Brandon Reid's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Nerd Church Radio Reviews: 45
7.8Avg. Review Rating

8
All-Star Batman #5

Dec 28, 2016

I have really been enjoying Scott Snyder's All-Star Batman series and even though I was expecting some crazy big twist at the end, I really enjoyed this issue. Plus we did get a little twist when we found out Harvey was behind everything and no Two-Face, I was just expecting a bit more. I liked how this story was in a road trip kind of format, something new from a Batman story. And the art has been fantastic. A lot of people have said they haven't really liked it but I love the watercolor aspect, the slight grittiness to the style and the color scheme. It makes me think that that's how Two-Face must see the world. Everything has a toxic tinge to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
All-Star Batman #6

Jan 11, 2017

This story so far is probably one of my favorites of theseries and that's saying a lot since I've enjoyed almost every issue so far.But unfortunately it still isn't perfect and left me a little confused attimes. For example, the ending where Batman becomes that crazy looking firevirus bat thing. I want a bit more explanation on that please. And would thatchamber really survive that blast? Other than that I thought Mr. Freeze wasreally creepy and portrayed really well. The art fit the tone perfectly. I hopeto see more Jock on future issues. As for the cursed wheel, I did enjoy thisone more than past issues, but it still wasn't anything crazy exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-Star Batman #7

Feb 8, 2017

All-star Batman just keeps getting better and better. The way Snyder takes old characters and creates fresh, original stories while still making you feel at home is incredible. When each issue ends I'm aching for the next one to come out. I'm kind of hoping with this virus that Mr. Freeze let loose, we get a Batman zombie story. One can hope! The art is fantastic. I wouldn't have a problem if Lotay stuck around for awhile.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-Star Batman #8

Mar 15, 2017

I'm really enjoying this story arc. I love the way Scott Snyder brings mystery into it. Every issue keeps me wanting more as more clues are given. And the art is fantastic, Giuseppe Camuncoli is a perfect fit for this series. Some of my favorite panels are when Batman seems to be hallucinating and everything goes all trippy. Really looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Batman (2016) #13

Dec 21, 2016

I had high hopes for the I Am Suicide arc. I loved the idea of Batman's own Suicide Squad with a possible rematch with Bane and a cool yet weird team dynamic. But my hopes were sadly crushed. I didn't care for how the team was used. They weren't even in an entire issue. The only thing I liked about this issue was the art. Simple yet gritty. With really great textures in the colours. Mikel Janin's art is definitely the highlight of I Am Suicide.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

I'll be honest, I was not looking forward to this issue after seeing the first few pages. I've grown a little tired of the Catwoman and Batman romance. But as I kept reading I really enjoyed the way it all panned out. The way she tags along with him to take down all the bad guys of the night and even the way he does some cat burgling with her which threw me off! But was explained with it just being Catwoman's apartment and her just wanting to have some fun. Then there is the art which I mentioned before. Loved it. Fit the tone of the story wonderfully.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Batman (2016) #15

Jan 18, 2017

This was nota great issue. I enjoyed very little about it. Batman letting Catwoman getaway? Tisk tisk. The flashback panels were very entertaining how they were madeto look like old comics from the 50's. The reason behind Catwoman beinginnocent and not actually being a murderer was interesting. Curious if she'llcome clean about Holly. I'm hoping we'll find out if Gotham Girl is okay ornot. Maybe? Do we still care Batman? The art in this issue was a majordownfall. In some panels, faces looked off. Like the opening panel with Batmanand Catwoman, Catwoman's face doesn't look right. Looks very rushed in somepanels. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman (2016) #16

Feb 1, 2017

Although I really enjoyed the story in this issue, some of the dialogue was confusing at times and some characters weren't portrayed very well. Then there's the damn Catwoman scene. Not a fan at all. Did we really need to be reminded of that situation again? It was last issue! The art was fantastic though it was the highlight of the issue and has stayed strong through most of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #17

