Shawn A. Warner's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geekery Magazine Reviews: 24
9.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Action Comics (2016) #1000

Apr 19, 2018

Written as it is, as an anthology it is hard to judge pace or story construction, however most of the short pieces in this issue stand on their own merit. Tomasi, Snyder, Johns and Donner being the heads of the class with strong offerings from King, Simonson and Jurgens. This is a milestone marking issue and being that it is held to quite a different standard, more celebratory than storytelling, however Action Comics #1000 delivers in ways most of these types of tomes fall flat. Sure DC pick the best of the best talent-wise when it came time to put this super shindig together and that cannot help but pay off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Action Comics (2016) #1001

Jul 30, 2018

Although I am a huge fan of Bendis' work at Marvel, I confess to a bit oftrepidationwhen I first learned of him taking on Superman. Those early concerns have completely disappeared and I am strapped in for the long haul with Bendis at the wheel. He has provided a unique take on Superman that is more about the man than the super aspect. This issue of Action Comics, perhaps more than any of the Bendis Superman issues to date is an example of that human aspect of the superhero. Moreover, Bendis has shown there is more separating Clark and Superman than a pair of glasses and a tie.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #1

Jul 12, 2018

Nick Spencer and Ryan Ottley fill some pretty big shoes with their combined talents, not just Dan Slott and company's tremendous run, but the daunting task of taking on one of comic book's greatest and longest running titles. They expertly stake their claim with an exciting and engrossing first issue, the opening to what is sure to be an entertaining and thought-provoking run. I mean, this is the guy who made Cap an agent of Hydra and made it all make sense in the end, so I'm ready for a fun ride with lots of unsuspected twists and turns through unexplored areas as well as those more familiar, friendly neighborhoods.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #11

May 2, 2018

While I still don't believe Astonishing X-Men has lived up to its potential, this is another in a run of solid issues, entertaining to read and exciting to look at. Charles Soule has done a good job with the title, however I think the writer's work on solo books far exceeds his work on team based fare.I have been here since the first issue of his run and I am looking forward to a thrilling final chapter to close it out. I am certain Mr. Soule and company will deliver. 3.5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #14

Aug 6, 2018

This issue is full of reasons to love the X-Men, time-tested reasons like Banshee's iconic costume and new reasons like writer Matthew Rosenberg's spot on dialog and fast paced, multi-layered narrative. I would love to see this creative team stick around for a good long run, they have the imagination and talent to deliver the goods.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2016) #686

Mar 29, 2018

This is another solid issue in the No Surrender arc that keeps up the super fast pace while giving us enough story to fill our brains while our eyes feast on a veritable smorgasbord of mind melting visuals. All this while three of the top writers in the industry show off their character building chops like nobody's business, particularly on the new and improved Hulk as violence monger. This is Marvel Comics, it's what sets them apart from DC, the bombastic images and way over the top plots that meld modern ideas with classic ideals.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #48

Jun 11, 2018

Tom Kings sets the flagship Batman book back on solid ground after the slightlyunderwhelming"War of Jokes and Riddles" and more recently "The Gift". The writer strips away pretense and gets right to it as he sets the Dark Knight Detective and the Clown Prince of Crime on a collision course. Mikel Janin and June Chung add their combined talents to make this issue visually stunning. King's narrative is engrossing and as always extremely well written. I am a huge fan of his work because of his brilliant storytelling. If you have cooled on Batman I am here to tell you to get back on this ride is not over by a long shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #50

Jul 4, 2018

Issue after issue this Batman feels less like Batman, it could be that I was spoiled by the legendary Snyder/ Capullo run that rarely missed a beat, but I am more inclined to think that Tom King is a brilliant writer who has taken a few wrong turns on his journey to put his mark indelibly upon a hero bigger than any one writer. I am excited to see what shakes out in Gotham after the events of this arc have cooled, I believe King will land on his feet and go on to craft more and better tales of the Dark Knight Detective.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: White Knight #6

Mar 7, 2018

This issue offers some of the strongest character work thus far while propelling the plot forward and never skimping on the action. One of the fastest paced issues in the series, this one starts off strong but really hits its stride in the final act of the issue, cover to cover this one kills. 4/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Bolt #12

Apr 5, 2018

This is one of those rare series that works like a symphonic piece of music; it has moments of quiet reflection followed by crescendos of exciting, bombastic action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Panther (2016) #170

Feb 28, 2018

This issue is a pure Black Panther story, it bristles with electricity and treats the eyes and brain to enough sequential art magnificence to hold us until next issue while leaving us hungry for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Panther (2018) #1

