Ellis J. Wells's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outer Realm Comics Reviews: 24
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8
Captain Marvel (2012) #1

Jul 22, 2012

FANTASTIC!!! I adored Kelly Sue deConnick's "Osborn" mini-series; so I had high hopes for her work here... and she delivered. It's a stand alone issue; that instantly makes Carol Danvers one of the best damn heroes in Marvel history! She's uber powerful, capable of coming up with inventive plans to foil a villain; while ALSO being humble, idolising a non-superhero; and spending her "out of office" time supporting a friend suffering from cancer. It was glorious!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Dark Avengers #176

Jun 25, 2012

Jeff Parker's "Timebolts" have moved on from generic history hoping, to revisiting MARVEL history (currently returning to a dangling plot thread, never resolved in Fantastic Four #567). It's a clever little story, again organically evolving the plot that already exists, while introducing new elements. The return of Man-Thing, the up-coming confrontation with Doom... this is all A+ stuff. I'm not sure how accessible this is for new readers; but I feel there is enough in-dialogue exposition to cover most of the confusion. Excited for next issue (as always).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Dark Avengers #177

Jul 22, 2012

Juggling two casts and two stories is no simple feat; yet Jeff Parker pulls it off with ease. I feel I got two fully realised issues IN ONE!!! Both stories moved forward, with plenty of character moments diced through-out. Honestly, we got more story in this one issue than two (maybe even three) issues by other writers. I'm excited to see where the Timebolts have landed next; AND for the eagerly anticipated throw down between the Dark Avengers and Sultan Magus (STOP TEASING US, JEFF PARKER!!!). Once again this comic remains one of the very best series on sale. Kudos!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Secret Avengers #22

Feb 11, 2012

This is where Remender shines. Much like every other comic I've read by him, his ability to invent new villains and new ideas (rather than just rinse and repeat previous writer's characters) astounds me. I liked the little "wink" to recent troubles in England by having a villain called "Riot". I loved the Lighthouse being a microscopic space station. And the female Descendant from the City of the Dead (I "think" her name was Mother Origin???), birthing replicas through boils in her back??? GROSS!!! But awesome/inventive. And with the re-emergence of the Masters of Evil; I'm sure this will prove an epic storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Secret Avengers #23

Feb 25, 2012

Rick Remender... I am so, SO sorry for doubting you. This issue was FANTASTIC!!! Father, the Descendants and the Core are all wonderful inventions. Adding Venom and the Human Torch, beautiful! And this is one of the best "sacrifice" issues I can think of... a very noble send-off. Very tense, very sad. The ending wasn't a "shocker" (it was very dramatic though), but the death of Yalda was a big surprise. Can't wait for next issue. Bravo!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Secret Avengers #24

Mar 30, 2012

I'm really loving this first arc, exploring the Descendants, the strange relationship "Father" has with all those who follow him; the use of a vast ensemble. It's ticking all the boxes. My only gripe is I'm still not 100% clear on who is a "robot/cyborg/clone/fake" and who is real. Is Lady Deathstrike THE Lady Deathstrike??? Is that Wasp's body, or just a cyborg? Is the LMD of Nick Fury the SAME LMD that formed the Masters of Evil? Little helpful "info boxes" (which are standard practice in comics) would be helpful, with such a vast array of characters packed into one issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Secret Avengers #25

Apr 28, 2012

Rick Remender is a very talented writer. Not only does he create NEW characters and NEW villains; he also connects his worlds together; while also grounding it in Marvel's history. I have nothing but praise; and even though this arc began weaker than the rest of his work, it still ended on a high. I look forward to the return of the Descendants and the Masters of Evil; once "AvsX" concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Avengers #26

Apr 28, 2012

I was very nervous for this arc; Remender hasn't thrilled me with both his "Venom" tie-in arcs, and naturally assumed the same would be true here... but actually I really enjoyed both the issue AND the team assembled. I really liked Thor as leader; and the cast have a good dynamic (enough tension and comradery to make interactions interesting). I look forward to next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Secret Avengers #28

