Robert Anderegg's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 34
7.9Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Angel Catbird #1

Aug 15, 2016

As a graphic novel, I'd say this is just okay and that the art team did a lot to salvage the story. As a PSA about cat safety, however, this is a great way to spread awareness in a fairly enjoyable manner. Clearly, Atwood cares deeply for cats and this shows in her comic debut.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bigfoot: Sword of the Earthman #5

Apr 11, 2016

This comic made me care about a secondary character by putting the reader in his shoes. I still don't know a lot about Bigfoot's motivations or personality, aside from him Conan the Barbarian-like role, but I didn't really care. This finished this issue saying "That was a good comic", but it didn't influence me enough to add this to my pull list, especially when next issue will probably shift back to Bigfoot's POV. Nothing wrong with the comic though, just no long-term appeal. Recommended for anyone interested in alien races in ancient civilizations.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Black #1

Aug 22, 2016

I am not sure whether this comic is being produced to unite people or divide them, but the internet outrage seems to point toward the latter, and that's a real shame. By solidifying the "us versus them" argument, I think the writer is more aligned with Magneto than Professor X, if you know what I mean. The comic is a very interesting concept that raises many questions about our society, but there are plenty of ways this could be improved, in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Chimichanga: Sorrow of the World's Worst Face #1

Sep 22, 2016

So, to summarize, I liked this story by Eric Powell overall, with its unusual circus folk and creepy fun artwork, but Lula was just too much to handle. Had she been cuter in some way or more likeable, this would've been a great comic. Chimichanga was a highlight for me, despite being just a repulsive as everything else. If Lula climbed into his belly and just stayed there indefinitely, I'd be happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool (2015) #13

Jun 3, 2016

Deadpool knocks it out of the park and into the parking lot in lucky #13. Not only did I get a "free" sample of the work exhibited in Daredevil and PM&IF, but I got a fantastic story. It's not flashy or cosmic or even really super (you get what I mean), but this is a fun book with action, laughs, and heart. Another plus is that it seems to happen outside of continuity, so readers of the other titles that don't like Deadpool won't feel like they missed anything! This is one of the best Deadpool comics I've read, and I've read quite a few. Everyone should read this. Well" unless you're blind like Deadpool's best friend Matt Murdock. If that's the case, then HOW ARE YOUR READING THIS!? Ha ha. Seriously though.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dreaming Eagles #4

Apr 6, 2016

Now, I will admit I am a frequenter of superhero and sci-fi comic books and normally don't stray from that genre, but Dreaming Eagles made me glad I did. There are no "wow" moments, splash pages, or twist endings. It is just a real, genuine piece of this man's life that can be used to impact the life of one of today's youth. This one breaks the sound barrier of comic standards and I highly recommend it.Rating: Five of five stars

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dungeons & Dragons (2016) #1

May 5, 2016

If you took the story from the first part of this comic and used the art from the second part, you'd have a damn good book. Sadly, the creative teams were mismatched and we get two good, but not great, entries into the Dungeons and Dragons mythos. I recommend it, but it's not going on my list of personal favorites. Individual stories get 3/5 stars, but the great individual parts of each of these is enough to warrant a higher overall rating.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Four Eyes: Hearts of Fire #4

May 4, 2016

I enjoyed Four Eyes and became very invested in the fate of the characters. This ends Act 2 of the story, whatever that means, considering the book is only 4 issues in. Even if the art isn't my normal taste, it fits the story. I do recommend it, but be aware that while this book has a boy training a dragon, this is not for children.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Henchmen: I, Henchbot #1

May 5, 2016

This issue makes me want to pick up the main Henchmen series, even though the artist is different. After seeing promotional material for the book at a recent convention, it looks like an interesting story about not only Gary but other henchpeople, all with their own gimmicks. I've read all sorts of stories about heroes, villains, sidekicks, and love interests, but this is my first glimpse into the world of those doing grunt work for the "bad guys". Thanks to Ryan Howe for the copy of "I, Henchbot" to review and hope everyone checks it out because it's a good read with a complex central character.The TPB of Henchmen is now available and “I, Henchbot” is already on issue 4.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Huck #6

Apr 21, 2016

What I love about Huck is the lack of "superheroness", despite containing many of the classic elements, and the thing is, I love superhero comics. Huck is just a normal guy with a passion for helping others and the unusual capabilities to do so. After political influence, media coverage, and the threatening of loved ones, he still feels no need to don a cape and spandex. If you have followed the book up to this point, then you probably already expect this final issue to be great and you'll pick it up. However, if you have yet to experience Huck, do yourself a favor and wait for the trade or stock up on the back issues. Reading the story in its entirety is well worth it for context. Either way, Huck is a must have.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kingsway West #1

