Brandon S's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 43
8.1Avg. Review Rating

4.5
Injustice 2 #31

Nov 9, 2017

The art was nice but overall, the chapter felt rushed and fell flat as the ending of an arc. Compared to previous storylines, it was very noticeable that it was part of a prequel story. We knew Kara had to succeed in freeing Wonder Woman so what couldve been built up or given more fanfare was ended on a whimper. Nubia, while a cool concept, was poorly utilized and had an even sadder exit from the issue. Which is sad when there wasnt much content in this issue that wasnt just her fight or scene transition dialogue. Hopefully, the next arc makes up for this sour note.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #32

Nov 15, 2017

Normally, a post arc chapter that doesn't immediately lead into another arc comes off as filler. But with this chapter, it felt like a nice break and shift of focus between events. We got to see Barry again as well as callbacks to the original Injustice comic. It's nice getting a clear sign of how its events impacted a character who wasn't also a Kryptonian or Bat Family which they haven't really done too much in Injustice 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Injustice 2 #33

Nov 28, 2017

Its nice seeing a return to the main plotline while making more callbacks to the past. There wasnt much action but the emotional content made up for it. A trend that Injustice has used to great effect a number of times. Seeing AMAZO excites me just to see how hes handled. Maybe itll be like the magic arc in Injustice 1 and theyll use an obscure character to help resolve it. Or you knowtons of people die horribly before hes finally stopped.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #34

Dec 5, 2017

I'm a huge Green Lantern fan so having Dex-Starr appear was so cool. I didn't even realize it was him until the ring appeared in the second to last page. I figured Injustice Dex-Starr had a similar backstory to the mainline DC comics but seeing his new backstory really pleased me. This also has me excited about the future. Some of the best parts, in my opinion, which may sound contradictory after saying I'm a huge GL fan, of the original Injustice comics involved the Green Lantern & Sinestro Corps. After the laughable handling of the Red Lanterns in the Injustice 2 story mode, I have high hopes for what the Atrocitus and his corps will do here.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Injustice 2 #35

Dec 13, 2017

Now this issue wasn't bad, but it didn't quite standout either. It introduced some cool new characters and progresses the story. But it didn't really feel all that important. Like if this was a movie it'd be one of the scenes you jump cut over. The humor was nice though and it was probably done to kinda ease back after the horrific last few chapters events. It didn't disappoint and served its purpose but wasn't all that standout either.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Injustice 2 #36

Dec 16, 2017

Bringing back the long forgotten Kents was a nice touch given the recent references to forgotten characters and events of Injustice 1. It was nice they didn't have Batmans team actually beat the Eradicators despite being the main focus. Overall it was an okay chapter. You needed to have read the original Injustice comics or have a knowledge of it to get the most out of this chapter though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #37

Dec 25, 2017

Before the dark swerve ending, it was really nice seeing the Titans again. A literal reminder of the better times before everything went to hell. Down to Red Robin still being hopeful and optimistic about the world. It was a legitimately awesome and sweet moment. Red Robin being more than likely killed even fits as a symbolic sign that they just aren't ready for the darker world they've missed. I will admit it does kinda give me vibes of darkness induced apathy but at the same time, I feel it makes sense in that this was entirely avoidable. Namely, if they had just listened to Plastic Mans. A fact I'm sure will be brought up next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Injustice 2 #38

Dec 31, 2017

This was such an awesome chapter to read. We've seen Batman angry before but this is by far the most you felt his anger. Just the imagery on the last page and using the weapon responsible for ruining the world really setting that idea. It raises so many questions but in a good way and has you wondering what's going to happen next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #39

Jan 4, 2018

I think this was one of the few times they outright admitted that Zod has a fear of Superman and being wrong about his long-held superior complex.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Injustice 2 #40

Jan 11, 2018

Overall, it was a bit of cooldown issue so not much happened. It felt slow and like everything passed relatively quickly so I can't fault it for that. Now the heroes finally have a concrete win under their belt.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #41

Jan 23, 2018

This was a cute and funny chapter. The opening page really set the tone for the chapter and Booster Gold is always a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #43

Feb 3, 2018

Another good chapter that surprisingly gets right to the point. The art remains good and the wording of Solovars final line sparks some curiosity. Is the first Human city being used in a literal sense, is it just implying Solovar plans to go scorched earth with every Human city and it's just first in line? Or the more likely possibility it's just both and we're gonna see even more massacres before someone finally stops AMAZO.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #44

