David Lee Martins's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 41
7.7Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #6

Mar 27, 2017

This is a solid first entry in the "RISE OF THE DEMON" story, but it is primarily setting up future books and doesn't present a full story on its own. Dan Jurgens handles the Terry-Dana relationship very well, but I'm not a fan of Terry's response (or lack of?) in the final portion of the story. However, this does its job in making me interested in the next issue to see how this will play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman (2017) #2

Apr 25, 2017

It's a decent issue with excellent art that does its job in setting up further issues. However, I found it rather average on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #1

May 1, 2017

This is a solid book overall. It continues Marvel's current trend of 90s nostalgia, but with the benefit of having genuine legends like Peter David and Mark Bagley behind it. I give this issue 3.5 out of 5 stars. It's a good start to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer #8

Apr 19, 2017

I give this issue a 4 out 5 rating. However, I highly recommend this entire series. It has been incredible and expertly paced. It's an extremely well written and drawn title that mixes mystery with touches of a Golden Age look and feel. The characters themselves are interesting homages on existing characters that make them familiar to you at first, especially if you are a long time comic book reader, but then the story takes them in an entirely different direction, which is grounded and told in a realistic, adult manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Black Hammer #11

Jul 27, 2017

This is storytelling at its finest and yet another strong issue in one of the finest books of recent memory. I have a tough time criticizing this book because I wouldn't change anything given the option. I feel so attached to these characters and the curiosity of seeing how this will eventually end. Every issue has been a thoughtful, emotional experience. If you haven't yet experienced Black Hammer, buy the previous issues, and get on board. You will not regret it. 5 out of 5 stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer #12

Aug 24, 2017

I have reviewed Black Hammer previously for Comic Crusaders and it still applies that this is a must-read book. Regarding this issue, once I got over the fact that Dean Ormston was not supplying the art, I allowed myself to become absorbed in this world and enjoyed the issue immensely. Black Hammer continues to be one of the most gripping books on the market. 4 out of 5 stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Booster Gold / The Flinstones Special #1

Apr 3, 2017

The highlight of this book for me was actually the Jetsons sidestory. This story invoked thoughts of the season 3 "San Junipero" episode of the television series Black Mirror. I don't want to give anything else away. I could see the surprise coming, but boy was it an interesting surprise. If you are a fan of the Jetsons, you owe it to yourself to read this.It also made me think of how well the Jetsons futuristic theme could be used to tell interesting stories when presented with maturity, as shown in this issue. Overall, this Booster Gold/Flintstones crossover is a fun book that fans of either series should enjoy. However, The Jetsons story was the standout for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Box Office Poison Color Comics #4

Apr 5, 2017

This book can be regarded as a special edition as it contains plenty of bonus material. The postscript, in particular, is fascinating. It details a lot of the easter eggs and thought process that went into the characters and scenarios encountered in the issue. The mini covers are also a nice addition. They contain small annotations that are fun to read and provide additional insight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Diablo House #2

Sep 28, 2017

Diablo House #2 is a fun issue for fans of the genre, with incredible art, but it never reaches its full potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Doctor Who: The Ninth Doctor (2016) #12

Apr 26, 2017

I found the plot and Doctor's characterization interesting but wrapped in a rushed presentation. I really wanted to like this issue and I can see a lot of good ideas spread throughout it, I just wish greater care was taken with the art and quality. I have a soft spot with the Ninth Doctor as it was this Doctor that re-introduced me to the character and made me a fan of the new series, but I can't recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Who: The Tenth Doctor: Year Three #5

May 17, 2017

While it doesn't break new ground, it's a well told, emotional story that captures the feel of the Tenth Doctor's television adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Elsewhere #1

Aug 3, 2017

This bookis a fun adventure story that does a great job of not giving too much away. It asks more questions than delivers answers, which is great for a first issue. The pace is very fast and the book wastes little time in getting off the ground (pun not intended). I am genuinely intrigued to see how this story plays out in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith and the Future Force #1

Jul 26, 2017

I give this issue 4.5 out of 5 stars. I couldn't ask for a better start to this series. This was a joy to read and I can't wait to for the next issue. Faith is one of the best characters in all of comics and I can't think of a better time to get on board. Go out and buy this issue (and then pick up the previous series while you're at it), you won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Faith and the Future Force #4