Aug 3, 2016

I was concerned at first that this series would be too much like the AMC Original Series "Into The Badlands" after reading the pre-order description a couple of months ago. Even though I opted not to add this to my pull list, it wouldn't have regretted doing so. There is an intriguing protagonist in a mystical variation of the Wild West on a quest to find a loved one and potentially stop a destructive empire from obtaining immeasurable power. Overall, this is a success for Pak and pleasure to read, so hop on now so that you don't miss a thing.Kingsway West #1 hits your local comic book shop onAug 24, 2016.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mae #1

Apr 28, 2016

This is Gene Ha's first time writing (aside from an Iron Fist story years ago) and it's surprising how good it is. Generally, when a creator specializes in a faction of the comics community, other aspects have their growth stunted. The story flows from this guy and I can tell he's been sitting on it for a while. He openly references places like Oz and Neverland to create a template image for the audience to base the portal world on. Some creators would shy away from that, but if this is to be believed as our world, the real world, then of course you'd use any pop culture you could to relay your point. The characters and races are unique to Mae and it reads like true conversation. Look forward to seeing where this is headed in months to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
March #3

Aug 3, 2016

It's comics like these that make me proud to be an American and a comic enthusiast.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #41

Apr 13, 2016

As a self-contained story, this is a great issue to jump on if you've never picked up My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic. The only downside to doing this is that I don't know if the next issue will live up to the standard set by issue #41. Though, to be fair, the next one looks really fun if the cover is any indication. Speaking of covers, this issue has the regular cover and 3 variants, and all of them are great. I bought the Art Appreciation cover, but after reading the story, I wish I'd gotten one of the others that pay homage to Little Golden Books. Regardless, this book is stunning in story and color. Buy this book and you'll be a Brony, just like me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #15

May 13, 2016

So, to reiterate, for a comic about a costumed hero in which you never see him actually in costume, this comic is very well done, and I feel as though I appreciate the man behind the mask better than if I'd jumped into an issue that was entirely "Ninjak". While I don't recommend jumping onto a new title mid-arc, this is a good issue so I'm assuming the issue before it is good as well. I fell as though this may be a good a jumping off point as any when it comes to Ninjak, so take the plunge!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Pop Gun War: Gift #1

May 13, 2016

The dream-like theme of the story is one that plagues the reader throughout the experience of Pop Gun War. Is any of this real? Is all of it? How much is just in Sinclair's head? The direction this book takes is not a novel one, what with stories like Through the Looking Glass and The Wizard of Oz having fantastic creatures and unrealistic events. The difference is that those have a definitive "real" world versus the "dream" world. This comic tale does not, which makes for an incredibly immersive reading experience. I normally don't like using half stars, but Pop Gun Wars falls between "Good" and "Great" for me, and that is a very fine line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rapture #1

May 26, 2017

This comic has a lot going for it, mostly frontloaded into the solo journey of Tama. I believe the section about assembling the team was vital to the story, yet lost some of the momentum building up. Now that our heroes are all in the Deadside, I'm confident another dip won't occur unless there are pointless scene changes to present-day earth. If the rest of this series just keeps with the standard set by the first several pages, it's sure to be a hit!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Riverdale #1

Mar 15, 2017

I wasn't blown away by any aspect of it, but I had nothing to be disappointed in. If you do not watch the show, this comic will give spoilers to that, but if you don't care they are still fun to read. If you do watch the show, this will only add to your appreciation of what Aguirre-Sacasa is doing for the brand. Also, I know this may be a bit of a tangent, but if Riverdale lasts a while, I'd LOVE to see them incorporate his Afterlife with Archie series somehow, blending in Sabrina and Josie's involvement. It would be epic, I promise you. Anyway, back to the comic. I may not read this every month, but because it is designed as plot filler for the shows, I'm confident that I could pick up an issue after missing one or two and not feel at a loss (granted I'm also watching the show).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rough Riders #1

Apr 8, 2016

Aftershock may have their next hit with Rough Riders. You don't have to be a history buff to enjoy Rough Riders #1, even though some context may help you with some references. Pick it up either way, because it's damn good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Serving Supes #3

Apr 7, 2016

This is a weird comic, but it is a good one. It is a comedy, first and foremost, but action and character building have a prominent place in the plot. Serving Supes #3 works great as a stand-alone comic, with no previous knowledge needed for a complete story and no cliffhangers to bully the reader into buying the next issue for a resolution. This is a welcome change to the mainstream, arc-based comic standard of today. Pick it up for a laugh with no strings attached.Great, Four out of Five Stars

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Smosh #1

May 6, 2016

If you're looking for a comic actually about Smosh, look elsewhere. I honestly have no clue what they even have to do with it at all! However, if you want a funny guy story involving superpowers, arson, and sexual frustration, give this one a shot. Just remember to skip the end section.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Man/Deadpool #14

Feb 23, 2017

Overall, the creative team couldn't have been better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spot On Adventure #1

