Alex Marks's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sequential Planet Reviews: 23
7.8Avg. Review Rating

8.7
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #21

May 20, 2019

More of Kraven's true plans are revealed in Hunted part 5 in a refreshing and new way thanks to the inclusion of The Lizard and some fantastic storytelling from Nick Spencer, Gerardo Sandoval, Victor Nava and Edgar Delgado. If you've been along for the whole Hunted story thus far, don't skip Amazing Spider-Man #21.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #23

Jun 24, 2019

The Hunted story arc concludes in a great epilogue issue. Loose ends get tied up, all the while a new story is built up and teased. Nick Spencer's writing and Ryan Ottley's art go together so well, this is a must read issue for Spidey fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #25

Jul 14, 2019

The Amazing Spider-Man #25 got me excited to see what's going to happen in the next year or so. Nick Spencer, Ryan Ottley, Humberto Ramos and everyone else involved crafted an outstanding giant size issue that any Spidey fan will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #30

Oct 3, 2019

Overall, Amazing Spider-Man #30 is a fast-paced, fun read. You don't have to read Absolute Carnage to understand it, even though I personally think you should read it. Absolute Carnage rules. Also, if you really don't plan on reading AC, I still say pick up ASM #30, as Kindred - the mysterious bug guy who's been appearing in Spencer's Spider-Man occasionally - is present. Nick Spencer's writing is great and Ryan Ottley's art is fantastic. It just sort of felt pretty short.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #68

Apr 14, 2019

Batman #68 is a fun read and is definitely one of the easier to digest issues of the Knightmares story arc and does a decent job of moving the story along.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Batman (2016) #72

Jun 10, 2019

Batman #72 can potentially be the issue that wins some former readers back as it adds clarity to past events. And if they're still not entirely happy with Tom King's writing, then the fantastic art of Jorge Fornes and Mikel Janin should be able to gain their attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Batman (2016) #75

Jul 22, 2019

Batman #75 may confuse readers at first, but once they realize what's going on, they may very well be fully on board to see what happens next. Tom King starts this arc off in a unique way and Tony Daniel, with Mitch Gerads, do a solid job in the art department. Despite a few flubs in dialogue, Batman 75 is a pretty good issue that makes me excited for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Batman (2016) #76

Aug 13, 2019

The pacing in Batman #76 is a bit odd, but it's definitely not a bad story by any means. The writing is solid and the art is stellar. It just didn't feel like very much had transpired in this issue. If you haven't read/stopped reading Batman and want to read it, I'd start with issue #75 first.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #78

Sep 16, 2019

This City of Bane interlude chapter is for all the Bat/Cat fans that have been bummed out ever since Batman #50. This is a very nice and satisfying issue, despite it containing no updates from Bane's conquering of Gotham. Tom King's writing is great and Clay Mann's art - despite some panel recycling - is very good, as well. Don't skip this issue if you're already reading City of Bane. And to those of you who dropped Batman after #50 - I'd say take a chance and pick this ish' up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman (2016): Secret Files #2

Aug 6, 2019

If you're a fan of Batman and enjoy seeing different writers tackle the Dark Knight, you may enjoy this collage of short stories. Other than that, it's really not worth picking up, as there isn't really anything new or exciting other than the story by Steve Orlando and Eduardo Risso.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America (2018) #11

Jun 24, 2019

If you've been disappointed with Ta-Nehisi Coates' run so far, I don't think this issue will win you over. If you have enjoyed his more leisurely-paced story telling and Adam Kubert's great art, then you may enjoy Captain America #11. Personally, I wasn't impressed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Criminal (2019) #5

Jun 7, 2019

Criminal #5 begins a new story-arc that holds a lot of promise. Ed Brubaker, Sean Phillips and Jacob Phillips show no indication of slowing down or getting sloppy any time soon. Anyone who's a fan of crime fiction, comic or not, should read Criminal #5 as soon as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #1006

Jun 29, 2019

If you want to start reading Detective Comics, this issue is a good jumping on point! It seems like we're actually getting a suspenseful story involving Batman and Spectre to happen in 'Tec, so I'm excited. Great art and writing on this one, too. I recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Doomsday Clock #10

May 29, 2019

Doomsday Clock #10 answers so many questions regarding the DC Universe and Dr. Manhattan's place in it and does so in an incredible way. Despite the long waits between each issue, Geoff Johns and Gary Frank still have me excited and intrigued every time a new issue is released. This one especially does not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Doomsday Clock #11

Sep 4, 2019

The end is nigh for both the DC Universe and for the Doomsday Clock series. With this second to last issue, you would expect some more story elements to be resolved, but ultimately, we're still left with more questions than answers in this congested issue. Whereas Johns excels with the writing of characters, it's unclear what bis endgame is for the overall story. Gary Frank's art and his storytelling through his panel work and transitions are definitely the highlights of this issue. Let's hope things wrap up nicely and this series wasn't all for naught.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Flash (2016) #71

May 27, 2019

The Flash: Year One's second chapter isn't anything that'll blow your mind, but it is an enjoyable read and probably the easiest time traveling story to digest.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Flash (2016) #72

Jun 14, 2019

The Flash #72 is a solid issue, despite some of its pacing and pieces of dialogue. Pick it up if you've been following the Year One arc, as I think the next issue will be a pretty good one.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Flash (2016) #73

Jun 29, 2019

The Flash: Year One has been pretty bland and this issue doesn't really do anything to spice it up. The art is great, but that's about it. I will say that if you're a Flash fan and have already made it this far, keep reading until the end. If you haven't read this arc at all, then as of this writing: just skip it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
History of the Marvel Universe (2019) #1

Jul 31, 2019

Despite being fairly overwhelming, History Of The Marvel Universe #1 is a fun read that sheds more light on the beginnings of the Marvel Universe. Mark Waid's carefully crafted story is full of love and care for the universe and Javier Rodriguez's art is gorgeous enough to make Jack Kirby blush. If you're very interested in this comic, pick it up now. Though, I think waiting for the trade is best, as the flow of the story possibly means abrupt endings like the one in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
History of the Marvel Universe (2019) #2

Aug 24, 2019

History of the Marvel Universe #2 brings us to the Golden age and does it in a remarkable and exciting way. Mark Waid's writing keeps you interested, while Javier Rodriguez's art demands all of your attention, and rightfully so. Despite some questionable debuts for some characters throughout this issue, it's enjoyable.If you didn't read the first issue, it's important that you do so. Or wait until the trade is released, as the story would definitely read better all at once.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Shazam! (2018) #5

May 15, 2019

Shazam #5 feels pretty weak compared not only to past issues, but other comics written by Geoff Johns. Having different artists on each segment of the issue was a great idea and didn't disturb the flow of the story whatsoever. But the cliched dialogue and the fact that hardly anything happens is a pretty big negative for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Silver Surfer: Black #2

Jul 23, 2019

Silver Surfer: Black #2 is a great cosmic adventure comic that can astonish both old and new 'Surfer fans. Donny Cates excels at his storytelling and Tradd Moore, with Dave Stewart, absolutely crush it in the art department. Add this book to your pull list ASAP.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Silver Surfer: Black #3

Aug 20, 2019

Silver Surfer Black #3 is one of the best comics I've ever read. Period. Anything you can ask for out of a comic book is on display not just within this issue, but in the series as a whole. I know for a fact that once this series wraps, it'll go down as an instant-classic. Reading this as it releases is like witnessing history in the making. Donny Cates, Tradd Moore, and Dave Stewart work together harmoniously. Do NOT skip this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More