Christopher Amundson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 28
8.8Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Bankshot #1

Jun 14, 2017

With the color and the explosions, this book promises to be fun and loaded with constant action! If you are into spy books, big explosions, good guys who are bad guys, this is something worth looking into. Heck, the book alone and it's action is worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Bankshot #2

Aug 23, 2017

For those GI Joe fans, for those 007 fans, action fans, hero fans that love the twists, I truly believe this is a book you would find interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Cloud #1

Apr 9, 2017

Maybe a little savage? Eh, maybe. I will say, this book has me wanting more story. It leaves me wanting to know all of the who/what/when/why's. All in all, this is a solid start to a brand new book, just under a 4.0, and that's pretty good. Next month, bring it! I want to get lost in this story! Give me a secret or two, plant a few hidden traps. Make me come back to your story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Salvation #1

Sep 20, 2017

This is the beginning of the newest series of Bloodshot books. For many fans that have never read anything Bloodshot, don't worry. This is the type of book where you really don't need to know much about Bloodshot to truly enjoy the story. Jump on, read it, then let's have ourselves a little chat below. I love me some Bloodshot, and consider myself a pretty knowledgeable guy regarding him. I can answer just about any question you might have.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Britannia: We Who Are About to Die #3

Jun 19, 2017

If you have never gotten into any of these Valiant books, now is as good of a time as any. With #3 hitting book shelves this Wednesday, it will be easy for you to get caught up and bask in the amazing stories and beautiful art! Also, there are 4 pages of "The History and Reality of Rome's Gladiators", a short essay or might I say, history lesson at the end of this book. Just about every book has these little history lessons, and they really try and shed light on just how life was back then. These stories always seem to add to the enjoyment of the story for me, they are extremely enjoyable, and well written.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Diablo House #1

Jul 4, 2017

All in all, this was a solid book to read. I really hope they continue with this line, as I think there are tons of different stories to capitalize on. With politics being as bad as they are today, this would be a very simple thing to capitalize on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dragon Age: Knight Errant #1

May 3, 2017

If I were in the age group that this targets, I just might like this book. It has potential, and although the art isn't gonna knock anyone down, it'll do for a story. This is a great intro book, one young kids can read and parents don't have to worry about things getting too violent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #10

Apr 5, 2017

All in all, this book really works for me. This new arc is going to be a fun read as I am already looking forward to next month's book! A 4.25 is a solid rating for any book, even one as enjoyable as Faith. Please enjoy this book, and for a breath of fresh air, just turn to page 1 of Faith: The Faithless

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Faith #11

May 3, 2017

The end of the book is a bit of a surprise, as The Faithless know exactly who Faith's alter ego is. The book ends on a cliff hanger, one that has me already scoping out my Local Comic Shop, waiting for number twelve to hit the shelves. This isn't the most intense book ever, but it has been a better than solid book so far. I really hope this trio knocks the next one out of the park!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
G.I. Joe (2016) #4

Apr 21, 2017

Maybe this isn't my generation's comic. Maybe I'm too old to enjoy the story line. If I looked at this as a kid who maybe just started getting into comics, say 9-12, then this would be pretty cool. For me though, it misses the mark, as it just didn't speak to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godshaper #1

Apr 12, 2017

Wrapping this book up, a very solid 4+ effort from Boom! Studios. Simon and Jonas really tell an interesting story, one that will keep me coming back to learn more about.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Godshaper #4

Jul 11, 2017

I don't know the sales figures surrounding this book, but I can imagine it's still going semi strong. So far, this has been a fantastic story about a different time, and all together different world. Each month, I volunteer to review this book, because I have enjoyed it. I have no clue what the size of your pull list is, or just how many books you can purchase each and every month. With that said, I firmly believe that this is a solid story that is worth your read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godshaper #5

Aug 15, 2017

I don't quite know just how long this Godshaper is gonna go, no clue how many issues it will last, but it's a fantastic read, one I look forward to each and every month. Like I state in all of my reviews, got a question, have a concern? Feel like chatting this book up some? You know how to get a hold of me, just comment below!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Grass Kings #2