Jun 16, 2016

I know it's probably strange that I would review this one week after posting a much more critical review of a similar trade, Aw Yeah Comics!, but I think is important to note what makes the difference between an okay comic and a great one. I know kids tend to have short attention spans, but the cohesive linear plot of this comic makes a world of difference, as far as building relationships and seeing the results of actions that occur. Plus, how cool is it that a dog, a robot, and a ninja can have a battle in space and the context makes it seem totally natural. For a completely original kids comic,it doesn't get much better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Spring #5

Sep 16, 2016

As a stand alone story, this comic has a flow to it, with its dual realities playing across the same pages and plenty of exciting moments, but I feel as though this doesn't need to be tied into the Living Dead story. I know the point is to have ten unique comics all in one universe, but they're stretching a bit. The comic itself is decent at best though, and for that, I rate it accordingly.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tank Girl: Two Girls, One Tank #2

Jun 17, 2016

I really, really enjoyed this comic because it is so over the top. Why is there a taking kangaroo? Who cares! Can an aircraft lift the roof off of a building like a cookie jar lid? They just did! Tank Girl is a crazy wild ride that gives off a Mad Max vibe without trying to copy it. Move over, all you male-dominated action comics" girl power all the way! This comic proves that female empowerment is not to be underestimated because, while there is massive appeal to guys, this title shows that not all "girl comics" are devoid of gritty material. For a good time, pull Tank Girl. Actually, strike that. For a great fuggin time, PULL TANK GIRL!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #1

Sep 14, 2016

If the whole 5-issue miniseries lives up to the standard of this first issue, then it totally gets my seal of approval. The art captures realism and beauty, and the writing resonates enough to make the reader invest in the characters. Even with a limited background of these wild stories, I was able to understand the plot and appreciate the connections between humans, gorillas, and the Mangani. You'll go bananas over this!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Almighties #0

Apr 1, 2016

This is a fun book to read with great variety in art style and the foundation to several interesting characters. However, since the characters are contrived, I have a hard time believing their growth will be authentic or unique. I may pick up the first issue, just to see if this #0 preview was the basis for the series as a whole or just a sampling to make the reader situated with the Almighties universe. Either way, this is a goofy alternative to the Avengers, so long as you don't mind all the references to the actual Avengers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Mighty Zodiac #1

Apr 8, 2016

Aside from a couple questionable animal choices and a lack of humor, I really have nothing to complain about on this book. It humanizes the characters enough to be relatable without sacrificing their unique physiology that differentiates them from one another. For children with short attention spans, this comic may feel like it needs more action, but I appreciated the dialogue setting up why the battle must be fought and makes it that much more meaningful. I recommend this for anyone, especially kids, who are interested in reading comics but don't know where to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X'ed #3

May 16, 2016

As a standalone issue, the reader will be left scratching their head about what's happening and why any of it matters. Even with the recap on the first page, there are so many characters and layers we miss in the first two issues (especially the second) that you do yourself a disservice by jumping in at this point. I recommend starting from the beginning. It's in issue 3, however, that the plot begins to thicken and revelations are made. For a thrilling and dark journey through the mind, pick up X'ed #3, in stores May 18th.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
X-Men: Gold (2017) #1

Apr 7, 2017

X-Men Gold #1 is what fans have been waiting for. No crazy events. No end of the world circumstance. Just heroes being heroes when needed and enjoying down time when they can manage it. This is called "Back to the Basics" for a reason. I hope to see much more one on one moments between characters and unique usage of abilities and meaning behind the perpetual motion that is being a superhero team. As for this comic specifically though, I'd say it is a great start to what could be the best X-book in years.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #9

Aug 2, 2017

If ever there was a Marvel comic to break down social prejudices and equal rights, X-Men is it (next to the obvious choice of actual POC titles). Well done Marc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar #46

Apr 22, 2016

As I said, I didn't go into this with high expectations because indie comics can be hit or miss. I've been reading Faith, but this is a way different genre and creative team (with awesome first names, I may add). X-O Manowar #46 delivers a futuristic battle between an alien race and Visigoths in flight suits. It's fun action with a meaningful dialogue on human (or alien) freedoms which I think many comic readers would enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Z-Men #5

Sep 16, 2016

I can't say this is the worst comic I've ever read, because there are a few redeeming qualities, like coloring, various action scenes, and choice dialogue. I will say this lack fluidity of pace and structure, and that the writing severely lacks. Sorry, but this should've stayed dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Zombie Tramp (2014) #22

Apr 21, 2016

Basically, you know what you're getting yourselves into when you read the title and see the cover of Zombie Tramp #22. The art and writing are what you'd expect, but for those likely to pick this up, this is an acceptable standard. I can't rate this any higher than three stars solely based on the premise of the book, even if it does accomplish what it sets out to do. It's extremely mature, so read at your own risk.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More