Black Magick #12

Writer: Greg Rucka Artist: Nicola Scott Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: July 29, 2020 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 6
7.8Critic Rating
8.0User Rating

NEW STORY ARC! "ASCENSION I," Part One-The acclaimed series returns, from the New York Times bestselling team GREG RUCKA and NICOLA SCOTT (Wonder Woman). Rowan Black is a cop. Rowan Black is also a witch. Throughout her life, she has struggled to keep these things separate. Now, the walls are beginning to crumble, and Rowan - alienated from her friends, under investigation on the job, and stalked by mysterious forces who are literally hell-bent on using Rowan's power for their own benefit - is on the verge of crumbling with them. And if these combined forces don't manage to destroy Rowan-she might just destroy herself first.

  • 8.0
    ComicBook.com - Patrick Cavanaugh Jul 29, 2020

    Exciting and mysterious, we already can't wait for what the next chapter holds. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Multiversity Comics - Gregory Ellner Aug 3, 2020

    While this story does not give much room for newcomers, returning fans will be likely very interested in the developments as they go along with the famed extreme detail in illustrations and color usage. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Gizmo May 22, 2021

    Lots of sexy time in this issue, so mature readers only. I'm pleased to report that the backup prose it back. If there's one thing to be criticized here, it is not the editorializing but Rowan's new haircut. Scandalous!

    As for the editorial content, not only is it "okay" to editorialize your own creator-own comic, but it is commendable when you do it as responsibly as the creative team does here. Any white reactionaries that can't handle it will not be missed as readers. Keep up the excellent work!

    #BlackLivesMatter

  • 5.0
    Briton Aug 14, 2020

    I'm not impressed by the 2 year delay since the last issue, but at least we didn't start at another issue #1.

    The artwork and the design of this comic is magnificent. Unfortunately Ruckra's obnoxious and extremist politics are trumpeted through the editorial. Personal politics should not be taken to work, but Rukra seems to think this is acceptable.

    It isn't. Dropped.

  • 10
    Shralpergirl Jul 30, 2020

  • 8.0
    Jorge Mendes Jul 29, 2020

  • 8.0
    Josecab79 Jul 29, 2020

  • 8.0
    JBL Reviews Apr 17, 2021

Reviews for the Week of...

August

4th

July

More