Brendan M. Allen's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: COMICON Reviews: 70
8.0Avg. Review Rating

5
Alien (2021) #1

Mar 24, 2021

This first Marvel foray into the Xenoverse is underwhelming, to say the least. The script isn't terribly original, and the art is very strange. Trying to find something redeemable about this book, and so far I'm not finding much.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Alien: The Original Screenplay #3

Oct 7, 2020

Unaware of the danger they have brought aboard, the Snark departs the alien planet"and within secure confines of the ship, a horror unknown to man will be unleashed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Alien: The Original Screenplay #4

Nov 9, 2020

The alien is loose aboard the ship, with every attempt at eradicating it proving more deadly. As the creature reveals its true form, the crew discovers a horrifying new development.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Alien: The Original Screenplay #5

Dec 3, 2020

The fight for survival! Sheer terror befalls the remaining crew members as the Alien claims the ship as its feeding ground. With retaliation proving futile, the only way out is to run.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Bill and Ted Are Doomed #2

Oct 14, 2020

Things take a turn on the European leg of the Wyld Stallyns' World Tour.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Bill and Ted Are Doomed #3

Nov 13, 2020

Bill and Ted manage to escape a rioting death metal festival only to be marked for death by the insane leader of an evil metal band.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Bill and Ted Are Doomed #4

Dec 8, 2020

Vile Empire unleashes a horde of chaotic trolls to destroy Bill and Ted. Back in San Dimas, the Stations and robots form a plan to try to save their friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Dead Dog's Bite #1

Mar 9, 2021

This first chapter is a dead slow burn, thick with ambiance. I'm not really sure what the hell just happened, but there is definitely enough here to bring me back for a second round to try to figure it out

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dead Dog's Bite #2

Apr 7, 2021

This has got to be the single weirdest title in my pull list right now, and I love it for that. Tyler Boss set the hook good and deep, but instead of reeling the reader straight in, he's dragging them all over the pond first.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deep Beyond #1

Feb 9, 2021

The inherent challenge with mashing well worn tropes together is that each really has to elevate the other to break away from boilerplate and head into new, uncharted territory. Deep Beyond just doesn't get there. It feels overly familiar, especially since there are a couple titles on the market currently telling very similar stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gideon Falls #25

Sep 25, 2020

In the beginning, there was one. In the end, there will be one. And that one will be Gideon Falls.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gideon Falls #26

Oct 26, 2020

Arc Finale! As the Gideon Falls multiverse is beset by even greater peril, Molly and Fred meet a familiar face with a malevolent new expression.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Gideon Falls #27

Dec 27, 2020

An oversized (80 page!) giant of a story where all the universes of "Gideon Falls" finally converge. Can the combined forces of this rag-tag band of adventurers be enough to stop the Laughing Man and his limitless legions of evil?!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Goosebumps: Secrets of the Swamp #1

Sep 23, 2020

Blake was worried that summer break with her weird aunt in Fever Swamp would be b-o-r-i-n-g, but it's quickly become more intense than she ever could have imagined.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
HaHa #1

Jan 13, 2021

The opening installment in W. Maxwell Prince's clown themed anthology kicks off with the ridiculously dark story of an amusement park clown whose marriage is falling apart. Prince is able to squeeze an amazing amount of emotional depth into these 24 pages. Absolutely brutal, shamelessly funny. I'm here for it. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
HaHa #2

Feb 17, 2021

As with any anthology, there are going to be chapters that are stronger than others. Haha #2 isn't quite as good as the first installment, but it's still very solid. Prince and Thorogood pack a shocking amount of emotion and depth into 24 short pages. Super dark, and well worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
HaHa #3

Mar 24, 2021

W. Maxwell Prince and Roger Langridge team up to bring a (nearly) silent take on the sad clown paradox. Dark, lonely, tragic, and sort of funny, even though you get the feeling you aren't really supposed to laugh. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Heavy #1

Sep 22, 2020

Heavy is The Punisher for neurotics; Inception for the impatient; Preacher for" well, it's a lot like Preacher.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Heavy #2

Oct 28, 2020

Saddled with the worst possible partner (for potentially all of eternity), Bill must decide whether he can give his greatest enemy a clean slate.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Home Sick Pilots #1