May 29, 2018

As a complete issue, Black Panther #1 is about the strongest issue on the racks this week. It lacks nothing as it over does nothing. The book is so balanced even Thanos with his insatiable appetite for balance would love it. Seriously Coates and Acuna have crafted a definitive first issue, it is intriguing without being needlessly pedantic and confusing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Catwoman (2018) #1

Jul 4, 2018

Joelle Jones has created an entertaining and intriguing debut issue full of fantastic visuals and first-rate character work. The dialog rings true and the overall writings is extremely solid. Very often a new number one is laden with superfluous exposition and tons of set up making for a laborious read at best. That is not the case here, I am definitely sticking around for the next chapter in this exciting new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cave Carson Has An Interstellar Eye #1

Mar 22, 2018

Jon Rivera dives right in without missing a step, he and Gerard Way have taken this obscure character and made him relevent and entertaining with the first series and I see no stopping with this new foray deeper into Cave Carson's world albeit via space. Rivera's wit could cut your fingers while turning the pages it's so dang sharp, but it's his masterful storytelling and deep character work that makes this out of this world premise so human and elicit such human responses.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadly Class #33

Apr 12, 2018

This issue contains some super deep character work pulling back the curtain a bit further enabling us to see what lies inside some of the darkest shadows in a world full of them. Remender continues to prove Deadly Class belongs on the pull lists of those of us in love with the art of storytelling whether in the valleys or at the peaks, a good story is just that and one thing I have come to know as fact is that Rick Remender delivers good stories. 4/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doom Patrol (2016) #11

Apr 26, 2018

The Young Animal imprint carries on and while Doom Patrol was its flagship title its future is uncertain. However, what is certain is that Gerard Way and company collaborated on eleven top-notch issues and a crossover mini event that confused some, but for those of us willing to dig deep we found solid sequential art gold.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gideon Falls #3

May 18, 2018

Lemire is a master of the slow burn and he is raising the bar with this one, the onion skin is slowly pulled away revealing just enough to keep the pace deliberate and steady. I certainly confess to being a huge fan of Lemire's work in all the various genres he has proven himself in, but Gideon Falls is that rare comic book I would unreservedly recommend to all readers, anyone who enjoys an engrossing thought-provoking plot and characters fully fleshed out and as human as your next door neighbor. If you haven't jumped on this one yet I would certainly grab the trade when it comes out or just pick up 1 and 2 in back issues and join the fun now. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #50

Aug 13, 2018

This final issue serves as a challenge to the next creative team, just as Robert Venditti's task of following Geoff Johns was a tough one, so too is the task now at hand of following him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hunt For Wolverine: Adamantium Agenda #1

May 9, 2018

Overall this is an extremely solid set up issue with lots of first-rate storytelling going on both visually and written. Taylor does a fabulous job of setting the stage for something super big to happen. I cannot wait for the second issue of this one and that is not something I was expecting to be saying. 4/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #4

Jul 23, 2018

Although we are only four issues into this run it is very quickly becoming my favorite on-going title. It delivers on all fronts, it's entertaining, it's verbose and imaginative. Snyder gives us heaping amounts of new and exciting elements without discarding what has made Justice League the greatest team title in comic book history. The balance of tone between darker elements and lighter moments is precise giving this book a depth not equaled by anything on the racks today. If you are looking for that one book that encapsulates everything we love about superhero comic books, the wait is over. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League: No Justice #4

Jun 5, 2018

JL:NJ was a resounding success in that it not only revitalized an a-tier title that has recently been all but forgotten, but it illuminated the terrain in which the further adventures of the Justice League will be set.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Man of Steel (2018) #4

Jun 22, 2018

Bendis has, in just 4 issues, placed his mark indelibly upon this title. It remains to be seen how he will handle a long run on Superman, but he is off to a respectable start.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Slots #6

Mar 16, 2018

At the end of this first story arc I feel a bit dirty but, loving it. Slots is possibly the most fun you can have without jumping in a convertible with Hunter S. Thompson and heading to Vegas yourself. It's a vicarious crime spree with enough blood, sweat and bruises to last, well at least until the next issue hits the racks. If you like crime stories, MMA fighting and lots of guns it's a safe bet you will love Slots as much as I did. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thor (2018) #2

Jul 2, 2018

Thor #2 continues to reveal the events of the WAR of Realms while maintaining an entertaining fusion of old and new characters. Jason Aaron crafts his Asgardian narrative with an eye toward the untold future and a foot firmly planted in the storied past of continuity. Visually, Mike del Mundo's stunning images are the stuff of our most frightening nightmares tempered by the visions of our wildest dreams. If you have been living off world and missed Aaron's amazing Thor run thus far, now is your chance to jump on. I highly recommend doing so. 4/5

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More