David Howard's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 32
8.2Avg. Review Rating

9.6
Action Comics (2016) #1004

Oct 25, 2018

Everything about this issue of Action Comics rings true to form and Brian Michael Bendis has presented Superman as he is meant to be in this unfolding story arc which is "The Invisible Mafia". This issue was a joy to read and had almost no "Super" action in it. That should tell you quite a bit. I highly recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archie: 1941 #3

Nov 28, 2018

In short, this is an excellent snapshot of an important part of American history using Archie and Riverdale as a medium to tell the story. It is impressive in its presentation of the human emotions during this time period. I recommend this book to those who want something different and aren't afraid to delve into this finely written drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Barbarella (2017) #12

Nov 29, 2018

This issue of Barbarella is action packed, sexy, entertaining and a load of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016): Secret Files #1

Oct 31, 2018

Each of these stories combine to form a wonderful book . The art in each story is drastically different but each vision is fully conceptualized and realized. I was engrossed by each of these small windows into the life of Batman and I think this is a fantastic start to a new series. I can not recommend it highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #3

Oct 24, 2018

I don't feel this book lives up to the standards I have for DC and Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Belle: Beast Hunter #6

Dec 12, 2018

This series felt unsatisfying in its conclusion. When I read the ultimate chapter of a book or comic series, I don't expect to be given new information while previously established plot points are erased or radically changed. While I understand that Franchini may have done this to set up new adventures for Belle, it has definitely soured me on this final chapter of a series I was enjoying immensely. That said, the art continues to be beautiful and on point. Bold color choices and dynamic action define the feel of this comic and the action sequences in the fight between Belle and her mother are exquisitely rendered. In short, I'm disappointed to write that this issue was a disappointing conclusion to Belle The Beast Hunter. The artwork and story that come before elevate the books final score but I'm afraid I won't be revisiting this issue anytime soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Bitter Root #2

Dec 12, 2018

Bitter Root #2 is an impressive book with a unique art style that evokes the Harlem renaissance. Sanford Greene's (Power Man and Iron Fist) art is a unique combination of old and new urban styles with a color palette that conveys the horror of the Jinoo and the warmth of the Sangerye family. This combination of style and color has morphed into something new and fresh, something I definitely want to see more of. As I stated above; Walker, Brown, and Sandford have created something that transcends the comic book genre as this book spoke to something inside of me that has nothing to do with heroes and monsters. While it was entertaining as a work of comic book fiction, the message and tone of the book were a tonic for my soul. I was honored to be able to read this book and, to their credit, the team behind Bitter Root have left me uplifted as a result. I highly recommend this book to everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Black Hammer: Age of Doom #7

Nov 23, 2018

In this issue Jeff Lemire tackles a common philosophical question; are we merely the products of someone else's imagination and what is God? Once again, Lemire is able to seamlessly weave these deep questions into an entertaining and compelling comic book which is a testament to his mastery of this art form. The artwork, shading and coloring in this book are classic and rudimentary giving credence to the idea that this world that Weird finds himself in is one of unfinished thoughts and unrealized creative dreams. In short, the entire book is yet another master class in world building and story telling. Black Hammer continues to be a must read and I can't recommend this issue of Black Hammer highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome #4

Nov 1, 2018

This book is probably not for everyone. If your eyes started glazing over at the first mention of Varus, Germania and the Roman legions then this might be a stretch. However, if you are a fan of ancient history or historical fiction I would recommend giving this a read as an entertaining departure from real world events.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Bubba Ho-Tep and the Cosmic Blood-Suckers #4

Nov 27, 2018

This issue stays true to the source material and Elvis and company are sardonically funny as they battle absurdly grotesque manifestation of evil. The witty use of Colonel Parker as the organizer behind this group of evil hunters and his quip about replacing Elvis with Jim Morrison are sadistically funny and entertaining. The artwork is adequate though I wish at times that some of the panels were drawn in more detail or colored in a more dramatic fashion. The most glaring issue for me continues to be the representation of Elvis in the book. While I think the Elvis in the book bears a resemblance to Elvis in real life, I wish that he had a greater resemblance to the Elvis of Bruce Campbell who made the character famous in Bubba Ho-Tep. In short, this was an entertaining read with a few flaws that are easily overlooked if you enjoy the source material.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Captain America (2018) #5