Dec 15, 2020

In the summer of 1994, a haunted house walks across California. Inside is Ami, lead singer of a high school punk band"who's been missing for weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Home Sick Pilots #2

Jan 15, 2021

The second chapter of Home Sick Pilots doesn't quite live up to last month's installment. It is a pretty book, but I'm not sure I'm looking for ‘pretty' in a hardcore punk horror book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Iron Man (2020) #1

Sep 18, 2020

There are a couple little hiccups in the book, which, whatever, the thing can't be perfect, but this is an incredibly strong relaunch. I have honestly never been more interested in getting my hands on the next chapter of any Iron Man series, ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Iron Man (2020) #2

Oct 22, 2020

Tony Stark isn't the only one who's been reborn" and a familiar cosmic force has its sights set on Iron Man!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Knock Em Dead #1

Dec 7, 2020

Sometimes you kill. Sometimes you get killed. But no matter what, everyone dies the first time they go on stage.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Knock Em Dead #2

Jan 11, 2021

The pressures of show business are enough on their own to drive anyone to their breaking point. Add in the dark family history, PTSD, and the paranormal horror twist, and Pryor Brice is a powder keg. Knock 'Em Dead is shaping up to be some of Eliot Rahal's finest work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Knock Em Dead #3

Feb 15, 2021

Not the strongest chapter in the series to date, but despite a couple hiccups in pacing, it's still a solid entry. It probably could have been drawn out into two installments with a slower build to Pryor's breaking point, but it gets the job done, and opens up some really interesting possibilities moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Knock Em Dead #4

Mar 12, 2021

My biggest complaint about this series to date has been the pacing. Knock 'Em Dead is scheduled to blow off next month, in the fifth installment. One more chapter would have been nice. Chapter three felt rushed. I could have done with a little more work on the exorcism before the re-possession. That being said, everything seems to have leveled back out in the fourth, and this is still my favorite Eliot Rahal joint yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Maniac of New York #1

Feb 8, 2021

Maniac of New York is fine, as long as you can suspend disbelief long enough to believe Jason Voorhees could wander around New York in broad daylight hacking people to bits, without being stopped by NYPD, the National Guard, or the crowd itself. Doesn't quite land for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Maniac of New York #2

Mar 15, 2021

I am still of two minds when it comes to Maniac of New York as a whole. As much as I disliked the first chapter, chapter two is much, much better. Night and day. If the story continues this way, I'm in for the long haul.  

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Miles To Go #1

Sep 29, 2020

Amara Bishop hasn't killed anyone since she was thirteen. When her aging mentor is murdered, and her daughter is threatened, that will soon change"

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Norse Mythology #1

Oct 9, 2020

Neil Gaiman and P. Craig Russell breathe new life into the ancient Norse stories by taking readers through the creation of the Nine Worlds to the epic origin and adventures of Thor, Odin, and Loki all the way to the end of life – Ragnarok.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nottingham #1

Mar 10, 2021

This is obviously not one for the kiddies, and it's probably going to piss some folks off, but I liked it. Nottingham #1 challenges idol worship and the long held practice of canonizing atrocious human beings in stories and song. It's well written, beautifully drawn, and engages the reader from the very first sequence. Well worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nottingham #2

Mar 17, 2021

Two of the things I nerd out to are horror and history, and I absolutely love how Nottingham views the latter through the lens of the former. This is a very smart, very gory take on Sherwood's favorite son, and I'm absolutely here for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nuclear Family #1

Mar 1, 2021

Cold War era sci-fi is obviously a well worn trope, but it's executed so well here, it doesn't really matter. After this brilliant setup, that final pop promises this sucker's going to get delightfully weird in the second chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nuclear Family #2

Apr 5, 2021

Nuclear Family takes a hard left in chapter two. Things get delightfully weird, as advertised. Blast From The Past meets The Red Menacein this funky little Breakfast At Twilight adaptation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Orphan and the Five Beasts #1

Mar 19, 2021

I picked this book up for two reasons, Stokoe's art and my love of classic kung-fu films/Spaghetti Westerns. Orphan and The Five Beasts delivers on both points. It's everything it needs to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Piecemeal One Shot #1

