Brandon S's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 28
7.9Avg. Review Rating

4.5
Injustice 2 #31

Nov 9, 2017

The art was nice but overall, the chapter felt rushed and fell flat as the ending of an arc. Compared to previous storylines, it was very noticeable that it was part of a prequel story. We knew Kara had to succeed in freeing Wonder Woman so what couldve been built up or given more fanfare was ended on a whimper. Nubia, while a cool concept, was poorly utilized and had an even sadder exit from the issue. Which is sad when there wasnt much content in this issue that wasnt just her fight or scene transition dialogue. Hopefully, the next arc makes up for this sour note.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #32

Nov 15, 2017

Normally, a post arc chapter that doesn't immediately lead into another arc comes off as filler. But with this chapter, it felt like a nice break and shift of focus between events. We got to see Barry again as well as callbacks to the original Injustice comic. It's nice getting a clear sign of how its events impacted a character who wasn't also a Kryptonian or Bat Family which they haven't really done too much in Injustice 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Injustice 2 #33

Nov 28, 2017

Its nice seeing a return to the main plotline while making more callbacks to the past. There wasnt much action but the emotional content made up for it. A trend that Injustice has used to great effect a number of times. Seeing AMAZO excites me just to see how hes handled. Maybe itll be like the magic arc in Injustice 1 and theyll use an obscure character to help resolve it. Or you knowtons of people die horribly before hes finally stopped.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #34

Dec 5, 2017

I'm a huge Green Lantern fan so having Dex-Starr appear was so cool. I didn't even realize it was him until the ring appeared in the second to last page. I figured Injustice Dex-Starr had a similar backstory to the mainline DC comics but seeing his new backstory really pleased me. This also has me excited about the future. Some of the best parts, in my opinion, which may sound contradictory after saying I'm a huge GL fan, of the original Injustice comics involved the Green Lantern & Sinestro Corps. After the laughable handling of the Red Lanterns in the Injustice 2 story mode, I have high hopes for what the Atrocitus and his corps will do here.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Injustice 2 #35

Dec 13, 2017

Now this issue wasn't bad, but it didn't quite standout either. It introduced some cool new characters and progresses the story. But it didn't really feel all that important. Like if this was a movie it'd be one of the scenes you jump cut over. The humor was nice though and it was probably done to kinda ease back after the horrific last few chapters events. It didn't disappoint and served its purpose but wasn't all that standout either.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Injustice 2 #36

Dec 16, 2017

Bringing back the long forgotten Kents was a nice touch given the recent references to forgotten characters and events of Injustice 1. It was nice they didn't have Batmans team actually beat the Eradicators despite being the main focus. Overall it was an okay chapter. You needed to have read the original Injustice comics or have a knowledge of it to get the most out of this chapter though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #37

Dec 25, 2017

Before the dark swerve ending, it was really nice seeing the Titans again. A literal reminder of the better times before everything went to hell. Down to Red Robin still being hopeful and optimistic about the world. It was a legitimately awesome and sweet moment. Red Robin being more than likely killed even fits as a symbolic sign that they just aren't ready for the darker world they've missed. I will admit it does kinda give me vibes of darkness induced apathy but at the same time, I feel it makes sense in that this was entirely avoidable. Namely, if they had just listened to Plastic Mans. A fact I'm sure will be brought up next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Injustice 2 #38

Dec 31, 2017

This was such an awesome chapter to read. We've seen Batman angry before but this is by far the most you felt his anger. Just the imagery on the last page and using the weapon responsible for ruining the world really setting that idea. It raises so many questions but in a good way and has you wondering what's going to happen next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #39

Jan 4, 2018

I think this was one of the few times they outright admitted that Zod has a fear of Superman and being wrong about his long-held superior complex.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Injustice 2 #40

Jan 11, 2018

Overall, it was a bit of cooldown issue so not much happened. It felt slow and like everything passed relatively quickly so I can't fault it for that. Now the heroes finally have a concrete win under their belt.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #41

Jan 23, 2018

This was a cute and funny chapter. The opening page really set the tone for the chapter and Booster Gold is always a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #43

Feb 3, 2018

Another good chapter that surprisingly gets right to the point. The art remains good and the wording of Solovars final line sparks some curiosity. Is the first Human city being used in a literal sense, is it just implying Solovar plans to go scorched earth with every Human city and it's just first in line? Or the more likely possibility it's just both and we're gonna see even more massacres before someone finally stops AMAZO.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #44