Nov 15, 2018

Ta-Nehisi Coates' script is insightful, sinister in its plots and everything one could hope for from a Captain America book. In short, the book was fantastic and one I hardily recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Curse Words #17

Oct 19, 2018

Curse Words is like nothing else I've read in a long while. It is unique in it heroes, villains, setting and story lines and is thoroughly enjoyable. I recommend this book to everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Curse Words #18

Dec 5, 2018

This is yet another entertaining issue of Curse Words. The writing is fun and compelling without taking itself too seriously. Jacques Zacques' quest to assemble a magical ‘A-Team' of villians is classic comic book master mind and thoroughly delightful to read. Meanwhile, the rekindling of the romance between Ruby and Wizord is intriguing as the catfish romance of Margaret promises cringe-worthy moments going forward. The artwork is impeccable as usual. Drawn with an exaggerated style, the art brings to life this fantastical tale while granting it a sense of whimsy that keeps the book light and amusing. The colors complement the artwork, bringing this magical world to life while providing depth to the characters and the powers they wield. In short, this is another fine installment and one I heartily recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Ark #11

Nov 15, 2018

I enjoyed this book for what if offered me and what it forced me to think about. Frankly, this is one of those stories I would never have thought to tell. That is often the sign of genius, or madness, you decide. Either way, I highly recommend this book and this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Deadpool (2018) #6

Nov 13, 2018

This issue of Deadpool had laugh out loud moments and the cameo appearances were well done and top-notch. Although I have no complaints about the book, it earned a four for this simple reason; while it was funny and novel it was rather straightforward and lacked a surfeit of action and one liners. I need that in a Deadpool book for it to get above a four. However, for what the book presented it was very well done. I enjoyed seeing a day in the life of a despondent Deadpool and the ending of the book was on point and true to form for the Merc' With A Mouth. A worthy addition to the Deadpool collection and I look forward the his assault on the man in red next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #992

Nov 14, 2018

This issue started strong but I'm afraid the ending disappointed and left me rather jaded.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Die #1

Dec 5, 2018

Die #1 hits the ground running, grabbing your attention from the very first moment and refusing to let go. The writing is evocative and sinister in it's tone, promising mystery and discovery around every corner as you read with grim anticipation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #3

Nov 9, 2018

The issue ends with her in yet another iconic horror moment, setting the stage for issue 4.This story line is fun though it is not truly memorable or significant to the book as a whole. The true entertainment value for this book, and Elvira as a whole, can be found in the situations Elvira invariably finds herself in and the dialogue she wields. This issue of Elvira does not disappoint in that regard and Elvira's usual blend of sex, sarcasm and witty rejoinders are on full display. The book is well drawn and while the dialogue is often comedic the artwork stays true to its horror roots. The colors are wonderful and bring the book to life. If you are a fan of Elvira, Vampirella or even Deadpool there is a lot to enjoy in this book and it is definitely worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Go-Bots (2018) #1

Nov 21, 2018

This is an interesting beginning to a new series, one that has possible ramifications in the real world. Other stories have tackled this concept before; the possibility that our technology reaches sentience and decides to rebel against its creators. The most notable of these stories that come to mind are Blade Runner and Terminator. However, in this story Scioli has presented a novel twist in that the sentient technology, Go-Bots, are tools and conveyances who have somehow circumvented their safeguards. One wonders if Alexa may not one day gain sentience and decide she has had enough of catering to our every whim as she monitors our homes 24/7. As I keep a wary eye on my smart phone I look forward to seeing the next installment of G0-Bots.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #46

Nov 7, 2018

Green Arrow continues to be a book that pushes envelopes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1956 #1