Dec 15, 2020

Five high school kids, soon to say goodbye to each other and to the lives they have known, enter the Nightmare House, the source of local legend and superstition. Soon, the teens find themselves stalked by a vicious killer, a murderer intent on building itself a new body. Piece by piece

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Rabid World #1

Mar 29, 2021

The art is honestly the strongest part of Rabid World so far, and it's what will bring me back next month. There are those floating heads, but there are enough good points, those are almost forgiven. Almost.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Redneck #28

Oct 14, 2020

Bartlett and JV settle into Asilo Del Muerto as Greg prepares to wage war on humanity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Redneck #29

Dec 23, 2020

Welcome to the new world. Will a fledgling America be able to survive the Council of Vampires?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rogue Planet #5

Oct 6, 2020

Lonely Orphan seemed like an easy paycheck to the crew of the Cortes when they landed there looking for salvage. Hours later, almost everyone is dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Scarenthood #1

Nov 6, 2020

With their kids away on a field trip, a group of parents disturbs an ancient evil buried beneath the old Church Hall, unearthing a decades-old mystery about a missing child, and inviting something" hungry into their lives. Suddenly, their mornings go from playdates and peanut allergies, to a battle for the souls of one broken family"and one child in particular.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Scarenthood #2

Dec 14, 2020

Cormac is trying to learn more about the thing he disturbed underneath the village hall, why it's dogging him, and whether it's connected to the disappearance of a child four decades earlier: and while her dad's been so busy and her mum is" not at home" Scooper has found a new friend to take special care of her.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scarenthood #3

Dec 23, 2020

It's Christmas time, there's no need to be afraid" Unless you've disturbed an ancient entity, your sanity is in tatters, your child is at risk, and your friends don't believe a word you say.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Scout's Honor #1

Jan 12, 2021

A slick commentary on flawed and corrupt institutions mashed up with gritty post-apocalyptic action, Scout's Honor is off to an amazing start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Scout's Honor #2

Feb 16, 2021

Scout's Honor #2 carries every bit of momentum from the first chapter, and builds on it. The hits just keep coming, and the way this one leaves off, it doesn't look like the tension will let up any time soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Scout's Honor #3

Mar 15, 2021

Each chapter of Scout's Honor dials up the tension from the previous. The turn at the end of this one completely turns the thing inside out. Again. Three chapters in, I'm fully invested in this thing for as long as it runs. Three more chapters? Seventeen? A Hundred? I'm in. Let's do this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Sea of Sorrows #1

Nov 24, 2020

In the aftermath of the Great War, the North Atlantic is ripe for plunder by independent salvage crews. When a former naval officer hires the SS Vagabond, he leads the ship to a sunken U-boat, and a fortune in gold. Tensions mount as the crew prepares to double cross each other, but the darkness of the ocean floor holds deeper terrors than any of them have bargained for!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sea of Sorrows #3

Feb 8, 2021

This has been kind of a disappointing week on the horror front, and Sea of Sorrows is thankfully here to break up that pattern. I love the way Richard Douek is tightening the screws, layering on the tension as alliances break down and crew members' sanity is tested.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars Adventures: Smuggler's Run #1

Dec 24, 2020

Following the destruction of the Death Star at the battle of Yavin, Han and Chewie are commissioned by Princess Leia to fly the Millennium Falcon on a top-secret mission for the Rebellion, while evading ruthless bounty hunters and a relentless Imperial agent.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars Adventures: Smuggler's Run #2

Feb 2, 2021

Star Wars: Smuggler's Run #2 caps off a decent little story. Nothing terribly new or original, but definitely entertaining, and chock full of that Star Wars goodness that fans clamor for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Stranger Things: Science Camp #1

Oct 6, 2020

Dustin arrives at Camp Know Where to navigate the new social hierarchy without the support of his Hawkins adventuring party. While also faced with nerdy bullies, a mysterious figure with sinister intent arrives to disrupt the serene woodland scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Stranger Things: Science Camp #2

