Tony Rhea's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicsOnline Reviews: 41
9.0Avg. Review Rating

10
Absolute Power (2024) #1

Jul 3, 2024

Absolute Power #1 delivers a solid opening issue, and sets up some fantastic and intriguing events for the follow-on issues. This is an absolute must read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Adventures of Superman: Jon Kent (2023) #5

Jul 5, 2023

Adventures of Superman – Jon Kent #5 is a fantastic read, and I think the events of this series will shape the Jon Kent we see in the future. If you were to spend money on just one comic this week, I think you've found it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Adventures of Superman: Jon Kent (2023) #6

Aug 8, 2023

The INJUSTICE universe continues to hold interest for readers, and this 6-issue series has certainly renewed my interest in it, as well as solidified my interest in Jon Kent's continued development. As much as I enjoyed the issue, the mechanism for Jon getting back home is probably the low point, as it feels like a very convenient thing for Cyborg to have developed out of the blue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ava's Demon (2023): Reborn #1

May 24, 2023

Overall, Ava's Demon Book One: Reborn was an enjoyable volume that sets the stage for a very interesting adventure. Maybe break out some shades to enjoy the vibrant and colorful panels if you have sensitive eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and Robin (2023) #5

Jan 9, 2024

Batman and Robin continues to be a fun take on these two characters that manages to surprise and delight, while maintaining the high standards for Batman books that readers expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond: Neo-Gothic (2023) #6

Jan 4, 2024

I hope that we get to see more of Kyle going forward, as he is a fantastic addition to this universe. It remains to be seen whether or not he will continue to be by Terry's side when Batman Beyond eventually returns, but I would think it to be a missed opportunity if he wasn't. The entire creative team should be proud of the fantastic, tragic and touching story they have told in this series that has left me wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: The Brave and the Bold (2023) #2

Jun 30, 2023

If this is the style that we can continue expecting from Batman: The Brave and the Bold, we're in for quite a treat. The stories within have done a great job at investing the reader in sticking around for the next chapter, while presenting an opportunity for some wonderful one-offs that can serve to deepen our connection to these characters and their struggles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Birds of Prey (2023) #2

Oct 5, 2023

Birds of Prey #2 is fun and funny, and will provide you with a great way to distract yourself for a little while from the mundanity of your work/school week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Birds of Prey (2023) #3

Nov 14, 2023

Birds of Prey #3 feels like a classic adventure comic that is more than worthy of your hard-earned dollars, and this series has consistently been on point, so you would be well served in buying it month-to-month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Blue Beetle (2023) #1

Sep 6, 2023

A lot of opportunity has been gained with this issue. The new antagonist looks great, and I hope we get some more time with them in the next issue, and there is obviously a great foundation for some big growth for Jaime. If you're remotely interested in Blue Beetle, this issue is a win.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Blue Beetle (2023) #2

Oct 5, 2023

Blue Beetle #2 is a fun and fantastic read, and as the second issue in what is becoming one of the more interesting DC books, it's indicative of a coming hot streak for Trujillo and team as they take us on a raucous ride with ever-rising stakes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Blue Beetle (2023) #4

Dec 19, 2023

Blue Beetle #4 brings us a story about growth and difficult choices, and I hope that this growth is delivered for more than just Jaime, as Trujillo has done a great job of making readers invested in these characters thus far. The potential is definitely there, and I am here for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
City Boy (2023) #2

Jun 27, 2023

City Boy should definitely be on your “must read” list. Superman may be the most powerful man in Metropolis, but that doesn't mean he is the most interesting. Pak, Jung, and Gho should be proud of their work on this issue, and you should be excited to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2023) #1

Sep 26, 2023

This is easily one of the best first issues I've read in quite some time. I expected good, but got outstanding. DC has really tapped into something special with this team, and even if you haven't read a Flash book in a while, this issue serves as an excellent (and excellent looking) jumping on point. Do yourself a favor and spend your hard-earned money on this issue this week. You won't be sorry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern (2023) #4

Oct 20, 2023

If you haven't read this series yet, or any Green Lantern series prior, this new run is a great jumping on point. It briefly covers what has come before, but is very much a new beginning for Hal Jordan as well. Green Lantern #4 is a great issue, and shouldn't be missed!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern: War Journal (2023) #2

Oct 20, 2023

Green Lantern: War Journal #2 is a must read, hands down. This series is off to a strong start, and for Johnson and team, it looks like the only way is up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
In Hell We Fight! (2023) #1

Jun 1, 2023

If you find yourself looking for a little fun, and a lot of personality, In Hell We Fight! #1 has both.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Knight Terrors: The Joker (2023) #2

Aug 1, 2023

This issue is fun and nuts, and should definitely be a part of this event that you take the time to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mech Cadets (2023) #1

Aug 8, 2023

If you're fan of comics with a lot of heart (or a comics fanor a fan with a heart), this comic is for you! This will be a series to watch, and I for one, will be waiting each month for the next great issue to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mech Cadets (2023) #2

Sep 14, 2023

Mech Cadets #2is fantastic, and if you haven't picked it up yet, you really should. This series is a standout of the Mecha genre, and this issue is quite possibly the best so far between Mech Cadet Yu and Mech Cadets. This is an easy “buy this if you only buy one comic this week” for me, and I think anyone else that reads it would agree.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Peacemaker Tries Hard! (2023) #3

Jul 4, 2023

Pugh's work in this issue is nothing to sneeze at, either. A barstool never felt so lonely. The little details, like a bloody handprint or a tampon plug (you'll get it) are a nice touch, as well as the flavor text accompanying some of the heaviest hits in the issue. “Everybody cries, dammit!” is probably the best panel in the issue. They sure do, Peacemaker, they sure do.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sea Serpent's Heir: Black Wave #2