Oct 19, 2017

I give this issue 4 out 5 stars. This is a fitting finale to a great series. It is high quality all around and a fun read. Faith fans will love this, especially if they know how it ties back to her previous series. However, I don't know if the marketing did this series any favors. We saw all the cover material with various Valiant heroes helping Faith and in reality, this was just a very good Faith story. As a fan of the character, that's not a bad thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Freeway Fighter #2

Jun 20, 2017

The art was the standout feature of the issue for me. Simon Coleby delivers with well rendered and explosive splash pages. The art doesn't contain a lot of the visual effects that you see in most books these days, which felt refreshing. The amount of detail is consistently high. My only criticism is that the characters seem to have limited facial expressions throughout. It's a minor gripe. I did appreciate the realistic grittiness and overall quality of the art. The main cover was good, with an interesting angle chosen. Like the rest of the art, it is well rendered and high quality. I give this issue 3.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grimm Tales Of Terror Vol 3 #5

May 31, 2017

I give this issue a3 out of 5 rating. It's a decent horror tale, but the busy art and rushed story took away from an intriguing plot that had the potential to be something special. Horror fans will find enjoyment from this issue, but it's not something that will stick with you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harbinger: Renegade #5

Jul 12, 2017

This is an explosive debut in “The Road To Harbinger Wars 2”. I'm looking forward to where this leads to. Given that it is Valiant, we can be sure that the effects will be long-lasting and affect the entire Valiant Universe in some fashion. It is rare for a story to unsettle me like this one, but I relish stories like this that can grab me on an emotional level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #5

Mar 24, 2017

This title is a gem, with a fun hero, well-written characters, and great art. If you are new to this series, issue 5 isn't a bad place to start, but I highly recommend picking up the previous issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
KISS: The Demon #3

Mar 31, 2017

Overall, this is an enjoyable issue. You may be surprised at how solid of a title this, even if you aren't a KISS fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lazaretto #1

Sep 6, 2017

I enjoyed this issue more than I initially thought I would. It's not a groundbreaking story and it's fairly obvious early on where the story is leading to, but it's executed well. The dialogue is a highlight and keeps the story moving along. The art style has a great human, analog look to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mech Cadet Yu #2

Sep 15, 2017

Overall, it's an enjoyable issue and maintains the series' momentum. It delivers familiar themes in a well-executed package. The final pages of the issue also do a great job of building excitement for the rest of the series. I give this issue 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Superman #10

Apr 18, 2017

I did have a problem with how the story ended so abruptly. It felt a bit jarring. I also felt Lex's character seemed off and he didn't really add to the story. However, this is a fun, fast-paced read. New Super-Man is an underrated title and having Superman appear in this issue may help get new readers to jump on. The story in this issue also does a good job of setting up future issues. We learn of Avery's plans and we also have an interesting thread involving the Guardians of the Afterlife and Kenan's parents.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rapture #3

Jul 20, 2017

I give this issue 4.5 out of 5 stars. I wasn't sure of the premise when I heard of this series and I initially picked this up on the names of Kindt and CAFU. I haven't been disappointed and this series has exceeded my expectations. It's yet another high-quality Valiant title that is a solid buy if you are into deep, mystical adventures with engrossing writing and a solid mix of story and action. The knockout color and art will keep you smiling all the way through. My main criticism is that this issue feels short and it's hard to review this without taking into account the entire series as a whole. This is very much the penultimate book in a series that is meant to be read in full. I'm sad we only have one more issue after this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Weapons #3

Aug 16, 2017

In summary, this is another outstanding issue of Secret Weapons. This series impresses in all areas. The writing is top-notch and the art is incredible. I feel this is one of the best books Valiant is currently publishing and that is saying a lot considering how well-regarded and rated their books are. The fact that Eric Heisserer is behind the scripts for their current films is reassuring and the love for these characters, especially Livewire, shines through. 4.5 out of 5 stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sherlock Frankenstein & The Legion of Evil #1

Oct 20, 2017

It's a great start to the series, but I'm knocking down the score slightly because it retreads some of what fans already know from the main Black Hammer series. This is likely done to be friendly to new readers, which I can appreciate, but existing fans of the series may have wished for a different approach. However, you can't go wrong with more Black Hammer. This is a masterfully executed book with excellent writing, deep characters, and incredible art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shirtless Bear Fighter #5