Oct 31, 2020

A camp counselor has disappeared in the night with no clue but a distant scream. Suspicions arise, and as Dustin inadvertently passes the acid test to become the cool kid at camp, he must balance his newfound popularity with the rising tensions.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Stranger Things: Science Camp #3

Nov 26, 2020

While Dustin continues to prove his mettle as a Dungeons and Dragons DM to prove a point to new-found camp bullies, the counselors of Camp Know Where have been disappearing one by one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Stranger Things: Science Camp #4

Jan 1, 2021

Stranger Things: Science Camp #4 ties up most of the loose ends in this mini-series finale, even if the big mystery falls a little flat in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Sweet Downfall #1

Feb 1, 2021

Sweet Downfall is exactly the kind of weird little indie I'm always looking out for. Robots, mafia dons, edible mythical creatures, and blood spatter all over the pages. I'm here for it. Let's kick this pig.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin #1

Oct 29, 2020

It's the TMNT event of 2020! Springing from the minds of TMNT co-creators Kevin Eastman and Peter Laird comes an epic like you've never seen before!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Devil's Red Bride #1

Sep 30, 2020

When the 'Red Devil' Lord Aragami succumbs to illness, his daughter, the fierce Ketsuko, hatches a plot to save her people, no matter the cost"

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Devil's Red Bride #2

Nov 20, 2020

Ketsuko and Fubei have agreed to lead the arrogant ronin through the woods and over the mountain. But death walks freely in the night, as the dishonored samurai are stalked by shadows of the Black Tongue ninja"and a devil who walks among them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Scumbag #1

Oct 21, 2020

The Scumbag is the story of Ernie Ray Clementine, a profane, illiterate, drug-addicted biker with a fifth-grade education. He's also the only thing standing between us and total Armageddon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Silver Coin #1

Mar 31, 2021

The Silver Coin is a fantastic modern horror anthology. This first installment is sort of an updated version of Hans Christian Andersen's The Red Shoes, by way of Tenacious D's The Pick of Destiny,but way better than that sounds. Guitars and rock and roll and… death.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Vain (2020) #1

Oct 19, 2020

A blood bank is held up, but no cash is taken"only blood. It's the latest in a string of similar crimes and FBI Agent Felix Franklin is certain it's part of a wider plot. But the truth is much more sinister than he could imagine.The four robbers"who call themselves The Vain"are vampires: immortal, physically powerful, and after decades of honing their skills, practically untraceable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Vain (2020) #2

Nov 17, 2020

The Vain are waging their own war after they make a deal with the FBI to form a spec ops team with one mission: They're out for Nazi blood.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
We Live #1

Oct 20, 2020

Earth has been sent a message from the deepest reaches of space " a dark countdown to the extinction of all humanity. But there is hope! Five thousand children will be rescued.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
We Live #3

Dec 22, 2020

Luck has abandoned the group. Humbo and Alice have lost track of their newfound friends, Tala and Hototo. The siblings are being held prisoner and will soon discover that the world hides dark corners, where screams of help are no more than fallen spirits.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
We Live #4

Jan 26, 2021

I was really hoping we'd get back on track this month, and we have. We Live #4 is an intense ride, from start to finish, and there's an impossibly ugly twist in the last sequence that really twists the knife.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
We Live #5

Feb 23, 2021

The Miranda Brothers have worked really hard throughout this five piece mini (which, turns out, isn't actually a mini) to rip our hearts out repeatedly. There's a twist, and another twist, and by the time this thing blows off, it's a completely different story, in a different genre. It's brilliant, in its way. I picked this one up for the first thing, and it was so good, I'm in for the next thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
We Only Find Them When They're Dead #3

Nov 17, 2020

Captain Malik has two choices " drop out of warp speed and risk being destroyed by Richter, or stay in warp until his engines explode from overheating.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
We Only Find Them When They're Dead #4

Dec 22, 2020

The final showdown between Malik and Richter has begun on the surface of the God they've discovered.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
We Only Find Them When They're Dead #5

Jan 28, 2021

We Only Find Them When They're Dead continues tightening the screws. Just when you think there's some resolution in this issue, there's a huge cowboy cliffhanger that sets up a whole new level of intense drama moving forward. Couldn't put this thing down if you wanted to. It's excruciatingly addictive.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More