Aug 18, 2023

Pablo Tunica has an amazing flair for character design, and does a fantastic job with giving every character a unique look and life. Aella, once again wows through the art, with the varying designs for her different uses of the power gifted her by Xir. As much as I'm a fan of his character design, it is the world he has drawn that is the true star in this book. Each locale is its own, and this world truly feels as if it was established by incredibly diverse groups of people. The standout here is the Dawn City, Lys Kaleeb. This holy city looks incredible, while also looking as the malevolent "church that calls it home.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shazam! (2023) #6

Dec 19, 2023

This wonderful six-issue Shazam! story has been capped off in a great way, and the story it sets up couldn't be more interesting. Waid and Mora have caught my attention in a big way with this issue and this series, and I can't wait to see where they take us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles x Stranger Things #1

Jul 11, 2023

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles/Stranger Things #1 is a fun, nostalgia-driven romp that combines two of our favorite franchises in a fantastic way that feels like settling in for a Saturday Morning Special Event cartoon. If you enjoy either franchise, you should definitely check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles x Stranger Things #1

Jul 28, 2023

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles/Stranger Things #1 is a fun, nostalgia-driven romp that combines two of our favorite franchises in a fantastic way that feels like settling in for a Saturday Morning Special Event cartoon. If you enjoy either franchise, you should definitely check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Bone Orchard Mythos: Tenement #1

Jun 1, 2023

Lemire, Sorrentino and Stewart once again leave me enthralled, and continue a trail of excellence that will redefine horror for the next generation.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Titans (2023) #2

Jun 20, 2023

Titans #2 is a great example of when something isnt broken, dont try to fix it. This great issue is looking like the beginning of a great run on this team, and you should be getting in on it now whether you had previously read Titans or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vigil (2023) #6

Dec 3, 2023

The team behind this comic should be extremely proud of what they've created. The tie-ins to other DC properties are great, but this comic would stand just as well on it's own. I'm glad that we will continue to see more adventures with this team, and I'm onboard with whatever Ram V decides to do with it next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Void Rivals (2023) #5

Nov 14, 2023

Void Rivals #5 is easily taking a “must-buy” spot for this week. With Robert Kirkman and Lorenzo De Felici at the helm, this series should continue to absolutely rock.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wild's End (2023) #1

Jun 20, 2023

Wild's End #1 is an intriguing way to start this story that invites you to be left as in-the-dark as its characters, and does a great job of world/mystery building.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
WildC.A.T.S. (2022) #8

Jun 14, 2023

WildC.A.T.s #8 is an exciting and fun read, and should be one of the titles you are watching month-to-month. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
WildC.A.T.S. (2022) #10

Aug 9, 2023

Overall, this run of WildC.A.T.S continues to deliver and to excite. I continue to find myself looking forward to each issue, confident that I will be entertained and excited. Do yourself a favor and jump on board if you haven't already (especially since Volume 1 releases later this month, collecting the first six issues!).

View Issue       View Full Review
8
WildC.A.T.S. (2022) #11

Sep 26, 2023

The next issue is sure to be climactic, and I'm eager to see how Rosenberg and team tackle what is sure to be a fantastic issue. Grifter and the team have a huge challenge ahead of them, but the right team is steering this boat into the harbor, so it will be great no matter how it plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WildC.A.T.S. (2022) #12

Dec 3, 2023

I'm more than satisfied with this conclusion to this story, and excited for the future of these characters. Nothing but good things have been delivered, and hopefully there are great things yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2023) #1

Sep 19, 2023

This book is firing on all cylinders. The action, story, and art have been turned up to eleven. King's name is already a “satisfaction guaranteed” sticker, but this book will put its entire team on your radar (if they weren't already). Never before have I been this interested in a Wonder Woman comic book, but the next issue can't come out fast enough. As stated on the cover, a new era (truly) begins!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2023) #2

Oct 24, 2023

Wonder Woman #2 is a fantastic issue of a series that is starting very strong. There are some other great comics out this week, but this is the one you should buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2023) #7

Mar 19, 2024

Wonder Woman #7 is highly enjoyable, and while the story it tells isn't directly relevant to the narrative of Wonder Woman, the underlying relationships it plays on are.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2023) #8

May 26, 2024

Wonder Woman #8 continues a trend of fantastic story-telling from DC, and stands well above many other issues you could purchase this month. This is an easy "must buy for me, and I think you will feel the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
World's Finest: Teen Titans (2023) #1

Jul 11, 2023

World's Finest: Teen Titans #1 is a great setup for what looks to be a fun and classic story. Waid and the rest of the team have captured something great within these pages, and it just might be lightning in a bottle.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
World's Finest: Teen Titans (2023) #2

Aug 1, 2023

ComicsOnline recommends this issue to fans of the Teen Titans, but especially to those fans who have young teens in their lives. Stories like this, relating normal teenagers and their issues to these larger-than-life heroes, are a great way of sparking important conversations that may be awkward and difficult but are altogether important ones to be able to have.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men (2021): Hellfire Gala 2023 #1

Jul 28, 2023

The losses in this book are catastrophic and shocking, and it would be wonderful to see some characters rise from this event with new-found purpose, and for some characters that have been hiding in the background to take center stage. With all there is to unpack, this single issue has bred so many talking points that will keep the comics community buzzing for months to come. I, for one, will be devouring every moment of this event. I recommend you do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More