clayhinojosa10's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Marvel Comics Reviews: 16
6.1Avg. Review Rating

5.5
Dr. Strange (2019) #3

Feb 12, 2020

Dr. Strange the Surgeon Supreme sounds like a cool name, something I'm sure Mark Waid probably pitched jokingly before Marvel gave him the go-ahead. Being a surgeon is a big part of Stephan's origin story, and throughout the years Dr. Strange has found some way to go back to his profession, but it just doesn't scream "ongoing series". The fact that Dr. Strange can use techniques and think like a surgeon is situations is far more intriguing than him actually being in a hospital being a "surgeon".

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dr. Strange (2019) #4

Mar 4, 2020

Although this issue doesn't push the overall story forward, we get a nice glimpse at Dr. Strange's relationship with the hospital and a history lesson for Anthony Ludgate, the once Avenger, Druid.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Empyre: Avengers #1

Jul 22, 2020

The Kree & Skrulls have united to defeat a common enemy, the Cotati. As they wage war on planet Earth, it is apparent that casualties of war, human or otherwise, are non-important to the Kree or Skrull. Thus Earth's Mightiest Heroes are here, to do less than nothing in what Marvel is calling their Phase One of this ridiculously long event.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Empyre: Avengers #2

Aug 12, 2020

Final Thoughts: An event tie-in should give you perspective on what happens outside the main story, which is what Zub is doing, it's just unfortunately not entertaining. It's okay, and even possible, to have a crazy, fun, exciting, and major plot points in a tie-in to create a reason for its existence. Empyre Avengers needs that hook otherwise, there's no reason to pick this title up. This story is okay, and I like the art, but an Avengers title needs to be more than just okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Empyre: Avengers #3

Aug 26, 2020

With the final installment of this story being “Empyre Avengers Aftermath” it's safe to say this story may not have been worth the read in conjunction with the Empyre solo title. And should have been on the chopping block when Marvel decided to cut down the number of tie-ins for the event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Falcon & Winter Soldier (2020) #1

Feb 26, 2020

Derek Landy is in control of two of the biggest stars of Marvel currently. If done well this can be an on-going series I'm ready to buckle in for. These two characters can't, unfortunately, seem to get a break on their own for a story, so it's nice to see a Marvel Team-Up that I'm actually excited about. And also, can Dan Mora please get an annual issue out of all this?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Falcon & Winter Soldier (2020) #3

Sep 29, 2020

Final Thoughts: Although the realization that Jr could be a good fit as a Winter Soldier sidekick, it doesn't change the fact that almost nothing happened in this issue other than some nostalgic fan service and a semi-big reveal for the next issue, which I hope actually progresses the story more. If this series gets more than 6 issues Bucky and Sam need to have the conversation about their veteran-ship and PTSD with no interruptions, it would put weight on the issue and it would be worth it for the character development.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Fantastic Four (2018) #23

Sep 2, 2020

Just once I'd like Franklin to flip a table, snap his fingers, and have everything resolved in one to two pages. Is that a cop out? Probably, but it would be better than reading twenty pages of nonsense. Franklin is a power house and if he's going to be used to do nothing, I'd much rather him not be in a book. At this point I am on the mutants side, let him go to Krakoa. OR give this title to another writer, maybe they might have something better for the Fantastic Four.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fantastic Four (2018) #24

Sep 30, 2020

Johnny Storm and Bobby Drake are fan favorites, and many will enjoy this issue as a one-shot that pits the two heroes in a “playful” way. One-shots should be left for annuals, and although this is an “annuals week” in comics, putting this story in the main series didn't progress anything with the ongoing characters or resolve any ongoing issues with the current story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Fantastic Four: Grimm Noir (2020) #1

Feb 26, 2020

Ben Grimm, The Thing, his life is hard enough having to live with the fact that he will never really be human again, but now he's suffering from a recurring nightmare. Or is has he always been living it?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Ghost-Spider (2019) #10

Jun 17, 2020

Ghost-Spider has/had potential, given where Seanan McGuire started this series and how the new series was pitched, Gwen should have made a permanent move to Earth 616 to attend college, made new friends and deal with her angry thoughts towards the new C.R.A.D.L.E. law. We may never see that story, but let's be honest with ourselves, Ghost-Spider will most likely be rebooted soon, and given a a seventh shot with another writer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hawkeye: Freefall #3

Feb 12, 2020

Taking this book for what it is, a fun book that can be serious when it wants to be. It is worth still reading until Rosenberg completely loses me. But I can't say that will be any time soon. Since I can't judge this book by what I think may or may not happen in the next issue, Rosenberg still has my money.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Hawkeye: Freefall #5

May 20, 2020

This issue was entertaining, and I expect the next issue (the final issue) to be entertaining as well. I don't expect it to be mind-blowing. A brawl between the hero and villain, the hero wins, but not really. At least that's what I'm expecting. Oh, and the character at the end? Yeah not dead, calling it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Hawkeye: Freefall #6

Jul 1, 2020

:I want to chop this unfortunate series finale to poor choices of Marvel, and all the fans that always yell for a Hawkeye book that didn't pick this book up. Matthew Rosenberg has a story in here but was forced to finish it in six issues. If Marvel wasn't afraid to let a book go for longer than six issues, writers including Matthew Rosenberg would be able to flesh out the story and prove they have what it takes to make underrated heroes into bigger stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Iron Man (2020) #1

Sep 16, 2020

I've been told Cantwell has written a great Dr. Doom. I have confidence that Cantwell can turn Iron Man into a title that is worth picking up every month, but it definitely needs to be better than this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The End: Doctor Strange #1

Jan 29, 2020

I may have high standards for a one-shot, but with ten additional pages I think Leah Williams could have fleshed out a little more of this story to make it coherent enough to answer the questions I had, but still appreciating it when a second issue eventually arrives and I'm wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More