Feb 15, 2017

And of course the art was on point once again. There's a two page spread of Batman perched on a rooftop that is so well done. The detail on everything from the bricks and tiles on the buildings to the shading on Batman is perfect. Love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

This issue was incredible. The way we see how both Batman and Bane have had the same life yet because of their situations turned out so incredibly different was such a great idea. Showing both lives with panels side by side was a great addition as well. Then there's the art... phenomenal! David Finch draws Bane like he should look and the attention to detail... beautiful.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

This was a great issue. How can you not like Bane plowing through Arkham inmates like a locomotive? Especially when the art is just as fantastic. I love how David Finch made Bane's mask start to rip and tear more and more as he fought more and more inmates. It's little things like that that I love. And like I said before, he draws the characters the way they're supposed to look. Next issue hurry up!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman Beyond (2016) #3

Dec 28, 2016

This series has been a little off for me up until this issue. I've liked a lot of aspects of the series but need more Batman. This issue seems to be pointing in the right direction in that sense. Terry will get the bag from Matt next issue (I hope) that I assume has the suit and Terry will suit up and I'll be happy. Maybe. It will be interesting to see where the situation with Bruce's body goes as well. That was a twist I didn't see coming. As for the art, I've quite liked it so far. The shading and colors are fantastic and really fit the tone of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman Beyond (2016) #4

Jan 25, 2017

For the most part I'm quite enjoying this series so far. It had a little bit of a rocky start but picked up nicely. It's been keeping me intrigued and looking forward to what's coming next. Although I do kind of wish it was the Joker Terminal had in his possession but that's just me. Still cool that it's Bruce and it makes a lot more sense with how Terminal is paying for everything. The art in this issue is decent. Some panels could use a bit more attention to the background but the characters, colors and shading all looked good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman Beyond (2016) #6

Mar 22, 2017

At first I thought this issue was just okay but upon reading it a second time I've actually come to quite enjoy it. It has a little bit of everything. We get some fights with the League of Assassins, the return of classic Bruce Wayne, some relationship drama and questions that need answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 15, 2017

Considering there's still hints of Night of the Monster Men, I liked this issue a lot more than I thought I was going to. Batwoman is kick ass, I enjoy the Birds of Prey thing going on with Julia Pennyworth and the story left a lot of unanswered questions that made me want more. But I shall have to wait. Steve Epting and Jeremy Cox's art was on point as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cyborg (2016) #8

Jan 4, 2017

This series has been my first real look into the Cyborg character and I think it has been great so far. This issue was no different. I think it may be one of my favorite Cyborg issues so far. I enjoyed the new character Exxy and his relationship with Cyborg. I said it before, but I liked the superhero/sidekick feel that was hinted. And I look forward to finding out more about this O.T.A.C. All that we really know is that he is a past experiment of Cyborg's fathers. Maybe the first attempt at creating a Cyborg? Time will tell. As for the art, I thought it was a lot better in this issue. I think in the past I've said issues have lacked detail but in this issue, there is just enough. And the colors and shading are well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cyborg (2016) #9

Feb 1, 2017

I've really been enjoying this series and this issue is no different. I love everything Semper is doing with the character, his mythology and even Dr. Stone. Semper brings out the struggles that Cyborg is going through perfectly, whether it be with dealing with being half human or his relationship with his father. Plus, Anomaly is a kick ass villain. When it comes to the art I've said it in past reviews, it's the perfect team. The visuals depict what's going on in the story really well and the colors jump off the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Cyborg (2016) #11

Apr 5, 2017

This was quite a fun yet sad issue. I enjoyed the 8-bit dimension and even H8-Bit even thoughhe was a little cheesy. But he had a classic origin and a damn sad death, both his human selfand his digital copy. The art was really well done. Loved the way all the 8-bit creatures looked.They were even kind of fuzzy like they would be on a TV screen. Loved it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #946