Apr 12, 2017

I would suggest you consider placing this book on your pull list. Short on funds? Then consider picking this up when the first Trade Paperback comes out. An overall 4.25 is well worth the read. This ride with Matt and Tyler promises to be a fun mystery style comic that will make you feel like you've just been on a roller coaster, with every issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harbinger: Renegade #5

Jul 10, 2017

For months now, we have been told that this book will severely impact the Valiant Universe. We've been told the special covers warning us were no joke. We were told to be prepared, that death was just around the corner. Well, Rafer, Darick, and the rest of the Valiant crew were spot on! This is one story, one event, that people really need to pay attention to now. It will only pick up pace and intensity as we continue on! This Wednesday, the entire Valiant Universe will be upended, as #massacre begins its decent towards war!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #26

Apr 17, 2017

This book, this story is a must read. If you are just getting into Ninjak, make sure you grab the Trade Paper Backs and enjoy the whole story from the beginning. As for this book, pick it up, if just for the interior art!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rai: The History of the Valiant Universe #1

Jun 13, 2017

This book really lays down the foundation of the Valiant Universe. Anyone new to this Universe will enjoy it and get a little taste of what has happened and enjoy this book. All of the Valiant fans will enjoy this too, as they take a stroll down memory lane. This book has a little for everyone, as I think everyone would enjoy the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rapture #1

May 24, 2017

Tama has been in many different stories starting with her first appearance in The Valiant. Again, she appeared in the amazing story Book of Death. Here, she has matured and is aware. Matt Kindt has done an amazing job lulling us as we wait (expect) a suspenseful story. We know the pace is going to pick up and get crazy, and with Cafu and Dalhouse working together, the three of them promise to throw every pitch in their arsenal at us!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Scales And Scoundrels #1

Sep 12, 2017

The potential to be one of those books that will be a fun for many different people

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Weapons #2

Jul 20, 2017

Such a solid book, I want to talk about it! Refuse to open a can of worms and spoil it for anyone, but I have things I want to debate regarding this book, things to discuss. Feel like a little interaction regarding this book, feel free to drop me a message below. Let me know what you think about the book, about the biopic at the end of the book, and what you think of the characters!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shirtless Bear Fighter #4

Sep 20, 2017

The imagery is fantastic, and so unbelievable!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spencer & Locke #1

Apr 15, 2017

Man, what a ride! What a fun book! Little known Action Lab has something fantastic here, I only hope they can push it enough to get enough readers to pay attention. I know I will be looking forward to issue #2 and hoping they keep the pace up, the intensity up, keep the story rolling

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Stained #1

Apr 24, 2017

Sadly, I know where this book will end, but it doesn't deserve to be there. This book is to good of a story for it to wind up in the dollar bin. David tells a great story here, one leaving you wanting more. Yusuf is a master with his art. 451 landed a great story here, and while you may not know who 451 is, you might know a few of their founders. Michael Bay, Douglas Nunes, John and Anthony Gentile are not small names, ones that all comic book readers should take note of.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Stained #2

Jun 2, 2017

We are now witnessing David Baron and his mind for comics, and I am impressed! This is a book I certainly think you will enjoy. Regardless if you get the first print or a second print, sit back, grab a drink, and enjoy one heck of a good book!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
War Mother #1

Aug 22, 2017

Peeps, this story book is fantastic, and the story is only gonna grow in intensity the further the book moves along. I for one am excited that it's War Mother's time to shine, and I know she will!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #3

May 24, 2017

For those that have stuck with this series (and there are a good deal of you), you won't be let down, there simply isn't a gap. This book kicks you off right where the other one dropped you off and has been an amazing start to an amazing book. If this is your first glance at this series, and you haven't heard of XO Manowar, seriously pick up a #1 and read it. Get yourself caught up, these stories have been well worth it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
X-O Manowar (2017) #4

Jun 28, 2017

Luscious art, that's what I get in this book, like peanut butter and marshmallow fluff sandwich, almost too good. Being a huge proponent of detail, I can say that Doug's work here is truly mind-blowing here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-O Manowar (2017) #5

Jul 24, 2017

Hopefully by now, I've intrigued you enough to want to go out and pick up this book. If so, awesome. If not, hey, that's ok. I'm just glad you took the time to read my article, so thank you. Since the beginning, I have loved this fast pace story, all of it's action/artistry. It's not only a solid book, but it's a solid story. Enjoy!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More