Jun 27, 2012

A really well composed 3 part epic, which remains firmly rooted "at the gates of death" the entire time. Death haunts this story (and this arc); which is maybe a fitting metaphor conveying the destruction the Phoenix entity exudes. To the overall mega-plot of "Secret Avengers" this arc is probably utterly pointless (in-fact, based on "AvsX" so far, this story IS utterly pointless) BUT that doesn't stop it being great storytelling by a truly skilled writer. Against all odds, I really enjoyed this arc. Was it perfect? No. But despite some faults, it was still a wonderful story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Thunderbolts (2006) #168

Jan 10, 2012

The "nightmares/fears" of a character has been done before (by Parker in the very book, both with Juggernaut and further back to Osborn's Thunderbolts hit-squad when they fort the Agents of Atlas); but despite being a "been there, done that" theme, it worked really well. It covered A LOT of Cage's thoughts and feelings towards his team. The fact his nightmares showed concern for Ghost, Moonstone, Boomerang and Fixer tells a lot; and the continual moving forward of the main plot with Ghost's time-travel made this issue more than "just" a stand-alone/irrelevant read. BUT the cheap undone-ending really does leave a sour taste in my mouth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Thunderbolts (2006) #169

Jan 21, 2012

Another exceptional issue, from the best Thunderbolts writer since Fabian. This is truly the new "golden age" of Thunderbolts. Exploring King Arthur's Court and the sinister mystery behind the dungeon's of Camelot is original and fun (as all the time-travel arcs have been). Is it too much to hope the veiled reference to Morgan le Fay will induce her to appear next issue? Maybe Moonstone and Morgan le Fay can have a rematch? Though I am very much looking forward to the inevitable Satana vs. Merlyn. SWEET CHRISTMAS, this is a wonderful issue. All fantasy role-players will adore this issue, just as I have.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Thunderbolts (2006) #170

Feb 19, 2012

This was not the issue I thought it would be. Arrogantly I assumed I "knew" how it would resolve, based on the set-up of last issue. The Underbolts will befriend the monsters, kick Merlin's arrogant ass; and flee in salvation. I could not have been more wrong (or more pleased). Instead of an action packed throw-down, Jeff Parker delivers a very sombre (and quite moving) swan-song to the final years in Arthur's court. Merlin's bitter recounting of the "plague" the quest for the grail has brought upon Camelot, that the monsters were both in his care (to be protected from the world) AND YET also (ultimately) monsters, who want to feast, eat and kill innocents. It was a surprising, and beautifully told issue; with one HELL of a cliffhanger. Cannot wait. Jeff Parker, we are not worthy!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Thunderbolts (2006) #171

Mar 23, 2012

A solid solo story, not very ground-breaking or important in terms of her character's development; similar to Jim McCann's short story "Wake Up Screaming" in the Women of Marvel mini-series, or Jeff Parker's own .1 issue; all three are very enjoyable Songbird stories, that ultimately just keep recapping how awesome and strong her character remains; without actually bringing much new to the table. I am a massive Songbird fan, so I'm happy; and Parker clearly seems to bring a lot of respect for the character to the table. But non-fans might find this a less thrilling read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thunderbolts (2006) #172

Apr 7, 2012

I have loved every issue of this epic 12 part time-travel arc, and this issue is no exception. Probably the most exciting, due to the high stakes (and personal geek out) of facing off against the founding Thunderbolts. There are so many bread crumbs still to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thunderbolts (2006) #173

Apr 22, 2012

I am now very much of the opinion this time-travel arc is Parker's 'Magnum Opus' (to date) on "the Thunderbolts". It's simply wonderful! Yes, he ticks all the boxes (every character gets a moment to shine, the story is moved forward, the references to past events keeping things in continuity... ha... well, sort of after this issue...); but what makes it special is how unusual the story is; how unique a dilemmas the Underbolts face. They are not preserving the time-line, they are flying in the face of it. It would be similar to the X-men actively pursuing Legion to create "Age of X"... it just doesn't happen. I have no idea how this will end, what will go down, who will survive; that is an incredible compliment that I cannot say about any other comic I read. I am so, SO very excited for the conclusion next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Uncanny X-Force (2010) #25

Jul 16, 2012

Something felt off this issue. Specifically many of the scenes in the White Sky Room felt... odd. I had to re-read them several times, the words would just not sink in. I've never had that problem with Remender's work before; maybe it's the art? I like the set-up, as always Remender is a fount of brave new ideas and concepts (White Sky Room, Omega Clan); and the side-scenes at the Jean Grey School for Gifted Youngsters were exquisite; powerful, yet underplayed. Emotional, yet contained. It didn't have the same punch as the first issue of the previous arcs... hopefully Remender hasn't spread himself too thin with other titles (since this series has been EPICALLY amazing up-to-now); and we are in for some fantastic drama next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Uncanny X-Force (2010) #26