Dec 14, 2016

The story inthis issue was pretty good, the information we got on the Victims Syndicate wasa little meh though. Hopefully the first victim's story is more exciting and alittle more in depth. I did really enjoy Mudface's story though, very sad thatit had to do with Clayface. He seems to have more depth than any character inthe series which is surprising in a good way. I'm interested to see whathappens with Spoiler in the next issue. The art on the characters in this issuewas fine but I was not a fan of the lack of detail in the backgrounds.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics (2016) #947

Dec 28, 2016

I really enjoyed this issue and how Spoiler has become a victim herself in a way. And has a new point of view towards Batman and heroes in general. But I do wish we got more story on the First Victim. I would assume that will come later on, but even a little bit of a teaser would have been nice. I'm very interested to see what the hell is going on with Red Robin. I knew he wasn't dead but captured? Blue lightning man? Explain please! The art of course was incredible. The one thing I've enjoyed throughout this entire series is the art. The shading, the detail, the colors, all of it. Love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Detective Comics (2016) #948

Jan 11, 2017

This issue wasn't anything very exciting. I enjoyed theflashback in the beginning with Batwoman following Batman and getting foundout. I really hope this monster stuff doesn't continue into another Night ofthe Monster Men. I would think DC would have learned from that nightmare. Thebest part of this issue to me was the art. Hands down fantastic. Theexpressions on Batman and Batwomans faces are done so well and the colors arenear perfect. Definitely the highlight of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #950

Feb 8, 2017

I really enjoyed this issue. I'm glad we're getting a more in depth look at Orphans character and that the story will revolve a bit more around her for now. It was really cool when the reader got to see things through Orphans eyes. Every time she looks at someone including Batman, her brain automatically pinpoints all the pressure points she could use to kill them. So cool. The St. Dumas story was interesting and I'm curious to see where it goes. Then the Red Robin conversation! That got me excited. What war is coming?! I want to know! The art was fantastic as well. The colors jump right off the page and the detail is beautifully done.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #952

Mar 8, 2017

I am loving Detective right now. This series was off to a bit of a rocky start in my mind but had just gotten better and better. I love the way we get in depth stories that have to do with each individual team member and I'm really loving Orphans story. Plus, Shiva is badass! The artwork was fantastic too. The way building fade in the backgrounds and the shading and colors were all on point. Can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #953

Mar 22, 2017

Loving this story arc. First I loved the fact that we were getting more story on Orphan. Then we got the League of Assassins and now Ra's Al Ghul. I can't wait for the next issue. Another great part of this issue was when Batman wouldn't fight back when Orphan fought him then she did the same with Shiva. Loved it. I really enjoyed the art in this issue. Clayface looked really good, scary yet you could still see the sadness he feels. Well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Flash (2016) #11

Nov 24, 2016

I really enjoyed this issue, it wasn't crazy intense or anything but it did give us a good amount of information about what is going on in this story arc and I like that when it's done well. And it's done very well here. We learn about what has happened to The Shade, why the Shadows are here, what their end game is, and where Iris and Hope ended up. It will be interesting to see how The Flash, Kid Flash and The Shade figure out how to save Hope and Iris without having to fight them. I'm already looking forward to issue 12! The art was really well done, especially since there were so many dark to insanely bright panels and the shading fit that really well. The Shade's (the character) flashback panels almost looked hazy like a dream which i thought was great. That aspect really made it look like flashbacks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #13

Dec 28, 2016

I won't lie, I loved this issue. It wasn't anything special, but it just felt like a classic Flash/Kid Flash story. The holiday theme was perfect and what Kid Flash did for both Barry and Iris as well as Tar Pit and his family seemed to blend well with it. And we got a nice little present in the form of the return of Captain Cold! It may just be because he's one of my favorite Flash Rogues but that's ok, I want to know what these plans are and what he's going to do with them. As for the art, it is a little too clean for my tastes, but is still really well done. Can't deny talent when you see it. I did enjoy the way Kid Flash and Tar Pit looked though. Art wise, they were my favorites.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Flash (2016) #15