Feb 11, 2018

The art is still so good even with the two separate artists. But are awesome and they really know how to make AMAZO look utterly terrifying and make Superboy look classically heroic. Hopefully, it lasts.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Injustice 2 #45

Feb 20, 2018

This was an awesome chapter Id recommend to others, especially if they have been consistent with the Injustice comics as a whole. When you take everything that happened into context, the last page with the Trinity (at least pseudo Trinity with Superboy being there in place of Superman) was something they never did before now and seemed like something youd never see. I am super excited for the next chapter and cant wait to see what they do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #46

Mar 13, 2018

While a bit of a downgrade after the last chapter, this one was still interestingwith its own surprises. It fits the tone of the universe to utterly destroy the hope the Trinity brought. But at the same time, you cant help but see bits of light shine through in the scene with the Atoms. Given all the new changes and depth being created, Im a bit sad this is still just a prequel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #47

Mar 3, 2018

Booster Gold is the true MVP of this chapter. We need more of him in Injustice.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Injustice 2 #48

Mar 11, 2018

It felt like a letdown that couldve done more. Assuming AMAZO cant keep moving without his head. Also, if Atom wasnt dead already Im about 99.9% sure he is now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Injustice 2 #49

Mar 17, 2018

Overall it was okay. Not a bad chapter by any means. It still sucks that the fight ended as quickly as Supergirl entered the scene, Dex-Starr didnt get his revenge, and that Atom is still unreferenced. But the setup for whatever they have planned next was nice at least.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Injustice 2 #50

Mar 23, 2018

I have no special thoughts really. Besides how adorable Ace is in this issue. Id love to see more of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #51

Mar 31, 2018

This was a really nice change of pace compared to the rest of Injustice 2. A more grounded normal conflict instead of one with world-shattering characters and just fighting. This felt more emotionally focused and suspenseful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #52

Apr 7, 2018

The ending was fine and a nice show of camaraderie between his team and him just accepting it instead of arguing the point. My only complaint was that they seemed to forget about Ace after being woken up. Granted, things have gone rather fast Batman didnt seem to even remember it. Giving Alfred & Catwoman priority in his concerns. Maybe Ace is alive and just injured but it was a bit noticeable they left it up in the air. Alfred offering to take Ace kinda hints hes alive but given the unknown time gap it doesnt look good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Injustice 2 #53

Apr 13, 2018

They did a good job of paraphrasing the Green Lantern War arc but it is a bit confusing and doesn't do the full scope justice. But it was still a great chapter overall that sets up Red on Green violence.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Injustice 2 #54

Apr 20, 2018

Its quite clear now that Atrocitus has been busy recruiting Red Lanterns. Though his desire for Sinestro makes me wonder what turn theyll take with the Red Lanterns backstories if changing it at all. Given the tone of the Injustice universe, they wouldnt really need to.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Injustice 2 #55

May 1, 2018

First thing I noticed was this issues title change. Last issue it was called Death on Harring but now its Rage on Harring. Part of me wonders if that was intentional misdirection, sudden last minute change, or something else entirely. Its not a bad chapter but it felt like they hyped up the Red Lanterns to be a serious threat but the battle ended far too quickly. Getting a total of 1 page and 1 panel before Red Lantern Hal ends it. Going back to the title change, part of me wonders if this was also a sudden last minute change. Either way, something felt off about this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Injustice 2 #56

May 6, 2018

This issue continues to show that Injustice 2 is at its strongest when it's doing new content and showing the effects of Injustice 1 instead of strictly setup for the game.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Injustice 2 #57

May 12, 2018

The tone of this chapter overall was a nice change of pace we dont often get in Injustice 2. A break from all the gloom and doom without it being so drastic it feels like it doesnt belong. All the while seemingly setting up to connect the two ongoing plotlines between the Titans & Red Lanterns.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Injustice 2 #58

May 19, 2018

I like the direction Injustice 2 is going currently. I know in the grand scheme we know this HAS to end up at Injustice 2 the game. But the things and characters their using still feel interesting like this could be standalone. Its not so held down by canon as previous events were since the canon characters for the game are kept to a minimum.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Injustice 2 #59

May 25, 2018

While I greatly enjoyed this chapter the two previously mentioned issues are the only thing keeping it from a full 10. Though both stem from the same problem for different reasons. By knowing the little details and past canon for the Red Lanterns it improves the implications that they've just been in the background. But at the same time, it makes the rings lethal defense against being removed a bit of an oddity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Injustice 2 #60