Jul 17, 2012

After last issue's tepid beginning, the story kicks into full gear, with an epic take down of X-force. Mystique vs. Fantomex, Wolverine and Nightcrawler vs. Omega Clan, Shadow King vs. Psylocke (I assume... I can't imagine that is actually Xavier, Angel and the deceased Jamie Braddock)... it's EPIC! A nail-biting issue; where the team is placed in very real danger. Can't wait for next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Venom (2011) #17

Jul 17, 2012

I think "Savage Six" tell you everything you need to know. A brilliant twist on a classic Spiderman story, except here the majority of the villains united are from previous "Venom" arcs, making their union even more organic. All you need is Kraven the Hunter and you've got a complete set. This is a dark, vicious, brutal story; where Agent Venom is truly fighting for his life in every... single... panel! I have nothing but praise for the story. A cracking opening issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Venom (2011) #18

Jul 18, 2012

A brutal, fast-paced issue; where Flash cannot let up for a second. The pacing was excellent, as was the tension of Betty not picking up her phone (unaware of the danger she's in), or Jack O'Lantern (in normal clothes) finding her first. The cruelty of Flash trying to save Betty, who then constantly fights to get away from him (believing he is nothing but the supervillain Venom). The whole plot is so simple, but so expertly handled. A simply wonderful issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men (2010) #24

Feb 11, 2012

A very enjoyable issue exploring the side-plot of Jubilee's vampire-ism. Good character exploration, and given some more attention to Gischler's personal favourite story (the one he began his X-men run with, several years ago). I'm VERY excited to see where this story is going, and next month's cover already will get a 5 star... it's beautiful!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
X-Men (2010) #25

Feb 25, 2012

Gischler writes a wonderful Storm, of that: no fan can deny! She kicks ass, she takes names, she never loses her cool; and she never backs down out of fear. And since this is a Storm heavy issue... yeah, it was really fun to read. I wasn't "thrilled" how much the X-men refused to listen to the Forgiven, but it's a minor gripe/standard plot flaw for all "team vs. team" issues. I was starting to wonder what the conflict was going to become, now the two teams have calmly talked... and OH BOY! Deadpool, Lady Bullseye and a whole host of others (is that Scorpion and Scalp-hunter???). EXCITED! Sure, it's a little "generic fights", but so what! It's fun! This comic is just harmlessly fun, and I love it for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
X-Men (2010) #26

Mar 9, 2012

As I have said the last three reviews, this is just a very fun, very enjoyable comic. It's not ground-breaking or really much of a character defining issue for anyone (maybe it will lead to a big change for Jubilee, I'm not sure); but not every comic needs to be "and things will never be the same." I'm very excited to find out who the mysterious "Kabuki-looking loser" turns out to be. I never read Curse of the Mutants, so I'm "hoping" it's not a surprise reveal linked to that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men (2010) #27

Apr 22, 2012

Again, nothing too ground-breaking or eventful, but immensely fun all the same. I really will miss Gischler on this comic, since he "gets" Storm (and most of the characters he uses). Often I feel his stories are heavy on characterisation (which is AWESOME) but weaker on plot; like in this case. It was good "the Forgiven" have a back-story... I just don't much care for vampire stories in general; so my enjoyment could only peak so high. But this comic is always my "guilty pleasure." It may not be a masterpiece, but every issue I'm still having a blast reading it. And solid entertainment month-in/month-out is nothing to turn one's nose up at.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
X-Men (2010) #30

Jun 28, 2012

In many ways I feel this is an unfair grade; because I AM sooooo excited for next issue; but a good amount of that is based on hope, rather than cold hard knowledge. It seems like this could lead to Storm becoming the formidable leader she once way; it seems like grand plans are under way in regards to Sans Mutant Frontier... BUT; it's not certain. It could all amount to little in the wider X-world. The villain's scheme does seem a tad generic (very similar to Kaga's plans in the arc 'Exogenetic' in "Astonishing X-men"). BUT, as a first issue of a new direction; I will certainly be back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

3rd

October

September

More