Robot Overlord's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 21
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8
Action Comics (2011) #1

Sep 8, 2011

At this point, all i can say is, "Well played Mr. Morrison. Well played."

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Baltimore: The Curse Bells #1

Aug 7, 2011

STEPHEN: Bottom line for me... I like it. The first series seemed to take a while to get started, but here, the action is right in our face. The art is okay, but it seems that this is the style we get in every Mignola penned book where he doesn't do the art. It works, and it is a recognizable look, but in the end, I wouldn't mind seeing something new. Overall, Baltimore: The Curse Bells #1 gets 3.5 Stars out of 5 from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bermuda #4

Oct 23, 2021

It's the grand finale as Bermuda tries to save the world, or a world, from the machinations of the Mer!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #14

Jun 23, 2021

As more monsters roam the Earth, the Sangeryes' work slowly starts to bring people together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Captain America (2011) #1

Jul 17, 2011

I'm fairly positive on the issue overall. The chase sequences, and mystery are cool, but retcons and new characters who have a history with the characters suddenly reappearing have me cautious. I think the Brubaker/McNiven team have done a fine job earning 3.5 Stars from me. I'm up for a few more issues to see where this goes...

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Daisy (2021) #3

Feb 11, 2022

Lindsay is reunited with Conor, but her life takes an unexpected twist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Daredevil (2011) #2

Aug 21, 2011

STEPHEN: For the third time, Marvel has been able to get me more interested in the 616 Universe (Amazing Spider-Man, Captain America, and now Daredevil), and if things continue to on this path, I'm probably going to have Daredevil become a regular pull on my monthly list. While I don't think the second issue was as strong as the first, I really enjoyed the pacing, the side moments, and the art a great deal. I'm giving Daredevil #2 4 out of 5 Stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2011) #1

Sep 8, 2011

Bottom line for me - This is a fantastic way to kick off this book. It's got all the right elements for a noir detective tale, and while it is grim, it doesn't come off as the grim and gritty Batman we've known since Frank Miller gave him a facelift. The final page of the issue had my jaw hanging open, as the seriousness of what the Joker was planning became apparent, heightened only by the great art. This is a must buy book from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Future State (2021): Catwoman #2

Feb 19, 2021

One evil corporation, one train, and two daring plots converge explosively!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Goosebumps: Secrets of the Swamp #2

Nov 6, 2020

Goosebumps: Secrets of the Swamp #2 throws us right into the adventure that was foreshadowed last time " the monsters in the swamp. I think contrasting an adventure in real-life with the fantasy game is a nice touch, and I am interested to see if the creative team did indeed do a tweak on classic werewolves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Grim (2022) #8

Feb 18, 2023

Grim #8 takes a Jess who was once so desperate to know more about herself and thrusts her into a situation that keeps getting worse. At least she still has a couple of friends, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2011) #1

Aug 31, 2011

Justice League #1 is a strong issue, and certainly not the failure that so many nay-sayers have been decrying.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Karmen #1

Mar 14, 2021

Karmen #1 is difficult to describe, but is an entertaining read nonetheless. Karmen as a character is delightfully bonkers, turning Catalina's situation into the blackest of black comedies, but also showing the kindest of reactions to her situation. This is a series to watch.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kaya (2022) #1

Oct 7, 2022

Jin may be destined to save the world, but it is Kaya who is going to get him there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Man's Best (2024) #2

Apr 25, 2024

Herding dogs is no easier than herding cats.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Once & Future #7

Mar 26, 2020

An old enemy lurks in the Otherworld and a new enemy arrives on the scene!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Once & Future #27

Jul 6, 2022

As the end of the year draws close, the battle for which Arthur will reign begins!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Dog of War #3

Jun 11, 2023

Deep Space Nine #3 balances light-hearted fun and serious drama seemingly effortlessly. The twists and turns are carefully laid out, giving us pay-offs that satisfy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
The Wolf and the Crow #1

May 2, 2020

Click Here To Order This Book

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Weekly World News #1

Jan 17, 2010

A novelty, whether you love it or hate it. I like the art, I like the story (although some of the jokes I swear were in the Harry Canyon segment of Heavy Metal 30 years ago)

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wynd (2020): The Throne in the Sky #1

Aug 24, 2022

If you are at all curious about Wynd: The Throne in the Sky #1, it is a solid jumping-on point that fills you in on the story so far and sets up the heightened stakes for this arc. The characters are diverse, and the world-building is fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More