Jun 5, 2018

They keep teasing Superboy dying since his return and even the title for next issue Casualties of War is foreboding. But Im getting the sense thats just a red herring and Booster is gonna suddenly take the fall.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Injustice 2 #61

Jun 10, 2018

First Chp dies and now BdgLantern Alien Squirrels just have the worst luck dont they?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Injustice 2 #62

Jun 17, 2018

Having the title for next issue being Lobo shouldnt have a Power Ring on the same page he gets the Ring is an awesome touch. Like they are already regretting the decision. I can only imagine how much of a threat to everyone hell be now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #63

Jun 23, 2018

I know Lobo probably wont keep his ring by the end of this event. But I REALLY want him to keep it just because theres so much hilarious potential to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Injustice 2 #64

Jun 30, 2018

Once more Injustice shows that some of its best strength comes from calling back to its past. I look forward to seeing what Brainiac has in store and if it might even take cues from the DC Universe Online comics. Namely in how he came and decimated the vulnerable Corps with ease in his mad conquest of the stars. Its unlikely given we know the Corps are around for Injustice 2 but that doesnt mean a vast majority of its members are going to make it through

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Injustice 2 #66

Jul 13, 2018

With the conclusion to the Green/Red Lantern War, I'd say it was a great arc overall. Probably the best overall arc with a slight lead on the Ra's Al Ghul Arc. It showed how Injustice 2 can do new things while also expanding on and growing from previous entries and the original Injustice comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #67

Jul 21, 2018

While not a bad chapter, it didnt especially excel in one way or another. It was nice seeing the setup for the game more and more overtly but it was overall just okay. It does, however, make me wonder if theyre going to retell the game storyline like they did with Injustice 1. Given the release of the recent Injustice vs Masters of the Universe which follows the Superman, wins ending one must wonder if thats foreshadowing for this future. Alternatively, it could be an easy swerve to do the Batman wins ending to spite them.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Spawn #280

Dec 11, 2017

At first I was skeptical about the sudden shift in storylines. Since Al came back they made it seem like he was going back to the superheroism he was part of in the early days of Image. But then they went right back into the dark supernatural end he is better known for. The art continues to look disturbingly stylistic in making Spawn look like the horrific specter they always play him up to be. Which makes this arc seem especially sinister. Spawn is considerably more ruthless than before now that his costume is back at full strength. I feel bad for whatever poor soul gets in his path next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spawn #281

Jan 8, 2018

I thought it was a nice chapter that reminded me somewhat of the older Spawn chapters with the walls of narration. It did help fill in some blanks about the drug and what actually happened to the kids to make them into ghosts. It was also good to see Spawn finally back to using magic. For a while when his powers were waning he just relied on his chains or guns. But now that hes getting back to form Im definitely excited to see him return to using magic. Itll be especially useful against the new gigantic gang leader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spawn #282

Feb 15, 2018

As always, I really enjoyed Spawn and it was good and kind of messed up in the right ways. It was a bit of a slow burn arc that focused heavily on Cyan, but the ending was worth the build and somewhat minimal Spawn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spawn #283

Mar 7, 2018

It was a really nice classic style of Spawn that seems to be building to something Spawn hasnt ever done on his own choosing. Doing things openly in daylight. Sure Jim Downings did out of costume but in costume, this is unheard of. Im honestly curious what hes planning to do where this is his best idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spawn #284

Apr 10, 2018

The change of pace from supernatural to human stuff is rather interesting for Spawn. I cant fully grasp what his plan it which is a good thing for maintaining intrigue. Unfortunately, given Spawns history I can only imagine how horribly this will backfire.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spawn #285

May 9, 2018

In a weird twist, my favorite part of the entire chapter beyond the art was the brief profile they showed for Spawn. They rarely bring it up but it was nice to see them remind us just how tall and heavy Spawn is in reality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spawn #286

Jun 12, 2018

Seeing such a classic Spawn villain makes me excited to see what other oldies return. Maybe one of the Demons Spawn is after is ViolatorOnly time will tell and I cant wait to see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spawn #287

Jul 9, 2018

I know theyve been showing how terrifying Spawn can be but this is by far the most terrifying he has ever been. What makes it more terrifying is that he did it all without even using his chains. Just his own magic and the familiars he summons.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More