glimmer0415's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Comicbook Dispatch Reviews: 17
8.2Avg. Review Rating

7
Captain America (2018) #29

May 19, 2021

My favorite part of Captain America #29 is the Alex Ross cover. The interior art and story fail to live up to the quality the cover offers. If you've been reading the current storyline " "All Die Young" " pick up this issue as it's the next to last installment of the run. If you're not currently reading Cap but thinking about starting with this issue " don't.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lantern (2021) #2

May 5, 2021

If you're interested in this comic, series, or any of the others mentioned, simply click on the title/link to snag a copy through Amazon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Savage Dragon #259

Jun 2, 2021

My favorite is the dialogue between Malcolm and Maxine. I love the chemistry Larson has developed between Malcolm and Maxine Dragon throughout this series. But unfortunately, there wasnt much of it here. Another aspect of this issue that disappointed me was the battle between North Force, Malcolm, and the Stone Men. There were eight pages of fighting with little or no dialogue. Give me a few pages of fighting – but eight? Ugh. On the plus side, the artwork by Larson is solid and true to type. Its nice to read a comic that is consistently drawn well and doesnt look rushed. Month after month, year after year, Larson continues to draw Savage Dragon true to type.   

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Shadowman (2021) #2

May 26, 2021

In my opinion, Shadowman is thus far the best series Valiant has published in a long time. Shadowman #2 is a great follow-up issue to a successful first issue. If you havent been reading  Shadowman but are thinking about trying it out, I would highly recommend you do! Even if you cant get your hands on issue #1, Shadowman #2 gives new readers plenty of backstory to jump aboard. Its well worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spawn #317

Apr 28, 2021

This issue is ok. Its not the best Spawn issue but at the same time, it's not terrible. The biggest problem I had with it is that the Chain Gang storyline is starting to drag. Not much happens in this issue, as the Spawns just continue to battle it out. I believe there are some nice hints of things to come, but theres not enough meat on this bone for me. One aspect of this issue that really stands out is the artwork by Carlo Barberi. Its beautiful and really pops off the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spawn #318

May 26, 2021

Who is Jessica (She-Spawn)? Who (or what) is Medieval Spawn?  Who is Marc? Why is Cy-Gor being tortured? These are just some of the questions that will leave new readers scratching their heads. For current Spawn readers – in my opinion, this issue was just okay. The story by Todd McFarlane is average at best. It came across as a filler issue to this reviewer with not much meat to keep my interest. Where this issue does shine is in the artwork. Carlo Barberi gives us another visual gem throughout with very nice coloring by Jay David Ramos & Andrew Dalhouse. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars (2020) #13

May 12, 2021

This issue does not answer questions that were raised in the previous issue. Instead, it adds even more questions. Whats going on with Shara Bey, as she hides away in the Imperial Star Destroyer? Where is Boba Fett? How far has Hans condition deteriorated? These are all questions that are not addressed. However, Im sure we will get the answers to these questions in the upcoming War of the Bounty Hunters crossover " just not yet!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars (2020) #14

Jun 16, 2021

Overall, Star Wars #14 is an enjoyable issue. It can be read independently from the Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters crossover event and doesn't require previous readings to understand the overall plot. Soule does a good job explaining the current storyline through character dialogue. That being said, the story in this issue was mediocre. Theres not too much that actually happens. There are no battles or fight scenes, and it has a lot of dialogue. The real gem of this issue is the artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars Adventures: The Weapon of a Jedi #1

May 26, 2021

The artwork by Ruairi Coleman is a nice compliment to the story. Yes, the artwork is a bit cartoony, but that is to be expected in a series that is trying to reach younger readers. The one aspect of this series that does confuse me a bit is the name. It is entitled Star Wars Adventures: The Weapon of a Jedi. Yet there is very little in this issue about Jedi weapons other than the lightsaber. Is the weapon referred  to in the title The Force? Maybe, but if so, isnt The Force a weapon used by Sith Lords as well as the Jedi? Maybe issue two will bring more clarity to this.  

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #12

May 19, 2021

As a Star Wars fan, Im ready for the upcoming War of the Bounty Hunters” crossover event. However, as much as Im looking forward to it, I think this issue is good enough to stand on its own, without the prelude designation. It can definitely be enjoyed by readers who do not plan to read all the crossover issues. So, if youre reading and enjoying Star Wars: Bounty Hunters” but not the other Star Wars titles – you can pick up this issue without worry. Its worth the price of admission on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #13

Jun 9, 2021

Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #13 is a nice tie-in issue that readers of the current crossover will enjoy. There are no big revelations (not even the last page IMO), nor is there anything vital to the War of the Bounty Hunters overall plot. That being said, this reviewer believes it is an enjoyable issue that has action, and backstory along with multiple characters that take center stage. If you are not currently reading this series, this is not the place to start. If you are currently reading this series – pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #10

May 26, 2021

Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #10 concludes the current storyline. Thats what it does. If you are currently reading the title, overall I do not think you will be disappointed. If you are not reading it, this is not a good place to start. As a Star Wars fan, Im looking forward to the upcoming Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters crossover event. But to call this issue a prelude is in this reviewer's opinion a publicity stunt. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures (2021) #5

Jun 16, 2021

Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures #5 is a very good concluding issue to the series first story arc. If youve read and enjoyed the previous issues, I would recommend picking up this issue also. You wont be disappointed. If you havent been reading the series, I wouldnt start here. Get all five issues or start picking up the book beginning with the next issue. Thus far Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures has been an enjoyable read in this reviewer's opinion with solid characters, writing, and artwork. I am looking forward to the next story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters #1

Jun 2, 2021

Readers who read and enjoyed the prelude issues will not be disappointed with this first installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Swamp Thing (2021) #3

May 5, 2021

Overall, I really enjoyed this issue. Although I had many reservations about this new series, my concerns have diminished, and I feel confident that Ram V. & Mike Perkins will continue to give us a quality Swamp Thing story over the remainder of the series. If you have never read Swamp Thing in the past, but have an interest in the character, I would recommend trying this series and coming along for the ride with Swamp Thing " Levi Kamei.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Swamp Thing (2021) #4

Jun 2, 2021

The Swamp Thing #4 is an all-around great comic book. The story, artwork, and coloring are all top-notch. If you've been reading this series, don't hesitate to pick up this issue. You will not be disappointed. If you are a new reader, don't just pick up this installment " go get all FOUR! This has been a fun ride thus far, and I can't wait for more!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
U.S.Agent (2020) #5

Apr 28, 2021

John Walker has been in the spotlight lately with the recent release of the Disney+ series The Falcon and the Winter Soldier as well as this mini-series by Marvel. Those of you who have been along for the ride for the first four issues of the series, will not be disappointed with this concluding chapter. I really liked it. The writing by Priest is very well done and the artwork by Jeanty gives the story visuals that are pleasing and complimentary. The issue is filled with battles but dont forget to develop those supporting characters we have been following throughout the series.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More