Tatiana Christian's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Crux, Comic Booked Reviews: 31
7.8Avg. Review Rating

10
47 Ronin #2

May 10, 2013

Overall, I highly recommend Ronin 47 - it's an intriguing story about politics and power, with great art and wonderful colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amala's Blade #1

May 10, 2013

Overall, Amala's Blade is a really great read, and I'm curious to learn more about her past, her work as an assassin and the overall structure of the world she inhabits. I'd highly recommend it for anyone interested in a short series with great art and beautiful colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amelia Cole #5

May 10, 2013

In the end, I'd highly recommend Amelia Cole and the Unknown World #5 to old and new readers alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Aquaman (2011) #0

May 10, 2013

I've never read Aquaman before this, but I'm not sure this was a good introduction to the character. Maybe the series is better over the long-term versus individual issues; I'm interested enough in Aquaman the character to keep reading. But I'd only recommend this issue if you're a fan of Johns' writing, and have been following Aquaman since the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Artful Daggers #2

Mar 4, 2013

Overall Artful Daggers is a well-crafted, unusual comic that I didn't find appealing, but wouldn't warn anyone against.  

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Black Kiss 2 #4

Jul 11, 2012

Overall, I would recommend Black Kiss II #4 to anyone who didn't mind being caught reading it - the covers are graphic, the dialogue is vulgar, and sex and other explicit activities abound. If you don't mind someone peering over your shoulder as you read about the main character and her exploits, then perhaps you'll enjoy Black Kiss II. Just don't expect anything mind-blowing or earth shattering. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2011) #0

May 10, 2013

Hopefully the issues get better with time and we'll get to see more of Selina's past, and who some of these characters are and what importance they'll have in her life. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2011) #14

May 10, 2013

Generally speaking, I think I'm getting a much better understanding of who Selina (as Catwoman is) and I definitely want to continue reading Catwoman if the same creative team who did this issue continues to work on her in the future. A must-read for any Catwoman fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Damsels #3

May 10, 2013

Overall, I can't say I would recommend Damsels #3. Even though I love the idea of transforming old fairy tales into comics, the same types of stories keep getting told, and it all becomes rather stale rather quickly. Let's create something new (please).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Emily and the Strangers #2

May 10, 2013

Overall, I enjoyed Emily and the Strangers - the plot is straight forward but interesting, and the art is simple but diversifies the cast. A great read for all ages.  

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Green Lantern (2011) #0

May 9, 2012

Overall, I'd have to give Green Lantern #0 two stars (out of five). It didn't suck me into the GL universe as a new reader, I wasn't entirely gripped by Baz or his story, and the writing felt both linear and simple. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellraiser #19

May 10, 2013

Everything about this issue is superb, and I definitely plan on going back and picking up the trades so I can get caught up on where the series is going. Between the great art, the interesting story (from what I can tell) and recognizable characters - I can't recommend this issue enough. (So now I'm really excited to add this to my pull pile!). 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellraiser: The Dark Watch #1

May 10, 2013

Overall I found Barker's and Seifert's writing excellent - the story never felt slow, and I enjoyed seeing the female Cenobite in a different role. Dark Watch #1 is really good - but it's clearly not a stand-alone, so I would mostly recommend this to fans of the franchise, specifically, the other Hellraiser titles. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Jennifer Blood: First Blood #1

Sep 12, 2012

Overall, I liked Jennifer Blood, and I'd love to check out her brunette incarnation as well. I'm looking forward to seeing Jennifer avenge her parents. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lot 13 (2012) #1

May 10, 2013

So I would highly recommend Lot #13 for lots of reasons, for lots of people: if you're new to horror and want something frightening to read, or you're a seasoned horror fan and enjoy ghost stories. If you're interested in an art style that's unlike a lot of mainstream comics, and, most importantly, it's not about vampires (which is basically a zillion brownie points in my book). 

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Lot 13 (2012) #2

May 10, 2013

I don't necessarily recommend Lot #13 since there's some violence against women, but if you happen to check it out, you might not be disappointed with other aspects of this second issue. 

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Lot 13 (2012) #3

Feb 1, 2013

While #1 seemed very promising, it doesn't seem that #3 has turning out to be much different than any other bloodthirsty ghost horror story. I couldn't recommend Lot 13, a comic that doesn't challenge me intellectually or emotionally, and doesn't really leave me wanting more. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Mara #1

May 10, 2013

While I didn't find Mara to be well-written, and I'm not sure drawing people is Doyle's calling, Mara has an intriguing plot that'll definitely have me coming back for seconds.  

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mara #2

May 10, 2013

 As her superpowers continue to develop, I'm excited to read the next issue of Mara.  

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nuclear Winter #1

Jan 14, 2013

Overall, I'd recommend this comic to anyone interested in non-American work, and those who like science-fiction backdrops for their webcomics!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Phabula #1

May 10, 2013

Overall, Phabula is a really great new comic and I'm curious to see how the heroine's adventures turn out!  

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Plume #1

Jan 17, 2013

Over all, I'd definitely recommendPlume #1 to anyone who enjoys adventure, the Old West and pretty pictures.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #8

May 10, 2013

Saga is a very unique, wonderful story that I'd recommend to anyone. As a bonus, at the end of each issue, he answers fan letters about the series! So drop whatever you're doing, and check out this series now! 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Savage Skullkickers #1

May 10, 2013

With above average art, and great penciling by Huang - Savage Skullkickers #1 is a visually stunning issue with a lot of effort and heart poured into it. While I didn't personally enjoy Savage Skullkickers, I'd highly recommend this for anyone interested in unconventional storytelling techniques and an all around well made comic. 

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Snapshot #1

Feb 11, 2013

Although the story seems really worthwhile, this issue didn't bring me to care enough Jake or what happens to him to invest inSnapshots #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Soulfire Vol. 4 #3

May 12, 2012

In conclusion, I'd recommend Soulfire #3 to current readers and new readers alike who want to try out some cool fantasy (with dragons) - the writing is good, and the story is really intriguing.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Star Wars (2013) #1

Jan 9, 2013

I wouldnt recommend Star Wars #1 unless you can push through pure exposition and vapid story telling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sword of Sorcery #1

May 10, 2013

While I probably won't be reading anymore issues of Sword of Sorcery, I think this would make a great title for anyone who loves high fantasy, Amethyst in general, or is a huge fan of magnificent lines and colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The High Ways #1

Jan 16, 2013

The only awkward thing about The Highways is how the panels are placed. It seemed atypical than what I normally read, and it was difficult to really follow along at first. Hopefully, by the next issue, I'll get used to it and it won't be a problem. I'm looking forward to issue #2. 

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Rocketeer: Hollywood Horror #1

May 10, 2013

But if you're looking for originality or even just female characters taking charge - you won't find it in Rocketeer: Hollywood Horror #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Womanthology - Space #3

May 12, 2012

In general, Womanthology: Space #3 is a good introduction to amateur creators, unique stories you might not see in mainstream comics and offers an excellent opportunity to support a fantastic initiative.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More