X-O Manowar #4

Writer: Matt Kindt Artist: Doug Braithwaite Publisher: Valiant Comics Release Date: June 28, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 12 User Reviews: 10
8.8Critic Rating
8.9User Rating

+ Pull List

ALL-NEW ARC! ALL-NEW JUMPING-ON POINT! "GENERAL": PART ONE-In the fires of victory, a soldier becomes...a general. With the hostile Cadmium army crushed beneath his force's boots, Aric of Dacia now commands an entire fleet into the final battle for thesoul of an empire. But as a new dawn rises across this unrelenting alien world, what vicious new menace will come forth to greet it? X-O Manowar's path to domination darkens as blockbuster artist Doug Braithwaite (Armor Hunters) joins New York Times bestselling writer Matt Kindt (Divinity, Mind MGMT) for a perfect, planet-shaking entry point into Valiant's biggest series yet!

  • 10
    Comics: The Gathering - Jason Laframboise Jul 4, 2017

    The art alone would make this book an easy 10 for me, add to that a really good story that feels like just a small piece of a larger story and we get a perfect book. I'm over the excitement of the return of X-O Manowar and I'm now just enjoying what is turning out to be a really great book. If you aren't buying it, you need to buy it. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Comicsverse - Zach Jun 28, 2017

    In the best issue to date, X-O MANOWAR #4 both develops the main character and incorporates amazing action scenes. Read Full Review

  • 10
    All-Comic - Jesse Izdepski Jul 2, 2017

    Constantly well written, visually awesome, and everything that is right in the comic book game right now...X-O Manowar is a remarkable experience that knocks it out of the park month after month. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Spartantown - Enrique Rea Jul 2, 2017

    'X-O Manowar' has been an adrenaline rush that's lit a fire under the comic book market. It's everything you could ask for in a sci-fi action story. It's 'John Carter' on Red Bulls and speed. Kindt finds a way to hold on to Aric's humanity amid a relentless war. It's no easy feat and the beautiful visceral art from Braithwaite and Rodriguez makes it visually stunning as well. Stop reading this review and buy it now! Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Graphic Policy - Alex K Cossa Jun 28, 2017

    This week sees both the first three issue arc collected in TPB form on sale for $9.99, which is a steal, as well as this issue. If you want to go all in for this series, then this is the week to do so. Read Full Review

  • 9.2
    Outright Geekery - Christopher Amundson Jun 28, 2017

    Luscious art, that's what I get in this book, like peanut butter and marshmallow fluff sandwich, almost too good. Being a huge proponent of detail, I can say that Doug's work here is truly mind-blowing here. Read Full Review

  • 8.9
    SciFiPulse - Oral Frier Jul 5, 2017

    Aric is once again rising through the ranks. What could have been a stale rehash of his story appears vibrant and refreshing. Kindt & co. are crafting a wonderful space opera in the vein of Bradbury or Asimov. This book sparkles as a gem of yesteryear, but it also shines like a beacon of modern storytelling. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Crusaders - David Lee Martins Jun 28, 2017

    I give this issue 4 out 5 stars. It doesn't quite have the sheer momentum of the previous issues because Aric and his team are out of immediate danger fairly early and it tries to be both a wrap-up and beginning of a new storyline. However, it is still a well-executed issue. This is one of those series that is a joyous reminder of why comic books are such a captivating medium for storytelling. It has been mentioned before, but it bears repeating that this is also an excellent series for new readers to jump on to. If you haven't yet jumped onto this X-O series, you owe it to yourself to check it out. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Bastards - Patrick Wolf Jun 28, 2017

    These problems aside, X-O Manowar is still an excellent series and definitely worth your time. If you haven't already started reading this franchise, start now. There's not much more I can say. X-O Manowar is in a class of its own. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    The GCRN - Dan Clark Jun 30, 2017

    Nothing against the art of Doug Braithwaite as what he does works for this story. However, it was sad to see Tomas Giorello go for this arc. Maybe it is a byproduct of being infatuated with the new kid on the block but Giorellos art was something special. He made this book feel like a major event worthy of the highest attention, which is a trait that Braithwaite along with most artist does not have. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Multiversity Comics - Michael Mazzacane Jul 3, 2017

    Great art and a narrative that creates the conditions for that art makes for a good read. Read Full Review

  • 6.5
    AiPT! - David Brooke Jun 26, 2017

    An okay outing with a nice new direction, but it retreads themes we've seen before. Read Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More