Jan 25, 2017

I thought this was a great issue. It felt very old school but still fresh. I like the way the Rogues are actually thinking things out rather than just planning heists, they're also planning how to trick the Flash into not catching them. In the past they seemed to just hope that the Flash wouldn't show up the time of their crimes. Which is of course classic Rogues. The art was fantastic. Carmine Di Giandomenico has been doing a great job. Still one of my favorite Rebirth series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #16

Feb 8, 2017

I'm loving the return of the Rogues. It feels like a fresh take on old characters and it's working. Captain Cold is upping his game and it leaves the reader wanting more. Then there's the artwork. Love it. I can't see a series like the Flash being that easy to draw with all the lightning and shattered mirrors and freeze guns etc. But Di Giandomenico does a fantastic job. The colors and shading and depth in the panels, love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Flash (2016) #18

Mar 8, 2017

This was a great issue. I love what's going on with Wally and finding out Reverse Flash is his father. I'm thinking Reverse Flash will return and I have no problem with that! The art once again was really well done. Jesus Merino draws the characters perfectly and Reverse Flash in the opening panels was my favorite. The lightning surrounding him and the detail on his suit was perfect. Please bring him back!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Flash (2016) #19

Mar 22, 2017

This wasn't a bad issue but it wasn't anything overly exciting. We didn't learn a whole lot since it was already known that Daniel West was dead. But the most interesting part, like I mentioned before, is the return of Flashpoint Reverse Flash. I'm insanely intrigued by this turn of events.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Green Arrow (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

As much as I enjoyed this issue, story wise it felt like recycled material. I almost thought Green Arrow and Merlyn would have faced off right on top of the flying blimp! I'm definitely looking forward to the next issue because I'm curious to see the aftermath of this arc. Will Seattle still be a little iffy about Green Arrow? Or will they see him as a hero? Also the art was great. It has definitely gotten better the last couple issues. Just a little bit more detail here and there makes all the difference and that difference was achieved.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Arrow (2016) #15

Jan 18, 2017

Really enjoying this story arc. It was a little too familiar at first and still is a little familiar, but it's still fresh in it's own way. Which is what I like. Notting isn't the perfect villain, but the Vice Squad fit really well into the story and what's going on with Seattle. Classic ending of course with a character returning and saving the day, I enjoyed that as well. Interested to see where that goes next issue. Then there is the art. FANTASTIC! Definitely a step up from previous issues and probably one of my favorite issues art wise.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Arrow (2016) #16

Feb 1, 2017

I'm really enjoying this series but at the same time I'm not. A lot of things keep being brought into the mix only to come and go faster than you can turn to the next page. The Vice Squad for example, I see the point behind what happened, but I feel like you almost forget what's really going on in the grand scheme of things. It may just be a story that's better for TPB. The art was decent. Same as before though, I think there could be a little bit more attention to detail.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Arrow (2016) #17

Feb 15, 2017

I've really been enjoying this series. The pacing of the story is perfect, the story is fresh yet familiar (maybe too familiar at times but that's to be expected) the Ninth Circle are badass and the art has even improved! The details are getting better and the colors are really well done. Loved the art in the first couple of pages when Ollie is making his new bow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Arrow (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

I'm really enjoying this story arc. I feel bad for Oliver though, more and more shit keeps piling up that appears to be his fault. One thing I love about Benjamin Percy's writing is that he's using a lot of classic Green Arrow elements. A little bit of politics mixed with serious issues and of course the mention of trick arrows. I'm really enjoying Eleanor Carlini's art as well. Just enough detail and those action panels were near perfect!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 11, 2017

This issue was okay. Very generic for the first issue of acrossover series. Portal somehow opens, one person gets sucked through, meetsBatman, fights Batman, then the rest of the team show up. Very similar to theTMNT crossover like I mentioned. It was amusing when Zack refused to believethat Batman was one of Lord Zedd's monsters. I know he looks scary andeverything but you can still obviously tell that Batman is a human. The art wasreally well done. Another highlight of the issue. Not my favorite style of art,but there is obviously talent. Details good, shadings good, colors could be alittle brighter in some panels/on the Power Ranger. But other than that, I dolook forward to the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice League of America: The Atom Rebirth #1

