Batman: The World OGN
Prev Series Next

Batman: The World OGN

Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: September 15, 2021 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 10
7.0Critic Rating
8.6User Rating

DC takes Batman’s war on crime worldwide in a new anthology, Batman: The World. This 160-page book will feature Batman stories by creative teams from across the globe, taking place in their home countries. This original Batman project launches worldwide on Tuesday, September 14, 2021 and the complete anthology will be localized to the following international territories: North America, France, Spain, Italy, Germany, the Czech Republic, Russia, Poland, Turkey, Mexico, Brazil, China, Korea, and Japan. This global collaboration is the first of its kind for DC, so join us for this phenomenon, proving that Batman is a true pop culture icon-and more

  • 8.0
    Batman-News - Matina Newsom Sep 15, 2021

    This anthology is a great collection of stories. With more highs than lows in it, each story here has a lot to bring to the table, and displays Batman in ways that are both familiar and new, and totally and completely Batman. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Flickering Myth - Ricky Church Sep 28, 2021

    While each story opens up with a brief biography of the writers and artists and how their comic careers started, along with the foreign titles they are known for, it is rather unfortunate and disappointing we don't hear from them in short essays why they chose to be part of the anthology or what Batman means to them. The closest it comes is the 'My Bat-Man' story from Russian writers Kirill Kutuzov and Egor Prutov with artist Natalia Zaidova, which seems autobiographical in parts as a young writer and artist become obsessed with Batman based on nothing but a silly piece of merchandise, carrying that interest well into adulthood before discovering he's actually real. Likewise, the only bonus material is two pages of character design sketches for the China and Japan stories. Batman: The Worldwould have benefitted greatly from more insight from the actual creators and where their love for Batman began. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    DwayneSaid Sep 15, 2021

    One of the best Antholgy I’ve read so far. Reading Batman in different countries and continents made me feel cozy. Got some highlights to share.

    - Azzarello & Bermejo rocks! The art is so sick, the story welcomes you with a huge bearhug. Perfect choice for a start. Love the splash pages.

    - Turkey’s chapter is mind blowing!!! I was not expecting such an ending. Woahhh, , the villians and story telling is soooo smooth. I like the newbies. I don’t want spoil the story by saying too much but this is the first story you should read after Azzarello’s. Defo need moreeee, we deseve moreeee!!!

    - Russia. I loved the story. Imo the best after Turkey’s chapter. The paneling and story telling is master class. more

  • 7.5
    Amazing Psycamorean Sep 27, 2021

    I was surprised this was as good as it was. However, I don't have the will to go through each story. My favorite story was the Russian one. My least favorite story was probably the Chinese one. The idea of private enterprises taking over a street of small shops in China being somehow against the norm, as though that's not currently happening through their state capitalist measures is funny, I guess. The Japanese story had a very cool Batman design. The United States story was weirdly written, but the art was great. As an American, I'm offended Azzarelo is representing my country. I won't explain why.

    + LikeComments (4)
  • 7.5
    Merlyn Sep 14, 2021

    I was interested in this even though I'm not a big fan of anthologies but, man, was I surprised of this. This is the first DC enterprise in the last months I actually think has served them pretty well. They should try to search for writers in other parts because American writers are lately very one-note and the likes of Ridley or Tynion didn't help the character. European writers were very good, I have to say, I really, really liked their stories in particular. So I'm going to take every story and make a short review for each:

    1.USA 9.5. Azzarello did a good job here introducing the book and the art from Bermejo was great, very good voice for Batman
    2.France 9.5 Not a fan of the art but the story was a nice one and it played more

  • 10
    Bruno Mael Sep 16, 2021

  • 10
    Fmernamz0 Sep 15, 2021

  • 9.5
    Joresti Sep 19, 2021

  • 8.5
    Julhin Sep 26, 2021

  • 8.5
    Radar Sep 20, 2021

  • 8.0
    tonpas1989 Sep 14, 2021

  • 7.0
    Sidowski Oct 6, 2021

Reviews for the Week of...

July

6th

June

More