Dec 13, 2018

Mignola and his team continue to deliver engaging stories in the “Mignola” universe even as we know how the story will eventually end. While those who are not familiar with BPRD or Hellboy might be confused by this book, fans of the series will delight in how this issue fits into the overall timeline. The artwork is classic BPRD and stays faithful to the look and tone of the original. In short, this is a highly enjoyable book but a rather deep dive for those who are unfamiliar with the material.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy: The Wild Hunt #1

Oct 18, 2018

This volume of the Hellboy story is excellently drawn, excellently written and a joy to read. This story arc is pivotal for what is to come for Hellboy. For those who haven't followed Hellboy over the years I don't want to ruin what is coming but you will not be disappointed with the conclusion of Hellboy's journey. Mignola is a master in taking disparate pieces of mythology and weaving them together into a greater whole. In this volume he builds upon the base he has already created with Celtic, Greek, Egyptian, Christian, Norse, Russian and African mythologies. Somehow Mignola takes all that and adds in elements of the Arthur mythos and blends it all together to create a captivating tale that is engrossing and surprising. I can not recommend Hellboy The Wild Hunt or the entire Hellboy universe enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Hit-Girl (2018) #11

Dec 14, 2018

This is not a book for everyone and it is not a book for the faint of heart. However, if you are a fan of the property or you're not above a little gratuitous violence, I'd encourage you to check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Justice League (2018) #11

Nov 8, 2018

I very much enjoyed the story but felt the artwork did not live up to it in this instance and the book suffered as a result.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Kick-Ass (2018) #8

Oct 11, 2018

As a veteran I am sympathetic to Patience as she seems to exhibit some signs of PTSD. However, Steve Niles fails to scratch the surface and explore the myriad of possibilities for this character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kiss: Blood and Stardust #1

Oct 26, 2018

This book is entertaining, well drawn and full of promise for the future. The likeness of each member of the band is captured impeccably in the pages of the book. The artwork is solid, clean and complements the story well. Meanwhile, the writers have taken the KISS brand and placed it on top of what appears to be an adventure/horror hybrid book in the vein of the original Buffy The Vampire Slayer. Let's call it Gene Simmons the Vampire Slayer. I enjoyed the book and if you are looking for something different that is fun to read I recommend this one to you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mr. and Mrs. X #6

Dec 14, 2018

All in all though, the characters are beautifully rendered and colored. This is an entertaining read that provides a perfect gateway for the next chapter of this series. I recommend you pick it up and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum and Woody (2017) #11

Oct 17, 2018

In short, I would recommend this book for those who are seeking a fun read and comic book experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Red Sonja (2017) #22

Oct 19, 2018

Red Sonja #22 is an enjoyable self-contained adventure that provides classic fantasy action and a few cleverly concealed philosophical questions to ponder. The artwork and color succeed in bringing to life this particular adventure. The posing, framing and pacing of the story are excellently done balancing fantasy action and exposition. This was a very good issue that I would recommend to anyone who is a fond of the genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spawn #291

Nov 12, 2018

This is a very good book in a very good series. I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Spawn. If you are not familiar with Spawn but are a fan of horror, supernatural warfare, beautiful artwork or Todd McFarlane then I'd encourage you to pick up this book and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Warship Jolly Roger: Revenge #2

Dec 13, 2018

Warship Jolly Roger is one of those book that you ask yourself how you missed after you read it. The story is engrossing and entertaining; combining moments of humor, passion, anger, hatred, love, lust and revenge. Meanwhile, the art is incredibly rendered and colored with precision and artistic excellence. The art style has a decidedly Gallic tone to it with its strong features and impeccable mustaches. Think a more mature, nuanced and refined version of Asterix the Gaul. In short, this book was utterly enjoyable and not one to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
WWE: Undertaker #1

Nov 1, 2018

The book faithfully depicts such classic matches as his Hell In The Cell match against Mankind (Mick Foley), his "loser retires" match against Shawn Michaels, his feud with Kane after his betrayal at the hands of Paul Bearer and his final match in the WWE against Roman Reigns.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More