Jan 4, 2017

I thought this was a decent issue for what it was. Which was kind of your typical origin story. But I am glad it only lasted one issue. Which makes sense since this is the Rebirth issue anyways so they can get away with it... I guess" I am looking forward to the next issue when we see the micro verse and all it has to offer. Hopefully. But other than that the art was really well done. I enjoyed the panels when The Atom is fighting all the microscopic monsters the most. The bright colors and shading are perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #10

Dec 7, 2016

I really enjoyed the story in this issue. It worked as agood introduction to this story arc showing us how Dick plans on going abouthis life in Bludhaven as well as what kind of city Bludhaven really is. Theonly thing that I wasn't a fan of was the art in any scene that took placeduring the day. The colors were boring and detail was nowhere to be found. Thenight scene panels were better though, especially the first page with Robin andBatgirl on the rooftop and the last few pages with Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #11

Dec 21, 2016

Great issue.The story was awesome and the art wasn't amazing, but definitely a step up fromlast issue. I like how Nightwing is trying so hard to get away from Gotham butno matter what it's impossible for him to do so. We see a bit of a patterngoing on with the murders which I found very enjoyable. There's a bit of amystery aspect and I've always been a fan of that. Art wise, the color schemewas a lot better as well as the characters' detail. It may just be growing onme I don't know. But I do know I look forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (2016) #12

Jan 4, 2017

Loving this story arc of Nightwing! I like the whole murder mystery side of the story, I'm just waiting for some kind of twist to happen soon. The relationships Nightwing is making makes me think this could lead to his own little life away from Batman with his own characters and villains. Which is something I've wanted to see for awhile. The art unfortunately falls a little short for me though. Maybe I'm just not a fan of the clean style that is being used. But it's also the colors as well. At some points they just seem bland and I also don't enjoy the lack of detail. I've said it before and I will say it again, just a little bit of detail goes a long way. Throw something in the background! Don't just have it be one boring color. This would have been a perfect issue for me if not for the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Nightwing (2016) #14

Feb 1, 2017

As much as I've been enjoying this story arc, I'm happy that it's finished. A lot of the story seemed cliché, and I knew who the villain was ages ago so there weren't any big surprises, until that cliffhanger! I can't wait to see how the next arc goes. As for the art I still don't find it to be anything special, very hit or miss. The panels with Nightwing look good, but as soon as he's in civilian clothes the art is just boring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #15

Feb 15, 2017

Great story especially since it was an epilogue like a I mentioned earlier. But the writing was well done, the art was better than it has been and the ending just makes me want the next issue to come out faster! Another great thing about this issue is all the conversations Dick has with the members of the Bat family. We really see how much of an impact Dick has had on everyone's lives and how important he is to everyone. Love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #17

Mar 15, 2017

What's not to love? We got Nightwing and Robin on a mission and they go up against evil clones of themselves. I'm very interested to find out what all this is about since it all seems so personal. The art was well done for the most part. Some more attention to detail in the backgrounds would make it better though.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #8

Mar 8, 2017

I think this might be my favorite rebirth series. The storytelling is entertaining and the characters and their personalities are written perfectly. I loved reading more about Artemis' back story since I don't know much about the character and the art once again was perfect. Kenneth Rocafort is in my top 3 rebirth artists for sure. His art makes me feel like I'm reading a comic from my childhood but even better!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans (2016) #4

Jan 25, 2017

Benjamin Percy is doing an incredible job with this series. The characters are exactly who they should be, it feels like classic Teen Titans but instead we have Damien in the mix as well which spices things up. I like how the Demon's Fist seem to be turning against Mara behind the scenes and can't wait to see what happens with that. The art is fantastic as well. If this series was adapted into an animated show or movie I wouldn't want the art to change at all. It fits the tone of the series perfectly.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More