Oct 18, 2017

If you are looking for a book to make you question your life or a reflection of the world around you, this isn't it. This is a book that is sheer fun and joy. I could nitpick things about the issue, but it handles its premise and executes on what it sets out so well that it is hard to capture negatives when the book keeps you smiling. I can't recommend this issue and series enough. 5 out of 5 stars! Go out and get it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Skin & Earth #2

Aug 10, 2017

I feel like the story lost some momentum compared to the first issue. We also aren't given a lot of seeds for future issues, so I genuinely don't know what to expect going forward. I do feel the premise still has potential and I'm curious to know where Lights will take us with this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Space Riders: Galaxy of Brutality #1

Mar 29, 2017

The strength of this book is how unique and fresh it is. The Capitan is written to be a badass and the book evokes a Grindhouse mixed with Sci-Fi movie feel. The writing is passable, but this book is all about the art, action, and tone. I loved every page. If you are looking for a unique, retro, pulp book with psychedelic colors that is all about fun and doesn't take itself too seriously, pick up Space Riders: Galaxy of Brutality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Man (2016) #15

Apr 7, 2017

Szymon Kudranski takes over the art duties in this issue and does a fantastic job. The entire issue has a dark look to it with most of the characters appearing in shadow to add to the seriousness of the content. Szymon handles the emotion and character pieces with great skill. The book is also filled with nice touches like phone booth lights glowing into the panel and soft focus effects that draw your attention to the characters. You can tell great care has been taken to give every panel a cinematic look. I'm very impressed by Szymon's work and look forward to what he can deliver in action scenes after showing expertise in softer moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek: Boldly Go #7

Apr 12, 2017

I enjoyed the story and the writing of the characters but felt slightly let down by the art. Fans of the Kelvin timeline films should pick this up as it does a good job of expanding that universe and continuing the feel and ongoing story of those films.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek: Boldly Go #8

May 24, 2017

I enjoyed this issue and continue to enjoy this series. While this particular arc doesn't contain a world-altering event, it has provided nice character moments and is very well written. This is a great title for fans of the Kelvin timeline films and fans of Trek in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Rogue One Adaptation #1

Apr 10, 2017

This is a good issue if you are into Rogue One and want an expanded version of the story. However, I would recommend waiting for an eventual collected edition.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #24

Jun 13, 2017

While not quite as shocking as issue 23, the ending of this issue is something to see and I was genuinely disappointed that I have to wait for the conclusion. This is a great issue and a very worthy purchase. I give this issue 4.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Tekken #1

May 3, 2017

The art is great and fans of Tekken will find enjoyment from the issue. It also felt like a throwback to the Malibu Street Fighter comics of the 90s. However, as a casual Tekken fan, I found the issue and overall story above average. While some may like the fast pace, I would have liked more time devoted to building up the characters and for their encounters to have been setup in a more organic fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Green Hornet '66 Meets The Spirit #1

Jul 5, 2017

I give this issue 4 out of 5 stars. It has a fun premise and doesn't waste a lot of time getting the masked heroes into action. This is highly recommended if you are looking for a good read that doesn't take itself too seriously and has a joyful 60s charm.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Unworthy Thor #5

Mar 27, 2017

If you have been following this title and are a fan of Odinson, you deserve to follow this story through to its conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Woods #31

Apr 6, 2017

This is a great series with a fully developed world and characters that you will get attached to.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #6

Jun 23, 2017

It's a solid end to the second arc for this series. However, I felt it was only slightly above average and came across as somewhat rushed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #4

Jun 28, 2017

I give this issue 4 out 5 stars. It doesn't quite have the sheer momentum of the previous issues because Aric and his team are out of immediate danger fairly early and it tries to be both a wrap-up and beginning of a new storyline. However, it is still a well-executed issue. This is one of those series that is a joyous reminder of why comic books are such a captivating medium for storytelling. It has been mentioned before, but it bears repeating that this is also an excellent series for new readers to jump on to. If you haven't yet jumped onto this X-O series, you owe it to yourself to check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Youngblood (2017) #1

May 4, 2017

It's a fun, modern story with great art and a fast pace. The characters are an intriguing mix of old and new and the story doesn't give everything away. This is a great start for Youngblood.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Z Nation #1

Apr 13, 2017

This title gets a 3.5 out of 5 rating from me. Being the first issue, it contains the usual setup and exposition, but also a fair amount of quality zombie action. It is a fun book to read with outstanding art. Fans of the television show and zombie themed entertainment should get enjoyment from this.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More