Feb 11, 2018

The art is still so good even with the two separate artists. But are awesome and they really know how to make AMAZO look utterly terrifying and make Superboy look classically heroic. Hopefully, it lasts.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Injustice 2 #45

Feb 20, 2018

This was an awesome chapter Id recommend to others, especially if they have been consistent with the Injustice comics as a whole. When you take everything that happened into context, the last page with the Trinity (at least pseudo Trinity with Superboy being there in place of Superman) was something they never did before now and seemed like something youd never see. I am super excited for the next chapter and cant wait to see what they do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #46

Mar 13, 2018

While a bit of a downgrade after the last chapter, this one was still interestingwith its own surprises. It fits the tone of the universe to utterly destroy the hope the Trinity brought. But at the same time, you cant help but see bits of light shine through in the scene with the Atoms. Given all the new changes and depth being created, Im a bit sad this is still just a prequel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #47

Mar 3, 2018

Booster Gold is the true MVP of this chapter. We need more of him in Injustice.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Injustice 2 #48

Mar 11, 2018

It felt like a letdown that couldve done more. Assuming AMAZO cant keep moving without his head. Also, if Atom wasnt dead already Im about 99.9% sure he is now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Injustice 2 #49

Mar 17, 2018

Overall it was okay. Not a bad chapter by any means. It still sucks that the fight ended as quickly as Supergirl entered the scene, Dex-Starr didnt get his revenge, and that Atom is still unreferenced. But the setup for whatever they have planned next was nice at least.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Injustice 2 #50

Mar 23, 2018

I have no special thoughts really. Besides how adorable Ace is in this issue. Id love to see more of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #51

Mar 31, 2018

This was a really nice change of pace compared to the rest of Injustice 2. A more grounded normal conflict instead of one with world-shattering characters and just fighting. This felt more emotionally focused and suspenseful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #52

Apr 7, 2018

The ending was fine and a nice show of camaraderie between his team and him just accepting it instead of arguing the point. My only complaint was that they seemed to forget about Ace after being woken up. Granted, things have gone rather fast Batman didnt seem to even remember it. Giving Alfred & Catwoman priority in his concerns. Maybe Ace is alive and just injured but it was a bit noticeable they left it up in the air. Alfred offering to take Ace kinda hints hes alive but given the unknown time gap it doesnt look good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Injustice 2 #53

Apr 13, 2018

They did a good job of paraphrasing the Green Lantern War arc but it is a bit confusing and doesn't do the full scope justice. But it was still a great chapter overall that sets up Red on Green violence.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Injustice 2 #54

Apr 20, 2018

Its quite clear now that Atrocitus has been busy recruiting Red Lanterns. Though his desire for Sinestro makes me wonder what turn theyll take with the Red Lanterns backstories if changing it at all. Given the tone of the Injustice universe, they wouldnt really need to.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Spawn #280

Dec 11, 2017

At first I was skeptical about the sudden shift in storylines. Since Al came back they made it seem like he was going back to the superheroism he was part of in the early days of Image. But then they went right back into the dark supernatural end he is better known for. The art continues to look disturbingly stylistic in making Spawn look like the horrific specter they always play him up to be. Which makes this arc seem especially sinister. Spawn is considerably more ruthless than before now that his costume is back at full strength. I feel bad for whatever poor soul gets in his path next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spawn #281

Jan 8, 2018

I thought it was a nice chapter that reminded me somewhat of the older Spawn chapters with the walls of narration. It did help fill in some blanks about the drug and what actually happened to the kids to make them into ghosts. It was also good to see Spawn finally back to using magic. For a while when his powers were waning he just relied on his chains or guns. But now that hes getting back to form Im definitely excited to see him return to using magic. Itll be especially useful against the new gigantic gang leader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spawn #282

Feb 15, 2018

As always, I really enjoyed Spawn and it was good and kind of messed up in the right ways. It was a bit of a slow burn arc that focused heavily on Cyan, but the ending was worth the build and somewhat minimal Spawn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spawn #283

Mar 7, 2018

It was a really nice classic style of Spawn that seems to be building to something Spawn hasnt ever done on his own choosing. Doing things openly in daylight. Sure Jim Downings did out of costume but in costume, this is unheard of. Im honestly curious what hes planning to do where this is his best idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spawn #284

Apr 10, 2018

The change of pace from supernatural to human stuff is rather interesting for Spawn. I cant fully grasp what his plan it which is a good thing for maintaining intrigue. Unfortunately, given Spawns history I can only imagine how horribly this will backfire.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

March

More