed to show signs of life. With that said, X-Men Red continues to display promise. Looking forward to seeing it all come together. Cheers.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More