Robot Overlord's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 9
8.3Avg. Review Rating

8
Action Comics (2011) #1

Sep 8, 2011

At this point, all i can say is, "Well played Mr. Morrison. Well played."

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Baltimore: The Curse Bells #1

Aug 7, 2011

STEPHEN: Bottom line for me... I like it. The first series seemed to take a while to get started, but here, the action is right in our face. The art is okay, but it seems that this is the style we get in every Mignola penned book where he doesn't do the art. It works, and it is a recognizable look, but in the end, I wouldn't mind seeing something new. Overall, Baltimore: The Curse Bells #1 gets 3.5 Stars out of 5 from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Captain America (2011) #1

Jul 17, 2011

I'm fairly positive on the issue overall. The chase sequences, and mystery are cool, but retcons and new characters who have a history with the characters suddenly reappearing have me cautious. I think the Brubaker/McNiven team have done a fine job earning 3.5 Stars from me. I'm up for a few more issues to see where this goes...

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Daredevil (2011) #2

Aug 21, 2011

STEPHEN: For the third time, Marvel has been able to get me more interested in the 616 Universe (Amazing Spider-Man, Captain America, and now Daredevil), and if things continue to on this path, I'm probably going to have Daredevil become a regular pull on my monthly list. While I don't think the second issue was as strong as the first, I really enjoyed the pacing, the side moments, and the art a great deal. I'm giving Daredevil #2 4 out of 5 Stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2011) #1

Sep 8, 2011

Bottom line for me - This is a fantastic way to kick off this book. It's got all the right elements for a noir detective tale, and while it is grim, it doesn't come off as the grim and gritty Batman we've known since Frank Miller gave him a facelift. The final page of the issue had my jaw hanging open, as the seriousness of what the Joker was planning became apparent, heightened only by the great art. This is a must buy book from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2011) #1

Aug 31, 2011

Justice League #1 is a strong issue, and certainly not the failure that so many nay-sayers have been decrying.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Once & Future #7

Mar 26, 2020

An old enemy lurks in the Otherworld and a new enemy arrives on the scene!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
The Wolf and the Crow #1

May 2, 2020

Click Here To Order This Book

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Weekly World News #1

Jan 17, 2010

A novelty, whether you love it or hate it. I like the art, I like the story (although some of the jokes I swear were in the Harry Canyon segment of Heavy Metal 30 years ago)

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More